BBB Accredited Business since

Drain King Sewer and Plumbing Incorporated

Phone: (773) 238-4801 View Additional Phone Numbers 3521 W 115th St, Chicago, IL 60655 http://emergencyplumberschicago.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Drain King Sewer and Plumbing Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Drain King Sewer and Plumbing Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Drain King Sewer and Plumbing Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 06/17/2005 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Chicago Department of Public Health
333 S. State Street, Chicago IL 60604
www.cityofchicago.org/Health/
Phone Number: (312) 747-9884

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Denison, Gen Manager Mr. Jose Herrera, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Denison, Gen Manager
Business Category

Sewer Contractors Sewer Inspection Water Heaters - Repairing Water Main Contractors Water Works Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Pipe & Valve Fitters - Gas Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish Flood Control Equipment Grease Pumping Water Leak Detection Sewer Cleaning Equipment & Supplies Sewer Cleaner Vacuum Service Garbage Disposals - Household Water Damage Restoration Water Mitigation Pumps - Service & Repair Pipe Reconditioning Sewer Pipe Vacuum Pumps Contractors-Water & Sewer Basement Waterproofing Sump Pump Contractors Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Pumping Contractors Water and Sewer Line and Related Structures Construction (NAICS: 237110)

Alternate Business Names
Drain King Drain King Plumbing & Sewer Repairs

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Drain King Sewer and Plumbing Incorporated has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3521 W 115th St

    Chicago, IL 60655 (773) 413-0900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked to *** more than several times about two issues: To remove the remaining dirt they left in our yard. They piled more dirt onto an area to cover drain repairs and it's too much dirt. He told me on more than a couple occasions this year that he was going to come. One of the last texts he's sent to me was on 7/14/2014 stating that he would be at the house to complete everything the following Monday. I have also asked for photos of the drain work they did on the inside. *** agreed to both of these issues remain undone. This company has very poor customer service. I can't see why I have to call several times a week only to still have this issue still unresolved. I have to take time from my work schedule to make these calls because my grandparents are too old to do it themselves. They've spent $9,000 and are on a fixed income. I din't realize that if I were to have someone come in to finish this job it would cost them an additional $400 cu/yard according to one estimate. I don't even think they can afford that since I drained their account to pay for this service after someone else took advantage of them and didn't finish the drain. I feel like Drain King is taking advantage of them by forcing me to continue working on this. I've taken a photo of the pile. It's about 10 feet long and a couple feet wide and about two feet high. Nothing but a dirt pile of dirt they brought in to fill in the drain. As the time he was doing the job, I asked him about that and he said he piled it on originally to prevent a sinkhole. I said but what if it still looks like that after a few months, and he said he'd come remove it. Here we are about nine months later. Issue is not resolved. And I'd like the photos please.

Desired Settlement: Fulfill the request stated in complaint. Smooth the dirt since the pile there makes the property look ugly, opens my grandparents up to being robbed potentially because someone can reach the window. Plus, we'd like to finish painting the railing but the dirt is there. Also, I'd like the photos they took of our drain when they were trying to fix the problem. I really don't understand why this company his put my family through this unless they don't care. If they don't care about their customers their BBB rating should NOT be an A+

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/01) */ Miss Barry filed a similar complaint #XXXXXXXX on 04/24/2014.The homeowner was sent a check in the amount of 126.00 for a stolen gate. We sent the pictures on 05/23/2014.On 06/17/2014 I received a notice that The case was administratively closed. I will once again have the tech send whatever pictures he has and the dirt will be removed as it should be sufficiently settled by now. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Where were the photos sent? I have not received anything in email? Nor have I received anything in the mail? Also, I'm still looking at the pile of dirt. So I know for sure the dirt has not been removed. I also looked in my email from ***** ***** and I do not see any email from him with photos enclosed. The last email I have from him is on 11/11/13 and it doesn't pertain to cleaning up dirt or pictures. Where/How did you send the photos? I have NOTHING in my email. I also did a search of your business name in my email and nothing comes up. If the email isn't from ***** let me know the email so I can do a search by another email name. As of right now, I see nothing. Otherwise, I wouldn't keep trying to contact you. I just did a search in my email for on and around the 05/23/2014 date you claimed to have sent the photos (just in case the email didn't come from Jimmy) and I see NOTHING in the way of an email from Drain King sending me photos of the drain work that was done. As a note to the BBB (and to whomever at Drain King is responding to this inquiry), the "technician" in question, who has yet to clean up and/or smooth over the first, is Jimmy Dulin; he isn't just any technician. ***** ***** told me he is the Drain King owner's son. This is what makes this transaction all the more heartbreaking because I'm trusting him to treat me fairly because to me he is no different than the owner. I see him as an extension to the owner because he is related to them. If his parents own this company, he should be representing them and the company better thatn he has. I shouldn't have to keep emailing, texting and calling in order to get this transaction completed to my family's satisfaction. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/09/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I purposely waited as long as I could to see if I'd get a response from Jay, who as I said is the Drain King owner's son. He texted me some items that I couldn't open and didn't come through as attachments that could be opened and I told him on September 16, 2014 that not all the photos came through via text. I'm a photographer so I understand how digital photos work. I also asked him why he couldn't just email them since he does have my email and we've corresponded by email several times before. I still have those emails, by the way. And I've received no response from him as of today. On top of that, what am I looking at? Can he not provide a caption of sorts to explain what I'm looking since I am not an expert on plumbing? I'm looking to send them to my insurance company with some other items I am working on as a couple company have already taken advantage of my grandparents. And the insurance was requesting the work done in visual form. No response from *** and that was 10 days ago. I remember a while back *** coming to the house when I opened a previous case on Drain King due to their poor customer services for money they owed us. He seemed panicked when he said the Better Business Bureau gave Drain King 10 days to finish all the items associated with the case; and I thought to myself that I had been asking him for months to complete this transaction. And now all of a sudden because I'm concerned enough about my family to get the Better Business Bureau involved he wants to hurry and finish the transaction. If I had to analyze that situation in retrospect it seems he was more concerned about pleasing the Better Business Bureau than actually servicing the customer. Like if I hadn't gotten the Better Business Bureau involved I'd still be wrought with frustration over a big pile of dirt on the lawn and other loose ends they created but were refusing to tie up at the time. In other words Drain King wants to give the appearance of earning an A-plus rating without actually being deserving of one as I'm once again proving by the sheer fact that I texted Jay back on 9/16/14 and asked him to send the remaining photos that didn't come through properly, caption them and email them for Pete's sake. Minimally, at least send the photos I couldn't see and give a caption. And I'll tell you what. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone solely for the reason that they've made me go through all this: sometimes purposely giving me the runaround. If I hadn't known and made the Better Business Bureau aware that *** was the owner's son and whomever is answering these inquiries on behalf of the company throwing it back in my face who they going to "once again" tell the so-called technician again to come handle a situation that's several months old, where would I be now. And another thing, if this case closes without them rectifying the requests in my text with I want any future customers who may be considering using this company to know just how my family has been treated. And any A+ rating they have through the Better Business Bureau is window dressing. I chose them originally because of their rating, but now I see that rating means nothing since I still have items un-resolved since last year. I can't imagine that him or WHOEVER in the company would need to take longer than a few minutes to finish out this last request. But apparently I'm asking too much. If I treated my clients the way I've been treated here by Drain King, I'd have no clients. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/09/30) */ Ms ********* is limited in her knowledge of this situation,as she is not the Homeowner.Her complaints are full of Indiscrepancies.Ms ********* received the photo's she asked for,We sent them more than once.If this was an insurance claim that should have been stated by the homeowner.Jay is NOT the owner's son if that is even relevent to this case but it justifies the fact that ms ********* is confused on many of her assumptions.We did not OWE them money.We paid for the stolen fence as a courtesy to the homeowner. As for our rating with the BBB I think it speaks for itself as this is the one and only complaint we have ever received which in today's complex business world is miraculous.We feel we have done all we can to rectify any complaints the homeowner may have had and stand by all of our work.The job solved all of the homeowner's problems. The work was done correctly and was inspected and passed ** the city of chicago.We will continue our excellent record with the BBB by doing the quality work we are known for.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year Drain King serviced a drainage area located in our basement and around our home's perimeter. Since the equipment required to do the work was bulky, the Drain King workmen removed a wrought-iron security gate that was attached to the basement doorway. I understand that removing the gate allowed them to move about the basement without obstruction. However, when they removed the gate, they left it outside and the gate was subsequently stolen. I told employee ***** ***** (who I know as "***") about the incident and he agreed to pay my grandmother back for the theft incurred as a result of Drain King employees' negligence. He asked me to send a receipt, which I emailed back in January. The cost of buying a new gate was about $126.00. Since that time I have not heard back from anyone as to when my grandmother can expect a check. ***** did send me a text a while back saying that the company would be sending one for the entire amount, but as I said I'm still waiting. I don't see why my grandmother deserves such dishonest treatment when she spent nearly $10,000 for their services. As with other elderly retired folks, she's on a fixed income. And paying out that money was a very big deal for her. And then to have to spend additional monies for their carelessness is despicable.

Desired Settlement: The amount stipulated on the receipt plus city/state taxes. The amount seems about $126.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/05) */ Ms ********* is right. I spoke to the technician and it was an oversight on our part.A check in the amount of 126.00 is on the way. Sorry for the inconvienence. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/05/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I just remembered I also asked *** for pictures of the work before and after that you captured on camera of our pipes and building. Please advise I'd like this request fulfill this request, and I will consider this case closed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/05/23) */ we have sent the pictures that were requested.Sorry for the delay. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm still waiting for the photos and for the dirt to be smooth. There's still a dirt pile left from last year. Once those issues are satisfactorily resolved, we can close out the case. Thanks.