BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

Expert Roofing, Inc.

Phone: (815) 444-1572Fax: (815) 444-1570

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
02/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Latest correspondence explaining the details of this claim.

This letter is in regards to your recent invoice in the amount of $4,482.25. Currently this balance is in dispute due to the project and insurance claim being incomplete. The enclosed correspondence documents my repeated attempt to have your company complete the insurance claim with respect to my gutters and downspouts that need repainting due to your subtracted roofing crews scratching and denting them with their ladders and scaffolding.

As you will see from the correspondence your company repeatedly failed to provide a change request to ***** Insurance. I had to intervene with the insurance company after your field representative (*** ****** cut off communications with me in December of 2013. Moreover, I had attempted to contact **** ****** during the project but was told *** would be my point of contact and could attend to all matters with this regard.

In any event, I am sure your organization has my contact number to resolve, instead I only received invoices and statements. I had awaited final resolution to this matter via a phone call but instead I have had to work with the insurance company direct to at least document the work completed.

Therefore, I have just filed a complaint with the BBB regarding this matter. And per your contract paragraph 16 (enclosed) we may litigate and the prevailing party is entitled to recover reasonable legal fees. Carbon copied to this correspondence is my counsels contact information. If litigation is your method of resolution, please contact ****** L. ******* directly. I am sure the expense of litigation will more than double the balance of the enclosed invoice.

If you would like to settle, I will be more than happy to have a painter of my choice estimate the painting of the gutters and downspouts afterwards I will deduct the remaining and send Expert Roofing the difference.

Desired Settlement
Credit for the difference of painting gutters and downspouts. I will select the painter.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****/ President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@yahoo.com
The homeowner has been contacted immediately. Unfortunately there was a clerical error with our office staff that did not reflect the credit for work not done. This was not an issue of any work not being done properly, rather a simple clerical error in billing that should have not been overlooked. We apologize to the customer for their confusion and frustration regarding this matter. The proper credits have been issued and a correct final invoice has been sent out.

01/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've been dealing with Expert roofing from April 12, 2014 to now, Nov. 2014. I've dealt with two other persons in this company and now moving up the chain of command, I'm on my third. I'm still getting the same results. Lack of communication and follow through. First consultation was in April. Paperwork was filled out incorrectly on May 21st. Paperwork was fixed by Field manager on June 12th. Roof was replaced in July. The working crew was great. The persons running the show in the office are terrible at customer relations. I'm constantly calling them to get this settled and give them the checks from the insurance company. I would think they would want to get paid and would be calling me or at least returning my phone calls. The third individual I'm trying to be in contact with tells me after two months the paperwork was still not sent to my insurance company. Now, after me pushing, the paperwork was finally sent and now I have the second insurance check. Then, we set a meeting date to finally settle everything and he doesn't show up or call. I waited a couple days and called to find out "what now" and he doesn't return the call. Waited another couple days and called the office to have someone there call him to tell him to call me and still nothing. This company does not run this business well at all. No professionalism "what so ever". We are very scared as to what would happen if I have to contact them for any kind of warranty issues. I do not see any resolve on repairs to the roof if there is a leak or shingles that come off in the future. How can a company be ok with an open job taking this long? I am contacting my lawyer to find out if I can cash this check if to much time goes by.
Product_Or_Service: roof replacement due to hail damage
Account_Number: na

Desired Settlement
The settlement I want to see is just that. It's now Nov. 10th and I want them to settle the paperwork and take this insurance check. I want them to call me back. I don't know how I can be made to feel like I can trust that I wont have this same issue if I have to have them back for repairs.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Email: ******************
I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I have not reviewed your file, who have you been working with? I will certainly button up the job for you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't know who this **** ***** is? Is he the owner of the co.? If Expert Roofing is indeed concerned about their customer relations, then I would think the owner would want to contact me directly to find out who his employed weak links are. I met one final time on 11/13/2014, with *****, at my banks parking lot because I have no trust in these people. Like I said before, I hope I never have any warranty issues. I don't want to be put through this again! As far as what could be done to correct this, I'm thinking the correction has to go on internally. I have no solution as far as compensation for myself. Shame on me for not ending my relations with Expert Roofing before I signed papers. My problems with three of their employees began with the first one, "**** the so called *********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept their response due to the fact that it's a very late response. My complaint stands and I want it to be viewed by all others who would think they might want to use this company. Like I said, I am done with them and I'm not looking for any excuses or contact with them.

Final Business Response
From: ************************ (mailto:***************************
Sent: Friday, January 16, XXXX X:XX AM
To: ******** ********
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint



Recap:

The BBB received this complaint on 11/10/2014, it was forwarded to & received by Expert Roofing, Inc on 11/13/2014.

On 11/12/2014, the check in question was received by Expert Roofing, Inc and the job closed 11/14/2014, with the warranty & waiver paperwork mailed out that weekend.

We apologize for any problems and frustrations that Mr ******* had with this job. The salesman and field managers involved have been dealt with and Mr ******* will no longer need to speak with any of them as the job is complete. If any warranty issues arise, Mr ******* can call the office directly at (XXX)XXX-XXXX and will be directed to the production department.

06/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am on the do not call list. In the past week they have called my home 23 times without leaving a message. When I try to call them back the number is disconnected. This tells me they know what they are doing is wrong. I want the people of Crystal Lake to know about this practice. This morning I answered & told them not to call me ever again. Thirty minutes later they called again. Unbelievable.

Desired Settlement
I want them to stop calling, have this complaint on record & let the people of Crystal Lake know about their practices. Thanks.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****-owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@gmail.com
I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience, it must be incredibly frustrating. We do not solicit via telephone directly, go Wever we do purchase leads from a service that uses telemarketing to generate leads. Our contract with this service clearly states that all number must be scrubbed through the DNC registry. I will contact them immediately and make sure they remove your name from their list. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience, I was unaware of the problem.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is your business/life blood. You should know. Since May 20th I have been called 43 times. I guess they didn't listen to you. I have a great idea to let you know how frustrating this can be. Let me have your phone # & every time they call me I will call you. By the way, what is the name of this telemarketing company? This is the way you want to do business?

Final Business Response
Mr ****,

You may call me anytime on my cell phone at XXX XXX XXXX. We terminated our service with QSL Marketing upon your complaint. We do not want to be associated with a company who causes difficulty to our business or potential clients. If they are calling you, it is not for our company. I'm sure they call for a number of roofing contractors.

Better yet, here is the QSL owner's cell. XXX XXX XXXX. Perhaps he will get the message if contact him directly. I am truly sorry but this is out of my hands.

12/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had gutters installed in August of 2013. I have constantly had problems with the gutters that were not an issue with the previous gutters that were on the house. I made a couple phone calls to Expert Roofing to have someone come out to take a look and correct the leaking that was occurring and first was told that it was too cold and that once the weather warmed up, someone would be out to check the gutters out. They never came or contacted me about it. Now to the present day, the gutters are leaking again and I have sheets of ice down my house ONLY in the area I advised them about. I have pictures and have made a phone call on 02/3/2015, 02/04/2015 and 02/05/2015. All times, I received their voicemail and left a voicemail for them to return my phone call . They have not. I have not had this problem with the original gutters.

Desired Settlement
I want for the company to make contact with me, acknowledge the problem and fix the problem. I don't want excuses or to be played.

Business Response
Our production department called Mr ***** as soon as we received the email from the BBB, the phone number that Mr ***** was calling & leaving a vm on was not the correct office number. The production department is addressing the gutter issue as soon as the weather breaks as it is below freezing at the time of the complaint and Mr ***** was given our correct phone number so he could reach us anytime.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I chose that I do not accept the response only due to the fact that when I chose yes, it warned me that by doing so, it means that I am 100% completely satisfied. I will not be completely satisfied until this defect has been resolved by the company. I did have a conversation yesterday with the company (02/05/2015) and they advised that they will come out and test the gutters once the weather breaks, which is ok as we just had a huge snowstorm. I asked if it the company would call me to advise when exactly they would come out for the service call and I was told that they would do that and make sure I was available.
If possible, I would like to keep this open until that service call and tests are done to the gutters to be certain that the issue has been resolved before we close this complaint. If I am unable to do so, I will wait until the weather breaks for a couple days in a row of steady warmer temperatures and if I do not receive a call from the company to set up or advise they are coming out for the service call, then another complaint will be opened.

09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I are beyond frustrated.

We were approached in April about hail damage to our roof by **** **** the Field Manager at Expert Roofing.
Here are the some of the dates:
4/28 we signed our agreement/acceptance
5/21 we picked out material. We had an appointment with **** at 2PM. I left work early he arrived at our house at 5PM. 3 hours late. We
picked out material and signed a contract.
5/27 **** was supposed to pick up our deposit check of $8, 203.85 he was a no show
5/28 I texted ****, are you picking up the check. He stopped by and filled out a receipt on our contract stating the job would be done
with in 2 weeks (which would have been 6/4)
On 6/5 I texted **** asking when the roof was getting done. The date he told us it would be done had just passed. He told me Algonquin put
a hold on roofing permits due to not being able to keep up with the work. He then said the job would be done Thursday June 12th. I told
him that's great but we will be on vacation. He told me it shouldn't be a problem as long as screens are off of the windows. (I had to
schedule my dad to be available to turn the house alarm off while workers worked then go back and turn it back on)
6/11 I texted **** to let him know the screens were off per our conversation please let me know if workers are there so I can organize for the alarm company to know.
6/12 NO ROOF DONE. He said they only come out if the chance of rain is below 25%
6/17 we are still on vacation I texted to ask when is the roof going to be done, he said Thursday the 19th.
6/23 we return from vacation NO ROOF done. I call the city of Algonquin twice. One time to ask them had permits ever been on hold, the city said NO! (so I caught him in a lie) the second call was asking if a permit had ever been filed yet on our house for the roof to be done, the city said no (dave said that they tend to apply for the permit a few days ahead of time of the job being done.

This raised concern that dates that were given to me were not actual dates for the roof to be done. He was just telling me dates to shut me up,
there was never a plan to do our roof on any of the previously given dates.

I left 3 messages with the owner of the company of Expert roofing (today is 7/8 and I still haven't heard back from him)
6/24 I talked to **** saying I am canceling the job due to the lies and now we question their ability to do the job. we talked and found
out we would have to pay a 15% cancellation fee. I talked to him about all the lies and my findings. He apologized for not following
through but had an excuse for everything stated above
7/1 Job was started. Only 2 workers arrived. Half the roof was done when we were told it would be a one day job
7/2 job was finished with 5 workers. the front half of the roof was done. (this was done while it rained/drizzled the forecast said 50%
rain and they did the job anyway) We found broken corona glass beer bottles on the drive way and on our basketball concrete area behind the garage where all our kids toys are. Workers swept up the pieces in the grass and mulch instead of picking it up and throwing it out.
7/3 **** came out to look at the work we pointed out the broken glass. We showed him the evidence and the pieces we couldn't pick up. (my
kids will have to wear shoes while playing with water equipment and my dogs will have to stay away from those areas of the house until every
piece can be removed. our gutters and downspouts were not done we asked **** when that will happen he said on Monday July 7th.
7/7- I texted **** at 4PM asking when the gutters are being done since no one showed. NO response as of yet.

We are completely frustrated. This is a $17, 407.69 job and the frustration is beyond belief. This was completely funded up front by my insurance so there was no reason for any of the delays. The job is still currently not complete and a call has not been returned yet by the owner of Expert Roofing. I also never saw an inspector from

Desired Settlement
Due to the frustration caused and lies that were given, I feel that a discounted rate should be given. I have documented proof through texts with Dave stating when jobs would be completed and were not. I have followed through by checking up on his claims/excuses as to why the job was delayed and found that he inaccurately stated reasons just to get me off his back. We started this process in April. Our second contract with money given was 5/21 and today is 7/10 and we still are waiting for the job to be finished. I also want a clean up crew to come and clean the broken corona bottles out of the grass. We removed the big pieces but little pieces still remain. If my dogs or kids somehow get injured on the glass I will expect medical compensation as well. I would also like an apology by the owner of the company for not calling my 4 phone calls back about all the problems before the project EVEN STARTED! I don't think that this company deserves to make any money off our business. I would mostly appreciate us just paying the cost of the product. I'm concerned as well how the front side of the house is going to last over time, since the roof was laid in the rain! I would like a very detailed inspection to be done, and if the BBB feels the roof was not done correctly, then Expert Roofing should have to replace and do over the project free of charge. I am not happy at the quality of customer service that Expert Roofing has given. I am quite upset that a $17,407 job isn't important enough to the owner to call and make the customer happy. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! This should have been easy since insurance provided the money on the forefront! This should have been hassle free for my husband and myself.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@gmail.com
While we apologize for your experience, the job has been completed properly and per manufacturer specifications. The contract has been completed in full, therefor the balance is due in full.

In regards to your concerns, we will be more than happy to perform additional cleanup immediately.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The gutters and downspouts have not been completed. So the job still is not complete. Not to mention I have 2 broken lights by your workers that were placed on my doorstep that was forgotten in the original claim. ADDITIONAL clean up is encouraged and accepted. Especially around the basketball area the grass and mulch where broken glass was swept. I would appreciate more consideration from the company due to the stress the company put me under during my pregnancy that was unneeded.

Final Business Response
Please keep in mind that failing to pay in full for a completed project will result in legal fees, interest, collection agency reporting and a lien placed against the property. You are welcome to contact any agency you feel appropriate to inspect the workmanship. I am sorry you are unhappy with the speed of the process and offered discount, however you are not owed a discount. If you refuse to allow our service department the opportunity to investigate and correct any complaints moving forward, we are unable to help. I am not personally available to assist you as I am attending to a family issue.

NOTE FROM THE BBB:
Please contact the business' service department to make arrangements for them to send someone out to clean the debris and any other issues that need to be resolved. Please confirm that this has been done in your next response and update us on the outcome of the conversation.

We recommend that you have your roof inspected to determine if in fact there are issues to be corrected. Please provide a copy of their report for our review. Please note that the BBB will not be involved in the inspection process in any way.

***** ******
Assistant Manager-Home Services
BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is a prime example of lack of customer care that Expert Roofing offers to their clients. We entrusted them to fix our roof, gutters, and downspouts but the lack of care that goes into each customer is horrifying. I know being apart of a family that owns a business you can discount more then $250. When you think of a $17,000 job that your Manager of Sales constantly told falsified information to because he was too lazy to find it out for himself, is the face of your company and your resolution took way over the 10 days that BBB set because it "slipped through the cracks?" That's your apology? Due to your company dragging their feet the glass from the Corona Beer Bottles that your roofers drank while on the job is currently buried now in the dirt of my back yard from all the rain. Had this been done in a timely manner that would have been one resoloution we would have wanted. $250 doesn't even cover the two broken lights that were shattered on the sides of my walkway! I constantly had to call out your manager's BS with every reason he told me when my roof was promised to be done but then was delayed. The city of ********* now knows that your oompany told me lies about my city and issuing permits from my many phone calls questioning why my roof wasn't being done but 5 others were on my street. Your manager said ********* stopped issuing permits! What a lie! ********* never did that When I approached the manager about it, he said well that he had heard it around the office and he must have misheard the information. I have countless text messages back and forth from your sales person that I would be happy to submit to BBB as proof of the amount of lies and deciet that went on over the course of month. I was lied to and given excuses over and over. I believe in total we would prepare for the work to be done for it to be never even scheduled in the first place 3 times. I disagree that a discount can be given due to bad customer service. I left 4 messages for the owner of the company, with no response either. The secretary assured me she sent him emails for him to contact me all 4 times since he doesn't hold office hours. You will not get a penny more of my money until I feel that there is rightful compensation given to us with all the grief and lack of knowledge of our entire project is ridiculous. I guess we were just another paycheck vs. a face to go with the project. It's interesting how I submit my rebuttels in a timely manner, but your company takes well over a month and they are still accepted. I will be calling my insurance company to come over a due a full scale inspection as they are trained with that expertise.

01/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired Expert roofing to put a new roof and gutters on my house thru an insurance claim.

I agreed to a $9,080.62 with them as written on my contract. After completion there is a rattling sound coming from the roof. I made them aware of it back in Oct and again in mid November and they promise to investigate.

They came out on Dec 16 or 17 after we had a snow storm. The manager said it was not safe to go up on the roof and would come back later. ****** came back on Dec 30th. I was not home but he claims he went up on the roof even tho there were no foot prints on the roof's snow. ****** told me there is nothing loose or it's frozen tight with all the ice and snow on the roof. we are at extreme cold temperatures. I can't imagine anyone going up there on a frozen snow covered slippery roof and leave no traces of someone been up there.

I have paid them a total of $8,540.62 and I am holding $540 until they address the problem. On Dec 31 ****** said i owe an extra $499.47 that is not on the contract and on the ice shield which was originally included in the price. Now, he says they will not garantee their work and they will take me to court. The only other extra expense would have been if plywood had to be replaced and it was not.

I am not refusing to pay the total we agreed to and that is on our contract. I do need them to complete the job to my satisfaction.

Thank you. **** *******
--------------------------------------------------
Re: BBB Complaint Case# 94482569 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)
1 message
**** ******* <************@sbcglobal.net>Fri, Jan 24, 2014 at 9:25 AM
Reply-To: **** ******* <************@sbcglobal.net>
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>
Hello Ms Mendez,
No, I have not received anything except the final notice of my pending balance. Thank you for your help.

**** *******
************@sbcglobal.net

Desired Settlement
Fix the problem with the new roof. When it's windy there is a very loud rattling noise coming from the roof. It's probably something simple like a loose gutter or vent.******* told me he can check it next spring. I don't trust them because i had trouble getting them to look at it went the weather was in the 60's and before i paid them the second half. After i competely pay them I feel i'll never see them again.

I need

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** - President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@gmail.com
I would be happy to come out with the homeowner present to resolve the issue. Please let me know when the next convenient day would be for you. Ideally, we would like the roof to be clear of snow and the temperature to be at least 25 degrees for safety reasons. As the owner, I will personally make sure that the homeowner is satisfied before I leave the property.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do accept but I don't want to close the claim until Expert roofing does what it promised. I also want a letter from Expert roofing stating that my warranty is valid. I will call as soon as the roof condition is safe to walk on. Thank you.

Final Business Response
As I stated in my previous response, I will be happy to take care of the issue as long as the roof is clear of snow & ice. Please contact me directly at XXX XXX XXXX when your roof is completely clear so that I may safely inspect it. We will need to schedule this on a day you can be home to provide further details of the issue. I can be available 7 days/week for you so that we may resolve the problem.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Windows - Repairing, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Windows, Roofing Materials, Doors - Installation, Doors, Fire & Flood Emergency Service, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Roof Structures, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts, Doors - Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.