BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/1928

Coyne College

Phone: (773) 577-8100Fax: (312) 226-3818View Additional Phone Numbers330 N Green St, ChicagoIL 60607-1300 Send email to Coyne CollegeView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/1928

BBB has determined that Coyne College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Coyne College's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Coyne College

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As a recent graduate of Coyne College, I was under the understanding that we would get job placement assistance from Career Services and in my case and the case of a few other graduates this has not been the case. I have been chasing down career service for help when they have not been any assistance in my aid to find employment. And to top it off they offered to pay for one certification exam once we graduate and that has changed from when I signed up. At first they were offering to pay for the CMA but then they changed it to the RMA but stated that for those already held their RMA they would still offer to pay for the CMA once again this was upon completion. However once I graduated they changed the policy again and said that they would only pay for the CMA if they were employed and that in itself is hard to do because most employers want you to be certified. To be honest this whole ordeal has been a headache because I had to take out a loan to pay for this school and I am getting nothing out of them in return for it. I feel like I have just been robbed for my hard earned money.

Desired Settlement
I would want the money back that I had to take out as a loan to pay for this unprofessional school.

Business Response
The complainant graduated from Coyne College on 6/19/2014. After speaking with our Career Services (CS) Department, the complainant had not contacted any of the three members of our CS department for placement assistance. In fact our CS department had been informed by our Director of Student Services that the graduate had signed up to reenter the military. Upon receiving this correspondence and examining the graduate's folder, the graduate had signed up for six years of duty in the Air Force Reserve.

Upon receiving the correspondence, the CS Department contacted the graduate and is now working with the graduate to help her find employment. Regarding the RMA and CMA Certification Exams, in speaking with the graduate after receiving this correspondence, it was determined that she already had the RMA Certification from her education at a previous college. Thus, this graduate may take the CMA examination and Coyne College will pay for her first attempt at passing the CMA Exam. It should be noted that this graduate did not make her concerns known to anyone in Coyne College's administration prior to filing the complaint with the BBB.


02/26/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Business & Vocational, Employment Training

Additional Information

top

Coyne College has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers first contact Lee Mueller at (773) 577-8050 or lmueller@coynecollege.edu for assistance.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Coyne College will resolve the matter for you in an expedient matter.

BBB file opened: 10/31/1928Business started: 01/01/1899
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1974, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell T. Freeman (President)
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational, Employment Training

Industry Tips
Contracts
Employment Fraud

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Coyne College

330 N Green St

Chicago, IL 60607-1300

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 330 N Green St 

    Chicago, IL 60607-1300(773) 577-8100
    (800) 410-1597

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Coyne College is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 410-1597
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Schools - Business & Vocational

Contracts
Employment Fraud
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.