Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Applaudable Roofing & Construction, LLC.

Phone: (847) 504-7679 Fax: (224) 281-4995 1619 Weld Rd, Elgin, IL 60123 http://www.applaudableroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Applaudable Roofing & Construction, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Applaudable Roofing & Construction, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Applaudable Roofing & Construction, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 08, 2012 Business started: 02/24/2011 Business started locally: 02/24/2011 Business incorporated 02/24/2011 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Kick, CEO/Owner Mrs. Kristin Martinak-Cooke, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Kick, CEO/Owner
Customer Contact: Mrs. Kristin Martinak-Cooke, Office Manager
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Floor Coverings & Installation Carpet Installation Contractors - Gutters Contractor - Roofing Spray Foam Insulation Plumbing - Contractor Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roofing company was supposed to give 24hrs notice of work. Never done. Satellite dish on chimney was supposed to be put in my courtyard, never done. Missing. Nails and refuse found in my courtyard and balcony. Roofing chemicals splattered down front of my unit fascia board, onto my balcony, into my courtyard and onto my courtyard herb garden-ruining the herb garden. Food plants are ruined. Patio stained, ***** grill covered with splatter. I contacted the merchant by telephone 3 times and received no call back. I posted on their ******** page and was asked to call them. No response. Sent email via their own website-no response. This damage occurred on July 9, 2015. 1 call plaed on 7/9/2015, email and ******** post on 7/9/2015. 2 calls generated to the merchant on 7/10/2015 and another ******** post for response. NO response to any calls or correspondence. I did not approve of this roofing project, and had no leaking issues to begin with. I STILL have received no warranty info for the roofing work--side note.

Desired Settlement: All I want is to have all my herbs replaced, my unit front, balcony, patio bricks and grill cleaned up and my satellite dish returned to me. It is missing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/13) */ I(owner)have spoke with resident about this issue and advised him that we would take care of any issues that required attention. We are working for the property management company and not the individual owners of the condo units specifically. I advised him that we posted letters on every door of three buildings that we were going to be working on the buildings in the next couple of weeks and to have their vehicles moved out of the lot. Previous letters were sent out by the management company advising the residents that the project would be starting and to cover or remove anything of value from the porches. The management company hired us to do the work and advised that they did not want anyone on the roofs once the project was completed. The satellite dishes that are on the roofs or chimney's are removed and placed on the appropriate decks if they are connected to a service. If they are not connected to service then the management company wanted them taken down and disposed of. I advised the owner that we would make good on any damage done to his herb garden and that we do not intentionally look to create or do damage. I also advised that if there was any overspray on his deck that we would take the appropriate steps to clean this up or paint what needed to be painted. I advised there was some miscommunication on our end because he mentioned my office managers name in a message and it was our belief that the issue was being handled by him. He appeared to be happy with our conversation and advised me that he would cancel his complaint with the BBB. If there is anything I can assist with, please contact me. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with****** and ***** about my complaint on Monday, July 13th after I had left 3 voice messages, a Facebook post and a correspondence on the company's website with no response to any of my calls. I believe the response was due to the BBB complaint. It is true Applaudable Roofing has been working with the property management company on this roofing project which is precisely why I am upset and concerned about this situation. My past experiences with the property management company and their vendors have left me dumbfounded. I am a property owner, not a renter and as such if work is being done on my property I expect to be notified exactly when the work will be done and precisely what kind of work is being done. Full disclosure and timely, accurate communication has not been provided and has presented a very chaotic experience for me and others I have spoken with in my community. Notices have both the roofing company logo on them and the property management company logo as well. I do not fault Applaudable Roofing fully for the miscommunication as the property management company has failed miserably with that part of the process. Some notices have gone out by mail but are vague and conflict frequently. I was advised I would be given 24 hours notice of commencement of work being done on my building, and also notice to move my car when work was to begin. Neither myself or my neighbor next to me received notice of the foam spraying work that took place on July 9, 2015 nor were we told to move our cars. The rest of my neighbors are renters and have no vested interest in the property. I was also told that Applaudable Roofing taped notices on doors to those units being worked on but again, I got no notice for the 7/9 work nor did my neighbor. Upon my visual inspection of all the units on my side of the building, my unit by far had the most chemical spillage, and contrary to being told by a visiting worker that a storm blew in and caused the mess is not credible. It was a sunny day and my courtyard garden covers most of the sunny areas in order to grow. I don't believe in coincidences, and since my entire herb garden is trashed at the peak season I can't help but feel that this may not have been a mistake. ****** did advise that my herb garden would be replaced and asked me for a list of the plants ruined by the roofing chemicals. I did provide that list to ***** and did not include any other garden plants as those other plants are not edible and are perennials and my grill will be scrubbed to remove the chemicals myself. Given the numerous trust issues I have with the property management company, and the terrible appearance of the common property, I felt as a homeowner that I would need to go directly to the roofer to get any attention to this matter. I also feel that had I not filed a complaint with the BBB I would have been ignored. In short, had I been given notice about the work beginning July 9, 2015 I would made attempts to temporarily cover my plants until the work was done. It would not be feasible to cover the plants for weeks on end in anticipation of the work being done as the plants would have died before then. The garden is approximately 20 feet long. All I am asking is that Applaudable Roofing replace my herb plants soon so that I can at least get some enjoyment out of all the hard work I put into it now that it's trashed. I also would like full disclosure of further work being done, more open communication as to when, and any warranty info as well. I have not been contacted since my last conversation on July 13, 2015 with ***** and ***** so as of this time my issue is not resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2015/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We have settled this complaint and made "right" with the resident. He agreed to have us reimburse him for the plants that were ruined plus a little extra for his time and inconvenience. He advised us that he is happy with the resolution and agreed to rescind his complaint with the BBB.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Applaudable Roofing & Construction, LLC.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)