BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/17/1999

Becker Professional Education

Find a Location

(630) 571-7700View Additional Phone Numbers3005 Highand Parkway, Downers GroveIL 60515 Send email to Becker Professional Education

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/17/1999

BBB has determined that Becker Professional Education meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Becker Professional Education's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Becker Professional Education

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
04/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased CPA review material from Becker's services in the past. Never have I seen a policy where the product expires within 24 months after it is purchased even if not used or 18 months after first usage which ever comes first. To have something that cost $3,000 expire after 24 months of not using it right away seems wrong. I work in the public accounting industry to get time to review study material on a consistent basis is very difficult. I finally had to get another job. I just began that job and feel I can dedicate consistent time towards studying. However I came to find out that $3,000 worth of review material will expire in less than a year now. CPA exam is very extensive, and the Exam board gives you 18 months to pass all 4 parts of the exam. However my review material will only last 9 months. You can do that math that is obviously not fair. Further more in the packing I received I did not see anything that indicated this if there was it was not shown in manner that I would notice. They do indicate it on the course log-in page however if a student is not ready to begin preparing for the exam how would I see that? I'm not asking for money back cause I did not pay for this. I just want a fair resolution and would like to have 18 months from the day I log-in rather than the 9 months I currently have. I feel that is fair and reasonable thing to do. I'm being really honest I had no idea that was the case I would have not ordered the product then. I have ordered from Becker services 6 years ago I do not recall a policy as such.

Desired Settlement
I'm simply asking that my software license begin the day I begin using the software and not the date I purchased the software. Therefore I'm asking that the license be valid for 18 months from around the current date.

Business Response
April 28, 2014

Re: *****************
BBB Case *********

This letter is in response to Mr. ************ complaint to the Better Business Bureau on April 22, 2014. DeVry Education Group ("DeVry Group") takes student complaints very seriously. Thus, upon receipt of your complaint, it was requested that the DeVry Group's Office of Ombudsman investigate your concerns. The Office of Ombudsman is the highest level of escalation for student complaints in the DeVry Group Organization.

DeVry Group understands Mr. ************ concerns to be as follows:

1. When he purchased her Becker Professional Review ("Becker") CPA Exam review materials, it was not clearly articulated that it was an 18 month lease that if not completed within 24 months of the purchase, would expire.

DeVry Group understands the following to be Mr. ************ requested resolution for the above concerns:

1. Extended access to the CPA Exam review materials she has already paid for so he can utilize the 18 month lease period he believed he would have.

Set forth below is an explanation of our findings based on our understanding of Mr. ************ allegations and requested resolution.

I. Licensing Agreement and Disclosure
Becker requires customers to read and accept the Becker License Agreement prior to the purchase of any Becker materials as well as at the time they install the course materials (Exhibit A). The termination section outlines the terms of the contract, and length of accessibility of materials. Student access to materials is terminated either 18 months after the first login with the User ID and password, or 24 months after the date of purchase, whichever comes first.

Becker has spoken with Mr. *********** and they have agreed upon an extension to his current paid license.

II. Summary
DeVry Education Group's Becker division has worked with Mr. ********** and worked out a mutually agreeable extension to his current license. If Mr. ********** does not complete his review during the extension, he will be required to purchase additional lease time for the courses.

Sincerely,


************
Senior Associate, Office of Ombudsman


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased materials to study/prepare for exam with the intention of completing the 4 sections of the exams within a couple of years. Advertising clearly states the purchase of the materials and promise to pass, does not clearly state the materials were actually leased and the ability to use the materials after 18 months is not available. That limited time to use should be clearly in the advertisement, on the website and clearly stated when making the purchase. Instead I was told that when I purchased and opened the materials for the first time and "agreed" by clicking on the license agreement that I was communciated the limited time was 18 months, however that license agreement should not be the only place that this 18 month time frame is stated. I would never have purchased the full package if I was communciated this information, I would have purchased separately. I have 2 sections that I have not even opened the packaging and one other of the four that I had just opened before I found out that I was not able to utilize the lectures on the CD Rom. The advertisting clearly stated that the I would not only receive the materials needed to pass these exams, but also would have the support and the ability to receive updates on the tests as I need in the future. Never did the advertsiting state that by purchasing the materials you would have that promise and support for only 18 months. I did have some personal family health issues that occured May 2013 which made it impossible to study and if I would have known about this limited time, I would have called Becker back then to ensure that the materials would be available when I could get back to studying.

Desired Settlement
I am only looking to be able to utilize the study materials I purchased without spending more money to do that. I have 2 unopened sections that could be returend if need be. I was given the option to purchase the lease again for another $195 per section, that would cost me another $800 for the four sections after already spending $3600. If it was clearly communicated in the beginning I would have purchased each section one at a time and would not be making this complaint.

Business Response
April 17, 2014

Re: *************
BBB Case *********

This letter is in response to Ms.********* complaint to the Better Business Bureau on April 4, 2014. DeVry Education Group ("DeVry Group") takes student complaints very seriously. Thus, upon receipt of your complaint, it was requested that the DeVry Group's Office of Ombudsman investigate your concerns. The Office of Ombudsman is the highest level of escalation for student complaints in the DeVry Group Organization.

DeVry Group understands Ms.********* concerns to be as follows:

1. When she purchased her Becker Professional Review ("Becker") CPA Exam review materials, it was not clearly articulated that it was an 18 month lease of the material rather than a purchase; after which she would need to purchase additional access.

DeVry Group understands the following to be Ms.********* requested resolution for the above concerns:

1. Extended access to the CPA Exam review materials she has already paid for as she has exceeded her 18 month lease period but was unable to utilize two of the four modules.

Set forth below is an explanation of our findings based on our understanding of Ms.********* allegations and requested resolution.

I. Licensing Agreement and Disclosure
Becker requires customers to read and accept the Becker License Agreement prior to the purchase of any Becker materials as well as at the time they install the course materials (Exhibit A). The agreement is also located on each course homepage. The termination section outlines the terms of the contract, and length of accessibility. Student access is terminated either 18 months after the first login with the User ID and password, or 24 months after the date of purchase, whichever comes first. Ms.********* access appropriately expired upon exceeding the 18 month login regulation.

However, due to her extenuating circumstances, Becker has worked to provide a solution to Ms. ******* request which is outlined below in the summary section.

II. Summary
DeVry Education Group's Becker division has worked with Ms. ****** due to her extenuating circumstances and in good faith offered her an extention of her access for an additional 18 months. This is valid for all four sections of the review materials. If Ms. ****** does not complete her review during the extension, she will be required to purchase additional lease time for the courses.

Sincerely,


************
Senior Associate, Office of Ombudsman

09/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told when I purchased Becker that the Auditing section was changing and I would be able to attend both classes at no cost, now I'm being told I will need to pay for the class

Desired Settlement
Allow me to attend the class as promised

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:
Becker has contacted me and has resolved my concerns. Thank you very much for your help.

02/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/21/1999Business started: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1996, DE

Business Management
Principal: Ms Kathy Chabez (Office of Ombudsman)
Contact Information
Mr. John Roselli (President)
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Becker CPA Review, Becker Conviser Professional Review, Becker Conviser CPA Review
Industry Tips
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Becker Professional Education

3005 Highand Parkway

Downers Grove, IL 60515

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 3005 Highand Parkway 

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

  • Midwest Regional Center Mgr
    One Tower Lane, 3rd Floor 

    Villa Park, IL 60181-4646

  • One Tower Lane
    #1000 

    Villa Park, IL 60181

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Becker Professional Education is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 868-3900
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.