Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Creative Mirror & Shower

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 543-1166 Fax: (630) 543-1215 View Additional Phone Numbers 2141 W Army Trail Rd, Addison, IL 60101 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.creativemirror.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Creative Mirror & Shower meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Creative Mirror & Shower include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Creative Mirror & Shower
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1972 Business started: 10/01/1972 in IL Business started locally: 10/01/1972 Business incorporated 07/26/1973 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Pritikin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Pritikin, President
Business Category

Shower Doors & Enclosures Mirrors - Manufacturers Supplies Sandblasting Mirrors Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)

Alternate Business Names
ColourGlas Creative Architectural Glass Creative Mirror Creative Mirror Designs, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Creative Mirror & Shower has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1281 N Clybourn Ave

    Chicago, IL 60610

  • 2141 W Army Trail Rd

    Addison, IL 60101 (630) 543-1166 (800) 746-9377

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had the mirrors installed in November 2014. Metal trim started pulling away on one of the glass mirrors closest to patio door. We called at least two times to get the issue resolved. They indicated that they would schedule someone to come. The first agreed date for the repair, they never showed up or called whether they are still planning on coming. One week later, we called again and they said that the complaint is in their system. Again, they said that it would be scheduled right away. Two weeks later, no call back on this outstanding repair.

Desired Settlement: Repair and/or replacement of the metal trim that is coming off the glass mirror closest to the patio door.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/21) */ This service work for Mr. ********* has been taking care of and we have verified that the customer is fully satisfied. We apologize for any miscommunication that occurred with the scheduling of the service call. While this is not an acceptable excuse, this August, we had three key office staff all require time off for out of state weddings, and that spread us too thin, particularly in scheduling where we were rotating personnel. We will make sure that this does not happen again. Our A+ BBB rating and positive online customer reviews will confirm that our we are committed to outstanding customer service, and we apologize to Mr. ********* for this situation. Sincerely, Mark ******** President

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A salesperson visited my home 5/22/15 after I contacted company about purchasing glass shelves for bar area, & mirrors in home fitness rm in my recently finished bsmt. I recd their proposal for job via email, which I signed & faxed to them 5/28/15 w my Visa credit card info. The card was debited immed for $735 (50% deposit). I was told product would b ready & installed in 3-4 wks. It is now 7/16/15, no one @company has contacted me, & have refused to contact me despite me making several calls for status. I last clld 7/13/15 & was told I'd be contacted by end of day. Still waiting...

Desired Settlement: Immediate install of product or refund of deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/19) */ We are on it! **** ********, President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Response accepted

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the first install of our Custom Shower Glass (April 8th, 2014) the installers were unable to finish the job due to wrong measurement. I was told I would be contacted the next day to discuss how to proceed. Did not receive a call. When I spoke with ***, service manage on April 10th, he stated that a new piece will be ordered and installed on April 19th. I then received a call on April 18th from ******* that the glass was still incorrect and could not be installed to next day. After speaking with many people within the company they reordered the product for the third time. We had an install date of April 26th. After speaking with *** it was clear that compensation would be provided to us for our inconvenience. On April 26th, the installers came and installed the product. They demanded to be paid in full and were not aware of our compensation. They refused to leave my driveway and proceeded to sit in my driveway for more than two hours while I spoke with **** (owner.) **** was very disrespectful and demanded that he get paid or his guys would be back in my house to retrieve the product. I was not only offended but felt unsafe in my own house. After being disrespected by **** (via phone) for 45 minutes, and the installers sitting in my driveway for 2 hours, I paid his service men in full so they would leave my property.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel I should pay in full for a product/service that was done in this fashion. The service provided was extremely poor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/08) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX X420 Contact Email: *********@creativemirror.com We sincerely apologize to Mr. and Mrs. ***** for anything that we may have done to cause them be upset and file this BBB complaint. At the final installation, Mrs. ***** told me personally that the job looked "great" and our installers were "fantastic". It was not the quality of the final product installed that is the problem on this job. Creative Mirror & Shower installs over 5,000 shower doors per year, and this particular shower enclosure was definitely one of the top 10 most complex shower doors that we would have installed out of those 5,000+ units each year. This particular job was very involved, as it had: a) a heavy glass door that could not be hung off the wall and instead had to be hung off another glass panel, which is one of the most difficult installs to do in our business (hanging a 200 pound sheet of glass of another sheet of glass). b) above the glass door, was another "operable" transom of glass that tilted open and shut to allow or disallow ventilation. This transom piece is also connected via glass to glass hardware with nothing secured to the walls, so it is not easy to do. c) All of the glass was then secured only with small clamps on the left and right glass fixed panels, rather than "channel set", which basically allow no room for tolerances that are inherent in the fabrication and glass tempering processes supplied by our vendors. A similar door to this is shown on #27 at this link, but the *****'s door was more complex because their door wsa required to be in the center, forcing the glass door to be hung off a glass panel rather than the solid wall as shown in the photo: http://www.creativemirror.com/shower-doors/frameless.php picture #27 ** Also, we are attaching the computer software diagrams for the glass enclosure to convey the complexity (out conditions, etc.) It is common for a precision engineered tempered glass enclosure like this to require an extra step or two to get dialed in for the final install (tempered glass cannot be altered, cut, or modified once it is heat treated). In fact, government specifications allow the tempering facility up to 1/8" dimensional variance per panel, so when four or five panels are connected together and fit tight into walls without channel, the last piece can easily require final adjustment. Preceding the *****'s install, the first installation required one more attempt to get the install dialed in just right. We tentatively scheduled that 2nd install attempt but the glass came in still not sized just right from our vendor and we proactively identified that in a quality control inspection ahead of the install date, and called the *****'s to let her know that we had to wait a bit longer for the glass to come in from our vendor correctly. The final install went in fine, which we did on a Saturday to accommodate the customer and not conflict with any work commitments. Overall, we had one extra install trip to finish the install. The overall job did take longer also because the vendor re-order came in still not sized as precise as it needed to be ad outlined above. The major problem occurred when Mrs. ***** refused to pay the balance due at the final install per terms and conditions of the contract. Mrs. ***** wanted to reduce the balance to compensate her for extra time the job took, which we can understand and respect her asking for this, but company policy does not allow price reductions due to vendor or company error. Additionally, in this case, the job was very complex to start with and could easily require a second trip to get it dialed in just right. Apparently, Mrs. ***** had been trying to persuade customer service personnel ahead of the install to reduce the balance, and that was never agreed upon because company policy does not allow it. Our contract and company policy as outlined in the first paragraph of the binding contract between merchant and consumer states clearly that "Delays may result due to mistakes, re-orders, and that in this situation we do our best to expedite, but there is strictly no financial compensation. Mrs. ***** refused to accept this policy and no one has the ability to alter it as it is corporate policy, and a contract term agreed upon by the consumer and the merchant. At the final install, I did give Mrs. ***** about $100 worth of care and maintenance products at no charge, which included glass cleaner, squeegee, microfiber towels, and essentially everything needed to maintain the door for a long time. I had thought the free care & maintenance products were already offered when Mrs. ***** talked with our Installation Manager before getting to me on that Saturday, but apparently that conversation did not get too far as Mrs. ***** offered to only pay half the balance due at that time, which it then escalated to me. At the final install, despite discussion with our Installation Foreman and then myself, Mrs. ***** would not pay the balance due and had our workers wait outside for her husband to come home in which we had to start the entire process again explaining that the full balance needed to be paid. After a while, Mr. ***** arrived, clearly not happy with what was going on and he also demanded money off. Eventually, the *****'s paid the balance due and also accepted the approximately $100 in care and maintenance products that we offered them. I SINCERELY apologize for any stress this caused the customer. On that Saturday install, I was also frustrated as during all of this unfolding I was having lunch with my 23 year old daughter before dropping her off at the airport to move to California for a new job. At one point, I did say to Mrs. *****, that if the customer refuses to pay, then the product can be removed for nonpayment, but we never want that to actually happen of course. I also personally told the customer and left them messages apologizing for letting them down in any way. I gave them my personal cell phone number and my email address should then need any service on their shower door per the contract warranty. I again apologized when I saw this BBB complaint, leaving messages for both Mr. and Mrs. *****. Our apologies were for letting the customer down and not having them happy with our company even though the final install was "great" and the installers "fantastic", on a difficult job. Over 40 years, we have installed over 150,000 custom shower door and custom mirrors, and while most of the time we succeed on the first try, sometimes it takes a service call to dial it in just right. We stand behind our work and we care about our customers. We let the *****'s down and for that I feel terrible. Our track record though speaks for itself. After 150,000 installs we have had so very few BBB complaints and most years we are "complaint free" entirely despite 5,000 shower installs per year! If the *****'s could find it in their heart to remove their BBB complaint, we would appreciate it, and our workers who stand to also get hurt from a complaint, would also. We did what we could, and that was to install a beautiful high end custom shower door. We gave the customer what we could with the free glass cleaner, squeegee, microfiber towels and care/maintenance ***. Either way (bbb complaint or no bbb complaint), we stand behind the product installed, and if anything is needed in the way of service, we look forward to honoring our contract and warranty obligations. Sincerely, **** ******** President

2/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Creative Mirror & Shower
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart