BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/1995

Lindholm Roofing, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (773) 283-7675Fax: (773) 283-1933View Additional Phone Numbers3588 N Milwaukee Ave, ChicagoIL 60641-3959 Send email to Lindholm Roofing, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/1995

BBB has determined that Lindholm Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lindholm Roofing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Lindholm Roofing, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
11/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have correspondence and contract materials between Lindholm and myself and the roofing expert opinions on Lindholm's overall "systemic failure" of the two year old roof system which is a "defect requiring immediate remedial action." I will send these materials to your office.

Desired Settlement
I want them to either repair their substandard work or pay for the cost of hiring another contractor to repair the roof.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** Lindholm
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
We are surprised by Mr. ******'s complaint. We are trying to find the sources of leaking whether related to the roofing or some other cause. We intend to help Mr. ****** going forward as we work together to find the solutions.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Last August this company installed new gutters and downspouts on my home.

Second set of gutters (patio area only) were put on in October. Installer moved a downspout and raised the gutter pitch. This caused ice jams.
*** came out in June,checked the area, and said
a total patio remake was needed. Including replacing damaged fascia and flashing.

I told him I had NO CONFIDENCE in his workers or
company,since they were the cause of the problems.
He ASSURED me they would do it right.

Third set of patio gutters,fascia and flashing were installed August 30th. Superintendent *****
and two other men did the job. They installed new fascia (not need) when they replaced a gutter and downspout on the garage side of my house. New fascia in the patio area was cut wrong,leaving a gap,where a smooth water-tight overlap should be. Leaks and proper gutter drainage still questionable ???

This company and their shoddy work have damaged my homes' fascia boards beyond repair. New boards will be required,if further drainage issues occur.
This company is NOT TRUSTWORTHY Professional workmanship NONEXISTENT Buyer Beware

Desired Settlement
I want the patio gutters pitched so they drain
properly to the backyard downspout.If the downspout
needs to be moved to the patio side,then figure it
out. Your suppose to be the pros. Don't expect me to pay for your mistakes. If you can't do the job
then say so, and refund half the $2751 I paid you.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** Lindholm
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****
*** met with the owner and said that we will try again to correct the work.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** came out to the house to check the patio gutters again. Sept. 5th. He said that one of the gutters was holding water. To correct this, the downspout would have to be moved and a new gutter
put on across the back of my house.
Every time this company works on my house another
problem is created. I can't have this continue,
their shoddy work does more damage. And I'm
expected to pay for this ? I'm looking into
having another company come out to fix the gutter
problem once and for all. I don't trust ********
to due the work properly. They haven't so far.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Though the company said they will fix the problem,
I'm not sure what kind of job they'll due, or if I'll agree with the method they want to use. Since
so far, all I've gotten is more problems.
My confidence in their work is pretty low.

Please hold off on your response pending completion of the repairs. Please update us on the outcome.

***** ******
Assistant Manager - Home Services
BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

Final Business Response
Lindholm Roofing went back and addressed the customers concerns. The customer will be waiting till the winter to make sure there are no more problems, but they told *** they would write back to the BBB.

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

In April 2013, I called ******** Roofing to evaluate a leak that caused water stain on my ceiling. *** ********* came out to take a look. *** told me that he could not exactly pin point the problem but he could replace all the shingles near the valley, which he thought was the problem area. Tom also told me that since this was a repair, he could not guarantee that the leak would be fixed but he would provide one free service call if the problem persists. I agreed to the service condition.

My roof was repaired on May 16, 2013 for $950.

After the repair, I still got water stain in the same area so I called *** to come out and check on the repair. I left *** a voicemail. *** called me back and left a voicemail. I called *** again and left another voicemail, to which *** did not returned. Since the problem did not seem to be bad, I stopped calling.

This week after heavy rain, the problem area on the ceiling got worse. I went outside to look at the roof and saw missing and loose shingles in the area where ******** made the repair. I called ******** office and was told to call the project manager directly. I called *** and left a voicemail, to which he has not returned.

Desired Settlement
Correct the poor repair and stop the leak.

Provide better customer service and live up to the promise made everyday on the radio commercials.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****
We will be returning shortly tomake more repairs for free. The owner is aware. We have been in contact them for the past week or 2.

12/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

roofers damaged my lawn when tossing bundles of shingles off the roof of my house, with neither my permission nor my knowledge!!!

the company was initially contracted to replace the roof on my house (a tear off) and to shingle over the existing roof of my small 1 1/2 car garage, which is in excellent condition, but I wanted the house and garage roofs to match! the job was to be completed in one day-but it wasn't. because a team of two roofers (people they normally use for repair jobs) began work at 10:00 am!!! the company is now charging me for the five bundles of leftover shingles because I refused to allow them to complete my garage!!! the team they sent disrespected my property and Lindholm disrespected me by sending them!!!

Desired Settlement
I want a very specific and detailed FINAL BILL!!! I want the bill typed on (original-- NO XEROX) LINDHOLM ROOFING, INC. stationary with the company's heading and logo! I want the FIVE YEAR WORKMANSHIP GUARANTEE AND ALL OF THE GUARANTEES SPECIFICS AND DETAILS PRESENTED IN A WAY WHICH IS CLEAR AND PRECISE! The final bill must include and outline everything--ALL THE DETAILS, which were in the sales contract. The final bill must also include the following statement "no new wood sheathing was replaced because Lindholm roofers found no damaged boards which needed replacing." The completion date of my new roof. I also want a listing of all the materials ordered as well as the square footage of materials ordered. I want each and every material installed on my new roof listed as well as how the material was installed! ABOVE ALL DON'T FORGET TO INCLUDE THE SQUARE FOOTAGE AMOUNT ORDERED OF THE LANDMARK SERIES ATLANTIC BLUE SHINGLES AND THEIR PER BUNDLE PRICE!!!




Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
We spoke with Mrs. ****** and have agreed to send her additional information that she is requesting. This will be sent asap.

We would like to recieve a check for the balance due once this information is received.

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:
Today, I issued and Lindholm Roofing, Inc. accepted a check from ****** K ******, in the amount of $2,750.00.

I also receive a letter detailing all of the
work done by Lindholm roofing as well as accepting responsibility for the damage done to my
backyard lawn. Lindholm Roofing, Inc. has accepted my check in the amount of $2,750.00 as full payment for any monies or materials owed and
or left on my property!

This matter has been resolved to my satisfaction.

Thank you Better Business Bureau, for your time and help with this situation!

Final Business Response
We have been in continued talks with Mrs. ******. We are doing our best to submit a document that she can approve. We are not a law firm, and have a simple billing program so some of the requests have been not possible for us to do, but we have tried to fulfil the requests to the best of our ability and are awaiting her response.

11/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They left nails exposed in my roof which is a hazard to me. They did not re-secure my gutters to the roof as per contract.

I went to the office to complain with pictures of the work. They are claiming this is not what the contract says for the work require. When the salesman, ****** ****** arrived at my home, I showed him what work I needed to be repaired and he acknowledge it.
10/11/13 info from consumer:
08 Aug 13: ****** ****** arrived at my home. This was the first time I met him in person he did the estimate on my roof. I took ****** to the rear porch and showed him the few pieces of bad wood of the roof that needed to be replace. I took ****** up to my attic and displayed the gaps between my gutters and the roof which needed to be fixed. ****** noted all of concerns I had and stated all work will be done as required. The contract ****** gave me also noted that all work will be done. The contract also stated if any additional wood is required I would be charged for it. ****** also noted with a diagram on the back of my contract of how the center vent would work and the re-securing of the gutters. ****** stated it will be about 2 weeks before the work can began.

06 Sep 13: Lindholm Roofing workers arrived and started on my roof. Richard was in charge. I thought he said his name was *****, but ******** said it's ******* who was at the house. They stripped the shingles off the rear of my roof down to the roof boards. To my surprise they did not replace the few bad planks over the rear porch. The workers just placed plywood over the bad planks they took out and nail the plywood down. I was also amazed that they placed plywood all over the stripped area that was not rotten and did not need plywood. I went inside my home and I could see the old and some new nails coming through my back porch roof and was very visible from the inside of the house. I complained to ******* about this and he stated it was the size of nails they were required to use to secure the plywood to the roof. ??? I asked why they did not just pull the old nails out? I took Richard up to the attic area to show him the gaps and again showed him all the nails that were protruding through my roof in the attic, which I consider a hazard. ******* again stated it was the size of the nails required to complete the job. ?? I told him I did not think the nails should be coming through my roof like that, showing and causing a hazard!! The house was not like this before they start working on the roof. I also, asked ******* at this time about the gap between the gutters and the roof. ******* stated he did not have approval to fix the gutters and the gap. ******* at this time called ****** ****** and expressed my concerns. ****** called me and stated the gutters were suppose to be looked at and not fixed. This was the main thing I showed and talked to about that I wanted fixed when I took him up to the attic and he said it can be fixed. We (wife) did not want the nails and wood plank not replaced showing coming through my roof on the back porch. We asked ******* what can be done about this? He called and talked to ****** as what to do. ******* said "he will have his workers put up plywood to cover the planks and exposed nails". We really did not want this but, we did not want the nails and wood not replaced showing on the inside of the porch. We paid for this out of our own pocket that same day. Which, I feel we should not have to pay for this because they are one who messed up our home!

16 Sep 13: I went to ******** Roofing main office to dispute the work that was done on 06 Sep 13. I was ready to make full payment but I needed to tell them my concern about the work done. I spoke to ****** ******* about the nails protruding through my roof, not replacing rotten planks, the added price of the plywood they put on my roof that was not needed and the incomplete job to re-secure my gutters. ****** stated that per the contract I would be charged for the additional plywood. ****** is disputing the re-securing of the gutters and stating that the wood by the gutters are rotten. ****** then brought his Manager ************* in to help explain the additional charges. I displayed to ***************** the wood planks not replaced, the placing of un-needed plywood and the protruding nails through my roof per pictures off my computer. I also displayed the gap between my gutters and the roof. ******** at this time stated he will contact the Superintendent to review the work that was done and someone will contact me. Your home should look better after work is done on it, not worse.

19 Sep 13: I have not been contacted by anyone from ******** Roofing. I contacted **** ******** by telephone to express my concern. ******** stated he will have someone to come by on 20 Sep 13 at 0900 to view the work.

20 Sep 13: ******* arrived at my home and requested to view the work I was disputing. I showed him the nails that were protruding through the roof. I showed him the gap between my gutters and the roof. ******* after inspecting the roof stated removing the nails and re-securing the gutters will now be a 4-5 hours job. ******* stated he needed to contact the main office to give his findings and that someone will contact me when the work can be done.

24 Sep 13: ****** contacted me and stated that the work cannot be completed because of the rotten wood between the gutters and the roof. Again I disputed this because I showed him the work that needed to be done at the beginning and he informed me that it will be. ****** states that when he did the estimate he did not include the gutter work. I informed him that ******** need to fix this dispute or give me an estimate on how this job can be completed. I informed him also if I need to get someone else to complete this job let me know now. ****** states he will again have someone to come out a review the work.

I contacted ******** by telephone and again expressed my concerns. ******** repeatedly stated that the gutters were not included in the original estimates. ******** also stated I'm trying to get free work out of ********. I again stated to ******** that I'm not trying to get free work, but no one should have nails protruding through their roof, wood not replaced, work stated on contract not completed. Their house looking worse than it was before you started the work. I also stated if they could not fix the gap between my gutter and the roof it should have never been placed in the contract. If the wood is as rotten as they say, I feel no attempt should have been made to fix the roof at all. They never replace the bad wood on the porch area; they put plywood on top of it. I still have bad wood on my roof. They claim there was other bad wood in the area they work and they again placed plywood on top of it. Now they are saying because of bad wood they cannot fix the gaps between the gutter and the roof. He said " ****** did not have a ladder with him when he did the first estimate". That is not our fault. When ****** came to the house I personally took him to the attic to see the gap between the gutter and the roof. He said "we can fix it". ******** also stated "how many times do you go up to the attic anyway what 2-3 times a year." I said that does not matter how many time I go to the attic, one time can be a hazard especially now!! The nails are by the stairs we use to go up and down to get to the attic. The point is it was not like this before your people did the work here.

26 Sep 13: I received a telephone message from ********, (XXX-XXX-XXXX XX:XX) which he advised it will now take $1500 dollars to do the re-securing of my gutters to fix the gap between the roof on the one side. If I wanted both sides done the total amount will be $2500. That he will be mailing me the estimate. There was no mention of what they will be doing about the nail situation. Again, no one called to say when someone will be coming to my residence. Nor if/when they did come no one came to see us or discuss with us personally about the detail of this estimate. I just cannot figure out where they get their facts for this $1500 to $2500 price, or if someone really came out again too look at the gap.

Desired Settlement
Proper repair of the roof.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Mallory ********, VP
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****
****** ******* **** ******** and *** ******** have spoekn with the customer. We will be going out to the property early next week to make needed repairs. The customer said he would be satisfied with this solution.

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

Final Business Response
This case is now resolved and the customer is satisfied.

Page 1 of 2
11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/16/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service, Tuck Pointing, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/01/1984Business started: 02/01/1949
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph 9th Fl
Chicago, IL 60601-3218
(312) 814-4500

BBB records show a license number of 104-001033 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Their web address is

Type: Department of Professional and Financial Reg.

Check License Status: nbr=104-001033&type2=LICENSE

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy Lindholm (President)Mr. Robert Lindholm (Secretary)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service, Tuck Pointing, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
Lindholm Roofing
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lindholm Roofing, Inc. has received 3.46 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lindholm Roofing, Inc.

3588 N Milwaukee Ave

Chicago, IL 60641-3959

To | From


3 Locations

  • 824 E Rand Rd

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004-4008

  • 3588 N Milwaukee Ave 

    Chicago, IL 60641-3959(630) 279-7700

  • 1187 Wilmette Ave 

    Wilmette, IL 60091-2719

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lindholm Roofing, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (847) 945-0971
  • (847) 825-3232
  • (847) 392-2900
  • (708) 524-1767
  • (630) 595-6969
  • (800) 834-6464
  • (847) 251-1057
  • (773) 202-7663
  • (847) 251-5230
  • (847) 251-4955
  • (708) 499-5657
  • (708) 499-2456
  • (847) 392-4178
  • (847) 392-4139
  • (630) 279-3730
  • (630) 279-3266
  • (847) 945-1044
  • (847) 945-1017
  • (773) 283-9063
  • (773) 283-9061
  • (847) 825-0628
  • (847) 825-1750
  • (708) 524-1125
  • (708) 524-1014
  • (773) 286-4663
  • (847) 251-1057
  • (773) 283-7676
  • (773) 283-7677
  • (773) 283-7678
  • (773) 283-1933
  • (773) 283-7679
  • (773) 283-1843
  • (773) 283-0083
  • (773) 283-0083
  • (773) 478-2112
  • (773) 283-7301
  • (773) 283-8568
  • (773) 283-8553
  • (847) 205-8376
  • (708) 459-5100
  • (630) 279-7700

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Home Remodeling Contractors

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.