Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capital Roofing and Chicago Storm Restoration meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capital Roofing and Chicago Storm Restoration include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Capital Roofing and Chicago Storm Restoration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 2012 Business started: 04/01/2011 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/2011 Business incorporated 09/30/2011 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Edward Schram, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Schram, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Soffit & Fascia Contractors-Drywall / Plastering Contractors - General Drywall Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
Capital Roofing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Capital Roofing and Chicago Storm Restoration has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6310 N Milwaukee Ave

    Chicago, IL 60646

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Capitol Roofing replaced the shingles on the roof of my house and garage (along with gutters on garage). The work that was done on the garage was uneven and left shingles being misaligned and looking crooked. From the first day they were replaced the shingles have looked bad, the owner has blamed it on bad weather. I have called them numerous times to set up a time for them to fix it. The owner even came out to inspect it and agreed the work looked bad. I do not have time to keep calling them and making appointments that they don't show up for.

Desired Settlement: I want capitol roofing to fix the bad shingle job they did on my garage, ASAP!

Business Response:

Dear customer,

On behalf of Capital Roofing I first and foremost apologize that you are dissatisfied with the level of customer service you received. We do take customer service very seriously and value treating our customers fairly. I would like to address the issues that you raised. I agree that initially we failed to respond to you in a prompt matter on this issue. This oversight was addressed as soon as we received notification of your dissatisfaction from the BBB. In addition, we agreed to completely fix the issue with the product free of charge and honor your warranty, and this has been completed. Finally, with regards to feeling like you were misled through the insurance claims process, we can only estimate the coverage that will be offered by the insurance on a storm-related insurance claim. You were advised that damages should be paid for based on the assessment of our representative, and one of these items was ultimately considered undamaged by the insurance adjuster. A manager then completed a second inspection free of charge and determined that the insurance company's assessment was correct and that there was indeed no storm damage to the gutter system on your house. Overall, we negotiated coverage for your house roof, garage roof, and the gutter system on your garage, but we were unable to find damage that warranted a replacement on the house gutter system. I apologize that you felt misled by the assessment of our representative, and we have addressed the importance of making sure information is being delivered in a clear, concise manner with all of our representatives, to ensure a cohesive process with future clients. We feel that we have adequetely addressed these issues and have done what is necessary on our end to bring resolution to the complaint. 

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the company is lying about misleading us. In the beginning of the process, men representing his company told my wife and I that the gutters on the house would covered and be replaced along with the shingles. There was never any mention at all that the gutters might not have storm damage. Plain and simple, we were mislead into thinking we would have new gutters. The issue regarding the gutters on the garage being installed incorrectly has been resolved. After countless phone calls, many no shows on their part and a complaint to the BBB they were forced to honor a warranty and fix work that they messed up in the beginning. I still do not buy into them taking customer service seriously. It seems that  they only get by on doing the bare minimum. AT least this nightmare of dealing with them is over. 

Sincerely,

**** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Capital Roofing and Chicago Storm Restoration
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart