This business is not BBB accredited.

Wisbrock Construction

Phone: (630) 846-1109 325 N Warwick Ave, Westmont, IL 60559 http://www.wisbrockroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wisbrock Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wisbrock Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 2003 Business started: 04/01/1999 Business started locally: 04/01/1999 Business incorporated 08/11/2005 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Wisbrock, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Wisbrock, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Snow Removal Service Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
Wisbrock Roofing, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    325 N Warwick Ave

    Westmont, IL 60559 (630) 846-1109

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** did our neighbors roof and they were completely happy. He came out to our home several times to discuss the project before we hired him. We have a 2 story Gallagher & Henry home with a mansard roof. **** is very thorough, punctual, detailed, a person who tries to live up to his word and an all around nice guy. We shared with him the two serious areas of leakage (only in the winter from ice damning) that we had with the previous roof - 1) the area between the house and the garage and the small peaked overhang over the master bedroom. He committed to us that once it was done correctly it would never leak again. He and his crew did everything they committed to do and the roof looked fine. However, after 2 winters the leaks were back. **** came out, did some minor repairs, cleaned off the roof and we would need to contact him again with the next heavy snow. **** has been out to our home several times due to the same issues - leaking in the same two spots. Last year, I called him due to leaking and he recommended that we put roof heaters in those spots to melt the snow/ice off the roof so it wouldn't back up and leak into the house. He would not pay for the roof heaters, so we paid for the roof heaters and my husband and son did the installation. The heaters have been on since our first snow of the season. The roof was again leaking and **** did not return my call this time. What would you do? I paid $16,500 for a brand new roof that has leaked off and on with each heavy snow (if we didn't have a snowy winter, we were good to go). We now have wet wood w/wet insulation in our garage attic from the leaking and dry wall and paint issues in the master bedroom from all the leaking. I'm done paying for his poor work. I'll be hiring someone else to fix his mess and send him the bill. **** ******** tried but he did not succeed in resolving the leaking problems with this roof installation. For that he gets an 'F'. If you have a complex project with any sort of issues, check out other roofers with more experience.

Desired Settlement: I want my roof fixed and associated damage with leakage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***************@yahoo.com We did a 2 layer tear off on the entire roof that I believe was around 7 years old. There was a lot of rotten wood we had to replace around the windows and mansard walls. -We installed ice and water shield 3 feet up the gutter edge on the mansard walls and around every window. -We hand nailed the mansard with 6 nails per shingle in the half inch nailing line. -We installed new flashing around the mansard windows where the mansard roof met the top shallow pitch roof. -We overlapped ice and water shield on to the mansard for extra protection and then covered that with aluminum flashing. -We then shingled the shallow roofs. There is a dead spot above the garbage and we used a 4 ply modified roof system In that spot, which is pretty much installing 4 flat roofs for extra protection. We had mild winters with no issues. When the temperature would get below freezing and there was snow on the roof is when these leaks would occur. I went into the attic multiple times and every time it was well above freezing in the attic, which means they have ventilation and heat loss issues. I have shoveled the snow off of this roof multiple times with out charging them even one of those times. Myself and my employee with over 46 years of roofing experience held a lit lighter around the window sill and frame and the draft through the window frame would blow the lighter out. The customers son witnessed this. I removed a vented soffit panel and it was all wood underneath so whoever installed the soffits never cut into the wood to properly create air intake through the soffits. That would also explain why the motors in their fans keep burning out because their is no air for the intake. they did not want to address these soffit and ventilation issues. I then suggested we use U.L. Approved heat tape to try to prevent ice dams from forming prior to temperatures reaching below freezing. I provided and installed the heat tape and when I asked the customer to pay for the heat tape she told me this was my problem and she shouldn't have to pay for it because the roof was leaking. So instead of arguing at that time I left and later that evening her husband called me and said he knows I did a great job on the roof and this issue is the design of the house and not my fault and sent me a check to cover the material costs of the heat tape but no labor. Her husband has told me in front of my employee (my witness) that this is a design flaw of the house and he knows we did a great job on the roof. My employee with over 40 years experience that retired this year said that you can contact him on this matter since he has been out to this house many times with me. The problems on this house are a design flaw and it has to do with insulation and ventilation. This roof has never leaked in the rain and in April of 2013 we had over two inches of rain in one hour and the roof still not leak. We have had many record breaking storms in the last five years and not once during even one of those storms did this roof leak. The biggest problem in this situation is that the customer does not want to pay to fix anything with the ventilation issues and continues to say that the work should be covered under warranty, however, until my customer wants to fix the real issue creating the leaks I cannot cover any work under a warranty that does not exist. Every time that this customer has called me I have had immediate response and come out to try to help them, this last time that she called I had personal matters to tend to as well as working only nights to remove excess amounts of snow we received in a short period of time therefore it took me three days to return her phone call at which she did not answer or return, one day later I received the better business bureau complaint and notification of her defaming my business all over the internet. I have been in business over 14 years and have been roofing over 20 years and always have done my absolute best to keep all of my customers satisfied. Until now I have never had these types of complaints against me and have an impeccable reputation around my home town where I conduct most of my business because of the great work that I do on every job. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Prior to ******** getting the job, we spoke at length about resolution of the prior roof leaks and **** assured me that he would resolve them with the installation of the new roof and associated work. I have contacted a Roof Leak Specialist that recently inspected the roof and found several issues with ********'s roof installation at my home. I attach his estimate to repair those issues along with a picture from my roof. I have also contacted an Attic Specialist and another Roofer to come and inspect the roof, attic, ventilation, etc. and estimate the cost of the work to resolve the ongoing issues. I have also contacted CertainTeed (the shingle manufacturer) to come and do a warranty inspection to confirm or deny installation errors by ******** Roofing. I am willing to pay to get these errors resolved as it relates to attic insulation and/or ventilation but not as it relates to the integrity of the roof and ventilation on the roof. That should have been done with the roof installation. I will provide additional information as it becomes available. If ******** Roofing believed the issue to be insulation and/or ventilation, why did he assure me that he could resolve the issues with the roof installation. I am not knowledgeable about these types of issues and ******** should have consulted an Attic Specialist or someone with Insulation/Ventilation expertise to assist in resolution of the problems at the time of installation of the new roof. I have been deceived by a nice guy who over-committed and under-delivered. I want the roof fixed in accordance with manufacturers installation instructions and any insulation/ventilation problems I will pay to resolve myself. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/02/17) */ First we never touched any soffit vents, but I did tell them it needed to be addressed. The worst thing you could do is tamper with this roof. The issues to fix this house have nothing to do with the way the roof was installed. I have pictures of what we did to this roof that show how the ice and water shield was installed. We have had storms with over 2 inches of rain in an hour and have had no leaks, that should tell you something. For a company to say we didn't install the ice and water shield right is pretty amazing. The only way to see how someone installed ice and water shield you must have x-ray vision. Considering the ice and water shield is undernieth the shingles. To say that is the problem also proves my point, when that house was built, no one used ice and water shield. So to say ice and water shield a back up system is a part of the problem, there must be some design flaw with this house, because as far as I know houses aren't designed around Ice and water shield. The problem is they were never willing to pay to fix this problem, they thought it was included with the roof. If they would have been willing to address it with me and if they wanted a second option I could have shown this other contractor what has been done. The worst thing you can do is tamper with this roof. It's a heat loss and ventilation problem. This roof was installed above and beyond manufacture specifications. There are a lot of issues on this house, you shouldn't be able to stand next to a window and watch a lighter get blown out by the draft coming threw the frame. If at any point they really thought I did this bad of a job why did her husband send me a check for the heat tape? They know there is a lot more to this problem, they just don't want to pay to fix it. Again ice and water shield and roof installation are not the problem.... I hope they don't let another company tamper with the roof that can handle 2 inches of rain in an hour. It's unfortunate the way they went about this, because the pictures I have could really help someone with the real problem. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ******** Roofing took on this project with the verbal commitment that they could resolve the leak issues presented to them and they did not do that. I sent another communication to CertainTeed today, they did not respond to my previous communication to come out and see the roof. We had another roofer come out today, who has resolved several other mansard roof issues and they believe that they have identified the issues - 1) they believe that the ice and water shield installation on the garage did not go high enough onto the house and that the leakage is occurring immediately above where it is installed to and 2) there is a place in my attic where you can see daylight, which may be another point of leakage; 3) over the master bedroom window, they believe that the roofing installation was not done properly to resolve this tricky issue, which most often in mansard style roof homes, is the point of leakage. Both of these areas will need to be re-roofed, insulation in the attic above the garage is wet and will need to be replaced, ceiling damage in the family room will need to be replaced with new drywall. The insulation in our attic above the bedrooms checked out fine, the attic fan is burned out and will need to be replaced and both bathrooms venting needs to be rerouted out to the roof (it is currently venting into the attic - something I believe ******** should have caught); 4) the roofing around the chimney may need to be redone as well, they believe there is a problem there and additional interior insulation needs to be installed there as well. They took many pictures, are preparing a price for us and will send it to us early next week. They have committed to us that they will guarantee that they will resolve the problem. I will send it to you for review. As I indicated in my original complaint, a mansard roof is a tricky project and ******** knew that when they took on the project. I believe that ******** should reimburse us for the cost of the required re-roofing needed to resolve these leaks. Whether this is a design flaw or not, the issue at hand is whether ******** Roofing lived up to their commitment to fix the original leaks with the $13,000 installation of their new roof. They are the experts in the roofing industry and should have had the knowledge and skill to be able to resolve whatever problems existed with the roof. And if they didn't have the knowledge of a mansard style roof installation, they should not have taken on the project. As a homeowner, I cannot just throw up my hands and say 'oh well, the roof is leaking again, it's a design flaw'. ******** Roofing should pay for the resolution of the roof issues and related interior damage, since they did not fix the known issues with their new roof installation. I will be out of the country for the next 3 weeks on business, however, I will be in touch via email. I will attach the pictures and estimate for repair as soon as I receive them. I will also provide you any information that I receive back from CertainTeed. 2/4/14 info from consumer: We contacted Opal Enterprises, a home remodeler (they specialize in roofing, siding, windows, etc.). They have performed a thorough investigation of our roof issues and created the attached detailed proposal. They found several existing conditions with the roof installed by ******** (damaged shingles, incorrectly installed vents on roof, no soffit vents, etc.) They include backup information from roofing experts that describe how the ventilation should have been installed. I did not hear back from CertainTeed after two emails to them. From: ****** *** <**********@us.mcd.com> Date: Tue, Feb 4, 2014 at 7:32 AM Subject: Additional Attachments to Complaint XXXXXXXX To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Hi: I would like to attach additional backup documents to my complaint # XXXXXXXX. I attach them hereto. Can you please add these to my complaint? I was unable to do that. These are links to important information that the company provided as backup information for the contents of their proposal. Thank you for your assistance. Please let me know if you have any questions on this information. Hi ***, I have completed and attached the quote for the roof on your home. I included pictures with detailed descriptions of the issues that we found with your corrent roof and roofing system. While you called us out there for a couple of ice damming leaks we found other things that were incorrect and should be fixed in order to ensure the best functioning system. The venting, bath vents, satellite dish mounts, and shingle damage issues should not be ignored. The best way for us to stop the current leaks you have now and ensure you do not deal with others in the future is to fully correct all the problems that we have found. As described in the proposal, if we follow the full scope of work we have provided then we have no problem with our warranty covering against ice damming. If we were to cut the scope down to more minimal repairs then we, like most others, cannot guarantee that the roof will not continue to leak. We have dealt with many mansard roofs and corrected the issues that homeowners have faced with them for many years. We'd be happy to help you take care of your leaking issues and get to the bottom of the problems. Attached are a few link to help explain the ventillation items which I had noted. Once you have had a chance to review the proposal let me know your thoughts and if you have any questions. I hope your work trip is going well. Talk to you soon. http://www.nrca.net/roofing/Roof-vents-890 http://www.gaf.com/Roofing/Residential/Products/Roof_Vents/MasterFlow_Power_Roof_Ventilator http://www.airvent.com/professional/products/intake-theedge.shtml http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VX7XQJDVII Dan *** _____________________________________________________________________________ *** ****** Manager gFIT Initiative McDonald's Corporation 2111 McDonald's Drive Oak Brook, Illinois 60523 (: 630.623.7291 Office; XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell *: **********@us.mcd.com