Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

G F Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 547-0159 View Additional Phone Numbers 1218 Everett Ave, Belvidere, IL 61008 http://www.gfcompany.biz


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that G F Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for G F Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on G F Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 25, 1988 Business started: 03/01/1974 Business started locally: 03/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ariel Zmijewski, Owner Tina Zmijewski
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ariel Zmijewski, Owner
Business Category

Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Doors - Installation Contractors-Sandblasting/Power Washing Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors (NAICS: 238170)

Service Area
Northern Illinois
Alternate Business Names
G F Siding
Products & Services

Siding
Roofing
Windows and Doors
Soffit and Fascia
Gutters and Downspouts
Trim
Power Washing


Additional Locations

  • 1218 Everett Ave

    Belvidere, IL 61008 (815) 885-3494

  • 1218 Everett Ave

    Belvidere, IL 61008 (815) 885-3494

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GF Company installed vinyl siding, gutters & leaf guard on our home in November 2014. 1 - AWAITING INSET BOX FOR CABLE JUNCTION INTO HOUSE: During installation, Comcast cable was completely covered (& severed) by siding. Comcast technitian came to repair - pulled out cable - STATED THAT IT IS AGAINST CODE TO COVER CABLE JUNCTION WHERE IT ENTERS THE HOUSE. 2 - AWAITING GUTTER/LEAF GUARD REPAIR: GUTTERS OVERFLOW (ICE CYCLES IN WINTER / WATERFALL IN SPRING & SUMMER). 3 - AWAITING CAULKING NOT SUFFICIENTLY DONE AT TIME OF INSTALLATION. Ken ***** (original sales person, then "winter office manager") has been spoken to on numerous occassions during and since installation regarding the gutter issue (overflow) and remaining siding concerns (caulk & cable junction). He finally sent a gentleman by the name of Rick to the house to meet with us late in the spring. Rick said caulk & inset box for cable juntion would be ordered and the siding crew would come out as soon as those items arrived also the gutter issue would be tended to in short order. 4 - 5 phone calls later....NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE. Due to the remaining siding (cable box area) not completed in November, we retained $250 of the total cost until the job is finished...we thought that would be sufficient incentive...apparently not. We just want the job COMPLETED. Our next course of action, is to hire someone else to take care of these items and bill GF Company for the cost.

Desired Settlement: We just want the job COMPLETED.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/31) */ Contact Name and Title: Ariel ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@gmail.com Dear Homeowner, We always strive to give you the best service possible. I am very sorry that you had to wait so long for us to take care of those issues and the person who was mostly responsible for it is no longer with us for those particular reasons-not doing what needs to be done and for that I apologize. To the best of my knowledge these issues has been taken care of to the customers satisfaction as of this writing Thank you Ariel ********* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The siding issues have been resolved - we very much appreciate that being taken care of by Rick. There are still problems with the gutters in the back of the house that need to be addressed. Rick indicated that one of the issues is that 2 sections of the gutters installed at valleys are too short - they need to extend beyond the overlapping gutter above. We would like the gutter problems to be resolved. Someone should call Terry ******* before coming out: XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you! Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/09/23) */ Contact Name and Title: Ariel ********* owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@gmail.com Per customer request Rick called Mr. ******* and left him a voice mail to call him back to set up a time for us to come out and take care of the gutter issues, so far we have not heard back. So we decided to stop by customers residence on September 23rd and were hoping to talk to Mr. ******* in person which was also unsuccessful. We will keep trying until we can get hold of the homeowner and set up the time for us to go out there Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2015/10/13) */

7/31/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having need of some roof repair, I contacted G.F. Company. Their estimator, ******* ** ***** Jr., came to the property on May 1, 2015. After examining the roof in question, he made a formal proposal. He estimated that it would cost $1500.00 to do the work, and after signing said proposal, I wrote check ***** for $500 as deposit for said work. Mr. ***** verbally assured me that the work would be completed within one month of the date of the proposal. According to my banks records, G.F. Company cashed my check on May 5, 2015. Today is June 23, 2015, and as of this date, no work has been done, no one from the company has contacted me regarding when it might be done, and the only communications I have had with the company is when I have called them. I called Mr. ***** on June 22, 2015 to express my frustration with the lack of progress. He did not answer the phone and I left a message asking for either an estimate of when work would begin, or an explanation of why said work was not being done. On June 23, 2015, I contacted G.F. Company at their office and asked for an estimate as to when work would commence on my roof. After being assured that I would be contacted about this matter, I went through the day without any contact with the company, and after two further calls, I have still received no communications from them. As G.F. Company has cashed my check, I hold them to be in a legally binding contract to do said work for the estimated price, and I am currently weighing filing suit in small claims court to recover my deposit.

Desired Settlement: If possible, I would like for G.F. Company to do the work they contracted to do. If that proves impossible, then I want my deposit refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/07/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **************@gmail.com Our records indicate that Mr. ****** ******** called our office on June 23, 2015 He spoke with the secretary and was informed of the date when someone will come and do the work. Due to lack of decent weather we were unable to do the work any sooner. The contracted work being a flat roof requires rain free days. Month of June and July we were unfortunate where it came to nice weather. All work has been completed to the costumers satisfaction.

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Oct. 2010, we hired G F Company (previous name when we hired them was G.F. Siding and Windows)to replace all of our siding, soffit, fascia, gutters, downspouts, window and door casings, a screen door and put in a 3lite bay/bow window. The issue we had with their work was involving the bay window. Within a few weeks of installation, almost every day, there was moisture and puddles of water on the wooden bench of the window. We called the owner about this. He told me that i needed to seal the wood with sealer. He said it would prevent any more damage to the wood. Well it didn't. The moisture and puddles only got worse to where the wood was molding and rotting.So, I called and had the owner come out again to check on the problem. He said that we had too much humidity in our house and we need to get a dehumidifier. Didn't work. Called owner again, he said he would contact Alside Windows and have a tech come down to check and see if there was any manufacturing defects. During that time, the window continued leaking. Alside Windows tech came out and found there was no defect in the window but suggested that the owner insulate the bottom of the window. A week went by, with phone calls every other day to the owner of G F Company. I left messages but never received even 1 callback. He refused to answer or return any of my phone calls. Finally, after 2 years of molding and a rotting bench, in July 2013, we had a different window company, Advanced Windows, come in and replace the bay/bow window at a cost of $2895. According to Advanced windows, G F Company improperly installed the window which in fact DID have damage to the window because apparently the window had been dropped by the installers in our garage. Also, they did not build the proper frame, using original opening. The window had been installed at a tilt and there hadn't been any insulation around the window at all. G F Company charged us $1600 for the window and installation. Including the money we had to spend replacing the window, $2895, the total for our bay window came up to $4495. I can request a list of everything that Advanced Windows found wrong with this bay/bow window and its installation. From G F, our invoice # is 76, dated 10/09/10, paid in full on 10/20/2010, Alside Window lifetime limited warranty dated 10/20/2010. Payments were made with personal check from ****** Bank. G.F. Siding and Windows address at the time of service was **** ***** *** Belvidere IL XXXXX. I have ALL paperwork from GF and Advanced Windows if needed.Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I still have so many small details that it was just too much to list here.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have had this issue resolved at the time it was all occurring. If the owner had continued to try and find out what was wrong, maybe the window could have been saved. My husband and I are both disabled. My husband being a 100% disabled veteran. Our incomes are extremely fixed so saving the money to replace the window took time. All we ask is to be treated fairly. We would like to have back the $1600 we paid to G F Company for the 3 lite bay/bow window and the cost of having to buy a new window and have it installed. I have all original receipts. The total cost is $4495. That is all we are looking for. Thank you for your time Verna and ***** ********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@gmail.com G. F. Company is a local company that takes costumers complains very seriously. We strive to provide our customers with the best customer service, product and installation. We stand behind our products and installation. Any issues that ever arise we do always take care of them and resolve to the customer satisfaction. We've been in business for over 40 years. We are here to make sure everything goes smoothly from day one to the last inspection. We were extremely surprised and sadden to hear about this complain especially that it came after 2 years of last conversation with the costumer. After the installation Costumer was advised to stain and seal the wooden seat of the window within 6 months, because 90% of the window is out in the open and is exposed to the outside. We did receive a call from the costumer stating that there was water leaking into the house about a year after the installation. We investigated the issue and as a precaution we put extra flashing above the window- thinking that the water was coming from the outside. Second call came and the costumer claimed that the water was still coming in, so once again not seeing anything that would cause this leaking water, took additional steps and resealed the whole window from the outside. Third call came and before heading to the costumer, call was placed to a window specialist from the manufacturer. He advised us to check the humidity in the house. (being late fall, early winter time) Which could be causing condensation. Condensation is the change of the physical state of matter from gas phase into liquid phase, and is the reverse of vaporization.1 It can also be defined as the change in the state of water vapor to liquid water when in contact with any surface. When the transition happens from the gaseous phase into the solid phase directly, the change is called deposition. After checking the humidity level it showed to be way above average. The costumer refused to listen to this finding. At that point there was nothing else that we could have done. We ended up sending an authorized manufacturer window technician. After spending over an hour in the customer's home technician didn't find any issues or problems with the window and installation. The only concern he pointed out was that in fact that the window wasn't stained and sealed. There was simply too much humidity in the house. The costumer refused to believe the technicians findings as well. The costumer called our company last time using profanity and with much anger said that he never wants to hear from us again. After that phone call we as a company never heard from the costumer again. Two attachment clearly state that the costumer was fully satisfied after the installation and that the costumer got in touch with us a year later not few weeks like they stated. The costumer also claims that calls were not returned. That's simply not true no call were ever received. Each of our windows that we install have a 1800 number where you can call if you have an issue with it. The manufacturer would than get a hold of us to report any problems. No reports show any complaints filed.

1/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased and Installed from GF Company 11 Allside Excalibur Vinyl Thermal Double Hung Windows. On final inspection, noted trim work was sloppy and caulking was missed on several windows. Owner said he would have the installers return to correct the problems, even have it in writing! They never called and never fixed the problems. I called 2 more times, again promised the installers would return, and again, have not heard from anyone. Job was completed in early July 2013. Now that winter has come, we can really notice drafts in the windows, particularly where the windows meet in the middle where the locks are. These windows do not seem any better than the 30+ year old single pane/storm windows we replaced. Extremely upset with the workmanship in the trim work and the product itself. The owner himself gave me his word and he has shown that it isn't any good, Customer Satisfaction is not a priority! EXTREMELY DISATISFIED!!! Product_Or_Service: 11 Allside Excalibur Thermal Double Hung Windows Order_Number: 568 Account_Number: 568

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) They need to FIX the problems with the windows (leaks, caulking, trim) or Refund or Replace.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********- owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@gmail.com G.F. Company strives to deliver the highest quality products and craftsmanship. We take complains very seriously. Each matter is always handled with patience and courtesy. BBB informed us about this issue. We got in touch with the costumer and the matter is being investigated. Due to poor weather conditions not much can be done at this point. We will do everything in our power to assure that the costumer is satisfied.

11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on G F Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)