Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midwestern Career College

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 236-9000 Fax: (312) 277-1007 20 N Wacker Dr Ste 3800, Chicago, IL 60606 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midwestern Career College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Midwestern Career College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 2006 Business started: 08/12/2004 Business started locally: 08/12/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois State Board of Education
100 W. Randolph Street, Ste 14-300, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-2220

Business Management
Mr. Jeremy Oberfeld, CEO Mr. Jeremy Oberfeld, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremy Oberfeld, CEO
Principal: Mr. Jeremy Oberfeld, CEO
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Business & Vocational Schools - General Interest Training Programs Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Midwestern Career College has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12840 Western Ave

    Blue Island, IL 60406

  • 20 N Wacker Dr Ste 3800

    Chicago, IL 60606

  • 200 E 5th Ave Ste 128

    Naperville, IL 60563

  • 701 E Irving Park Rd ste 206

    Roselle, IL 60172




BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well they lied to me about my registration fee of 60$, admission representative Jhon had no integrity, advised me of a schedule for this school, but at point of paying they wanted the money upfront then had me signing a enrollment form, while I was signing paperwork I asked about the schedule originally given from the first admissions rep who assisted me in the beginning then Jhon advised that schedule was no longer available, I advised cannot agree to schedule being presented which was a morning schedule I needed afternoons. Jhon advised to comeback see if they can make a new afternoon schedule in the future for afternoons and not to worry about my registration fee of 60 $ if anything he will refund it since they still don't have a schedule for classes fitting my agenda I cannot sign up for school. so I want my registration fee back was told if my scheduling wasn't met they will return my registration fee.

Desired Settlement: I would like my registration fee returned like originally promised, schedule was not what I desired and they do not have a afternoon shift for classes.

Business Response:

The applicant was notified that according to the institution's policies he has to submit his withdrawal/refund request in writing along with the reason for his withdrawal and address to where the refund can be sent upon approval.  To this date we have not received this request along with the required information.  Per institution's policies that the applicant was provided and signed-off on, we look forward to receiving this request in writing.  It can which can be sent to ********************** or delivered directly.

The institution has specific policies and procedures on which the applicant signed off.  While the registration fees are non-refundable, there are a few instances when it can be returned to applicants.  After receiving a written request and information as he was instructed, the institution will review his request and determine if it qualifies for a refund. 

To provide some context, the applicant decided to withdraw because he learned that he was not qualified to receive federal financial aid due to his personal situation with the financial aid in previous schools.  After learning that this reason was not sufficient to receive the registration fee back, he began to claim that the schedule did not work for him.  At this point, he is claiming a number of other reasons, which are defamatory and false.

We look forward to resolving this matter.

Thank you


9/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Midwestern Career College
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart