Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Coyne College

Phone: (773) 577-8100 Fax: (312) 226-3818 View Additional Phone Numbers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coyne College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Coyne College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 31, 1928 Business started: 01/01/1899 in DE Business started locally: 01/01/1899 Business incorporated 10/10/1974 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois State Board of Education
100 W. Randolph Street, Ste 14-300, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-2220

Board Of Education
100 W. Randolph Suite 14-30, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (773) 553-2763

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Russell T. Freeman, President & CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell T. Freeman, President & CEO
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Employment Training Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)

Additional Information

Coyne College has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers first contact Lee Mueller at (773) 577-8050 or for assistance.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Coyne College will resolve the matter for you in an expedient matter.

Additional Locations

  • 330 N Green St

    Chicago, IL 60607 (773) 577-8100 (800) 410-1597 (773) 577-8050


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a recent graduate of Coyne College, I was under the understanding that we would get job placement assistance from Career Services and in my case and the case of a few other graduates this has not been the case. I have been chasing down career service for help when they have not been any assistance in my aid to find employment. And to top it off they offered to pay for one certification exam once we graduate and that has changed from when I signed up. At first they were offering to pay for the CMA but then they changed it to the RMA but stated that for those already held their RMA they would still offer to pay for the CMA once again this was upon completion. However once I graduated they changed the policy again and said that they would only pay for the CMA if they were employed and that in itself is hard to do because most employers want you to be certified. To be honest this whole ordeal has been a headache because I had to take out a loan to pay for this school and I am getting nothing out of them in return for it. I feel like I have just been robbed for my hard earned money.

Desired Settlement: I would want the money back that I had to take out as a loan to pay for this unprofessional school.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/05) */ The complainant graduated from Coyne College on 6/19/2014. After speaking with our Career Services (CS) Department, the complainant had not contacted any of the three members of our CS department for placement assistance. In fact our CS department had been informed by our Director of Student Services that the graduate had signed up to reenter the military. Upon receiving this correspondence and examining the graduate's folder, the graduate had signed up for six years of duty in the Air Force Reserve. Upon receiving the correspondence, the CS Department contacted the graduate and is now working with the graduate to help her find employment. Regarding the RMA and CMA Certification Exams, in speaking with the graduate after receiving this correspondence, it was determined that she already had the RMA Certification from her education at a previous college. Thus, this graduate may take the CMA examination and Coyne College will pay for her first attempt at passing the CMA Exam. It should be noted that this graduate did not make her concerns known to anyone in Coyne College's administration prior to filing the complaint with the BBB.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Coyne College
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)