BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2000

M&M Home Remodeling Services

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 930-2905Fax: (708) 672-4984View Additional Phone Numbers3488 Eagle Nest Dr, CreteIL 60417-1287 Send email to M&M Home Remodeling ServicesView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2000

BBB has determined that M&M Home Remodeling Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised M&M Home Remodeling Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on M&M Home Remodeling Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They re-did this roof, gutters and added a few feet of attic insulation. 1st winter no problem as we had little snow. Second winter had a lot of snow and my rear dormer had a lot of ice/snow dam up which melted down inside of that wall into rooms and basement. They should of put the ice guard installed over lapping into gutters but did not. They also left exposed fascia board in a few areas that was done when they pulled off old gutters. They took photo's of water inside house and have since supplied excuses as to why it is not their problem. After waiting months for help they supply a estimate for de-icing tape be installed only on the top gutter. After numerous emails which were intentionally not helpful, they raise the price when I asked if estimate included all gutters and downspouts on that problem wall. Why would they give me an estimate for only part of the gutter system to begin with? That would only push the problem to a little further down that wall and damage the downspouts. I had no water problems in this area just prior to this job being done. They opened up this roof, opened up the gutters and are responsible for the current problem thru neglect. They even blamed the lack of insulation in the area for the damming up, even after many feet of insulation was installed by them. I have tried for approx. 9 months to get this fixed and have only received stalling tactics from them. Now they will tell me that the weather will effect the fixing of this problem caused by them.A great deal of money was spent on this job, and the final results are not acceptable at all. The ice guard was installed wrongly on this dormer, and with the areas left exposed by the ripping off of old gutters, M&M has not provided the good service they advertise as to having. The best of materials was ordered for this job and a large amount of money spent for it. There should be NO WATER COMING IN ANYWHERE.....PERIOD.

Desired Settlement
I want it fixed before more damage happens, and I will not stop until it is.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@m-mcorp.com
We called Mr. ***** to discuss the problem and asked if it would be ok to stop out at the house for further inspection. Upon inspection it was determined that Mr. ***** has a cathedral area of his home that is not getting proper intake ventilation. M&M has agreed to remove some of the necessary roofing in an effort to install baffles and intake venting along the eave of the home. This was not part of the original contract but we have agreed to do this at no charge. Mr. ***** was agreeable to this solution.

10/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
M&M repaired the flashing on my chimney in 2012. The roof is still leaking around the chimney. I contacted them and asked that they fix the repair. They advised me that too much time had elapsed between the repair and this problem. I do not agree. They advised that this would be a "new repair". But their representative does not return calls. They advised me that the chimney needed tuckpointing, which seems to be their SOP. But, they did not say that would be a possible source of leakage in the future.

Desired Settlement
Fix the roof! What I paid for.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Pres
Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@m-mcorp.com
Please see attached explanation and photos

02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the fall of 2011 I contacted M & M for estimates on a new roof and siding. The sales rep, Mr. ****** made me the offer I accepted. The contract was for siding, roof, and garage flat roof. The roof contract was to remove and install new roofs (sloped areas, dormers and balconies) at a cost of $9,373.50 which included plywood replacement, 1x8 wood replacement, and rafter replacement. The garage price was separate. M & M was quick, clean, and I was happy with the results.

I was not happy about the ceiling in the 2nd floor north bedroom. It was badly cracked and had not been that way prior to renovation. I mentioned this to M & M, and they said they had nothing to do with it. A month or two later I was sitting in my 1st floor living room when I heard a noise that sounded like a tornado was going through my house. I went upstairs and discovered that the whole ceiling had fallen down. That could have been disastrous with the heavy materials falling if my son had been in his room at the time.

I contacted Mr. **** ****** at M & M, and he came out to investigate and determined they were not at fault. He said they were lucky none of his workers had been hurt working on the roof and said "you can see where we 'jimmied' this joist." The statement indicates the joist was not replaced properly. He continued saying things like "you can tell a bunch of guys finished this part of the house on a weekend", and "do you have a for sale sign?" Mind you, I had just paid his company over $30,000 on remodeling. He also pointed the non-replaced joist was not even nailed into anything. That should have been remedied when the roof was replaced, not covered up!

Soon after that, I ended up with a water leak on the ceiling of the living room (which is on the first floor). M & M was contacted and claimed the leak was due to my windows. That was until I pointed out the flashing that had been left sticking up. They repaired the flashing, and the leak was repaired. I also discovered this summer that the gutters are so low that I cannot open the bay windows. I have not contacted M & M about that but would like it included in any repair work.

My invoice #'s are 69717 (01/09/2012) for $5,081.00, 71443 (01/12/2012) for $9,373.50, 71444 (02/29/2012) for $12,733.00, and 71445 (02/29/2012) for $3,338.50. There are more but I'm not sure if they are doubles, if I was over charged, or what. The payments were all on VISA which I would pay off and charge more (confusing).

Again, the house looks good, I just want these issues fixed like they should have been in the first place. I also have another 2nd floor bedroom ceiling that is now cracking like the other room did which leads me to believe damaged joist might not have been replaced there as well. I never had ceiling trouble before M & M did my remodeling. I would appreciate any help you could lend.

It has been frustrating to know a reliable business is not taking my complaints seriously. A friend suggested contacting BBB.

Thank you

Desired Settlement
I would like the joist fixed to code, the ceilings re-insulated and replaced and the gutters raised (but able to drain). I'm not looking for a monetary settlement.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@mmroof.com
Please attached response, disclaimer form, before and after pictures, and services requests.

Final Consumer Response
I would like to accept the offer to replace the ceiling. M & M has called in response to the gutter. Please extend my acceptance to M & M about the ceiling so we can bring closure to this matter. Thank you, so much, for helping me on this complaint.

Final Business Response
As stated in the previous response we have agreed to hang new drywall on the ceiling in the room in question. This has been agreed upon with the homeowner and we are in the process of scheduling.

11/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Removed and damaged gutter guards. Clogged bathroom by filing stacks with roofing shingle debris. Sold a roof under pretenses that water problem would be resolved bit then claimed water problems didn't have anything to do with roof.

Desired Settlement
3000 dollars

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Operations Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@m-mcorp.com
In August of 2013 M&M Home Remodeling Services received a customer survey from Mr. ****** after completing his roof in January of 2013. This is a survey we make available for all of our customers to share with us their experience with M&M Home Remodeling Services. After reading Mr. ******'s survey I called him to discuss the work that was done. I left several messages for Mr. ****** before he returned my calls. When we did speak he shared with me several areas that he was not satisfied with. First he says he purchased the roof to stop the leaking problem he was having. Second he says we damaged his gutter guards when we did our work. Third he says we put roofing materials down his plumbing stacks causing clogged drains which he has had to pay to get fixed.

After hearing of his concerns, I asked if I could have a couple of days to research the situation and requested that he send me pictures he claimed to have of the troubled areas. As discussed we both did what we said we would do. In conclusion of my research, the management team of M&M thought it best to have our superintendent visit with **** to go over his concerns. For two weeks as of the week of 08/22/2013, I left messages for Mr. ****** without any phone call back. Finally my last message I explained to him about sending the superintendent out to meet with him and that if he was interested, that he should contact the office and it would be arranged. On 09/11/2013 I received my next response from Mr. ****** asking why I would send the superintendent out, so I called him and explained. He agreed to have us out, but indicated it would be a challenge with his schedule. Our superintendent called him a couple of times to schedule and was not able to reach him or get a return call. I responded to Mr. ****** the week of 09/23/2013 to share with him that he needed to connect with the superintendent in order for us to come out, at which time he did respond to the superintendent.

Upon meeting with Mr. ****** it was determined that the area in question was a leak that was unrelated to the roofing work that was completed. We advised Mr. ****** that his chimney is in desperate need of tuck-pointing. Upon providing Mr. ****** with a solution to his chimney problem he was dissatisfied. M&M did fulfill the contract as stated.

Second is the claim of us damaging the gutter guards. We explained that when doing work such as the roof that requires us to remove the guards and put them back into place, there is a possibility of their condition being affected. We offered to price new ones for him at a discount to assist in the matter, but he was not interested. We made some minor adjustments to the existing gutter guards to help resolve the problem.

Finally there was the issue of the plumbing stacks. Our superintendent explained that due to the vibration of the roofing project the existing corrosion from the wall of the cast iron pipes can become dislodged and cause disruption.

In conclusion, M&M Home Remodeling has and will continue to honor its agreement with Mr. ******. We have offered assistance in areas that are in line with our scope of work. We have done our best to accommodate Mr. ****** requests within reason.

Please see attached contract, disclaimer form, and pictures of deteriorating chimney.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
On November 1st our production Superintendent met with Mr. ****** to discuss the issues previously stated. It was resolved that we would reimburse Mr. ****** for the first plumbing expense of $280 but any future plumbing expenses would not be M&M's responsibility. Also M&M will schedule a time to re-secure the gutter guards with additional fasteners.

M&M inspected the chimney while onsite and conveyed to Mr. ****** that we would re-caulk the counter flashing we installed. Mr. ****** agreed to these terms and said he would get a contractor to seal the voids in the masonry work.

12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Soffit & Fascia, Windows - Repairing, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Windows, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Installation, Doors, Door Frames, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Insulation Contractors, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts, Concrete Contractors, Kitchen & Bath Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/1985Business started: 02/01/1976
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph 9th Fl
Chicago, IL60601-3218
(312) 814-4500
http://www.idfpr.com

BBB records show a license number of 104-000451 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.idfpr.com. The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2015.

Type: Department of Professional and Financial Reg.

Check License Status: https://www.idfpr.com/dpr/licenselookup/results.asp?&page=1&lic nbr=104-000451&type2=LICENSE

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nicholas Yadron (Vice President)Mr. Michael E. Yadron (President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Soffit & Fascia, Windows - Repairing, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Windows, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Installation, Doors, Door Frames, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Insulation Contractors, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts, Concrete Contractors, Kitchen & Bath Design

Products & Services

This company offers Install roof, siding, soffit, fascia, gutters, windows, entry doors, and remodel kitchens, baths, basements

Alternate Business Names
M&M Windows & Siding, M & M Roofing, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors
Contracts
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Winterizing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for M&M Home Remodeling Services

3488 Eagle Nest Dr

Crete, IL 60417-1287

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1732 W Armitage Ct 

    Addison, IL 60101-4207

  • 3488 Eagle Nest Dr 

    Crete, IL 60417-1287(800) 930-2905

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*M&M Home Remodeling Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (708) 756-7800
  • (708) 478-1076
  • (630) 769-1700
  • (708) 672-3679
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.