BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

The John Marshall Law School

Phone: (312) 427-2737Fax: (312) 427-5134315 S. Plymouth Court, ChicagoIL 60604-3969 Send email to The John Marshall Law School

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

BBB has determined that The John Marshall Law School meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The John Marshall Law School's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: currently as of 09-28-2013 when the Response for a after Non-Final Action has been required I am unable to get an communication from ********************************** or his partner ***** ******************* as of 09-28-2013 Request for Extension of Time that had been Granted.

This is around when it all began and I was told that these gentle =men could prosecute my patent application properly! It all began on 07-12-2013 Interview Summary that they where involved in that was Applicant Initiated.Since they got involved twice they filed Petition for removal from the case once on 08-12-2013 and 10-07-2013 this action strained the relationship and trust greatly. They also lead me down a path that would produce the proper claims to be filed and got me a Final Rejection on 11-22-2013.

Now, this cost me more money and I am one a student, 2 Unemployed and this is a Pro-Bono service and according to their own mission statement:

"Our Mission -We provide degree candidates practical, fully hands-on experience with real inventors, real inventions, and real patent prosecution in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). When the cost of patent work is a barrier keeping an inventor from going forward with a useful invention, we can do the patent work for free." this was not ever provided to me, not in the least! I was never properly communicated with or treated with any amount of respect or dignity by either gentlemen and I expect this to be done the should have to work around the clock to fix this to get me my patent awarded! I have spent way to much and money and the experience from dealing with has ruined any trust for lawyers, business and people in general!

Initial Business Response
Complaint # ******** -- Company: John Marshall Law School -- Consumer:****************************************************************

I represent The John Marshall Law School in relation to the Complaint filed by the above referenced consumer, ******************* As we discussed, I will provide a response on or before April 3, 2014 to Mr.************* complaint. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or to further discuss the matter. Thank you.

****

VEDDER PRICE(r)

******************

Attorney at Law

*****************************************************************************************************

Assistant: **********************************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/23/2007Business started: 09/01/1899
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1899, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Corkery (Dean)Ms. Cynthia Sah (CFO)
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Industry Tips
Contracts
Businesses Benefit by Heading Back to School
Choosing a Reputable Online Degree Program

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The John Marshall Law School

315 S. Plymouth Court

Chicago, IL 60604-3969

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 315 S. Plymouth Court 

    Chicago, IL 60604-3969(312) 427-2737

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The John Marshall Law School is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Contracts
Businesses Benefit by Heading Back to School
Choosing a Reputable Online Degree Program
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.