Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The John Marshall Law School

Phone: (312) 427-2737 Fax: (312) 427-5134 315 S. Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604 http://www.jmls.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The John Marshall Law School meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The John Marshall Law School include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The John Marshall Law School
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 23, 2007 Business started: 09/01/1899 Business started locally: 09/01/1899 Business incorporated 08/13/1899 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board Of Education
100 W. Randolph Suite 14-30, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (773) 553-2763

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Corkery, Dean Ms. Cynthia Sah, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Corkery, Dean
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)


Additional Locations

  • 315 S. Plymouth Court

    Chicago, IL 60604 (312) 427-2737

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Book returns not proper & not available for returns.

Desired Settlement: 1) I took out and returned a book in the Fall semester 2013 - they claimed it was not returned. After a while, it appeared and the fee came off. I am still looking into what fees were not refunded besides the extra cost that I had to fork over at the end of the semester. 2) I took out and returned a book in the Spring semester 2014 - they claimed it was not returned. Another fee came up, now $139.55. I am looking into if there are any fees. 3) I purchased a book for Contracts I for class on the advise of the clerk who instructed me that it was required. The book was 34.99 - it was not needed and the strict return policy would not allow any returns of this item. 4) The offered me a locker but after one week, I did not want this. I contacted the person who is in charge of this but she is not available to receive this during night and weekend classes. $20 x 2 semester + fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/27) */ Library policy provides that patrons who fail to return items when due will be billed for the replacement cost plus a non-refundable $20 processing fee per item. Students receive standard overdue notices via email, including warnings that they will be billed, prior to being billed. If the item is returned after billing, the replacement cost is waived but the $20 processing fee remains due. Her books were indeed returned and the replacement fee was waived, but the $20 processing fee is currently on her student account for both books. I need a bit more information about the clerk's recommendation and the timing. That will help me understand next steps. The book store posts "return by" dates in several places in the store, on a bookmark tucked into the book and on the receipt at the time of purchase. They try to be a clear as possible with the students about return dates/policy. But some additional information here would help me resolve this. It would also help to know if she spoke with the bookstore manager directly. He is very responsive to student concerns and would want the opportunity to address this. There are two charges on her account for $20 per semester, for locker rentals. For a student to discontinue the use of the locker, they simply need to return the lock to our Academic Services Offices, open until 7:30 PM M-Th, 6:00 PM Friday and from 10 - 3 PM on Saturdays. This office provides a wide range of vital services to our students and we try to offer hours of operation that will accommodate students during the day, evening and weekend. Our records show that Ms. ************ still has the lock. Once she returns the lock, we're happy to talk to her about charges. If the posted office hours do not suit her schedule, we will gladly make other arrangements. http://www.jmls.edu/images/JMLS_Logo.jpg ************ Executive Director of Institutional Affairs Institutional Affairs The John Marshall Law School ***************************************************************************************************** John Marshall Law School Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/06/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. The books were returned, please ensure that all fees are reversed. I do not recall receiving any notifications via email. 2. I presented the book and original receipt and stated my case to the cashier stating that the salesperson sold me the book insisting that it was required/necessary for the course - but it was not. I have the original receipt still, if needed. 3. I would love to schedule a time to drop off the locker. I live 30 miles away near Naperville and sometimes go on campus even though it is summer break. I will contact the person to schedule an appointment. Previously, I attempted to schedule a time with******* on a number of occasions but to no avail. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/08/11) */ I have spoken with Ms. ************ to further understand the issues related to this case. In all instances (library fines, book store returns and locker fees), we have found a swift and satisfactory solution. Ms. ************'s help in identifying areas where there are gaps in our system was of great help. I talked to the student who initiated this case with your office. We have resolved all of the issues to her satisfaction. I've met with the department heads involved in each issue (library fines, bookstore returns and locker fines). I'll personally keep an eye on the student's account to be sure all refunds are processed as promised. I'm confident that we have resolved this to Ms. ************'s satisfaction. Thanks. ************ Executive Director of Institutional Affairs Institutional Affairs The John Marshall Law School ***************************************************************************************************** John Marshall Law School

4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: currently as of 09-28-2013 when the Response for a after Non-Final Action has been required I am unable to get an communication from ********************************** or his partner ***** ******************* as of 09-28-2013 Request for Extension of Time that had been Granted. This is around when it all began and I was told that these gentle =men could prosecute my patent application properly! It all began on 07-12-2013 Interview Summary that they where involved in that was Applicant Initiated.Since they got involved twice they filed Petition for removal from the case once on 08-12-2013 and 10-07-2013 this action strained the relationship and trust greatly. They also lead me down a path that would produce the proper claims to be filed and got me a Final Rejection on 11-22-2013. Now, this cost me more money and I am one a student, 2 Unemployed and this is a Pro-Bono service and according to their own mission statement: "Our Mission -We provide degree candidates practical, fully hands-on experience with real inventors, real inventions, and real patent prosecution in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). When the cost of patent work is a barrier keeping an inventor from going forward with a useful invention, we can do the patent work for free." this was not ever provided to me, not in the least! I was never properly communicated with or treated with any amount of respect or dignity by either gentlemen and I expect this to be done the should have to work around the clock to fix this to get me my patent awarded! I have spent way to much and money and the experience from dealing with has ruined any trust for lawyers, business and people in general!

Desired Settlement: I want them to produce what is called a CIP and new proper claims and pay for any USPTO fees involved with getting the patent properly drafted and awarded! Including an RCE if needed!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/03/21) */ Complaint # ******** -- Company: John Marshall Law School -- Consumer:**************************************************************** I represent The John Marshall Law School in relation to the Complaint filed by the above referenced consumer, ******************* As we discussed, I will provide a response on or before April 3, 2014 to Mr.************* complaint. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or to further discuss the matter. Thank you. **** VEDDER PRICE(r) ****************** Attorney at Law ***************************************************************************************************** Assistant: **********************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The John Marshall Law School
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)