BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2000

M&M Home Remodeling Services

Phone: (800) 930-2905Fax: (708) 672-4984

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
05/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our HOA has contracted M&M for a large-scale renovation project. They have been told numerous times by our engineering firm, *******, and our property manager, that they are supposed to install new lighting and/or reinstall old lighting if new lighting is not available promptly for safety concerns. Our building has been in the dark for over a month while other buildings that have been started after ours have had lighting installed or reinstalled. The workers have not reinstalled the light on our patio, though they reinstalled that of our neighbor within our building. I submitted a complaint 3 weeks ago about this, but the light has not been reinstalled. They also broke our light bulb. This violates our agreement with the Village of Palatine for Crime-Free Multi-Housing - we live at a key point where intruders hop the fence to trespass into our HOA.

Desired Settlement
I want the lights installed ASAP and I want my light bulb replaced.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@m-mcorp.com
M&M was contracted to do the work on the property, but it was the associations responsibility to provide the new lights to be installed. The association did not have their order in early enough so the lights were on backorder. To reach a temporary solution M&M has installed temporary lighting per the homeowners request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
M&M was repeatedly instructed to reinstall the old lighting if the new lighting was unavailable. Further, construction at *** ***** *** at the corner of ***** *** and ***** Road began after construction on *** was nesrly complete and it had all of the lighting installed. The buildings across the street had at least new fixtures on the garage nearest the entrance installed. You also neglected to respond to a homeowner request to have their patio light reinstalled for 3 weeks. I got fed up and decided to reinstall it myself only to find your crew had broken the fixture and bulb. It took the threat of litigation to get you to install the requested lighting.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Glad it was taken care of after months of being instructed again and again that this is a safety issue for our community.

Final Business Response
Every building in the complex has at least one working light per the management companies instructions. Many of the buildings have issues with the breaker box which is being addressed by the associations own electrician.

11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They re-did this roof, gutters and added a few feet of attic insulation. 1st winter no problem as we had little snow. Second winter had a lot of snow and my rear dormer had a lot of ice/snow dam up which melted down inside of that wall into rooms and basement. They should of put the ice guard installed over lapping into gutters but did not. They also left exposed fascia board in a few areas that was done when they pulled off old gutters. They took photo's of water inside house and have since supplied excuses as to why it is not their problem. After waiting months for help they supply a estimate for de-icing tape be installed only on the top gutter. After numerous emails which were intentionally not helpful, they raise the price when I asked if estimate included all gutters and downspouts on that problem wall. Why would they give me an estimate for only part of the gutter system to begin with? That would only push the problem to a little further down that wall and damage the downspouts. I had no water problems in this area just prior to this job being done. They opened up this roof, opened up the gutters and are responsible for the current problem thru neglect. They even blamed the lack of insulation in the area for the damming up, even after many feet of insulation was installed by them. I have tried for approx. 9 months to get this fixed and have only received stalling tactics from them. Now they will tell me that the weather will effect the fixing of this problem caused by them.A great deal of money was spent on this job, and the final results are not acceptable at all. The ice guard was installed wrongly on this dormer, and with the areas left exposed by the ripping off of old gutters, M&M has not provided the good service they advertise as to having. The best of materials was ordered for this job and a large amount of money spent for it. There should be NO WATER COMING IN ANYWHERE.....PERIOD.

Desired Settlement
I want it fixed before more damage happens, and I will not stop until it is.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@m-mcorp.com
We called Mr. ***** to discuss the problem and asked if it would be ok to stop out at the house for further inspection. Upon inspection it was determined that Mr. ***** has a cathedral area of his home that is not getting proper intake ventilation. M&M has agreed to remove some of the necessary roofing in an effort to install baffles and intake venting along the eave of the home. This was not part of the original contract but we have agreed to do this at no charge. Mr. ***** was agreeable to this solution.

10/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
M&M repaired the flashing on my chimney in 2012. The roof is still leaking around the chimney. I contacted them and asked that they fix the repair. They advised me that too much time had elapsed between the repair and this problem. I do not agree. They advised that this would be a "new repair". But their representative does not return calls. They advised me that the chimney needed tuckpointing, which seems to be their SOP. But, they did not say that would be a possible source of leakage in the future.

Desired Settlement
Fix the roof! What I paid for.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Pres
Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@m-mcorp.com
Please see attached explanation and photos

02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the fall of 2011 I contacted M & M for estimates on a new roof and siding. The sales rep, Mr. ****** made me the offer I accepted. The contract was for siding, roof, and garage flat roof. The roof contract was to remove and install new roofs (sloped areas, dormers and balconies) at a cost of $9,373.50 which included plywood replacement, 1x8 wood replacement, and rafter replacement. The garage price was separate. M & M was quick, clean, and I was happy with the results.

I was not happy about the ceiling in the 2nd floor north bedroom. It was badly cracked and had not been that way prior to renovation. I mentioned this to M & M, and they said they had nothing to do with it. A month or two later I was sitting in my 1st floor living room when I heard a noise that sounded like a tornado was going through my house. I went upstairs and discovered that the whole ceiling had fallen down. That could have been disastrous with the heavy materials falling if my son had been in his room at the time.

I contacted Mr. **** ****** at M & M, and he came out to investigate and determined they were not at fault. He said they were lucky none of his workers had been hurt working on the roof and said "you can see where we 'jimmied' this joist." The statement indicates the joist was not replaced properly. He continued saying things like "you can tell a bunch of guys finished this part of the house on a weekend", and "do you have a for sale sign?" Mind you, I had just paid his company over $30,000 on remodeling. He also pointed the non-replaced joist was not even nailed into anything. That should have been remedied when the roof was replaced, not covered up!

Soon after that, I ended up with a water leak on the ceiling of the living room (which is on the first floor). M & M was contacted and claimed the leak was due to my windows. That was until I pointed out the flashing that had been left sticking up. They repaired the flashing, and the leak was repaired. I also discovered this summer that the gutters are so low that I cannot open the bay windows. I have not contacted M & M about that but would like it included in any repair work.

My invoice #'s are 69717 (01/09/2012) for $5,081.00, 71443 (01/12/2012) for $9,373.50, 71444 (02/29/2012) for $12,733.00, and 71445 (02/29/2012) for $3,338.50. There are more but I'm not sure if they are doubles, if I was over charged, or what. The payments were all on VISA which I would pay off and charge more (confusing).

Again, the house looks good, I just want these issues fixed like they should have been in the first place. I also have another 2nd floor bedroom ceiling that is now cracking like the other room did which leads me to believe damaged joist might not have been replaced there as well. I never had ceiling trouble before M & M did my remodeling. I would appreciate any help you could lend.

It has been frustrating to know a reliable business is not taking my complaints seriously. A friend suggested contacting BBB.

Thank you

Desired Settlement
I would like the joist fixed to code, the ceilings re-insulated and replaced and the gutters raised (but able to drain). I'm not looking for a monetary settlement.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@mmroof.com
Please attached response, disclaimer form, before and after pictures, and services requests.

Final Consumer Response
I would like to accept the offer to replace the ceiling. M & M has called in response to the gutter. Please extend my acceptance to M & M about the ceiling so we can bring closure to this matter. Thank you, so much, for helping me on this complaint.

Final Business Response
As stated in the previous response we have agreed to hang new drywall on the ceiling in the room in question. This has been agreed upon with the homeowner and we are in the process of scheduling.

11/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Removed and damaged gutter guards. Clogged bathroom by filing stacks with roofing shingle debris. Sold a roof under pretenses that water problem would be resolved bit then claimed water problems didn't have anything to do with roof.

Desired Settlement
3000 dollars

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Operations Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@m-mcorp.com
In August of 2013 M&M Home Remodeling Services received a customer survey from Mr. ****** after completing his roof in January of 2013. This is a survey we make available for all of our customers to share with us their experience with M&M Home Remodeling Services. After reading Mr. ******'s survey I called him to discuss the work that was done. I left several messages for Mr. ****** before he returned my calls. When we did speak he shared with me several areas that he was not satisfied with. First he says he purchased the roof to stop the leaking problem he was having. Second he says we damaged his gutter guards when we did our work. Third he says we put roofing materials down his plumbing stacks causing clogged drains which he has had to pay to get fixed.

After hearing of his concerns, I asked if I could have a couple of days to research the situation and requested that he send me pictures he claimed to have of the troubled areas. As discussed we both did what we said we would do. In conclusion of my research, the management team of M&M thought it best to have our superintendent visit with **** to go over his concerns. For two weeks as of the week of 08/22/2013, I left messages for Mr. ****** without any phone call back. Finally my last message I explained to him about sending the superintendent out to meet with him and that if he was interested, that he should contact the office and it would be arranged. On 09/11/2013 I received my next response from Mr. ****** asking why I would send the superintendent out, so I called him and explained. He agreed to have us out, but indicated it would be a challenge with his schedule. Our superintendent called him a couple of times to schedule and was not able to reach him or get a return call. I responded to Mr. ****** the week of 09/23/2013 to share with him that he needed to connect with the superintendent in order for us to come out, at which time he did respond to the superintendent.

Upon meeting with Mr. ****** it was determined that the area in question was a leak that was unrelated to the roofing work that was completed. We advised Mr. ****** that his chimney is in desperate need of tuck-pointing. Upon providing Mr. ****** with a solution to his chimney problem he was dissatisfied. M&M did fulfill the contract as stated.

Second is the claim of us damaging the gutter guards. We explained that when doing work such as the roof that requires us to remove the guards and put them back into place, there is a possibility of their condition being affected. We offered to price new ones for him at a discount to assist in the matter, but he was not interested. We made some minor adjustments to the existing gutter guards to help resolve the problem.

Finally there was the issue of the plumbing stacks. Our superintendent explained that due to the vibration of the roofing project the existing corrosion from the wall of the cast iron pipes can become dislodged and cause disruption.

In conclusion, M&M Home Remodeling has and will continue to honor its agreement with Mr. ******. We have offered assistance in areas that are in line with our scope of work. We have done our best to accommodate Mr. ****** requests within reason.

Please see attached contract, disclaimer form, and pictures of deteriorating chimney.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
On November 1st our production Superintendent met with Mr. ****** to discuss the issues previously stated. It was resolved that we would reimburse Mr. ****** for the first plumbing expense of $280 but any future plumbing expenses would not be M&M's responsibility. Also M&M will schedule a time to re-secure the gutter guards with additional fasteners.

M&M inspected the chimney while onsite and conveyed to Mr. ****** that we would re-caulk the counter flashing we installed. Mr. ****** agreed to these terms and said he would get a contractor to seal the voids in the masonry work.

Page 1 of 2
09/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Soffit & Fascia, Windows - Repairing, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Windows, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Installation, Doors, Door Frames, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Insulation Contractors, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts, Concrete Contractors, Kitchen & Bath Design

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.