Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aloha Construction, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 540-7711 470 E Il Route 22, Lake Zurich, IL 60047 http://www.alohaconstructioninc.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aloha Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aloha Construction, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

68 Customer Reviews on Aloha Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 66
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 68

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2008 Business started: 09/19/2008 in IL Business started locally: 09/19/2008 Business incorporated 09/19/2008 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Farbaky, President Mrs. Cassandra D'Agostino, Receptionist Mr. Wally Farbaky, Vice President - Sales
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Cassandra D'Agostino, Receptionist
Principal: Mr. Dave Farbaky, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aloha Construction, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 470 E Il Route 22

    Lake Zurich, IL 60047

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7 Westport Ct STE A

    Bloomington, IL 61704

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aloha put new siding, gutters, and a roof on our home in July 2014. We had complained about poor quality of product (ripped shingles, scratched and bent gutters,etc) and poor quality of work (exposed wood allowing wasps to build nests, gutters and shingles not properly secured, etc). Aloha sent workers out twice to try to replace scratched and bent gutters which caused more damage to shingles. Aloha finally agreed to replace the roof in June of 2015 and finally just replaced/repaired the gutters in December 2015. There are still areas of exposed wood between the gutters and shingles and damaged fascia as well as bent gutters. Each time the company has sent workers out to make repairs, they rush through the job and do not want to wait around for us to look over what they just did before they leave.

Desired Settlement: I would like the work done properly. I would like unbent gutters and gutters attached properly to the house. I would like an exterminator sent out to remove the wasp nests and any exposed wood replaced due to wasps getting in between the shingles and gutters because they were not properly installed. and I would like the wood properly covered.

Business Response: We spoke to Mr. ***** ******* and he told us he is satisfied and does not have any complaints. He told us his wife would call your office to rescind the complaint if needed.  Please remove the complaint. Thanks for your time on this matter. 

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract and gave a down payment for Aloha to install siding and shutters on our house. The paperwork specifies removal of existing stucco and six pairs of shutters. On installation day we were told that the contract provided only for the installation of shutters not their purchase. However, the salesman had previously taken and notated or order, quantity, color and type of shutter. Additionally, the crew did not remove the existing stucco on the face of the house.. When we complained about the discrepancies the manager acknowledged that they had made errors in the estimate but was only willing to drop the price by $350- which will definitely not cover the cost for shutters and their installation when we go through another company. Further we were told the stucco remained because it was not rotten. I do not feel our service is indicative of this company's current rating with BBB, a source we verified against before entering into an agreement with Aloha. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: BBB review. Aloha has already given us their resolution which we believe to be unfair.

Business Response: We have received and read the complaint. I reviewed the complaint with our sales team and found a miscommunication between our sales staff. We have since talked to Mrs. **** and we assured her that we will be going above and beyond to make her a satisfied customer.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you for facilitating a resolution. 

Sincerely,

****** ****

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/5/15 and 10/6/15, our existing roof was torn off and replaced with a new roof. On 10/6/15 after the work was complete, we noticed small pieces of brick were missing from the front of our house adjacent to the roof line. When our Sales rep (Brian ******* stopped by that same day, we brought it to his attention. On 10/7/15, Ron from Aloha stopped by. I thought it was regarding the damaged brick, but he knew nothing about it and only came to "walk the roof". I did show him the areas in question. Not hearing anything from Aloha, I called Brian ****** on 10/14/15 to follow-up. He said he would check into it and get back to me. I have not heard from anybody at Aloha. On 10/15/15, I received an invoice/statement from Aloha. I called the office and let them know that I will not be paying the balance due until the brick issue is resolved. Further looking at the Statement, I noticed they only gave me credit for $1,447.35 when I actually made a $1,500.00 payment for my deductible since this was an insurance claim. Our agreement also states that Aloha will furnish the permit, yet there was a $50.00 charge on my invoice for that.

Desired Settlement: Either repair of the missing brick or an amount equal to what it will cost us to get it repaired. I have not sought any estimates at this time as far as what it would cost us to get it repaired.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2015/10/23) */

7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had hail and wind damage on my home and I obtain a quote from Aloha. They told my husband they could help with the insurance adjuster and gave my husband an estimate. They came to my home a couple minutes ago telling me my husband he signed a binding contract on work. They said it is on the back on the paper we signed which was never disclosed and not what they told him at all. We asked for an estimate that was it. They gentlemen came to my house and put a sign in my yard without my consent and when I told him we were still undecided on what we were doing his wife started yelling from her truck that we signed a contract and the terms are on the back. I never gave them permission to start work nor did we ever get to that point. They never even gave us a break out of any cost just a high level siding and roofing inspection,

Desired Settlement: I did not sign a contract and do not appreciate them coming to my home pushing themselves on me or saying I am binded to give them work. That is not what they told or disclosed to my husband.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/21) */ We spoke to Esther and cancelled the contract that her husband signed. She told us that she was recanting her complaint. Since no work was done and there is no longer a contract between us, she is not a customer so therefore the complaint should be invalid Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They have cancelled the agreement; there practices are not right but in my case they have recanted and no longer am dealing with them.

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They blame the leak on an HVAC issue. I have lived here for over 15 years and this was never an issue. They will not repair roof nor pay for damages to have interior repairs made, bold removal, insulation, etc.

Desired Settlement: I want my roof fixed properly --- a new roof should not leak and I want $5000 in damages to have the interior damages repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/23) */ On 10-8-14 @ 11:30am **** from our production staff went to Mrs. ********'s home where she showed us a picture of moisture on the ceiling. At this point the ceiling was dry. We offered to preform a water test to determine if the roof was leaking or if there is a condensation issue, Mrs ******** did not want us to do the test because she was sick. **** gave her his direct phone number and told her to call him if moisture appeared again. On 11-12-14 Customer called and said the spot was back, we responded within an hour and preformed a leak test. Nothing leaked so we explained that there is no access into the attic on this section of her home. That we would need to cut an access to her attic and would return to do so, Mrs ******* agreed. Over the next couple days we called 3 times and left messages with no return call. Finally on 4-3-15 (5 months later) we met with Mrs. ********'s handyman and her hvac tech to address the issue, we found that her handyman dumped a bucket of tar around the flue pipe and handyman thought it was ice damning. We explained the tar would have to be removed to diagnose the leak. She told us to leave. We want to address this issue but we need Mrs ********'s cooperation to do so. We will try to reach out to her again to solve this. If our roof is leaking we will fix both the roof and any interior damage caused by leak. Gaining access to her attic will determine if the roof is leaking or if she has a condensation issue from something other than the roof. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They can make another appt to do the leak test at their earliest convenience. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/06) */ I have already stated in our first response that we will be willing to rectify the problem if the leak was coming from the roof. Mrs. ******** has returned our call and we have an appointment set up with her for May 8th. We will find and report the source of the leak. If the leak is from our roof, then we will not only take care of the leak but repair any damages to the interior that the leak caused.

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New gutters installed in Oct 2013 contorted by Aloha Construction. First major rain storm on June 21st. Living room Ceiling collapsed from rain. We had insulation all over living room, water went from hard wood floors clear to crawl space below. ******* sent team to access and pulled down more ceiling to open it up, brought in fans to dry out roof/ceiling. However, adjuster from ******* Insurance stated they would not cover stating damage was due to Faulty gutter installation. We have a letter from *******. Aloha construction was called, they came and DID redo some parts of gutter. I believe they took responsibility a tha time, this was a week ago Friday, however, now they are stating they redid some gutters because we asked them to. We NEVER asked them to. I believe they took responsibility for knowing it was their fault. They indicated the gentleman that put in the gutters. it was his first job. Since they replaced the gutters that were in question, have NOT had a water/rain problem since, and we have had subståntial råin/water after that. We have lived here 17 years, never had a water problem/leak of any kind. We get new gutters installed, and first major rain we had, we get inside damage. Aloha is stating this has nothing to do with them or their work. Why did they then replace some of the gutters? And again, we have NOT had a problem since. We just want the damage to our ceiling taken care of. We also have a $1800 bill just for the fans tha had to be on for the 3 days to dry out the ceiling, and we expect them to take care of this too. 7/12/14 info from consumer: I have sent separate correspondence direct to BBB on Wabash Ave in Chicago, and to Aloha direct. I had sent pictures of before and after construction and also when Aloha Came BACK to redo gutters. Sending under separate cover.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix my ceiling, add insulation, dry wall, and tape and paint the ceiling. I want them to pay for the fans tha† had to be on to dry all of the water in the roof/ceiling. I just want my living room back to looking the way it did.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/31) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* - President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: Aloha @AlohaConstructionInc.net Aloha production met with Mr. ****** on July 9th 2014 to address a leak on his roof. Even though we NEVER did the roof at the property in question we came out anyway to address the situation. The Hermans said the leak was coming from the center of the roof. We did a "water test" to see the point of entry of the water. The point of entry for the water was no where near the center of the roof as it was all the way to the right of the roof. What is actually causing this leak is 2 fold, 1) there are SEVERAL rusty nails that are sticking up a half inch 2)the roof to wall flashing is lifted over a half inch. These two areas is certainly and without question where the leak is occurring....not the actual gutters or the installation of same. Moreover, the moisture underneath the roof and in the interior shows that they have had past leaks that are several years old....long before we ever did work on this home. During this meeting with Mr. ****** on 7/9, we showed Mr. ****** the water coming through the roof to wall flashing and he agreed with our assessment (that leak is not from the gutters but from the roof to wall flashing). Mr. ****** even later wanted a quote for us to not only fix his roof but to replace the entire roof itself. Mr. ****** is a very understanding man and agreed with all of our findings after our water test....which again, he was present for. It was later that Mrs. ****** came into the picture and brought the situation to where it is today. I have no doubt that they truly believe Aloha is at fault here but if you do as many projects as we do and understand roofing systems and trouble areas where water can find its way through, then you can CLEARLY see that this is a roof issue and nothing more. I would be more than happy to talk with the Hermans personally and try to meet somewhere in the middle as they are still our client and i always try to help out when possible....even if its not an Aloha issue. I can meet at the address in question with my production manager and come to the best, quickest and most cost effect course of action Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We appreciate Aloha's response and did place a call to them this past Friday morning to schedule a meeting with Mr. ****** at our home. To date, we have not received a call back. 1) After the storm on Saturday, June 21st a portion of our ceiling collapsed in our living room. Aloha was the 1st call we made on Monday June 23rd. After many calls, Aloha sent their gutter crew out on Friday June 27th. 2) On the Wednesday in between, our insurance adjuster came out and assessed the damage was caused by faulty installation of the gutters. 3) It was always stated that the leak was coming from the front peak flashing, not the center of the roof. The flashing under the gutter is not up 1/2 inch, it is more like 1/8 inch. The rusty nail conclusion came up after the gentleman from Aloha pulled up the flashing and said it was loose. The nail came up with it. True, there are rusty nails/screws, however, the rusty screws and nails are still on the roof. But since Aloha replaced (for the 2nd time) and repositioned the new gutter back to the original position, we have not had an incident with rain/water. We have rain/wind since, and just recently had a storm on August 4, 3 inches of rain. Fortunately, we had no water/rain coming into the house. 4) Original gutter was at position point "A" since the time we have lived here (since Nov 1997). We had our insurance company come out and inspect our siding, gutters and roof in Sept 2013. We were told the siding and gutters should be replaced, but our roof had a few more years left on it. We had Aloha Construction install the new siding and gutters in Oct 2013. The one gutter was now positioned at point "B" (not where the original gutter was). W had a leak and damage to the inside our home, as a result. We contacted Aloha as stated in Number 1 above. Their gutter crew came out on June 27th and at this same time replaced the gutter with another new gutter and positioned it back to point "A". The gutter crew lengthened and repitched the gutter to the same position that the original gutter was. The new/original length covers baby roof flash and wall area. Since the repositioning back to the original position, we have not had an incident with any water/rain coming in. ALSO NOTED: ALOHA DID NOT CHARGE US TO CHANGE/CORRECT THIS PROBLEM. 5) Regarding the old stains on the inside of the roof...even the gentleman at Aloha agreed that those stains could have been made many years ago. There is no way of knowing when they actually were made. Again, we have lived in our home for 14 years and have never had any type of roof leak. There are no, nor ever were any stains on our ceiling or down our wall. Aloha also agreed with me that the stains could have been made when the house was built. We can all make the circumstances meet the needs of the cause. 6) We did not ask Aloha for a quote to fix or replace the roof. Aloha suggested we call their office and have a representative provide an estimate to replace the flashing. We did not call Aloha or make any such appointment. At this time, we are waiting to hear back from Mr. ******* to schedule a meeting with us in our home, as he suggested. We welcome this opportunity. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/08/20) */ **** ****** and I have resolved the issue and I believe the case should be closed. Please contact me if there is anything else that is needed to close this case. Thanks

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 2014 we had a hail storm that cause roof damage. Aloha was in the neighborhood giving FREE estimates of roof damage. They asked us to sign a consent form so they could get on roof to do free assessment and talk to insurance carrier.I asked numerous times for a quote from Aloha for the cost of the roof repair and was told by ***** at Aloha that they would get it to me. Finally on May 15, 2014 ***** came over to have me pick out colors for the gutters, I told him I did not want to replace gutters, my insurance adjustor had said it was not necessary. ***** told me they had to replace gutters because they could not do roof repair without taking them off. With this statement I got even more nervous about this company, (1. because I knew you could replace a roof without taking off the gutters,) (2. The way the salesman keep dropping by at all hours was a little unsettling to me),and told him I would not sign any contract or pick out gutter colors until I got a quote. That night I received a quote that was dollar for dollar what my insurance had allowed. I email them to tell them I was getting additional quotes and not order any material for my house because I may not have them do the work. Then I got a nasty email stating that I was responsible for 15% of the repair because my husband signed the FREE estimate paper for them to get on the roof. They also were in my yard when I was not home once and left my gates open, therefore my dogs got out of the yard. They sent me an invoice for 1273.67(which by the way I am not paying) for work they did not do. They are misleading on the FREE estimate paperwork, which now they say is a contract. This was represented as a release only for them to get up on the roof not a contract. I also had the ***** the sales rep. put "No Cost to Homeowner" in the body of the free estimate paperwork. They still sent me a bill. These people have harassed a few of my neighbors to the point of making them cry, and being afraid of what Aloha staff might do to them because they are mad that Aloha did not get the job. Please don't have any work done by Aloha, they are not trustworthy and do not represent paperwork properly. I have contacted other agency's regarding their deceptive practices. I guess I will see them in court!

Desired Settlement: That they stop sending me invoices for work that was not done by their company. They also need to stop harassing people and trying to use scare tactics to get money for services not rendered. They should not be able to do business in the manner they currently do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/03) */ Ms. ****** was not the person that signed our agreement, it was her husband. He was fully aware of the terms of our contract. The word "agreement" is in bold writing at the top of the contract they signed. They called in the claim with our rep. present. They called us back to tell us when there adjuster was coming out. We met with their adjuster and did a great job showing all the damage to there property. Roof and gutters were approved. Mr. ****** pick out style and colors for there new roof and again signed off on the contract for a second time. It is a complete falsehood that they thought they were signing a permission slip. If the adjuster told her nothing was wrong with her gutters than why did he pay for them to be replaced? Attached is a copy of our contract that Mr. ****** signed twice, as well as e-mails between my sales manager and Ms ****** that show she knew what was going on. The truth of the matter is that Mrs. ****** has fed us a lot of mistruths from day one. She is trying to find a lower price so she can pocket money in this deal witch is insurance fraud and we will not be part of it. So with that behing said we will issue a zero balance invoice and put this matter to rest. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I think it is funny how Aloha only included on sentence of our emails, and did not include his emails but I did not expect honesty from them. The contractor that I went with was more than Aloha so the statement about wanting a cheaper price is false on their part. I was the one handling all this with Aloha after they got my husband to sign the fake FREE estimate paperwork. I still to this day do not have a zero invoice as Aloha has stated they would send me in this response or when they stated it to Pam Zekman CBS. So I still stand by my first feeling of Aloha that they are not to be trusted or used for any work. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/23) */ Zero balance invoice was sent out on 7-18-14.

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5-1-2014 ***** ***** salesman for Aloha Construction came to our door asking to give free estimates on hail damage to our roof. When I agreed, he had me sign a release of permission for him to go on our roof. Nothing else was explained at that point about what I was signing. Since we had a downed gutter due to wind damage,I decided to allow them to go up with our insurance adjustor for a second opinion. No measurements were taken. The insurance adjustor for only minor hail damage to our roof but decided to replace our siding for damage. He suggested to get more estimates on products and services. On 5-16-14, I called ***** ***** and asked if Aloha would give me a written estimate with measurements. He said his company on collects the insureance check, no written estimates are given. I felt that that was wrong business practices, and said I was looking around for quotes and would possiblibly get back to him since they only came out to look at the roof for a estimate. I asked ***** ***** what the depreciation payment was, and he didn't tell me that there company wants that check from the insurance company also, so at this point, I felt that I was dealing with a dishonest company. In the meanttime, I talked to **** (XXX-XXX-XXXX)on 5-21-2014, and told him I already said I didn't want to purse business with there company as I did on 5-16-2014. On X-XX-XXXX I got a call from *** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) stating that thet will do both siding and roof for the insurance checks. I stated again I needed a written estimate with measurement and he stated harrassing me, saying I signed a contract. This is NO contract! I called my Insurace adjustor again, and he stated that if work is done for other then the claim is for, if there is a fire or damage to our house, Allstate will not cover it. My husbands name is also under the insurance and he did not agree to Aloha Construction so called "contract". On X-XX-XXXX I received a generic invoice from Aloha Construction for the amount of 3,034.65, stating i Owed the 15% of there contract per line 11 on the back of the agreement. They never even took a measurement!! They don't know any dollar amount of the claim, so how they came up with this is not stated or broken down. Thats went i went on the BBB and started reading simular complaints about there sales practices. It really makes me scared for our senior citizens out there. Now at this point, I am taking to my lawyer and the **** ***************** Chamber of Commerce to make them aware of what is going on in out neighborhoods. I also want to bring this to reporter for the Daily Herald because these business practices are wrong. I was also surprise at the rating on the BBB after these types of complaints. I will follow up with my lawyers contact information and his fees to settle this matter.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to do business with this company at this point because I feel they are decitful. All they do is stick a piece of paper in front of you and have you sign it so they can harrass you later. I want this invoice that has NO breakdown besides a permit fee for 53.00 on there to be voided. How could they purchase a permit when they didn't take a measurement!! I do not want these people on my property or have anything to do with them in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/09) */ On 5/1 Mrs. ***** signed our CONTRACT to allow us to meet with Allstate to agree on an estimate to repair her house from the storm. The contract she signed says that we will do the repairs for the insurance proceeds and she would only be responsible for her deductible. She had 3 days to cancel contract, she did not.On 5/8 we met with allstate and agreed on an estimate to replace her siding. She then signed off on the style and color of the material, witch we then ordered and paid for.Mrs ***** claims we never measured her house, this is false. Attached is our measurments and specs for her house witch we ordered material for.Also attached is the contract that she signed on both 5/1 and 5/8.On 5/21 when we were delivering the material to her home she tried to cancel. We went above and beyond to try to make her happy and at this point we offered her a free roof to go forward with project. She then used vulgar language toward our rep *****. At this point we sent her a bill for our services witch she was well aware of before signing our contract twice. We do not work for free! we have several hours into her job already as well as paying for material. We are entitled to be paid for our time and costs. If Mrs ***** can talk to us without using vulgar language we will be glad to discuss this with her. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, Aloha Construction NEVER measured our home which I have two witnesses that will testify to that. These kids just kept my insurance adjuster company as he did his measurements. They were only on our property for max 45 minutes. The measurements they sent is 500sqft over other measurements and doesn't include a breakdown of charges. It doesn't even include the damaged gutter and downspout that was a main issue I addressed to salesman ***** ****** It doesn't have a company name on it! And yes, Aloha going on my roof WAS a free "property inspection" which is advertised in the paperwork they provided with the company logo on it. Also, sending a invoice with charges of $2,981.65 for materials that was never estimated and a permit purchase for $53 that was never purchased through our village. Our village has no record of purchase under Aloha Construction! False charges! Aloha Construction should put in this much time and effort to provide consumers with good business practices then maybe the company can develope a good reputation! Since I requested twice that Aloha Construction provide a written estimate for services, which they have not, my lawyer has received and reviewed all documention regarding Aloha Construction and its employee transactions. He is instructed and ready to take legal action against Aloha Construction under the business license BL6285 on the eleventh day after this complaint is received IF "permission form" and invoice are not voided and received by mail to conclude all business with this "company". My attorney will contact the office of Illinois General Lisa Madigan's to file a complaint in violation of the Home Remolding Act and Consumer Fraud Division besides many other violations between the employees and this company. Also, he is instructed to cc all information to channel 7 Eyewitness News, Attn Chuck Gouldi to investigate. Aloha Construction has done nothing but waste my time with bullying and dishonest prectices. They should be ashamed to call themselves a company! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/26) */ We have already attached the measurements of the house on our first reply, as it was measured. We explained the terms of our contract. Ms ***** called us when her adjuster was coming out. We represented Ms ***** very well procuring enough funds to replaced her roof and siding. She also picked out color and style of material for her house. Aloha did everything we promised in our contract. That behind said, in the interest of putting this matter to rest, we will not pursue collecting on the invoice sent to Ms *****. She will be sent a zero balance invoice.

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5-7-14 Aloha Construstion was on our roof to verify hair damage for insurance claim repair. Aloha's agreement was for a roof repair (with no measurements). Allstate agreed to repair the siding under insurance claim, and only minor patch repair on the roof. On the Aloha agreement it stated "claim was not called for siding" I asked Aloha to give me a written contract on the siding and ***** said its only under the insurance claim payment. I didn't feel that was fair so I stated I was going to get other contractors to give me written estimates for the job. Now Aloha is bullying me to do the job on both the roof and siding for the claim amount. They have taken NO measurements of our house. I feel that the quality of materials would be of lesser quality. I asked again for a contractors contract with measurements, and they refused. I was then told I owe them 15% for material cost. The house was never measured for materials. They came here for a roof estimate which the insurance claim is not paying for. I looked at the complaints on the BBB, and I feel at this point, I do not want to do business with this company.

Desired Settlement: Not to do business with them and stop being harrased. There was no money exchanged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/06) */ ***** ***** works with Aloha Construction and has assured me he did not file this complaint.

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales commitment not honored. Very unprofessional & extreme lack of business ethics and acumen. Failed to provide services that were guaranteed by sales agent for damages done by their workers.Extremely non-courteous,dollar hungry, dishonest, not trust worthy and absolutely down right rude storm chasers. Lack of transparency in their billing and warranty receipts. They use strong arm tactics to scare unwary customers.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the damage done to the railing on my property. Cleaning of Debris caused by them and reimbursement of the cost involved here.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/21) */ We at Aloha Construction have tried to reach Mr. *** several times to talk about this matter with no return phone calls. We have pre-construction pictures of the rotted out railing before work was started. We really want to resolve this issue. Hopefully Mr *** will return a phone call so we can do so. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/25) */ Their allegations are baseless. We have kept all lines of communication open. Hence pursuant to this we had a meeting with *** and *** on 2/11/14 to address pending grievances on the following issues: 1.Fixing of Railing damaged post construction and not preconstruction as claimed by them in their letter of refutal. 2. Debris cleaning Costs 3. Discrepancy in billing Post meeting they agreed to table these issues with their production team/management and get back to us regarding an amicable resolution which remains pending. Aloha Construction has not honored any of their commitments and their lack of transparency poses a constant ethical issue for doing business. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/04/10) */ We are willing to clean up the debris if Mr *** will allow us on his property. We have made several attempts to schedual this without a return phone call. As far as the railing issue we did not break the railing it is rotted out. We have pre construction pics showing this. We do not fix railings. We have already gave Mr *** a $1000 discount off his bill. This should more than cover his railing issue. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to Aloha's allegation, please note that if there was no cause than why would they have taken the pictures of the railing & raised it to their production team when we refused to accept their initial offer of $700. Subsequently they came back with a lower offer biding against them self which is very similar to what they have done with the invoices in the past where they raised 2 invoices on the same date one for $15,748.08 & the second for $16,901.61 and discounted the bill by $1K vs 10% as previously agreed. This is a consistent issue of credibility with them as without our issues being completely resolved by BBB they resumed their threats of collection. Due to the complaint raised by us to the BBB, we responded and mentioned to Aloha that we will resolve this upon communication from BBB. Their lack of warranties are just proof of their not so good business practices which limits the customer to raise such unresolved or unforeseen issues for any resolve. We will be more than happy to resolve this issue with Aloha Construction upon their acceptance to fix the railing and cost incurred in cleaning the debris caused by Aloha Construction during the work process.

2/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ******** ****** from Aloha Construction knocked at my door on September 1, 2013 asking for permission to go up to my home's roof to inspect for hail damage as we had a storm two days prior. Mr. ****** showed me Aloha Construction's brochure with the Better Business Bureau logo and a letter also from The Better Business Bureau signed by Mr. ***** ** ******* when I saw the logo at the bottom of the brochure and read the letter from The Better Business Bureau I assumed I could trust Mr. ****** and Aloha Construction to check my roof for storm damage. Mr. ****** asked me to sign a "Permission Form" allowing him to go up to the roof, he never mentioned to me this piece of paper was a contract and he never went up the roof that night, instead, he asked me for my insurance information, I informed him State Farm was my insurance company, also, I specifically informed Mr. ****** I was not approving any work to be done at my home by Aloha Construction Inc. until I got more estimates to compare terms; warranties and quality of materials from each company, he agreed. Mr. ****** never mentioned to me that his "Permission Form" in reality was a contract as he conveniently held the "Permission Form" for me to sign, he never informed me there was a page 2 on the reverse of his "Permission Form" hiding Lines 1 through 16 of course, including Line #12. The next day Mr. ****** informed me he had made an appointment with State Farm for September 17, 2013, again, on that phone call, I reiterated to Mr. ****** that I was not approving any work to be done by Aloha Construction Inc., Mr. ****** agreed. When my claim was approved on the spot, I overheard Mr. ****** talking about my insurance claim adjuster, Mr. *************, Mr. ****** stated this claim adjuster was good, that he had worked with him before, I don't know if this is a common practice for insurance claim adjusters to meet with Aloha Construction personnel and approve work on the spot to benefit Aloha Construction, in exchange for some kind of monetary exchange, I have been living in the same house for 16 years and I have never submitted an insurance claim before so I was not sure what this process entails. I specifically told Mr. ****** who was present at the time of the roof inspection that I was not approving any work to be done, again, when I told Mr. ****** I was planning to get more estimates Mr. ****** did not mention to me he had me sign a contract under false pretenses, I asked him how much I owed him since he had met and negotiated with my insurance claim adjuster, he stated I did not owed Aloha Construction anything! Friday, October 11, 2013, Aloha Construction leaves me a message stating the materials for my roof would be delivered on Tuesday, October 15, 2013. I immediately called Mr. ****** asking him the reason as to why they were bringing roofing materials to my house when I specifically informed him I was not approving any work to be done, again, I asked him if I owed anything to Aloha Construction and he stated "I did not owed anything." Then, an Aloha Construction Inc. supervisor calls me to inform me that Aloha Construction wanted to get the job done, I told him I had never approved any work to be done at my house by Aloha Construction and that Mr. ****** had agreed, he was not happy when I told him I never approved any work to be done, this supervisor never mentioned any contract. Mr. ****** kept calling me constantly, I called Mr. ****** on November 13 to ask him to stop calling me, Mr. ****** got very upset but even then, Mr. ****** did not have the "nerve" to tell me the fraud he had commited against me(as a man, he should be ashamed of himself). Wednesday, November 20, 2013 Mr. ****** called me again and stated "This is how Aloha Construction works and they will not let it go!" Friday, November 29, 2012 I received an invoice from Aloha Construction, Inc. for a total of $976.76, as description of their charge it reads: Per Line #12 of Contract (15%).

Desired Settlement: At this time; I am very frustrated to find out Aloha Construction Inc. and its personnel, including Mr. ******** ****** took advantage of my situation; I found out there are several legal issues with the permission form aka contract Mr. ****** had me sign: He did not provided me with any of these documents: The consumer pamphlet, "Home Repair: Know Your Consumer Rights", as required by section 20 of the Illinois Home Repair and Remodeling Act ("HRRA"). Second, section 15 of HRRA states that any contract over $1,000.00 must be in writing and must provide "the total cost, including parts and materials listed with reasonable particularity and any charge for an estimate". Third, Section 18(i) of the HRRA prohibits contractors from in any way representing homeowners in connection with any insurance claim. Fourth, any contracts for repair after damaging weather, has to contain the Notice of Cancellation form and language which gives home owner five business days to cancel the contract nor was I provided two copies of a cancellation form.~Mr. ****** from Aloha Construction Inc called my insurance company to make an appointment, he met with my insurance adjuster and negotiated with him, Aloha Construction, Inc advocated for me with my State Farm's insurance adjuster on September 17, 2013. When my insurance adjuster Mr. Brady J Bauer approved my claim that same day, Mr. ******, made copies of all my State Farm's file including a check by State Farm to be used for an initial payment for my home's roof repairs, he stated he needed to make copies of all the documents the adjuster gave me for Aloha's records, I asked him if there was a charge for meeting with my insurance claim adjuster and he stated there was no charge at all. At that time I reiterated to Mr. ****** I did not want any work done by Aloha Construction Inc. on my home until I got other estimates, he agreed, again, he never had the "nerve" to tell me in my face he had given me a contract to sign already, what a way of doing business!~The settlement I am seeking is for Aloha Construction to cancel this contract without any penalties, this includes the cancellation of their invoice dated 11/25/13 for $976.76 and any further charges or legal actions against me or by a means of a lien placed on my home, effective immediately. If Aloha Construction does not cancel this contract by making it invalid, my next step will be to report Aloha Construction Inc. to The Illinois Attorney General so they can start their own investigation against Aloha Construction Inc, I will make sure I give The Illinois Attorney General the State Farm claim adjuster's name and contact information, I am also willing to talk to the Media about Aloha Construction's scam of going door to door after a storm to scam homeowners, that includes calling the Spanish Speaking TV channels because it is a "coincidence" a Hispanic employee from Aloha arrived at my house, I assumed he was a Latino working hard to make ends meet by helping other Latinos keep their homes in good shape, I was wrong, since day one, Mr. ****** was out to scam me out of my hard earned money, because I do have an honest job and work hard to make ends meet. I will call my insurance agent to see if I have an option to place a complaint the insurance claim adjuster, because, he knew, he was dealing with Aloha Construction personnel "on my behalf" and according to Section 18(i) of the HRRA prohibits contractors from in any way representing homeowners in connection with any insurance claim. I will go to consumers' websites to post my negative experience in both English and Spanish for other consumers to beware of Aloha Construction Inc. and its personnel, specially, Mr. ******. Furthermore, I am ready to pursue this matter legally, I will seek damages for violations of the Home Repair and Remodeling Act against Aloha Construction Inc. I will pursue any other charges I can bring forth against Aloha Construction Inc. through our legal system. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a copy of the consumer's signed contract for our review. That copy may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ************* Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/03) */ We at Aloha Construction Inc. do not admit fault. Mr. ******* not only signed our "contract" but also initialed on style and color of material. We were well within our rights to send him the invoice for services rendered. We would much rather complete the job that we agreed on doing for Mr. ******* that was paid for by his insurance co. however, Mr. ******* refused the drop of the material. So in the best interest for both parties we have decided to withdraw our invoice at this time. We will contact Mr. ******* directly to protect both parties. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/02/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On Friday, January 24 at 7:21 pm. Mr. ******* called my cell phone and left a message containing profanity, I guess doing the right thing got him very upset enough for him to call me a "Piece of **** that stinks." I kept proof of his identifiable caller information, like his full name, date and time of his call, I also have his recorded harassing message in case The Better Business Bureau wants to verify. Mr. *******: Let's act like mature, grown up men and stop these games; talking of **** that stinks, it was your Aloha Construction Inc. employee, Mr. ****** knocking at my door under false pretenses who stared this mess, so why are you upset? For getting caught? I had enough of this non sense; if you or any Aloha Construction Inc. employee contacts me again, with any more of your harassing phone calls or visits to my private property, be advised; my lawyer and I are ready to begin legal proceedings against you and your company Aloha Construction Inc. I will bring to The Chicago Police Department all the video and audio recordings to prove you are trying to intimidate me and will press charges against you and Aloha Construction Inc., in addition, I will also proceed to open another case with The Better Business Bureau, I will instruct my lawyer to forward my Aloha Construction Inc file with all the video and audio recordings to The Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan for her records and last but not least, I will forward a copy of my Aloha Construction Inc file with all the video and audio recordings to Mr. C***********; an investigative reporter for ABC 7 News so he can review it and if he decides to start an investigation against Aloha Construction Inc. it will be because of Mr. *******'s business practices. I don't like wasting my time, I hope, I made myself perfectly clear this time; no more contact from you, Mr. ******* and no more contact from your Aloha Construction Inc. employees. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/02/10) */ I faxed cancelled contract,and a zero balance invoice to Mr. *******'s lawyer on X-XX-XX @ 2:25pm. This should conclude all business between Aloha Construction and Mr. *******.

1/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was contracted to replace the siding on our home. On the Aloha Construction contract terms and conditions item number 5 states "reasonable efforts to protect landscaping from damage". No one on site said a word about doing anything to the bushes and I was home the entire time they worked on the siding replacement. The workers used NO reasonable effort what so ever. Instead they took the fastest method possible. They sawed ALL the branches off between the house and the trunk and have destroyed several tall mature bushes. I have had to secure the bushes to the house with plastic straps so that they will stand up as they are obviously heavy on one side now and droop away from the house. Proper care, according to our landscaper, would have been to tie the branches up, not cut them off. I wrote a letter to Mr. *******, the Aloha President back on November 27th furnishing him with photos of the butchered bushes, a copy of his own contract item number five and a copy of the replacement estimate from the landscaper. I told him that I welcomed the opportunity to speak with him or one of his agents to discuss an easy settlement and he has ignored us. This is an unacceptable practice. This company has been paid in full and in a timely manner. We are just looking to be treated fairly and in the manner that the Aloha contract stated. "Reasonable effort to protect existing landscape", not destroy it.

Desired Settlement: The full amount of the furnished estimate to replace the destroyed bushes. Total of $560.00 If they would like, they can pay it directly to the landscaper now. Even though they have a copy of the estimate I will refurnish the estimate or the landscaper address upon request.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/02) */ We spoke to Mr. ***********, and agreed on a resolution that is fair to both parties. We will mail a check to him for a total sum of $330.00 to put this matter to rest. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It's not the max we requested but it is acceptable.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

68 Customer Reviews on Aloha Construction, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart