Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fritz Konstruction of Illinois, Inc.

Phone: (847) 299-6100 Fax: (847) 299-8752 427 E Golf Rd, Des Plaines, IL 60016 http://www.fritzroofingservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fritz Konstruction of Illinois, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fritz Konstruction of Illinois, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Fritz Konstruction of Illinois, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1953 Business started locally: 01/01/1953 Business incorporated 01/01/1996 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerome Flores, President Douglas Miller, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerome Flores, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roofing Service Consultants Skylights Tuck Pointing Construction & Remodeling Services Contractor - Flat Roof Caulking Contractors Chimney Builders & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaning Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
Fritz Roofing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fritz Konstruction of Illinois, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We asked for an estimate for roofing the house and garage, and installing insulation in the attic. After talking with **** at Fritz Konstruction, we agreed that Fritz should install a plywood box around the attic stairs access, so that a portion of the attic can still be used for storage. The roof was completed without issue, however, **** used extremely foul language with the other workers which was insulting to my wife - he was constantly yelling **** this and that. After the roof was done, he said that different workers would arrive to install the insulation. On May 2, three different workers came to the house to install the insulation - while they were working in the attic, **** arrived to collect the final payment from us. We asked if the workers would also be installing the box around the stairs and he said they would. We paid **** and he left. The workers said they were done, but they had only installed a cheap foam box around the stairs, and they did not put down any plywood. We tried calling **** to discuss this issue, but he would not answer our phone call. We had one of the workers call and **** answered. We used the worker's phone to talk to ****, and he said he didn't know what we were talking about and that they would need to charge us extra for plywood over the insulation - while on the call, he was yelling and using foul language. He said it would cost about $150 to install the plywood in the attic and claims that he never agreed to do such a thing. Additionally, the when the workers left, we noticed that the machines they had used to blow the insulation into the attic had caused two sections of grass in our front yard to become burnt, which has now left two big dead circles of grass right by our front door. We have attempted to contact **** since this issue, with little success. When we have been able to talk with him, he claims that we are asking him to perform services for free - this is not at all accurate, and part of the reason we went with him for this project is because he agreed to install the plywood in the attic. Additionally, we wanted to use a credit card to pay the final amount, and **** said he only accepted cash. It would have been nice to have been told this fact earlier in the process, and we were very nervous about handing over such a large amount of money. We finally got him to agree to accept a check instead.

Desired Settlement: Either: (i) Fritz to pay a refund to cover the cost of installing the plywood in the attic and the cost of replacing the damaged grass; OR (ii) Fritz to install the plywood as was agreed to and Fritz to compensate us for the cost of replacing the damaged grass.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@comcast.net Homeowner had different expectations about how the insulation would be installed. There was a miscommunication about the attic entrance way. Plywood box was never discussed or in the contract. 1 X 10 board around opening was mentioned but would be difficult if homeowner was using some space to store things. They would have to climb over the 1 x 10 and would have a difficult time. A check for 150.00 was sent to homeowner for the misunderstanding. Foul language was never mentioned to me until this complaint was filed. Also I have never demanded cash from any homeowner and never will. I have to much to lose by doing that. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/28) */ Mr. ***** ********* left a voice message May 27 stating that the business had sent him a check and he was dropping other issues, he was accepting the check and case resolved.

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fritz Konstruction did my mom's roof on September 6th. Immediately upon arrival they broke the neighbors mailbox, although none of the workers spoke English they did realize it. They did the roof and while working broke 3 window screens and loosened the siding and soffit in several locations. We specifically asked them to park in the street and they parked in the driveway causing 1/4 of it to sink down completely. We have several neighbors/witnesses that have admitted to my attorney that they did severe damage. when we called them the owner got an attitude right away and said the house is old so it doesn't matter if they damage anything. He came out the following Monday and was screaming and swearing that he isn't responsible and it doesn't matter if they caused damage. He exact words were " this is f***ing unbelievable, I'm not paying for this". Fw: Letter 1 message ******** K <***********@yahoo.com> Tue, Oct 7, 2014 at 11:41 AM Reply-To: ******** K <***********@yahoo.com> To: ***** ****** <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Hi *****, Attached is the letter indicating that my mom gives me permission to act on her behalf. She doesn't have a computer or e-mail. Please contact if you need anything further. Thanks again, ******** Scan0008.pdf 105K

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) He can go through his insurance or pay outright himself for all the damage his workers did, as we will be using contractors we hire to fix everything.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Secretary Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@comcast.net Not sure how to respond to this complaint. The Daughter of the homeowner is saying I used foul language at her. It was the other way around. The homeowner has not paid any money to Fritz Konstruction and they had no intention of doing so. Our trailor is not capable of lowering concrete like the daughter says. The driveway was lowered before and has an installation problem that any concrete professional would attest. Tried to talk and resolve the issue with mailbox and screens and offer a professional to look at driveway but they were not interested. They were only interested in taking money off for their new roof. We have an english speaking crew,however I dont know why that is relavant. Will try to resolve complaint with the contracted homeowner and not the daughter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/09/17) */ **** ****** is now calling and leaving threatening messages at my home. I have it on tape to give to the police, as I now fear for my safety from him. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was trying to help my mother out, as many companies try to take advantage of senior citizens. Until I filed this compliant they weren't willing to work with my mother at all. she has gotten estimates for the damage they caused and has faxed it into them to see if they will work with her. I would be happy to go the chamber of commerce of Des Plaines and also have my mother file a compliant herself if they do not work with her on this. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/10/06) */ Not sure if daughter is on same page as the mother who we have a contract with. As of october 2, We thought we had a resolution.We told ******* what we thought was fair and she accepted over a fax.She was suppose to send check for payment this week.

2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fritz was hired to replace the entire roof of our home located at *** ******** Circle in ********** ** in 2008. The roof is still under warranty (original warranty was at least 10 years). Around November 17th or 18th (2013), I contacted Fritz to let them know that the home (which is currently being rented out) is experiencing leaking in the walls and ceiling. The leaks are coming down the first floor. The Fritz employees I have been working with are *** **** and a woman named **** *** told me he visited the home and without completely checking the rook, told me that he thought the issue was the gutters. He said he cleaned it and we should not experience any further leaks. In January, I contacted Fritz again to let them know that the issue has not been fixed and there have been further leaks. I had to hire Mr. ******** to inspect the damage and they sent me pictures that clearly show there is warping in the roof that caused the leaks. I contacted Fritz and sent them all the pictures from Mr. ********* I had to pay for this service as the original issue was misdiagnosed by Fritz. Fritz has been unresponsive since the pictures were sent. *** **** sent me an email on January 16th saying that he will tarp the roof to prevent further leaking. He has not done that. On January 22nd, I contact *** **** again via email asking for an update and did not receive any response. On February 12th, I contacted *** again to ask for an update as the weather was turning and starting to warm up. On February 13th, *** responsed and stated that he is unable to tarp the roof because there is snow on the ground and it would be too dangerous. His solution was to drop off a roof rake so the tenants can rake snow off the roof. He also stated that he will be unable to do any shingle repair as it would do more damage as the shingle has no flexibility and will break. With the warm weather over the past couple of days and rain, I have sent emails as well as left voice mail messages for both *** and *** with no response. I cannot understand why there is nothing that can be done. Are we supposed to just let water continue to leak without doing anything about it? Both Mr. Handyman and our insurance adjuster clearly stated that it a roof issue. We are unable to fix any of the interior damage, which I am afraid may result in mold problems until the roof is repaired. The leaks are also very close to a light switch and I would like to avoid electrical issues. I am at a point where I have to hire another roofer to see if they can help fix the issue when ***** was the one who installed the roof in the first place, in addition to the fact that the roof is still under warranty. I have emails from ***** that shows all the correspondence as well as timeline I have outlined above. ****** ******** ************ (cell)

Desired Settlement: I need Fritz to fix the roof and honor its warranty. I undertand that the weather may prevent them from doing anything right now but there has to be something that can be done to prevent further leaking in the interior of the home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/24) */ There was some miscommunication involved with this complaint. We talked to the homeowner and resolved the issue on Saturday. She told me she would contact you and withdraw the complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Fritz Construction responded and sent a crew on Saturday to fix the roof issues. They have committed to fix the interior issues that were caused by the roof leak within a few weeks.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a leak on Feb 2013 after numerous calls they came out and claimed my leak was due to 1 shingle. He claimed he repaired it when no one was home and I didn't get a recipt. On 10/5/13 after the rainfall, my roof leaked again in the same area. I need the ceiling patched and painted also on the inside. Purchased 4/21/10 Invoice number 6895. Problem dates Feb 2013 and October 5, 2013. ***** ****** is the owner. I paid in full with a check on 6/30/10.

Desired Settlement: To repair the roof so it stops leaking. To replace any wood in need of repair and re shingle. To have my ceiling repaired and painted. Or $800 to have it painted by someone else.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 6, 2013/10/15) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Fritz Konstruction of Illinois, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart