Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hogan Roofing

Phone: (815) 477-2589 Fax: (815) 477-9189 820 McArdle Drive, Crystal Lake, IL 60014 http://www.hoganroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hogan Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hogan Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hogan Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 31, 1996 Business started: 12/22/1995 in IL Business started locally: 12/22/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Christine L. Coutcher, Office Manager Mr. Mark Hogan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Christine L. Coutcher, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Mark Hogan, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
Hogan Construction Co.
Products & Services

This company offers Roofing.


Additional Locations

  • 820 McArdle Drive

    Crystal Lake, IL 60014 (815) 477-2589

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** replaced our roof in June of 2007 with 50 year architectural shingles and also new gutters at that time. There is a warranty against leaks for 10 years. We contacted **** ***** in the spring of 2014 after experiencing damage to our family room ceiling due to the melting snow and ice. We made numerous phone calls and left messages which were not returned. We even visited his place of business on more than one occasion and spoke to his office manager concerning this. We were frustrated that our calls were not returned. My husband finally got a hold of **** *****, and he agreed to stop by and assess the damage several months later in September, 2014. He agreed to fix the leaks at no charge, and would repair it in approximately 2 weeks. One day I was standing in my kitchen and happened to notice someone on my patio. I quickly went to see who it was and tried to catch up with him. I could see that it was someone from ***** Roofing as they were driving away. We were hopeful that this would mean that our roof would soon be repaired. However it was never fixed. I visited ***** in early November, and again spoke to the manager expressing my disbelief that it had not been taken care of , and another winter might cause more damage. I witnessed her writing down the information, and I urged her to have **** call us. She always seems to tell us that he has our paperwork on his desk. She mentioned that there were many other people whose roofs needed repair. He has never called us back to inform us of when this would be remedied. It is now 1 year later. I sent **** a certified letter return receipt dated March 17, 2015 so we know it was received. The letter states what I have mentioned above, and again requests that attention be given to us since we noticed more damage. To date we still have received no contact about this matter. Please help!

Desired Settlement: We would like for Hogan to honor his warranty and his word and repair the roof leaks.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX 4-15-2015 We have been out and looked at the roof - again this is ice daming which is no covered under normal warranty conditios - However for this customer we have made arragements to be out there on Saturday 4-18 and will make repairs - Customer goodwill.

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New roof installed 6/24/11 to repair roof from leak in living room. Despite new roof, living room leak continued into this year, roofing company out a number of times in 2012 and 2013 and again 5/31/14 when they finally replaced all wood near affected area and fully caulked. Prior to that a piece of wood or two and caulked here and there several times in a very piecemeal approach. Hopefully finally fixed. We won't know for sure until we get a prolonged driving rain against the front of our house. In addition, a new leak began on 2/10/13 in a completely different part of our house (attached garage) where we never had a leak before. It was dripping so badly it looked like it was raining in our garage. The drywall was completely saturated on the ceiling and an adjacent wall. The water passed between the common wall into a room in our house and soaked the carpet. My wife and I went up into the garage attic to see what was happening, she fell through the soaked drywall about 10 feet onto the cement floor. She couldn't move, we called 911 and spent most of the day at the hospital. Fortunately after a number of tests and to the surprise of the hospital staff my wife was not seriously injured. Bad bruising and soreness though took months to improve. I called the roofing company that day and the next but did not hear back for five days at which time I was put on a wait list. Never hear back. Had to call a few more times, finally the owner came out. We went up in the garage attic showing him how water had been dripping through the nails holding shingles to roof plywood and also an area where you could see daylight coming thru the roof. He said that should not be that way. Shortly after that the area with the light coming through was worked on but not the nails. On 3/6/14 water again leaked thru numerous nails saturating drywall and coming into house. I called the owner again (**** *****). Rudely he said he had a thousand people with the same problem and to wait in line and hung up. Never heard back. Called many more times in the following weeks, finally **** ***** sent a foreman out on 5/31/14 to inspect area. He pulled up a few shingles said ice shield was there and that was it. I asked him to please talk with **** ***** to see what can be done. It obviously should not be leaking, something must be wrong. Never heard back. Spoke with **** ***** 6/21/14 he was puzzled. He said should not be leaking through ice shield and nails. He'll check again with his foreman. Never heard back. In the last couple months I have left messages, my insurance agent has left messages, and even the ******* **** Building Commissioner has left messages but we have not heard anything. While we have been ignored this roofing company has put four or five new roofs on homes within blocks of us. We have been extremely patient hoping we could directly resolve this with the roofing company but with another summer almost over, if nothing is done it surely will leak again this winter. We hope you can help us.

Desired Settlement: 1)Replace/repair roof causing new leak. 2)Be sure old leak is repaired. 3)Inspection in areas of both leaks to be sure no mold present. 4)Medical expense reimbursement. 5)Pain & suffering associated with wife's medical recovery, lost time, and general frustration at being ignored by owner of roofing company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/15) */ Contact Name and Title: *****-Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@hoganexteriors.com 10-15-2014 We have been out to Mr ****** home on more than one occaision. We have informed him that ice daming is not covered under any roofing contract. as to the window leak we have caulked around the window in question. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Regarding the new leak, they have not addressed why the water is leaking through the ice shield and roofing nails into our home. In my original complaint when I spoke with the owner (**** Hogan) on X-XX-XX he indicated that the ice shield should seal around the nails keeping water out. He said he would check with his foreman and let me know what needs to be done. Never heard back! Our original roof was 20 years old and never leaked in this area. The new roof installed by Hogan Roofing has leaked two winters in a row. We have not yet had a third party inspect the roof. We have worked with Hogan Roofing expecting they would take responsibility and pride to be sure a customer's roof they installed does not leak. Also, in our original complaint "in the desired solution section" forgot to list that we want the drywall repaired by both leaks. Last Fall **** Hogan had said he would have his drywall guy take care of this. Never heard back! Thank you for your help! Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 34, 2015/01/26) */ We await Hogan Roofing's further response since item's 4 & 5 from the "Consumer's Desired Resolution" have not been addressed. We have medical bills in support of item's 4 & 5 if they are needed. Thank you very much for your help! Final Business Response /* (4000, 36, 2015/01/27) */ I need copys of the medical bills in order to give to our lwayer. As soon as i have them we will be in touch with them.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hogan Roofing installed a new roof for us on June 12, 2007. The contract indicated that they guaranteed labor against leaks for 10 years. On July 31, 2007, we noticed a leak in the second floor closet. We called Hogan on 8/1/2004 and were told that someone will get to us the following work week. We did not hear from them on 8/4 so we called on 8.5 and were told that the information was given to Mr. Hogan and he will call us. He has not called us as of today 8/11 even though we called him every day to remind him that we have a Problem.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We would like them to come out and repair the leak.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/02) */ We have been out to the customers home and are in the process of making suggestion on what needs to be done to fix the problem. The problem has nothing to do with the roof we installed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hogan Roofing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)