Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Ernie's Shell Food Mart & Car Wash

Phone: (847) 955-0021 Fax: (847) 955-0017 909 S Milwaukee Ave, Vernon Hills, IL 60061


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ernie's Shell Food Mart & Car Wash include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ernie's Shell Food Mart & Car Wash
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2008 Business started: 03/14/2002 Business started locally: 03/14/2002 Business incorporated 03/14/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. M. Kristi Kelley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. M. Kristi Kelley, Owner
Business Category

Service Stations - Gasoline & Oil Car Wash & Polish Food & Beverage Services Convenience Stores Foods - Carry Out Other Gasoline Stations (NAICS: 447190)

Alternate Business Names
Ernie's Food Mart & Carwash M K E LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    909 S Milwaukee Ave

    Vernon Hills, IL 60061 (847) 955-0021

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased what I thought was the EXPRESS FULL Sevice car wash, received Ultimate. Should have included vacuum, did not receive it. Station attendant made a big deal that I chose wrong option on the screen. Yelled at me in the middle of the parking lot in front of all other customers. She Refused to resolve the issue. The entire reason I stopped there was to vacuum my own car. Then decided to purchase the car wash because it included the vacuum job. Both the Express full service and Ultimate where the same price. But somehow because I pushed the wrong button, my $10.99 did not buy me a vacuum job and they refused to correct the problem and do the vacuum job unless I paid an additional $5.00.

Desired Settlement: I want a full REFUND of $10.99, I want my car washed and vacuumed and an appology letter from the station manager. Would love to see the person who stood in the middle of the lot yelling at me fired!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@AOL.COM I apologize for the misunderstanding of this complaint. We provided the customer with the exact Exterior Car Wash package service she choose. The customer yelled and screamed profanity ********** times at one of our employees due to her failure to choose the correct car wash package at the pump. She washed her car and received the proper car wash package and chemicals that she choose. She wanted a vacuum service which was not included on the Car Wash package that she choose. It is an additional $5 for any Full Service Car Wash Upgrade. We offer Exterior Car wash packages as well as Full Service/Interior Car Wash packages. The customer's intense and continuous profanity at our staff is uncalled for and unnecessary. The ****** ***** ****** ********** should have been called for her hostile attitude toward the general public and our staff. Our staff advised her of the upgraded full service interior vacuum package for an additional $5. The customer then started using profanity at our staff. The customer was asked to stop using profanity and we can resolve this. The customer's response was "Do not ******* tell ** what I can and can not do...I just want a ******* vac job..just give it to **." Our staff member advised the customer that she would be glad to help her if she refrained from using the continuous profanity. Again, the customer continued to use profanity at our staff and left our site. Our staff and many customers who witnessed this episode are still surprised by the customers volatile profanity used. Please advise as to how the BBB would like Business Owners to handle volatile customers who continue to scream and yell profanities at our staff and the general public. Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) WHAT A LIAR!!!!!!!!! WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS THERE AGAIN...... The employess was the one screaming at **!!!!! I will inform every one I know not to do business there. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/12) */ I am sorry she did not accept the response from our business. We do have several customers who witnessed the customer's use of profanity and the employee who was verbally abused. Please advise as to how the BBB would like Business Owners to handle volatile customers. Thank you,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ernie's Shell Food Mart & Car Wash
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)