Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Nelson Bros. Roofing

Phone: (708) 341-3867 13543 S Kerry Ln, Homer Glen, IL 60491 http://www.nelsonbrosroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nelson Bros. Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nelson Bros. Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2011 Business started: 06/30/1977 Business started locally: 06/30/1977 Business incorporated 12/21/2007 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Allan Nelson
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allan Nelson
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Snow Removal Service Soffit & Fascia Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13543 S Kerry Ln

    Homer Glen, IL 60491 (708) 341-3867

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 20 (2013), Nelson Roofing completed the full replacement of our existing aluminum fascia/soffit/gutters/downspouts and was paid in full ($5,000 cash). Original proposal was accepted on May 18 (2013) along with a $2,000 deposit to get started. On Wed, May 20 (2014), we discovered that a large section of our aluminum fascia flew off during a storm. Other areas of fascia pulled away as well but did not fall off. Upon investigation, it appears that Nelson did not use enough fasteners to secure the material in place properly. I called Al Nelson on Thursday, May I called Al Nelson on Sat, May 24 (2014) at approximately 9:45am

Desired Settlement: On 5/18/13, we accepted a proposal from Nelson Roofing to perform removal and replacement of our existing house aluminum fascia/soffit/gutters/downspouts ($5,000 cash). During work, Nelson noted that there were ($1,125) worth of extras that needed to be performed which we accepted. Total adjusted contract: $6,125. Work was completed on 6/20/13 and full balance, including extras, were paid in full with cash. On 5/20/14, we discovered a long section of the main roof gable aluminum fascia fell off during a storm with other sections that pulled away from the wood backing. Upon investigation, it appears that Nelson did not use the proper amount of fasteners. And none of our adjacent neighbors had their aluminum blown off during the same storm. I called ** Nelson on 5/22/14 to discuss the situation and repairs necessary and he agreed to show up on Saturday (5/24/14) morning to assess and replace the damaged fascia. He told me he had extra aluminum coil stock left over from the original work which he would use for the replacement work. On Saturday (5/24/14), I called ** Nelson at approximately 9:45am to ask what specific time he is coming by to work. He cancelled saying that his crew left for the weekend and that he can't come out until later next week. I told Mr Nelson that I was disappointed because he has done this to me many times in the past; cancelling and rescheduling appointments. I had rearranged my schedule due to his appointment. Then Mr Nelson continued to escalate his voice and tone stating that this is not his fault and that he is not doing the work. He called me several curse words, and told me to "get a lawyer!". He then quickly hung up the phone on me. I attempted to call Mr Nelson immediately afterwards and left a voice mail asking him to call me back, discuss this on a professional level, and come to a reasonable solution otherwise I would be forced to contact the BBB and/or take further steps. My wife (******* *******) followed up and attempted to contact Mr. Nelson as well and left a similar voice mail. It is my understanding that this work should be covered under industry standard 12 month warranty period and it is apparent that Mr Nelson doesn't want to cooperate and honor the warranty. Now I'm forced to resolve this matter by hiring another roofing contractor to make the necessary repairs. I would like ** Nelson to reimburse me for the cost of labor and materials to pay the other contractor to fix his sub-par work since he changed his mind about making the repairs himself and was unwilling to discuss resolution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/01) */ I received a phone call from **** ******* on Thursday, May 22, 2014 stating that he lost an 8 foot piece of fascia on the front gable of his roof during the storm on May 20th. Mr. ******* stated that he was going away over the Memorial Day weekend, but he would give me permission to go on his property to repair the damage done by the strong winds during that storm. After thinking it through, I decided not to do any repairs when the homeowner was not present. When Mr. ******* called me on Saturday morning I told him that I would not be able to come out until next week when my aluminum guy was back from vacation. He was condescending and started ranting and raving, which unfortunately prompted me to use a few choice words as well. In all my 37 years as a roofer, I have never come across such an arrogant, rude, condescending homeowner as Mr. *******. His fascia blew off in a 70 mile an hour wind and rain storm. I lost a 20 year old Pear tree on my property in that very same storm! Many homes and trees were damaged in our area due to the high winds! The damage done to Mr *******'s fascia was due to an act of God and not sub-par work as he called it! My warranty does not cover storm damage. If Mr. ******* wants to be reimbursed for the damage, he needs to get in contact with his insurance company, not me. I will not be doing any more work for Mr. ******* and I pity the contractor that takes the job! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) During the initial aluminum work performed by ******, we questioned his sloppy workmanship several times. After attempting to correct his work two times, the work was only marginally improved at best. During this time, Mr ****** complained that he blamed the poor workmanship on his aluminum guy who allegedly came across some personal and financial problems, etc. This alarmed us because when we initially interviewed Mr ******, he claimed that his workmanship is superior to his competitors and that his employees are reliable and loyal. Obviously, this wasn't the case. As the months went by, the poor fascia work became even more noticeable as it started to separate from the backing at several locations, showed more buckling, and several corner trim pieces fell off. After Mr ****** recently declined coming out to look at the issues, we contacted a reputable licensed roofing contractor in the vicinity to look at the shoddy aluminum work and write up an inspection report and proposal (see Exhibit A) to correct the work. They initially stated that the work (visually) was very mediocre and that they hoped we didn't spend a lot of money on the work performed by ******. Ultimately, they found inconsistent/insufficient fasteners in place as well as short fastener lengths which increased the likelihood of the failure. The cost for them to repair the section that blew off is $295. The cost to repair the balance of the remaining fascias is an additional $825. Total repair cost: $1,120. As we previously stated, our surrounding neighbors have aluminum fascias, many years older than ours, and they were all intact after the same storm. Fascias that blow off during storms are typically due to improper installation techniques or age. Our aluminum fascia work is less than one year old, is failing, and looks awful. This is far from quality workmanship performed by ****** and unacceptable to us being that we spent a large sum of money towards this project. After doing a thorough search online, we came across an *****'s **** review by a third party (see Exhibit B) claiming poor workmanship and unreliable customer service by ******. This seems to be a disturbing pattern with ****** which should be investigated by the BBB. Needless to say, ****** should not have an A+ rating on the BBB. Because Mr ****** refused to even look at the damage, we are hiring another contractor to correct the aluminum work in a workmanlike manner and are therefore seeking Mr ****** to refund us $1,120 to cover the repair cost to be performed by our newly found roofing contractor whom we trust. We are not interested in having ****** work on our house ever again given his unreliable track record, shoddy workmanship, and his less than poor customer service. Regarding Mr ******'s comments about the Saturday scheduling debacle, you would think that the owner of a business would initiate contact with the customer when canceling an event. It's not honorable or professional for a business to schedule something and not show up let alone not contact the customer in advance to let them know they cannot make it. Again, a disturbing pattern by Mr ******. We realize that his comments are simply because he is annoyed that we (the customer) are holding him accountable for his work. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/06/20) */ My response has not changed! I received a phone call from **** ******* on Thursday, May 22, 2014 stating that he lost an 8 foot piece of fascia on the front gable of his roof during the storm on May 20th. Mr. ******* stated that he was going away over the Memorial Day weekend, but he would give me permission to go on his property to repair the damage done by the strong winds during that storm. After thinking it through, I decided not to do any repairs when the homeowner was not present. When Mr. ******* called me on Saturday morning I told him that I would not be able to come out until next week when my aluminum guy was back from vacation. He was condescending and started ranting and raving, which unfortunately prompted me to use a few choice words as well. In all my 37 years as a roofer, I have never come across such an arrogant, rude, condescending homeowner as Mr. *******. His fascia blew off in a 70 mile an hour wind and rain storm. I lost a 20 year old Pear tree on my property in that very same storm! Many homes and trees were damaged in our area due to the high winds! The damage done to Mr *******'s fascia was due to an act of God and not sub-par work as he called it! My warranty does not cover storm damage. If Mr. ******* wants to be reimbursed for the damage, he needs to get in contact with his insurance company, not me. I will not be doing any more work for Mr. ******* and I pity the contractor that takes the job!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Nelson Bros. Roofing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)