BBB Accredited Business since

Nyberg Exteriors

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 358-1096 Fax: (847) 259-3577 1213 E Sayles Dr, Palatine, IL 60074 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nyberg Exteriors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nyberg Exteriors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Nyberg Exteriors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Andrew Nyberg, President Mr. Stuart Nyberg, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Nyberg, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Stuart Nyberg, Vice President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Skylights Windows - Installation & Service Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
Nyberg Enterprises, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Nyberg Exteriors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1213 E Sayles Dr

    Palatine, IL 60074 (847) 358-1096

  • 4525 N Lowell Ave

    Chicago, IL 60630 (773) 725-8973


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nyberg Exteriors was hired to install an ice and water shield on our roof. They improperly installed it so it hangs over the side of the roof. They took the excess shield and screwed it into the siding. It looks hideous. The three areas that they damaged are: 1) Roof (the ice and water shield was incorrectly installed and they told me the job was not finished but they did not offer to return) 2) The siding as it now needs to be replaced and must match the rest of the siding. 3) There are holes in the side of the house that they must fix. Nyberg Exteriors has been unwilling to fix their mistake. Their first solution was to paint the shield to match the siding. I thought it was a joke but they were serious. Second, they told me that they would refund my money but I needed to find someone else to fix it. Considering we have one month before snowfall, that is a horrible solution and shows how Nyberg Exteriors does not stand behind its product. Their final solution is to not fix the problem but instead send me a bill for their horrible work. Nyberg Exteriors does horrible work and should not be in business for the good of society.

Desired Settlement: Nyberg Exteriors needs to do the following: 1. Remove the ice and water shield that they installed. Take off the appropriate shingles and siding to completely take off the shield that was improperly installed. 2. Install a new ice and water shield properly, one that does not hang over the roof. It should be flush to the edge of the roof. 3. Put back shingles and siding over the new ice and water shield. If they are damaged in step 1, then Nyberg Exteriors needs to put new shingles and siding over the re-installed ice and water shield. 4. Fill in the holes they created in our siding when screwing the ice and water shield into the side of our house. The holes need to be completely filled so water does not seep in. 5. Replace the piece of siding that they damaged when they screwed the shield into the siding. That new piece of siding must match the existing siding of the side of the house. 6. Because they are taking things off and putting new items on our roof, Nyberg Exteriors must ensure that all holes and other aspects of the roof are sealed so water cannot get in. They must not only re-install the ice and water shield but make sure no other damage is caused by their efforts. The area that they are working in must not have points of entry for water/ice. 7. I was told that the person doing the work was not finished with the rest of the job. He must finish what he was paid to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/30) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** President Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****************** We installed ice and water shield and granulated modified bitumen rubber roofing to a blind pocket that is 99% non visible from the ground. We curled the material up under the siding and under the shingles and curled it into the back of the gutter and onto the adjacent fascia. there i now a small piece of the rubber roofing ( 6" inches by 1' ft. ) that is wrapped onto the fascia and fastened with stainless steel screws with rubber washers. The installation is sound and the roof is water tight. His complaining is about 1% of the job..... and its all about aesthetics and not function. Cutting off the exposed roofing would be disastrous and leaks would occur. We do not want to be held responsible. We took a $300.00 deposit on a $1,200.00 job....... it will never leak. Pay us an additional $700.00 and use the remaining $200.00 to hire a handyman alter our installation at your own risk. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There are 3 items that ****** Exteriors needs to resolve, as outlined below. If Nyberg Exteriors accomplishes all 3 items as described, then we will pay them the amount they invoiced us of $900 (initial bill of $1,200 minus $300 deposit). However, if Nyberg Exteriors decides not to fulfill their obligations, then we will pay them no more money ($0). To this point, Nyberg Exteriors has not completed all parts of the contract. Therefore, they are not entitled to additional compensation and should even refund our $300 deposit. 1) The contract states that Nyberg Exteriors will replace a piece of siding. They did not replace the piece of siding when the worker was at our home. 2) Both the worker and the person I have been dealing with at Nyberg Exteriors stated that the worker did not finish when he left our home. I want Nyberg Exteriors to finish whatever other aspects of the job they did not complete. It is inappropriate for Nyberg Exteriors to request money from us when, by their own admission, they did not complete all of their work. 3) I have been told by roofers that the ice and water shield which hangs over the roof onto the siding in a 1' x 2' area should have been installed better. IF Nyberg Exteriors insists that the shield is necessary for functional purposes, I was told that they should have removed the fascia, install the ice and water shield, and then put the fascia back over the shield. This would have been preferable to the way Nyberg Exteriors actually did it, which was to put the ice and water shield on top of the existing fascia. In order to fix the problem, without modifying the existing ice and water shield, I was informed that the best approach would be to put wood on top of the entire V-shaped fascia (up to the point of the ice and water shield) and put another layer of fascia on top of that new wood and water shield. The washers used by Nyberg Exteriors stick out. The only way to put new fascia over the shield would be to expand the width of the fascia so new fascia can fit over the washers. By installing wood and then new fascia, we can cover up the ice and water shield and make the area look like it should have if Nyberg Exteriors had done it correctly initially. If Nyberg Exteriors will not complete the work, then we will pay a professional roofer to fix the job (which will be considerably more costly than the handyman fees which Nyberg Exteriors ungraciously offered to pay). Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/12) */ Our roof installation was beautiful ..... It will never leak. I will let **** keep my $900.00 and use it to hire someone one else to compromise the integrity of the instaLlation.

3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service