Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CD Strong Construction

Phone: (877) 766-3567 Fax: (708) 469-1618 View Additional Phone Numbers 4136 Grand Ave, Western Springs, IL 60558 http://www.cdstrong.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CD Strong Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CD Strong Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on CD Strong Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 2006 Business started: 05/01/2002 in IL Business started locally: 05/01/2002 Business incorporated 08/27/2004 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Ferguson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Ferguson, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Roofing Service Consultants Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Siding Materials Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Contractor - Flat Roof Contractor - Remodel & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
CD Strong Construction Incorporated

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

CD Strong Construction has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4136 Grand Ave

    Western Springs, IL 60558 (877) 766-3567

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CD Strong replaced my roof in June 2011. I have a 5 year warranty. I reported a leak in June of 2014, and again on July 22, 2014. I spoke with David, the owner. He told me he sent an email to his crew on June 24, 2014, and that he would follow up send a crew. Repairs were never made. I reported the leak for the third time on June 25, 2015. I spoke to David again. He said he would send a crew and call me before they came out. I never received a call or the repairs. I called again on July 13, 2015. I spoke to David again. I informed him of the extensive damage that has been done to the interior wall of my living room as a result of the ongoing water damage. He said he didn't know why I hadn't been contacted regarding the repairs and that he would look into it and get right back to me. I never heard from him again. On August 30, 2015, I left a voice mail informing David of my plans to file a complaint if I did not hear back from him the next day. As of today, September 8, 2015, I haven't heard from him.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking repairs to the roof and reimbursement for repairs to my interior wall.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/17) */ CD Strong was contacted by this customer and at the time the customer was notified that an outstanding balance in the amount of $4555 is still open on a rental property that was also repaired for them at the same time. We are happy to honor our warranties as long as the invoice is paid. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) CD Strong's assertions are false, and are being used as an excuse for his failure to honor the contracted warranty. The facts are as follows: On June 2, 2011, I contracted with CD Strong to replace my roof at 1513 Florence Ave., Evanston, IL. The contract contains the following Warranty: "Warranty is for 5 years on roof replacement." CD Strong performed the replacement in August 2011. I timely paid the full amount due to CD Strong. I did not contract with CD Strong to perform any work on any other property. As of 2011, I did not own, and continuing to the present, I do not own any rental property. In June of 2014, I discovered that due to faulty work by CD Strong, water was leaking through my roof. I therefore contacted CD Strong to request that it honor its warranty obligations and fix the leak. Dave, a CD Strong representative, promised to fix the leak. He said nothing about any balance allegedly owed for repairs to the roof on any other property. However, CD Strong did not follow through. On July 22, 2014, I contacted CD Strong a SECOND time to request that it honor its warranty obligations and fix the roof leak. Again, Dave, a CD Strong representative, said he would "send a crew". And again, he said nothing about any balance allegedly owed for repairs to the roof on any rental property. However, CD Strong did not follow through. On June 25, 2015, I contacted CD Strong a THIRD time to request that it honor its warranty obligations and fix the roof leak. Again, Dave, a CD Strong representative, promised to fix the leak. Again, he said nothing about any balance allegedly owed for repairs to the roof on any rental property. Again, CD Strong did not follow through. On July 13, 2015, I contacted CD Strong a FOURTH time to request that it honor its obligations and fix the roof leak. This time, Dave, the CD Strong representative, informed me that my former spouse had contracted with CD Strong to perform roof work on his home. He informed me that there was an outstanding balance. I informed Dave that I was not married to my ex-husband in 2011, when CD Strong alleges it performed repairs to my ex-husbands home. I have been divorced since December 2006. I further explained that I did not at that time, and still do not, own my ex-husbands home. And I did not contract for repairs to my ex-husband's home. I am not a party to any dispute between CD Strong and my former spouse. Any dispute that CD Strong has with my former spouse for repairs to his home are unrelated to my contract with CD Strong for work on my roof. CD Strong cannot assert as a defense to its warranty obligations to me any non-payment of amounts allegedly owed by my former spouse for wholly unrelated and separate work on a different property that I do not own. CD Strong should promptly honor its warranty obligation, including compensation for the further damage done to my property as a result of CD Strong's faulty work and failure to honor its warranty obligations. Sincerely, Denise *****

6/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have two houses: one is a rental house at **** *** **** ******* ******** ** XXXXX, where my tenant's family lives, and another one is my own house at *** ***** ***** ****** ******** ** XXXXX, where my family lives, both located closely each other in ******** *** which both received damage from the hail/wind damages on 4/7/2015. The rental house needs repair work on roof/siding/gutter/sunroom screens etc., while my own house needs repair work on roof/gutter/window screens/deck etc. CD Strong Construction company representative (**** ********* came to approach me on 5/4/2015 that the Company will be very happy to do the repair work for these two houses. The original roofing dates in contracts is 5/4 for the rental house and 5/12 for my own house (Please use ************************************************************************************** weather history in ******** ** for reference). For the rental house, CD Strong did not do the work as described in the contract per my request many time. The contract describes replacement for all sidings/gutters/sunroom screen. For my own house at ***** ****** CD Strong did not follow the contract date to do the work. Without any notification and my permission, CD Strong ignored my right and delivered the roof shingles to the top of my house, leaving without attention to suffer rainy, weather which will harm the wood base underneath roof, and did not do the work as weather permits and per my request. The company did not do the work as weather permits and did not take the shingles away per my many times of request. The manager ***** agreed to take away several times, but never made it. No accountability!!! A detailed description of the experience will be emailed to CD Strong company (****@cdstrong.com)

Desired Settlement: For Rental house at *****************, work must be done exactly following what is described in the contract ASAP since the payment was made; For my own house at ********** Drive, the contract will be cancelled immediately, take away the shingles ASAP. Pay for any possible damage to the house roof due to shingles piled up on the top and subjected to rainy weather.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@cdstrong.com First and foremost, CD Strong believes in bending over backwards to make our customers happy. Unfortunately, it appears that no matter how hard we try, we cannot please everyone. Mr. ****'s roof on his rental house was completed soon after he signed the contract. The contract stated that a progress payment was to be made on the day of the roof install. This did not happen. Mr. **** stated that he wanted all of the work completed and his entire house re-sided before he pays us anything. This again was not the agreement and the insurance estimate for the damages is clearly only paying for 300 square feet of siding to be repaired. Once notified of the misunderstanding Mr. **** became verbally and physically abusive with my salesman and my work crews. CD Strong has since canceled the remaining contract on the rental house. The roof work has been completed at the amount that the insurance company agreed to. The rest of the repairs still need to be completed, but Mr. **** still has the insurance funds to do this work. We were also under contract to complete storm repairs on Mr. ****'s personal residence. We had his roof scheduled to be completed immediately after his rental home's roof but it rained for the next four days. As is normal procedure in the Roofing Industry, Mr. ****'s roof was loaded with materials to complete the job. This in no way did any damage to his roof and it was to be replaced anyway. We received a notice that Mr. **** was canceling his contract on his residence's roof with CD Strong. We notified our supplier and they have since sent a crew to recover the materials and are charging a re-stocking fee. No funds were ever received for the repairs on Mr. ****'s residence. The funds that were received for his rental property were only for the completed roof work and he still has insurance funds to complete the work. There have been some very serious communication issues with this customer and again we are sorry that we could not make him happy.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on CD Strong Construction
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart