BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2009

Prestige Roofing & Exteriors, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (847) 299-6262Fax: (847) 299-6335454 E Northwest Hwy, Des PlainesIL 60016-2202 Send email to Prestige Roofing & Exteriors, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2009

BBB has determined that Prestige Roofing & Exteriors, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Prestige Roofing & Exteriors, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Prestige Roofing & Exteriors, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
05/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted **** **********, the guy who did our roofing back in 2011. This was more than a week ago. We have leaking gutters, rusting nails and entire planks falling off the roof. No reply from him, except to say he will review the contract and get back to me. It's been over a week and no response. I need a detailed response from them, because we're supposed to be under a 25-year warranty!

Desired Settlement
Repair all the defects found at no cost to us.

Business Response
We have had a long time relationship with Courtland Square with no issues until this time. After receiving *******'s original e-mail with pictures referring to her building we spoke with the property manager and at that time he told us he had spoken with her and told her that the issues she was having had nothing to do with the work we did in 2011. At that point we thought the issue had been resolved. After hearing from ******* again we looked up our contract there was no gutter replacement or repair done by Prestige. Prestige replaced the metal vents, power fan cover, chimney cover and the shingles surrounding those areas. The 25 year warranty she is mentioning, as shown on the contract, is the manufacturer's warranty on the shingles replaced in 2011. As for the fascia,per the Insurance Scope, which I have attached, we replaced fascia on the Southern and Western elevations and the current damage is on the East side of the building, again, nothing to do with the work we did. It appears that it may have blown off in a recent storm.
The property manager would be happy to substantiate that there are no issues with any of the work that Prestige has ever done for them.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do accept their response. The reason I decided to contact BBB was because I didn't hear from **** more than a week after he said he would review the contract and get back to me. Our manager was copied in my first email to ****, just because he signed the contract in place of the building president at the time. That doesn't mean the manager was in charge of the work done, the building association worked directly with Prestige. The manager had nothing to do with it. He is not the one who should be responding to my query to ****. If I email ****, I expect a response from ****, not our manager. I need a copy of all the documentation involved when the work was done. Building residents are asking me questions about the work done and I have no detailed documentation. Once I receive a copy of the documentation from ****, I will consider this case closed with the BBB. Until then, I request this case be open and considered unresolved.

Final Business Response
Prestige e-mailed ******* on May 6th and again today explaining that the issues they are having had nothing to do with the repairs performed. I understand how frustrating it is for ******* since she was not the president at the time the work was done and does not know how to answer questions that are being presented to her. I attached a copy of the original contract, which I believe she has, and a copy of the insurance scope with the details of the work done at the time. Hopefully this will be helpful to her. We are also available to answer any questions at our office XXX-XXX-XXXX, sometimes a phone conversation can resolve things faster than going back and forth through e-mails
It was certainly not our intention to ignore her, we thought things had been explained to her satisfactorily

11/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
prestige installed a roof in fall 2010. On 10/31/2013 the roof leaked and caused damage to the attic and living room ceiling. Mike came out on 110513 and without looking at the leak in the living room he said it was the gutter. I said it was impossible as the leak is further in on the ceiling. Mike then came in to the home, saw the damage and then went up to the roof. He came back and said that a nail had popped out causing the shingle to move and cause the leak but he fixed it. I told him to go to the attic to take a look and he said he didnt need to and that he repaired the leak. I then asked Mike who will pay for the damage that the leak cause to which he replied "its not our problem. A nail fell out and its fixed? I replied it was a nail that was installed by your company and he replied "Whatever" and walked out of my home. We have made several phone calls to prestige who refuses to call back. Calls were made to **** the owner on 110513,110613 and 110713. No calls have been received. In addition, on 110613 i noticed a prestige roofing truck circling my neighborhood. Unfortunately I needed to get to work so I am hoping that the company did not do any additional work on my property without authorization.

Desired Settlement
We simply want the damange that was caused by the leak in the roof to be repaired. The insulation in the attic needs to be replaced and the ceiling repaired. We are not asking for any additional amounts. Just want my home repaired from the damage

Business Response
Just to clarify we did not do the roof in fall of 2010. Prestige did their siding, contact dated October 2010 that had been damaged from hail,in late March and beginning of April of 2011. The contract for the roof was signed on June 2, 2002 and their roof was done shortly after that.
When we were called regarding a roof leak we went and repaired the roof as a favor to a return customer. It was a simple repair on a roof we had installed in 2002 which was out of warranty & we did it with no intentions of charging them. Obviously we did not feel that it was our obligation to absorb the cost of the interior damage.
There seems to have been a mistake on their part thinking the roof had been done in 2010. We can understand that they would be upset if this was the case, however, it was not.
**** **********, the owner of Prestige followed up with the homeowner, ***** ****** on Friday November 8th and explained to him about their error as to when the work was in fact done. In their conversation **** requested that ***** calls the BBB and has the complaint removed due to the evidence and circumstances involving the misunderstanding on when the roof replacement was actually performed.
We at Prestige strive to keep an A+ rating with the BBB and our customers. Based on the circumstances of this complaint we hope that it will be stricken from the records.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - Gutters, Doors - Installation, Contractor - Flat Roof, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Roofing Service Consultants, Tuck Pointing, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/25/2004Business started: 05/01/1997New Owner Date: 05/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph 9th Fl
Chicago, IL60601-3218
(312) 814-4500
http://www.idfpr.com

BBB records show a license number of 104-010584 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.idfpr.com. The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2015.

Type: Department of Professional and Financial Reg.

Check License Status: https://www.idfpr.com/dpr/licenselookup/results.asp?&page=1&lic nbr=104-010584&type2=LICENSE

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1997, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Massarelli (President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - Gutters, Doors - Installation, Contractor - Flat Roof, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Roofing Service Consultants, Tuck Pointing, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Construction & Remodeling Services

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Prestige Roofing & Exteriors, Inc

454 E Northwest Hwy

Des Plaines, IL 60016-2202

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 454 E Northwest Hwy 

    Des Plaines, IL 60016-2202(847) 299-6262

  • 734 Therese Terrace 

    Des Plaines, IL 60016-1112

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Prestige Roofing & Exteriors, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Home Remodeling Contractors
Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.