Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Showalter Roofing Service, Inc.

Phone: (630) 499-7700 Fax: (630) 499-7007 View Additional Phone Numbers 25W048 Ramm Dr, Naperville, IL 60564 http://www.showalterroofing.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Showalter Roofing Service, Inc. is a roofing contractor for commercial businesses and residential customers. This business is located in Naperville, IL, and serves the western Chicago suburbs including Aurora, North Aurora, Batavia, Downers Grove, Oak Brook, Wheaton, Carol Stream, St Charles, Geneva, Elmhurst, Cicero, Schaumburg, Elgin, Romeoville, Plainfield, Joliet, Lockport, Orland Park, Oak Lawn, Oswego, Yorkville, Crest Hill, Shorewood, New Lenox, Elburn, Kaneville, Big Rock, Plano, Blue Island, and Hoffman Estates. This company offers roofing services including commercial and residential roofing, metal roofing, sheet metal fabrication, flat roofing, tile and shingle roofing, roof repair, roof decks, and roofing service consulting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Showalter Roofing Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Showalter Roofing Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Showalter Roofing Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1979 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 06/15/1981 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dale Showalter, President Mr. C. J. Martin, Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. C. J. Martin, Chief Operating Officer
Principal: Mr. Dale Showalter, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roof Repair Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Roofing Service Consultants Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Property Maintenance Building Maintenance Sheet Metal Work Roofing Materials Contractor - Flat Roof Roof Cooling Systems Roof Decks Roof Structures Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)


Additional Locations

  • 25W048 Ramm Dr

    Naperville, IL 60564 (630) 499-7700 (630) 518-4772

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I really hate to write a negative review but I need to share my recent experience with Showalter Roofing and their terrible business practices in order to warn others of their potential illegal business schemes, including trespassing *** potentially entering my home without my permission. I cannot believe this business has such positive reviews after my literally, terrifying experience. Showalter Roofing (**** ******* gave me an estimate to replace a skylight in June of this year. After receiving estimates from other companies and ensuring that I received the best offer from Showalter Roofing, I replied to an email from **** ****** indicating that I would like to use their services and to let me know what the next step in the process was in order have them replace the skylight as quoted. This was in October of this year. After waiting a month (late November), I realized I had never heard back from Showalter Roofing either via email reply or phone call which to me indicated that they must not want the business. Therefore, I sought quotes from other local companies and was about sign a contract with another roofer to replace the skylight. On 11/18/14 I received a voicemail from Showalter Roofing indicating my special order skylight had arrived and to please call them to schedule the installation. As you can imagine I was quite taken aback given that I had not heard from this company for a month and I had never signed a contract to complete services. Regardless, I was going to return their call the next day to straighten out the situation. However, the following day, 11/19/14, I came home from work and walked upstairs to my bedroom, the room that had the skylight that needed to be replaced. As I walked in, I noticed a mess all over the ground and on my custom furniture, and then noticed a newly installed skylight. This is the skylight that I never order, never signed for and was never scheduled to be installed. I called the police and there is an outstanding report for the trespassers ** my roof without my knowledge. Additionally, the police are very concerned that someone may have entered my home. I never knew of a company that just installs something that is only quoted. The worst part is that ********* Roofing was contacted by the police, apologized to the police, and told the police that we needed to contact the Chief Operating Office (** ******) to have this figured it out because evidently this is not the first time Showalter Roofing has done this (creepy). My husband has been trying to call ** all day but has been told different stories as to his whereabouts (e.g., sick, offsite at a company meeting, etc). He has now been speaking with Jill for residential projects, however she has yet to been able to help to remedy the situation. No one, including **** ****** who was directly contacted by the ********** police, has attempted to contact me to explain the situation.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would agree to non-payment for services and product, clean up of my home in the inside including caulking of the skylight, etc, and a 3 year 100% coverage warranty for both installation and product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ******, COO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@showalterroofing.com There are numerous inaccuracies within the complaint. It is our understanding the individual who filed the complaint will be removing it from the BBB records.

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Showalter Roofing Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)