Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Flood Brothers Disposal Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 261-0400 Fax: (630) 261-0575 View Additional Phone Numbers 17w697 Butterfield Rd Ste E, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181 http://www.floodbrothersdisposal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Flood Brothers Disposal Company is a rubbish and garbage removal company which provides waste disposal, garbage pickup, and recycling services for commercial, residential, and institutional customers. Located in Oakbrook Terrace, IL, this company serves the greater Chicagoland area, including Addison, Alsip, Arlington Heights, Aurora, Batavia, Bensenville, Berwyn, Bloomingdale, Bolingbrook, Buffalo Grove, Burbank, Carol Stream, Carpentersville, Chicago, Country Club Hills, Deerfield, Des Plaines, Downers Grove, Elgin, Elk Grove Village, Elmhurst, Evanston, Flossmoor, Geneva, Glencoe, Glen Ellyn, Glendale Heights, Hanover Park, Hickory Hills, Hometown, Homewood, Libertyville, Lombard, Maple Park, Midlothian, Morton Grove, Naperville, Northbrook, Northfield, Oakbrook Terrace, Palatine, Park Ridge, Rolling Meadows, Romeoville, Schaumburg, South Holland, St Charles, Sycamore, University Park, Western Springs, Westmont, Willow Springs, Winnetka, Worth, and Zion. The company has been in business for over 80 years and is family owned and operated.

This company provides garbage removal for commercial, residential, and industrial residents, including office buildings, schools, churches, financial institutions, and other organizations. The company provides weekly garbage pick-up services for residents throughout the Chicagoland area, including collection for general household waste, yard waste, and recycling. The company can also arrange pickup for bulkier items, such as furniture and mattresses, and can haul away white goods such as appliances. Their commercial services include waste management, including garbage and recycling collection, and the lease and sales or service of trash compactors and the lease or sales of open-top trash containers.

Visit the website for Flood Brothers Disposal Company to learn more about their services, read testimonials from their customers, and contact the company to receive a quote on institutional, industrial, commercial, or residential waste management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Flood Brothers Disposal Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Flood Brothers Disposal Company include:

  • 30 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Flood Brothers Disposal Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 10
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on Flood Brothers Disposal Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 12/31/1970 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Flood, President Mr. William Flood Jr., Vice President Mr. William K. Flood Sr., President/ Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Flood, President
Business Category

Rubbish & Garbage Removal Trucking - Heavy Hauling Waste Reduction, Recycle Service - Industrial Recycling - Computers & Other Electronics Recycling - Metal Garbage Disposal Equipment - Industrial & Commercial Recycling Centers Solid Waste Collection (NAICS: 562111)

Alternate Business Names
Flood Brothers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Flood Brothers Disposal Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17w697 Butterfield Rd Ste E

    Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181

  • 4827 W Harrison

    Chicago, IL 60644 (630) 626-5800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a 5yr contract with Flood Brothers for dumpster service, I sent them a cancellation letter 6 months in advance as per our contract ( by *** and it was signed for) and they wont remove the dumpster. we started our contract in 2010 and I tried to stop service last year but they told me I had another year left because we ordered a bigger dumpster that year. In October I called them and they told me the letter I sent wasn't valid anymore so I sent one this year. They're telling me that the contract renewed for 5 more years after I was told it would be removed on the 12 of APRIL and my contract was up April 5th.

Desired Settlement: Terminate my business wit Flood brothers and for them to remove they're dumpster form our property

Business Response: We have asked on 3 occasions for a copy of the certified letter he sent per contract terms and conditions and customer has yet to send . We did not receive it . If he can show proof we have no problem honoring his contractual terms . But we did not receive a letter . I personally called him today waiting for the proof. Thank you ***** Flood       

4/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Flood Brothers Disposal Company is not abiding by contract prices and terms. Flood Brothers Disposal Company is charging additional fees I did not agree to nor were they disclosed to me at the time I accepted the contracts in May 2015. I negotiated contract prices and terms with Flood Brothers Disposal Company Sales Representative, ***** Flood. ***** Flood told me the only extra fees would be the Chicago Permit Fees for the property sites in the City of Chicago. I have contacted Customer Service to correct the billing multiple times. On 1-20-2016, **** in Customer Service called me back after she spoke with *****, he told her that I am responsible for the additional fees. I called and left messages for ***** to call me, but he did not. I emailed ***** on 1-21-16, 2-05-16, and 2-10-16, but he has not replied. On 1-22-2016, Customer Service Representative, ******* Flood, told me that ***** wrote back in June 2015 to start charging me environmental fees in 2016. On 1-26-16, In-House Sales Account Manager, ******, called me to discuss my concerns on the costs of my accounts and wanted to rectify the situation immediately. ****** called me back on 2-10-16 after she spoke with ***** Flood. She told me all the fees apply even though they are not stipulated in my contracts. She said they would be happy to renegotiate the terms and prices in our contracts.

Desired Settlement: Rescission of all the contracts I initiated with Flood Brothers Disposal Company. Flood Brothers Disposal is breaching our contracts. ***** Flood misrepresented the quotes for their service. Had I known about all the other fees, I would have factored that into my decision and I would not have chosen them for my disposal service.

Business Response:

we solved this today we lowered customer rates to reflect what customer expected and customer is happy . thank you ***** Flood

3/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Each month my **** from ***** Brothers comes due sooner from the previous month. No where on the **** does it show the service period. This is in effect making me pay an overlap not only for the service of garbage removal but also on the fee's they apply on each ****. This type of billing makes me pay 13 bills in a year and in the case of having to pay two bills in October 2013. My second problem with ***** Brothers is they recently added a monthly Fee called "Container Service Fee." The fee is $6.50 per ****. As per the terms and conditions of their contract they are supposed to give me 30 days written notice. Here is a direct quote from the contract. "Contractor shall provide thirty (30) days written notice of the price change due to increased disposal or processing cost." I have received no written notice regarding the "Container Service Fee." And for the record, when they increased my SCAVENGER SERVICE CHARGE from $45 to $53 in August 2014 they also did not provide the 30 day written notice. I have reached out multiple times to ***** Brothers to try address each of these problems. I first addressed the over billing in an email to************** on December 24, 2013. She replied and I still have that email but it doesn't make any sense. Billing shouldn't be complicated. There is a service period and a due date for those services. It is very difficult to understand how ***** Brothers is billing me. Regarding the price changes I have called and spoke to them about the matter and they flat out told me they can do that and there is nothing I can do about it. On April 6, 2015 I spoke to ******* to address these problems. He tried explaining the billing cycle but to me it still did not make any sense. What I got out from the conversation is that they bill every 28 days and that is why my bills are coming in due sooner. To me that does not make any sense because on the contract I was quoted on a monthly rate. And when ***** Brothers adds on all the different monthly Fee's I end up over paying from an overlap. ******* told me there is nothing I can do and there is nothing ***** Brothers can do for me. I told him I have rights as a customer and if they don't give them to me I don't want to do business with Flood Brothers. He responded that I am in a 5 year contract with them and if I wanted to stop service I would have to buy the rest of the contract out. I told him that I never agreed to a 5 year contract and he transferred me to************* voicemail. I left a message. **** called me back and I told him I am a disappointed customer with these problems. He asked me to text him my address to (XXX)XXX-XXXX and he would get back to me. I did but haven't received a response.

Desired Settlement: With my communication with ***** Brothers over the phone they made it very clear I have no rights as a customer. I need the help of the BBB to protect me and my dealings with ***** Brothers. They said one thing to get me to sign the contract but do whatever they want after. This is not right. If ***** Brothers want to respond to my concerns do not contact me by phone. You can respond to my email *****************@gmail.com or through the BBB forum. I want all future communication to be recorded. I tried to work with ***** Brothers repeatedly. They have left me no other option.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@floodbrothersdisposal.com The contract is clearly written and the terms and conditions are clearly stated and agreed to and has been paid on . Any price Increases notices were put directly on customers bills they can clearly see we notified them 30 days in advance they need to review that .This customer has not had many increases and we **** be locking in his rate for the next 2 years also . ***** Brothers has not violated the contract in any way . We do believe we have done our part and settled this case. ***** *****

2/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 21st 2015. Michael Flood came sweet as can be talking about family Business, giving a good price telling me about contract, but newer showing me or leaving me copy of signed contract. Send Certified letter of cancellation to my existing Company. I was contacted by my Co to find out that I'm under their contract, and they meet same charges as Flood Brothers. On December 24th I contacted Michael Flood and told him that I'm cancelling with in 3 Business days. He was upset, told me he would call following week, which he newer did. I called him in January Left message, Cancelling because he does not answer. I send him Certified letter which they refused. On January 28th they dropped off their containers. I called him, he did not answer, but did call back this time. I asked him why did they bring container, when I cancelled contract. His reply I don't know about that 3 day cancellation. On February 1st I Get email from ***** Flood saying that I have 3 options Stay with Company for life because they wont accept Certified mail. Pay $ 2800 to brake contract by February 10th. If not they will take me to court for 32000.00 So I mailed them 2800.00 on February 6th Certified. Send Michael Flood email saying that I mailed certified mail payment of 2800.00. They did accept that mail. I'm righting this because I don't want other people be in same situation like me. Which I learned since of others being in the same situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take their containers away.

Business Response:

The customer signed up for services . Flood Brothers on that contract ordered over 4000.00 in new equipment for the customer because the customer signed up and asked for the services. The customer then found out she was in a contract still . We offered to post date her agreement and she refused. She did not send a notice to cancel in writing as required by ILLINOIS lAW. We gave the customer every option to be honorable and honor her own signature and be honorable she refused. She chose to buyout her contract and terms at a loss for Flood Brothers . So we lost money on this. As far as we are concerened we closed her account and we picked up our equipment . It troubles us that consumers feel they can be negligent in their own dealings and own signatures then want to BLAME .. Flood Brothers has closed this case. ***** Flood   

2/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their service was extremely poor. I wanted to cancel the service. For many months they wouldn't let me cancel the contract they kept on saying that I signa contract for 5 years. After that the next contract automatically was signed or renewed. I have never agreed to that. The second contract that they sent to me did not have an ending date for the contract to expire. Once again the contract without my signature. In small print they required 90 days to cancel the contract. I have done it and then I stopped my payments. Months later they want me to pay for buying out the contract( which I never agreed to or signed) and some back pay fees, over $600.00. They threaten me with lawyers this is an impossible situation. I have never missed a payment they have missed many collection days. The customer service is extremely rude obnoxious and any contact with them is extremely stressful. They manipulate the situation, they lie ,they try to scare you into thinking that they will pursue this matter legally.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be done with this contract. I am refusing to pay any additional money to this horrible company.

Business Response:

The customer  is not stating the truth and facts. They are under contract and she is  not cancelling within the terms and conditions she agreed to. We accepted her cancel letter but she is in middle of terms so she would need to buyout the remaining terms for 429.00 . She is using your body to try and avoid this payment . If she doesn't pay then she violates her contract completely and we have explained this to her fully . This will become a legal matter if she doesn't pay in court . Thank you ***** Flood

.

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After discovering how difficult it was to terminate my contract, I wanted to nonrenew my contract as of 8/17/2016 after a term of 5 years. I signed the contract 8/15/2011 and the agreement stated on the front page that the term of agreement was 8/17/2011 to 8/17/2012 or a period of 1 year. However on the same agreement page, it states that "THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS ON THE REVERSE SIDE ARE PART OF THE AGREEMENT. PLEASE READ THE REVERSE SIDE AND ACKNOWLEDGE ACCEPTANCE." In the Agreement Terms and Conditions on the reverse side, it states under TERMS "This agreement including any agreed changes shall automatically be for a minimum period of five (5) years ". Therefore the contract cannot be for 1 year initially even if both parties agree to it. It has to "automatically be for a minimum period of five (5) years".When I told ***** Flood this he said that initial term was for 1 year and that the contract automatically renewed for 5 years after the first year for a period of 6 years so the agreement expires on 8/17/2017.When I emailed ***** Flood, he emailed me back :"You can ask president ***** the law is the law. Right now your attempting to violate contract law for Illinois and anyone will clearly see it. Tom will follow up with your legal options. ***** Flood Sent from my iPhone"

Desired Settlement: I want to nonrenew my contract as of 8?17/2016

Business Response:

The customer has a clear 1 year contract , with a clear 5 year renewal . The contract renewed in 2012 until 2017 . The customer sent a cancel letter to cancel in mid term , they can do that but the clause calls for them to pay and early buyout . they e mailed saying if we didn't let them out without paying they would complain to you in hopes you help them illegally get out of the rest of the terms of their contract .We explained to them you don't do this and for them to have their attorney advise them what to do. They are using this complaint as self serving . their contract is clear and by Illinois Contractual law and Flood Brothers will honor it and the law and we expect no less in return . Respectfully ***** Flood  

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I will explore my options.

Sincerely,

**** ******

10/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: after continuous damages on my property from Flood Brother driver I decided not to renew the contract with them. Since my complains were unsolved I send them letters via certified mail to notify that I did not want to renew the contract. All three of my letters were returned to me. Called the Office last week to notify again for the last damages and extra charges on my bill and the representative was very arrogant. I told him the driver is not suppose to come no more on my property and he ignored my request. Left with no option I am going to Elmwood Park Police Station to protect me from they arrogant actions

Desired Settlement: let them come and pick up the dumpster or I have to charge $25.00/day starting from 10/15/2015

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/08) */ Contact Name and Title: brian ***** This complaint is not accurate. The man has never sent us proof of damage , cant even tell us what we did . our driver verified never happened . he then changed his story and was upset about extra charges for his extra trash , then claims sent 4 cancel letters which we never received. This customer has a legal binding agreement with Flood Brothers we sent him a letter stating his legal options . He needs to consult his attorney . If he chooses to violate Illinois Law he will put his case in court . He is using your agency to make false claims and in hopes you get us to cancel his contract illegally which we will not do . he has his legal options and he should contact his attorney . Thank you Brian ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The breach of contract is a civil matter that if Flood Brothers does not accept can go before a court of law. If they after my repeated request for not sending the truck in my property he still come the case it will turn criminal for trespassing the property.

9/28/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the condo president of the condo building that I live in at **** ** ********* **** ******** ** XXXXX. The building currently has Republic Garbage Disposal Services for garbage removal, in which I was trying to change services to Flood Brothers for a better price. On July 28 2015, I met with Christopher *****, from Flood Brothers, and discussed changing over our garbage removal to them in Sept, 2015. When speaking with him, I informed him that I was not sure of my current contract situation with Republic, in which he informed me that our building should not be in any contract anymore if had been more than three years. I signed the agreement with Flood, to later find out that the building in fact still is in a contract ,that I can not breach, unless the building is willing to pay fees to get out of the contract, which our building will not be doing. I informed Christopher ***** on August 17th, 2015, through email,that I would not be able to go through with the agreement and for the company not to drop off or remove any containers. I also had my current garbage rep send a certified letter informing Flood Brothers that they were breaching my contract with Republic, but they claim they have not received it(I believe they don't sign for certified letters on purpose). On Sept 1, 2015, Flood Brothers dropped off a 2yrd container and informed me that the only way to remove the container and end contract was to pay a $700.00 removal fee or for me to sign a new agreement ,saying that when the Republic contract is over, Flood Brothers will take over. I feel like I was taken advantage of by Christopher ***** , because when I mentioned the contract situation in the beginning he made me believe everything would be fine, however he knowingly knew that all current Chicago garbage disposal contracts automatically roll over to a new contract after their initial 3 or 5yr contract ends. I know that I am at major fault for not reading the fine print, but I am also not familiar with dealing with these contracts. I have tried to plea with Flood Brothers regarding the whole situation, and I keep getting the same response about paying or signing a new agreement and every time the tone keeps getting meaner on their end.The Flood Brothers container dropped off is now next to my Republic container, which is going to make it difficult for my building to get their garbage picked up. I truly believe this is a ploy they use to get customers and trap them into to paying a fee or forcing an agreement and I would not be surprised if this has happened to others. I need them to remove their containers from my property.

Desired Settlement: I would like Flood Brothers to remove their containers from my property and let me out of the agreement I signed under trickery. I do not want to sign another agreement for future use, because I no longer trust this company , nor do I know what the future holds for me at this place of residence and I do not want to put the building in a bind.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: brian ***** owner The customer reached out to Flood Brothers for service. Flood Brothers has saved this customer thousands of dollars . The customer signed the contract based on our savings to her. She found out she still is under contract so she now has 2 contracts. The current hauler all of a sudden lowered her rate. Flood spent Thousand on equipment. She has the option to post date and redo a new service date when her other contract expires , or she has 2 contracts. The rest of her complaint is very selfish and self serving and not truthful . Flood Brothers honors the law and we expect no less from this consumer. Brian ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Flood did not have to spend any money on equipment or time dropping it off, since I had contacted them two weeks prior to them doing so, but this is how sneaky this company is, trick the consumer into signing and then drop off equipment, so the consumer is backed into a corner. Currently Flood is breaching the contract I have with my current hauler and again they would know that had they not refused the certified letter that was also sent to them. I can not have two contracts with two haulers at the same time. Again I ask that they remove their container from my property Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/16) */ Contact Name and Title: brian ***** owner customer signed and agreed to a contract . Flood Brothers saved her a fortune. She now claims she has another contract. She needs to produce such contract , and can either post date a new one , buyout of ours , or she has 2 contracts .. Brian ***** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My contract is between me and my hauler and will remain as so. I don't understand how I can have two contracts when only my current hauler does the job of hauling away trash. Flood Brothers container is on my property, empty and unused so I guess it can remain there, but I will not pay for services. Flood Brothers did not save me a fortune, because they are currently asking me to buyout the contract for a fee of $700.00 or face the consequences of court with damages in the amount of $10,000.00. Flood is in it all for the money and frankly with the 31 complaints they have with the BBB I am not sure how they have remained in business this long

8/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer #XX-XXXXXXX X New Agreement #XXXXX front dated 10/1/2012 - 10-1-2015. Front Signed by customer. Account Change #XXXXX signed on 6/30/14 due to Flood Brothers requesting we change our roll-off agreement(wanted to give us a smaller container in order to dump more often). Also, customer ****** Electric noticed that per agreement on 10-1-12, ***** Brothers were to be supplying (1) 6 yd dumpster and (1) 8 yd dumpster. They had been supplying (2) 6 yd dumpsters, but Thorne Electric was paying for (1) 6 yd and (1) 8 yd from 10-1-12 to 6-30-14. Made change to account for (1) 6 yd and (1) 8 yd on 6/30/14 to straighten out paperwork. The change of account paperwork was front dated 6/30/14, but no end date. We asked Shawn Flood, sales rep for explanation. He explained the "change of account" paperwork was not a new contract agreement, just a change to our account that was presently in force (which was Agreement #XXXXX front dated 10/1/2012 - 10-1-2015. New invoices after 6/30/14 began applying 29% environmental impact fee which was explained to us to be 10-12% by sales rep. (We did pay that fee although 2X as much as stated.) We now have sent by certified mail (per contract stipulations) a letter informing Flood Brothers we will be ending our agreement on 10/1/15. They are claiming the account change paperwork is our "New" contract date and we are engaged for 5 years from that date. They refuse to honor our request. The tactics are highly unethical from the equipment supplied, the invoice additional fees, constant change in billable amounts, calls to coerce us to stay on board as customers, etc.

Desired Settlement: We only wish for Flood Brothers to honor what was agreed upon price-wise and contract length of 3 years. We signed an agreement dated to end 10/1/15 and we wish to terminate our relationship as of that date. They were actually in breach of contract by not supplying us with the correct, agreed-upon dumpster sizes, but we did not seek restitution. They are the ones that initiated the account change of downsizing the roll-off container and pricing. Again, to their benefit. Now, all we are asking is to honor the agreement that we signed saying our contract ends 10/1/15.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/17) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** anytime a customer decides to change services in any way we always require a new contract and terms. Just like phone companies do , or uniform companies or any companies. The customer knew they were signing new agreement . They want to get out of the contract early and the only way they can do that is buyout at this time. Their complaint is in valid and self serving . If they had a legal ground they should seek legal counsel and their own lawyer would explain this to them. Flood Brothers will honor the terms and agreement of their new contract updated in 2014 and expect no less in return. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Flood Brothers' response begins by stating, "Anytime a customer decides to change services...." Right there is the first BIG error. WE (****** ********) DID NOT request to change our service. We were perfectly happy with our service. Flood Brothers requested the change. They came out to our place of business to say they could no longer provide the large size roll-off container indefinitely, and would like to downsize it with a 10 yard container. We agreed we would allow them to do that. When the representative of Flood Brothers did not fill in the end date of the account change sheet, customer (****** ********) questioned it and asked for the 10/1/15 to be filled in. The representative explained it was an "account change" set of paperwork, not signing a new contract, just changing the "present" one in force. Mr. ******* accusation that ****** ******** knew it was a new contract is false. In FAct, ****** was obviously mislead by the rep, **********. There are three witnesses that will attest to the explanation given by **********. These are the type tactics that give us angst, and lead us to want to sever ties with a company that operates in such a way. If they truly dealt in a straight-forward, honest manner, we would have no reason to want to discontinue their services. The actual service in the field is quite good. It is the billing errors, the constant need to police our invoices, and the less-than-honest double talk that has brought us to this point.

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our current company allied waste contacted us and warned us that this is happening to many of there customers.I tried to contact flood brothers they first refuse to call me back then I was threatened and told there's nothing I could do about it!!!!please help

Desired Settlement: Just to be left alone they are not a company they are a criminal organization it's not right

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/07) */ This complaint is self serving. the customer has a legal binding agreement signed by their general manager . He is attempting to illegally break that and Flood Brothers will honor contractual law. He should seek legal counsel . Flood Brothers will honor this commitement and has already spent 1200 on this contract . Brian *****

8/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Flood brothers has send us copies of invalid contracts, with no expiration dates. Their billing is unfair and impractical in that they give you a certain quote, then add all these additional fees: total environmental fee, processing fee, Chicago quarterly permit fee, chgo administrative fee, container fee and the list goes on. Last year we had an incident where someone fly dumped furniture by the side of our building and they charged us $250.00 extra yard pickup fee. I spoke with Tom ****** that wouldn't even lower the bill, instead he threaten to stop service of our garbage removal if we didn't pay he only lowered it by $25, all he kept saying is that you signed the contract. We received a new contract with starting date 8/1/2015 - with no expiration date on July 15, 2015 raising our rate to $144 (not including additional fees), and the bill would fluctuate from $187-$240 on any given month. We refused to sign the contract and sent it by USPS-priority mail that we are not interested in signing with their company due improper billing practices, horrible customer service, and invalid contract with no end dates. We called on July 27, 2015 and spoke with Tom ****** that we have hired another company and we would appreciate that they pick up their Flood Brothers Container by July 31, 2015 and its Aug 3, 2015 and their dumpster is still on our property. Tom ****** response to picking up his dumpster was, "we aren't going to do that"

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement we want is for Flood brothers to pick up their container of our property; and just move on to another customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/05) */ Contact Name and Title: brian ***** This customer has a legal binding agreement until 2019 signed by the treasuer of their association. All terms and conditions are explained in depth. Their self serving complaint is just that self serving and an attempt to not honor contractual laws of Illinois. We have sent them their legal options and they would need to consult their attorney . This is not a bbb case. Flood Brothers doesn't just brake contracts and we honor the law and will continue to do so with this contract. Sorry they are inconviencing you. Brian Flood

7/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/13 Flood Brothers missed our normal morning recycling pick-up. I called to inquire about pick-up, they sent a truck out that evening, but instead of a recycling truck, it was a garbage truck. The mixed both our recycling and our garbage in the same truck. I asked the driver why this was not recycling and he said that it was a new truck that sorts both garbage and recycling. This was a lie. I called Flood Brothers and left a VM, I also emailed with my complaint. I received no response to either On 7/20 Flood Brothers missed our normal morning recycling pick-up again. I called in the afternoon, discussed my original complaint about mixing recycling and garbage. I was told that this would be notated in our account and that they would send a recycling truck out for pick-up. On 7/21 I witnessed the ***** Brothers regular garbage truck pick up both our garbage and our recycling (same as previous week) and put into the same truck to be compacted together. I called Flood Brothers and spoke with a supervisor, *******. ******* informed me that there was a problem with the truck route and the following week they would make sure to have the separate truck for recycling come out on Monday and garbage pick-up on Tuesday. ******* said that their trucks went to a sorting facility where recyclables were sorted from the garbage. I asked him how he could ensure that this actually happened. He said he couldn't but that this was what the facility did. I then reminded him that this wasn't the service that we contracted for and asked for a credit for the 2 weeks where we did not get proper recycling pick-up. He said that they did pick up our recycling (with the regular dumpster) and fulfilled their contractual obligation. I asked what the difference was between our association dumping our recycling in the dumpster as opposed to sorting out and putting in a separate container for pick-up. He repeated that they had provided a service and would not offer a credit. I believe that Flood Brothers is charging customers for recycling pick-up, but in fact they are dumping everything together. This is faulty business practice.

Desired Settlement: I would like a credit for the 2 weeks they did not separate in different trucks, which is what we contractually pay for. If this continues, I would like Flood Brothers to acknowledge to all residential customers that they do not have separate trucks and pay restitution to all customers that are paying for this service

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** First off there are many forms of recycling . Comingled and source separation either way it all ends up at the murf sorting plant . All of the customers recycling ended up at our plant at 31st where we use conveyors to recycle. The separate truck made an attempt to pick up and both times it was blocked so we had the other truck pick it up not to be missed. We will forward all information to customer . Our costs are all involved . Thank you ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1) If both sources end up going to the same recycling plant, be it if the association sorts or throws in with the rest of the garbage in the dumpster, why would we pay additional money for a separate recycling pick-up? 2) I am home all day on maternity. On both occasions, there was nothing blocking any 2nd attempt for a pick-up. There was no 2nd attempt made with the recycling truck. I would consider this to be an excuse that can neither be validated or disputed, hence is the Flood Brothers response. I understand that I am but one customer among thousands and no one will pay attention but I want to make sure that I have lodged this complaint. I do not accept the response from Flood Brothers.

7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am on the Board for my HOA and Flood Brothers provides our commercial garbage collection to our club house and pool. On June 5th I spoke to our sales Representative, ***** Flood, and ordered an additional garbage container to be dropped off at the club house on July 3rd for our annual 4th of July party. In addition, we requested that they empty our existing garbage container. ***** Flood confirmed we were scheduled for the second container and to have our existing container emptied on July 3rd. I should note that we had done this last year (2014) without an issue. We had changed over to Flood Brothers the previous year with the agreement that we would get this additional service every July 4th. ***** had told us to call him each year to ensure we would get the additional container and garbage collection. On Friday July 3rd at approximately 7pm our additional container had not been dropped off nor had our existing container been emptied. I called ***** Flood who said he would look into it and promised to have the container dropped off the morning of the 4th. The morning of the 4th came and we still did not have the additional container. I attempted to call ***** and my calls went directly to voicemail. I then called the emergency line and left my contact information to which NO ONE called me back. To date I have not received one phone call from anyone at Flood apologizing for what happened. I was assured by ***** Flood on the 3rd of July he would call me with an update which he never did. We would like a new sales representative and a call from someone in management at Flood to explain what happened and to assure us that we will not have this same mistake next year.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a different sales representative assigned to our account and assurance that our additional 4th of July service requests will be honored in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@FLOODBROTHERSDISPOSAL.COM Our Office staff clearly made a mistake here . ***** Flood did his job fully but our input employee made a mistake and with the Holiday she was a little overwhelmed . We apologize. this type of complaint is also not suitable for the BBB and really is more suited to us . ***** did his job perfect and in future this wont happen again , I have placed a phone call to customer hoping I can apologize personally . He can also contact me anytime he needs to . Respectfully ***** Flood

6/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am nations largest convenient chain 7-11 franchisee.We have contract with Advance disposal since 2014 for next 3 yrs(till 2017). We never signed any contract with Flood Brothers this yr.And suddenly this company brought their Garbage Dumpster in my 7-11 premises on 05/29/2015.So I contact ***** Flood on 05/30/2015.But no respond came.called Flood Brother office but they hangup on me.called again today 06/04/2015 and explained entire situation.Also mentioned that,if no one remove dumpster from my lot,I have to tow them.Finally ******* Flood called me but he was rude and unprofessional.And said they sent new contract papers to Advance Disposal and will not do anything and not going to help me.So I called my current disposal company and explained entire situation.I have signed contract by Advanced Disposal.So this Flood Brothers doing fraud.And try to make money out of it.Also Advance Disposal ************ told me that,they have no correspondence came from Flood Brothers either. This Flood Brothers removing my current disposal company's dumpster in parking lot and put their containers inside fence.That is eLegal.This Flood Brothers company have no business guts to talk nicely and very bad behavior.As A 7-11 franchise owner we have lots of reputation and this Flood Brothers try to take advantage of it.This company must stop this attitude and should remove their garbage Dumpsters from my premises ASAP.Hope BBB will understand this kind of fraud and put this complain for this company and have them stop doing this to other businesses. Thank You.

Desired Settlement: Not looking for settlement.But if Flood Brothers not remove Garbage Containers in 48 hrs.then we will forcefully have it towed from my premises.And they will be responsible for those charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** owner Mr **** signed up with us in 2014 to do service at that time he showed us a contract that he still had a year left on. Mr. **** also signed a cancellation to be sent to his current hauler . We did everything Mr. **** asked us to do and we have all signed documentations. Mr. **** must have forgotten and it now sounds like he signed another agreement with his hauler. Mr. **** has clearly put himself in a double contract situation . Contract law is simple . this is not a case for BBB but possible courts if Mr. **** doesn't honor Illinois contractual law. If our containers are removed there **** be lawsuits . We **** send someone to try and work through mr. **** MISTAKES that he made in this situation. ***** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never signed contract but ******* ***** fill information without aware of my knowledge and someone from Flood Brothers signed my name.I contact forest Park Health and Building dept.They called Flood Brothers office in Oakbrook Terrace and asked for contract papers.******* ***** faxed to them.building dept.verified all documents ,and checked signed papers which was not match with my sign.Someone not taking this matter seriously.Also City Building dept.sent ******* A current contract which I have with Advance Disposal since 2014.(Originally with them since 2011)And also told him that If Flood Brothers don't remove containers,then city **** issue them Citation .So ******* promise them to remove.So now Flood Brothers need to remove those containers ASAP. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/08) */ The customer wrote his name in signature column . The contract is legal and valid if customer doesn't want to acknowledge what he did he will put himself in litigation . He should have his attorney contact ***** ***** to resolve. We will honor our contract and expect same anything else will be in violation of Illinois contractual law . This man is just using BBB to try and gain his own false release which they cant do and oh yes I take this seriousely when someone tells us they want to do business then try and say they didn't we will sue him then if need be. ***** *****

4/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father has been complaining about this company for about a year now.every thing form them picking up on the time promissed to overcharging.I tried contacting them once before and they said they had to wait for a sales rep to call me back they never called back. We finally had enough and called back asking to speak to a sales rep and spoke to 2 different people with the name tom. Both toms insisted that the garbage was being picked every week even though I have security cameras showing only once a month. When I tried cancelling the service they said we are automatically signed up for another five years. And that our only other option was to buy out the contract for $600. When I asked them who signed the contract they told me " a *** did in 2004". Here's the problem my father bought the shop in 2005 and never signed a contract with them. I also found out that I am not the only customer with these problems when I looked up there reviews online.

Desired Settlement: Simply for them to pick up there garbage can and not charge us the 600 dollars cancellation fee for breaking the contract we never signed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/17) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@floodbrothersdisposal.com The contract was signed and authorized by the owner ********** . That's the person who signed it and said they were the owner in 2009 . It was a 5 year contract that renewed in 2014 for 5 years . This complaint is self serving and false . This customer said he doesn't want to pay for trash anymore like a lot of people and he wants to violate the health laws and use his neighbors dumpster because he doesn't want trash expense . He claims he has 1 bag a month . Every business as you know must have trash service . We told him he can buyout of his contract . The health ordinaces require him to have trash services and even though he doesn't have much he still needs service . He has the lowest level services . He also has a valid contract until 2019 we would suggest he have his attorney contact us otherwise this has nothing to do with the BBB other than he wants you to help him illegally violate his agreement . Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/04/01) */ Im going to start by again confirming that we have no idea who this sam******* person is, other than that your argument is filled with misleading information and slander of my father's honorable business. We never said we didn't want a trash disposal company or to ever break the law or any health codes, just not floodbrothers, you claim that we have the lowest service level but my receipts prove otherwise. When I personally called floodbrothers you claimed that I have "options" to reduce the amount of times you come a month because you where charging us weekly and you only came once a month which can also be proven. So I dont understand how I have the lowest services level if I can still reduce it. That was not the only completely false statement you made. I never stated that I have one bag of trash a month or that I want to use my neighbors dumbster. I said you only come by to pick up the trash once a month. I would appreciate it if next time floodbrothers would not assume that my fathers business would ever break any laws or health codes his credibility speaks for it self he owns multiple businesses in more than one country. I believe this has everything to do with the bbb because I dont like the idea of small business exploitation. I think that if floodbrothers had any real proof of them being as punctual and righteous as they claim they are they would stop trying to insult my fathers business as a business that would want to break the law and provide some proof. Im sorry that you had to resort to a lieing to even try and make a case but I dont see one here. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/04/01) */ Again the customer has a contract , they authorsized the services , they have been paying on the services , and they have honored their contract for years. They are making an illegal attempt to brake this contract and if they feel its not legal they should get their attorney involved . They want the BBB to try and help them brake their legal binding aggrement. ***** Brothers will continue to honor their agreement legally and by the laws of Illinois. ***** *****

1/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As the company states, they require a 6 month notice when there's an intent by a customer to not renew a service contract. Per their wishes I sent them multiple letters, including a certified letter (of said intention) that was not signed for, therefore returned to us. Company repeatedly avoids my inquiries and even harasses my parents by phone repeatedly, whom are both ESL and pressures them constantly.

Desired Settlement: I just want this company to abide by the terms originally signed by us and acknowledge that our contract is exipred, and we no longer wish to do any sort of business with this company. Also, harassing us is every unethical and perhaps even unlawful.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/24) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@floodbrothersdisposal.com We agree with consumer and we **** close this account asap it was our fault we **** get can out sorry for this . ***** *****

9/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharged on every bill since signing with them, not honoring their contracts, misrepresenting their services, falsifying their charges. The only thing left for them to do is pick up their dumpster. They have not honored their part of the service and we are using another garbage company now.

Desired Settlement: They need to pick up their dumpster and adjust the bill correctly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title:************ owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@floodbrothersdisposal.com First off everything that is stated here is self serving and false. The customer violated his contract by not paying his invoices within 10 days . In fact he has made 1 payment in a year . Secondly we have bent over backwards and we credited out his extra when he had extra and waived late charge fees even though he was late . He also threw away tires which is illegal . We **** be sending him a letter and he can decide what to do with his contract at this time he is attempting to use you to illegally brake it . ***** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Everything stated here is completely accurate. Our first ****, and every **** ever received, has been incorrect and overbilled. We have the originals. Numerous phone calls were made to each one of the incompetent "managers", and they just passed *** buck on to each one until they hoped I would go away and just pay the overcharge. From day one, ***** ***** never told us about a delivery charge or drop off charge for the dumpster, but yet it appeared on the very first bill. Over two dozen phone calls were made to this company about it. ***** passing ** to********* who passed ** to******* who passed ** back to ***** and so forth. Then they played the game of telling me it was already written off, yet it appeared on every **** we received. Then, they halted service and charged us even more for not paying our bill! If they charged correctly it would have been paid obviously, but they never did. The one and only payment we made was for the correct amount, after that the overcharges started again. No time to deal with this scam of a company, and from the little investigating I have done about them, there are numerous complaints and issues for the same thing. The only thing self serving here is downright lying about what you charge, failing to correct it, expecting somebody to pay it, and then threatening legal action if they don't, citing a contract that was not provided at the time of signing. Breach of contract here is a joke. All evidence can be provided, including all bills received, and all telephone calls made to rectify the situation. I have made over 4 dozen calls to this business, they have made less than 2, with the exception of having the office staff attempt to collect a **** that isn't correct. Nobody has "bent over backwards" or credited anything that wasn't incorrect. Nobody is using the BBB to do anything, other than make others aware of the fraudulent business practices this company uses to misrepresent their services. As stated originally, since day one with this company, their part of the service was not honored, so we are terminating our use and insisting they pick up their dumpster that is illegally stored in our parking lot. They have 48 hours from now to do this. After that, we are disposing of it via easiest method, most likely the metal recycler. No response needed, just come pick up the dumpster, write off all fraudulent charges, and we **** pay the correct balance of services we received. If this needs to go further, the Attorney General **** be notified and a case **** be filed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/05) */ The customer is being un-truthful we have pictures of his extras that are overloads . The customer has made 1 payment in a year and he violated the payment terms . This is a self serving complaint . He called our office threatning to do things and he is beligerant. He has a contract and we have sent a letter with his conditions . This is a legal matter for his attorney not the BBB. We also called him to try and get a amicable resolution so we are waiting for his return call . Thank you ***** *****

7/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our contract expires 5/9 with all of the auto-renewal provisions crossed out and initialed. Despite that, Flood Brother is threatening us with legal action if we do not renew. Furthermore, we were careful and sent Flood registered letters within the time period requested reinforcing our intent not to renew the contract. Flood refused our registered letter as well as the registered letter sent from our new contracted waste hauler.

Desired Settlement: We want Flood to honor the terms of the contract that it expires on 5/9/14.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/19) */ Contact Name and Title:************ owner Contact Phone: XXXXXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@************************* The customer did not cancel his contractual terms and conditions according to the contract terms he agreed to. He can have his legal review but he didn't . If he illegally brakes the contract and we have asked him not to ***** Brothers **** sue him fro breach of contract . he is writing to you to try and get you to scare us and this is not a legal remedy . The man is not truthful . Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *****'s behavior truly sets new standards for bravado and ******, and raises the question of just exactly how can one discontinue service with them. The attached documents speak for themselves: 1. Our 10/2011 letter advising them of our intent to drop them. 2. With ***** threatening litigation, our renewal of 05/2012 for 2 years with all auto-renewal provisions struck. 3. Knowing who were were dealing with and to cover all bases, our registered letter of 01/30/14 giving them 90 days notice as required the contracts (assuming auto-renewal!). 4. *****'s refusal of the registered letter. 5. My follow up by email. (No answer from *****.) 6. The refusal of ******** Waste's register letter advising ***** of change of service. 7. The refusal of our 05/04/14 letter in response to their letter threatening to sue. In conclusion, ***** is not abiding by the contract they signed, not abiding by their terms within the contract regarding notice required to cancel, and ***** refuses all registered correspondence sent to them. The BBB should rate this vendor as one to be avoided. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/05/29) */ The customer copy has it crossed out and he initialed it not ***** Brothers and as you know legally both parties must do that. This is a legal issue not an issue for BBB . Customer contract is not what we have on file and he is clearly in violation of his terms and conditions we are willing to save him the legal expenses and heartache he can buy out his remaining terms if he doesn't we **** seek all damages in court . Thank you ***** ***** Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/06/12) */ This is in response to Flood's most recent comment. We believe that the documents that we submitted speak for themselves. The contract copy included is the only copy. Flood cannot produce a signed copy of the contract with the auto-renewal terms not crossed out.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Driver must drive through outdoor seating area for access to dumpster. This causing great concerns, for safety and also because of smell and sight of trash removal in plain sight where customers dine. Driver has access to dumpster during off hours as gate is never locked for their access, but never have they done this. After our last encounter with driver to request this from him, the driver made remarks in regards to how our business should be run. I then called office to complain and to stop service from Flood Brothers, but was told that I could not and that they would not stop our service. That regardless of what driver did/said i could not stop their service contract.

Desired Settlement: I wish to not use their service. I wish to use a company that respects my business and employees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ Contact Name and Title:************ Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email:************************************** The customer can end his contract at any time. With being in the middle of the terms and conditions at this time he would need to buyout the remaining terms and conditions which we explained. Thank you************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please show the contract with those terms stated. Date, time fram, etc. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/27) */ I personally talked to this consumer . We sent them a copy of their contractual terms and conditions and how he can legally buyout his terms . We await his attorney response in the mean time Flood brothers will honor fully the contracts terms and conditions as we have in the past .

4/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ************ I am the secretary treasure for Ministerios Adonai Church, and the church owns a restaurant in which, flood brothers disposal sales representative, stop by the restaurant to offer service in which we have already a contract with waste management, he offer a one year contract for less than what we were paying, we mention him that we have a contract with waste management, he mention they will investigate when the contract expire so a soon that happens they would drop their containers. January 1,2014 we see our both properties containers sitting out side the parking lot and the waste management containers were pull out and remove it and waste management was going to take their containers thinking that we want to break our contract with them early and pay a $1000.00. I call flood brothers and ask them why they do that?, since our contract with waste management have't expire until September 2014 and the restaurant November 2015. The sales man came and he said I can take them back if you sign another contract because they never investigate when our contract expire, The pastor of our church got really upset because in the beginning he told us it was a one year contract that what he wrote with a pen but when he mistakenly send the containers we found that that it was a 5 year contract and he lied to us. he insist to force us to sign both contract for the church and the restaurant if we don't sign it they were not going to take the containers. we were very up set and don't sign anything there is almost two months and they said if we don't sign the contract they are going to take us to court and we have to pay 1400 for both contract, we felt this is unfair and we need to help us since they been calling us to make us pay something that they mistreat in the beginning. please we need to help us with this issue this people are liers and want to take advantages of us

Desired Settlement: we don't want their service anymore since they were not honest since the beginning and we don't want to pay 1400 they want us to paid because, we don't want service with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ Contact Name and Title:************ Contact Phone:*********** Contact Email:************************************** The customer signed up for service with Flood brothers . We ordered and delivered the box . We gave them a 1 year contract with a 1 year fixed price . Which they agreed to. Their current hauler came back and said they had a contract. We told them we would post date ours to keep them out of a 2 contract situation they put themselves into. They said no. We told them they would have to buyout our contract then because we spent 900.00 on it for them . they don't want to do that and are creating self serving lies. The option still is there for them to post date , otherwise Flood Brothers has damages for their false representations to us . *********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, we do not want anything to do with Flood Brothers because they gave us mislead info. They trespassed our property, took the waste management containers from the parking lot in which our contract haven't expires until September 2014 and November 2015 and now Waste Management was going to make us pay $1000 for both locations, the restaurant and the church because Flood Brothers removed their waste management containers to put in theirs. We want Flood Brothers to remove their containers and we want justice. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/04/10) */ The customer has refused to honor their agreement and they have refused to honor the legal contract laws of Illinois .. we will proceed to sue them in court at this time for illegally braking their contract .. *********** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company keeps calling us to make us sign another contract, they said if we don't sign it they are not wiling to remove their containers that they brought to our company way ahead of time and now they want us to pay for their mistake,if it wasn't for their mistake we don't get to known their bad intentions. Flood Brother are dishonest since in the beginning, and now they expect us to do business with them when we felt deceive expecting us to to sign another contract "to correct their mistake but unfortunately we don't trust them.

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they don't come when we our open, so we have to put the container outside. they say that the contract was signed by someone who hasn't worked here for two and half years. Everyone we called said they would give us a one year contract. they claim that ours was five years.We only need one pick-up a week they say you have to have two

Desired Settlement: We want out , that all

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/08) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ************************************* The customer business hours do not match up with our routes hours in that area and as any business or home knows you must put the garbage out no hauler in the world does business based on time we would never get a route done so that's not even a BBB issue. Customer still has a contract they can buyout at anytime and we are willing to give them that option otherwise they must honor their agreement based in illinois law as Flood Brothers will do. Their issues aren't even valid to the BBB guidelines. ***********

1/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have an original copy of agreement ****** with signatures dated 3-23-10 of both parties for weekly waste disposal from 5-1-10 to 5-1-11 with no extensions & no contract period. Service has continued since then without a contract. On 12-30-13, we informed************** that we wanted to discontinue their waste disposal service immediately. ************** emailed a different version of the contract with other terms and conditions, additions, deletions that was different than the signed original agreement document in our possession but with the same ****** on it. ************** claims that ***** ***** left us with the wrong copy of the contract.************** emailed a letter indicating the contract automatically renewed for five years on 5-1-11 and threatened suing us for breach of contract if we don't pay $1,053.00 as liquidation damages by 1-9-14. We instructed************** to remove the ***** waste disposal container from our property immediately. The ***** salesman was ***** ***** and he signed the agreement on 3-23-10.

Desired Settlement: We will pay the remaining balance due for standard services ending 12-30-13. Flood Brothers Disposal must remove their waste container from our property ASAP and discontinue attempts to collect additional funds .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/14) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@floodbrothersdisposal.com we resolved this issue with customer and they are satisfied and they are still our customer this may be an old complaint Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ***** ***** contacted us by telephone 1-7-13 expressing their wish to resolve the issues. January 8 and 9 we corresponded and negotiated by email and came to an agreement on new rates and changed service of $660.00 per year for pick up once every 4 weeks of the 2-cubic-yard waste container. ***** *****'s January 8 email stated, "We are willing to do what you need and we are willing to do it with no contract all verbal going forward if you agree to that." There is no written agreement other than our email correspondence. We are satisfied with this arrangement and consider the dispute resolved.

11/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had signed a contract with Flood Brothers for service on January 10th 2013. The contract number is *****. I called *************** the next day to cancel my contract due to still being under contract with my current provider. He agreed to cancel my contract. I also emailed him a letter on January 14th 2013 stating that I wanted to cancel my contract plus sent the same letter registered mail.Flood Brothers delivered a dumpster to my business which is 7-Eleven located at 2411 W Sullivan Rd in Aurora IL around the end of September 2013. I have made several call to Mr. Flood about this situation with no response. He sent me a text message on October 10th 2013 saying the dumpster would be picked up on Friday October 11th 2013. As of today the dumpster has not been picked up and when I called the company they told me no pickup was scheduled after he told me it was. The dumpster is located in my parking lot which is causing me problems. All garbage dumpsters must be contained in a closed area. Also this is an inconvenience for my customers as the dumpster is taking up parking spaces.

Desired Settlement: remove dumpster

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title:************ Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@floodbrothersdisposal.com we picked up our container and closed the account this has been settled .

9/30/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a contract w/waste management since 2010. I had wanted to cut my contract with them.Flood brothers stated they were going to send paperwork to end the contract with, which was to have had happened 4/1/13. Waste management stated to have received a certified letter 6/28/13. Flood brother send me a fax with a "receipt" stated they send out the certified letter 6/5/13( too late to cute the contract and did an automatic renewal which I never received a letter) 7/1/13 ** stated that I did not have a choice but to resign my contract with them for a yr. Flood brothers stated that I had a previous contract with them but was never valid due to still having a contract with **. Flood brothers stated that because I was not able to start the contract (in 2011) I was going to start a new contract with them on 9/3/13. I called an spoke to ******* from flood brothers and stated he was going to look into it and to fax over my contract with ** and be able to fix it. 9/11/13 I received a certified letter from stating that I need to honor the contract that I have with flood brothers and if not I would have to buy out the 1 yr contract of roughly $800.The representative that came to my business did not explain to me that what I would be signing would be a contract. that stated he was going to send all the paper work on time to The actual contracts stats if I plan on buying out the contract it would be only for 6 months. I called to tell them that I was with ** for another yr and they told me that I now have to contracts and I would have to buy out the contract whether I like it or not. I spoke to *********** who began to yell at me and say that one way or another he was going to get his money because his name was on the trash cans and the contract I signed has his name on it which mean he own the company.

Desired Settlement: The settlement that I request is for this "contract" that I have with flood brothers to end, I already have a contract with waste mangment and have all the correct paper work from both companies that state that I had a contract with ** and Flood brothers did not comply with send the paper work to end the contract with **. I can not afford to buy the contract with flood brothers that was never explained to me. Please help me. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/18) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@floodbrothersdisposal.com This customer signed a contract to do service with us for september of 2013 . She then calls us saying that she doesnt want to honor her contract any longer after we provide and paid for a 800.00 piece of equipment . We informed her that legally she must cancel per the terms and conditions agreed to which are all legal by state of illinois. This customer is attemting to violate contractual law . We **** honor our agreemnent and we expect her to do the same . We advised her to have her attorney get involved before she violates contract to avoid big legal bills in future . Thank you ***** *****

9/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For last few weeks a sales person (***********) from ***** Brothers Disposals has been talking to us that he has saved the paper work we signed in Aug.2010 but that time we did not take their services now he is harassing us and threatening us with huge amount of cancellation fees and threat of going to court. Couple of weeks ago we were thinking since he has been saving all this paperwork for last three years, may be we should give him the business but looking at their way of doing business, poor customer service WE do not want to do any business with them if this is the customer service they provide before signing a contract what would they do after we are in contract. We had send them an e-mail, certified letter and also told them on the phone that we do not want their service at any of our locations. He is still threatening us with huge fees for cancelation. We do not understand canceling what, how can they hold someone responsible for something that was signed three years ago, if it was not good then what makes them think it **** be good now. We already have a bad experience with this company, in 2010 we ordered a dumpster from them which was suppose to be $200 later we end up paying $300+ because by mistake they gave us wrong price. Please help us get them off our back.

Desired Settlement: Since we do not have a contract with this company they should stay away from our property and our garbage and they should stop harassing us and sending demand letters for cancellation .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@floodbrothersdisposal.com cUSTOMER HAS A LEGAL CONTRACT WITH US SIGNED AND DATED. They want to quit but they do not want to use the buyout clause that they agreed to already . We are wilkling to work with them on a buyout . We originally post dated the contract because they were in another one so we were the good company and we didnt hold them to 2 contracts . They are trying to void their legal obligations . They know what they need to do and that would be honor the contract or buy out we are good with either one . ***** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have no valid contract with ***** brothers. . They can not hold us responsible for something that was signed in 2010. If it did not work in 2010 what makes them think it **** work now. They should not be allowed to force businesses to do business with them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/05) */ customer has a contract we responded to this already .. did you receive our response ? Yes they have a contract , they post dated it , we helped them stay out of 2 contract situation they put themselves in .. If they wish to buyout of it they can . ***** Brothers **** honor their legal obilgations at this point .. ***** *****

9/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved Feb 1, 2013 from 1288 Caribou Trail Carol Stream. We pre-paid our quarterly bill with Flood Brothers and told the new people moving into our house that we paid it for them. Flood brothers contacted the new people at the Caribou Tr address and told them that we couldn't pay it for them, they needed to pay it and they would issue us a refund. Flood brothers never contacted me about this issue. Luckily, the new tenants told me about a month ago that they had to pay Flood Brothers and they were issuing us a refund. I called them immediately and I spoke to Patrick on 8/6 and confirmed that we were due a refund and it would go out that week. Since then, I've made several phone calls to Flood Brothers over the past month and left messages for Patrick with no return call.

Desired Settlement: I want my unused portion of what we paid refunded to me. I beleive the amount should be around $40.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@floodbrothersdisposal.com yes we agree and we are paying it .. Our credit get processed 1 time a month so they **** be recieiving the refund and the case should be closed. We agree with them and we are doing.. ***** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (450, 10, 2013/09/05) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: received check today. Thank you BBB for making this happen! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/05) */ we responded already ***** brothers is sending the refund we agree with this complaint and we have sent refund ..


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

13 Customer Reviews on Flood Brothers Disposal Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart