Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Platinum CCTV

Phone: (866) 537-5438 Fax: (831) 300-3432 View Additional Phone Numbers 751 Frontenac Rd Ste 157, Naperville, IL 60563 http://platinumcctv.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Platinum CCTV meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Platinum CCTV include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Platinum CCTV
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2005 Business started: 02/01/2004 Business started locally: 02/01/2004
Business Management
Mr. Michael Dunteman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Dunteman, President
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Internet Shopping Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit Security Systems Services (except Locksmiths) (NAICS: 561621)

Alternate Business Names
Ez-Toyz

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Platinum CCTV has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 751 Frontenac Rd Ste 157

    Naperville, IL 60563 (630) 225-0693 (866) 537-5438

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11-30-2014 Customer Information Name: ****** BarchamEmail: ********@hotmail.comBilling Information Billing Address: ****** *************************Chicago, IL XXXXXUSPayment Information Payment Type: Wire TransferShipping Information Shipping Type: UPS Ground Shipping Address Same As Billing Address Product Price Quantity SubtotalPetvidence HD WiFi Pet Camera 99.XX X XX.95Sub Total: 99.95Shipping & Handling: 8.50TOTAL: 108.45Note: All amount are in US $. On December 16, 2014 Received the following email: ******, In our haste to get all of the cameras out for the Christmas holiday...it seems we made a slight mistake. When you try to add the camera into the Cambox software, if it gives a password ****** try adding it instead with 'admin' as the password. We usually change the password ** a randomized password *** your specific camera (which is written on your manual), but Milo had fat-paws that day and may have made an error on yours. If you have ANY QUESTIONS or problems with the setup at all, PLEASE CALL US at XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext #2 We apologize for this error, and are happy to help fix it. Your security is our prime concern! I then responded this May 5, 2015: I spent too much time trying to make it work...I would like to return it for a refund. From November 30, 2014 to May 5, 2015 is not yet 6 months. This product is useless to me and I requested a refund. Thank you, Dr. ****** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Yes, we received this email from the customer after over 5 months time, which is well outside the 30 day return policy, but well inside the 1 year warranty. The customer was offered technical support to try to help her get the camera online and operating, as by her statement it seemed as though she had not yet been able to accomplish that task, nor had contacted us within that period of time to ask any questions or get any support. She refused to allow us to assist her. It is not possible to return the product after 5 times the return policy limitation. We would still be glad to provide technical support for helping to join the camera to her Internet connection, and will of course honor the warranty of the camera during the 1 year limited warranty period if the camera has a defect in materials or workmanship during that period. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I notified seller prior to the 6 month period...though it was 5 months after repeatedly trying to make this product work...I decided to return it before the 6 months. I am still wanting a refund and will next any measure beyond this to acquire it...I will not be taken advantage of by sellers if the product(s) are not deemed appropriate or in good working condition. This happens all to much to consumers...it is a wonder how many pet camera's are returned to this seller. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/15) */ You have continued stating we were informed before 6 months. That is a correct statement, you did contact us within 6 months. However, and I cannot emphasize this enough, there is no 6 month return policy (30 days = 1 month). PETVIDENCE RETURN POLICY: Petvidence HD Cameras have a 30-day money back return policy. Simply contact us at (XXX) XXX-XXXX within 30 days of order being placed to request your return. Returns must be received in like new condition in the original packaging to be considered for return. Returns must be received within 14 days of return request. Returns not meeting these conditions will be refused. Credit will be issued back to the initial form of payment within 15 business days of receipt of returns that meet the above criteria. Shipping costs are non-refundable for any reason. There is no restocking fee for returns. - WARRANTY AND SUPPORT We are committed to helping you watch your pet. If for any reason you experience a problem with your Petvidence HD Pet camera, please contact us for assistance and support. Our network professionals can help you setup, or re-setup your camera during normal business hours 10 AM - 6 PM CST M-TH; 12 PM - 5 PM F). Petvidence cameras carry a 1 year limited warranty, protecting this product from defects in materials or workmanship during that period. If you experience an issue, please contact us for assistance, many problems are network related and can be easily solved without returning the camera. We have never offered a 6 month return policy. To do so on electronic goods would be unreasonable and unsustainable, as with technology-related items, revisions and updates to products happen at an increasing rate. For instance, the vehicle or computer you purchase today has been surpassed by newer models often within a matter of months. We have honored our 30 day return policy with several customers who decided to take advantage of that option, and have provided technical support for many other customers who have had issues getting their cameras online due to their internet connection. Our technicians are well-versed in all types of internet connections and routers and are willing to always assist our customers, though you have opted not to take advantage of this free service that we provide. Unfortunately, we cannot allow customers to make up their own return policy on products they have purchased, however we will be glad to assist you in getting your camera working, or provide repair/replacement to the camera if it is deemed to be defective within the 1 year warranty period.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Platinum CCTV
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart