BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2007

Allied Roofing Services, Inc.

Phone: (708) 415-4474Fax: (708) 597-926413513 Loomis Ln, CrestwoodIL 60445-1557 Send email to Allied Roofing Services, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2007

BBB has determined that Allied Roofing Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Allied Roofing Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allied Roofing Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: I recently purchased a home that had a roof installed by Allied. This year I began to have issues of leakage from the roof through my ceiling. They came out and thought they repaired the issue (around the chimney). Unfortunately that was not the issue as the leakage continued a couple weeks later. I was able to contact them and scheduled an appointment for 6/13/14, which required me to take a vacation day. The appointment was scheduled for **** to come out between 10-11am. However, neither **** nor anyone else ever showed up or called about the missed appointment. I left a voicemail on the 2 phone numbers I have for them around noon of that day to see if they were just running late. Since then I have left at least 7 voicemails on the 630 and 708 phone numbers and no one has called me back. We have had a lot of rain recently, which is starting to cause issues.

I did not want to resort to filing a complaint, but did not have any other choice. It has been almost 3 weeks since they missed the appointment (which again required me to use a vacation day) and they have failed time and time again to respond to any of the multiple voicemails. I also would like to point out that I have left them 3 different phone numbers that they could use to call me back (cell, house, work). At this point there is no excuse for the lack of follow up.

I just want them to come out and fix the issue before I have to repair my ceiling and wall.

Initial Business Response
I have been in constant contact with Mr. ****** and although he bought the house from one of my customers from seven years ago and the warranty was explained to be nontransferable my company fixed his leak free of charge. It took two attempts to fix leak and I asked Mr. ****** to let me know after several rains whether or not the leak had stopped and he let me know 7/7/2014 there was no signs of leaking after two very hard rains. I believe he was very satisfied with our service as he thanked me very much for addressing his problem.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: The gutters and ice & water shield supplied and installed by Allied Roofing was not properly installed. Several phone calls and emails to **** ******** have gone unanswered. The gutter pitch is off causing excessive water and ice overflow/build-up. Water pours/gushes over the top of the gutters in poorly installed/pitched areas. Ice build-up is 6 inches plus + in several areas, which. is now causing the gutters to pull away from the house. Several phone calls and emails to **** ******** have gone unanswered.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Presiden
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@aol.com
The gutters and ice and water shield installed on Mrs. ******** house are not the cause of her ice damming issues. When roof was installed she was made aware of extremely insufficient attic insulation, there were large areas of attic where there was no insulation at all. Mrs ******** first contact with me was 12/17/13 and I informed her as soon as weather allows I will go to her home and check pitch of gutters. Roofs in Chicagoland have been covered by snow since early December and it is unsafe to attempt accessing roof. When we install gutters a level is used to insure proper pitch, however it is possible a mistake had been made and I will gladly check pitch of gutters and adjust if necessary. As far as improper installation of ice and water shield goes that is impossible, ice and water shield does not prevent ice dams, it prevents water from backing up into structure when installed properly. The ice dams are due to lack of attic insulation.

I don't know what happened I did respond to this complaint the initial day I received it. For whatever reason it did not go through. Also I have been in contact with the consumer listed on the complaint and notified her as soon as weather allows I will go out to her home and check pitch of gutters.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
**** ******** came to my home today to look at the problems with the gutters, he noted that the gutter in the front of the house is not level/properly pitched, there is 1 area (front of house) causing critter access to attic, the gutter in the back of the house he noted was clogged with leaves. **** ******** indicated that he would come back to correct the problems when the weather allows.

I will contact **** ******** or he can contact me when the weather allows for the corrections to be made, hopefully in the next few weeks.

Final Business Response
I will contact customer today and set up time to go to her home asap. Any and all concerns will be addressed.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/15/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Carpenters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/12/2007Business started: 10/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph 9th Fl
Chicago, IL60601-3218
(312) 814-4500
http://www.idfpr.com

BBB records show a license number of 104-014465 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.idfpr.com. The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2015.

Type: Department of Professional and Financial Reg.

Check License Status: https://www.idfpr.com/dpr/licenselookup/results.asp?&page=1&lic nbr=104-014465&type2=LICENSE

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Cardinal (Owner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Carpenters

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Allied Roofing Services, Inc.

13513 Loomis Ln

Crestwood, IL 60445-1557

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 13513 Loomis Ln 

    Crestwood, IL 60445-1557(708) 415-4474

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Allied Roofing Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.