This business is not BBB accredited.

A-Affiliated Roofing

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 927-8700 Fax: (773) 445-9558 5742 S Pulaski Rd, Chicago, IL 60629


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A-Affiliated Roofing include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for A-Affiliated Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A-Affiliated Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 08, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Business Management
Owner, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Owner, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
A -Affiliated Roofing Accessible Roofing Affiliated Roofing

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3118 W. 40th St.

    Chicago, IL 60632

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5742 S Pulaski Rd

    Chicago, IL 60629

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid cashier check and cash

Desired Settlement: Cost to hire another roofer to fix leak problem and cost of dry wall, plaster and painter

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/31) */ Sorry A Affliated is no longer in business. Lee ***** died June of last year. I have no further info

11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/26/08 A Affliated repaced roofing and rotted wood and provided a 30 year warranty. However, due to recent wind storms in Chicago I would like my roof inspected as I have seen pieces of shingles and I am not sure if it is coming off of my roof or one of my neighbors. I have called all numbers provided in the contract and business cards from 2008 and all numbers are out of service. -------------------------------------------------- 11/19/14 I have not heard from the business and I still need them to either fulfill their warranty sold as part of the deal or a partial refund if they are unable to meet the warranty requirements.

Desired Settlement: I would like contact with the company to honor the warranty or if they are unable to honor the warranty there should be some refund as the warranty was part of the contractual deal I paid for in 2008.

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After heavy rain fall I continue to get water leaking from my ceiling. I have made several calls to *** ***** one of the owners cell phone as I am unable to reach anyone with the main number which is XXX-XXX-XXXX, the phone is answered via a recording and immediately says "good bye". I'm suppose to have a 15 year warranty on the work and it has not been a year yet as the repair was done Nov. 2013.

Desired Settlement: If the company will not fix the problem and stand by the warranty that I have I would like a full refund to use towards repair by another company.

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2013, this company was hired to perform repairs to the roof of my residence. Approximately a week after the work was complete, the area experienced a rainstorm, and the roof continued to leak in some of the same areas where the repairs were supposedly made. I made at least 10 calls to the office phone number shown on the owner's business card. I have never received a return call to discuss the problem with a representative of the company.

Desired Settlement: I want the repairs done correctly or a refund of my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ *** ***** who is the owner of A. Affiliated Roofing is deceased as of 1/22/14. I will forward this complaint to his family. Please do not send any more emails for A. Affiliated Roofing.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has failed to honor the warranty/ guaranty agreement within the contract. On August 29, 2001, we contracted with A Affiliated Roofing (located at 3443 W. 71st St. Chicago, XXXXX) for the roofing job including an express 20 year guaranty/ warranty, located at ************ St., Chicago 60651 (the residence of ******* and *********** *****). The job order started on Aug. 29, 2001. Mr. *** *****, owner of A Affiliated Roofing, was paid $2700.00 in full on August 31, 2001. Approximately 11-12 years later after rain storms and typical Chicago four seasons weather, water has infiltrated the upper floor of our building. Not only is the roof leaking, additionally we have sustained further damage to the upper floor. Our tenant first reported the initial incident in June 2013. He further reported property damage as well as an inability to use that part of the apartment. We have made over 10 calls to XXX-XXX-XXXX over a three month period, only to leave messages with his answering service assistant. When questioned as to her role and whether Mr. ***** was receiving our messages: she (****) replied "yes, but she is only his assistant and only takes messages." Once again, we expressed our concerns and frustrations to her and requested the information and complaint be given directly to Mr. *****. The owner has failed to return our phone calls except for once when he or someone called our home (the caller id. identified the name as Erica *****, XXX-XXX-XXXX) but the caller would not speak on the phone, presumably that person realized we were not potential customers or chose not to deal with our complaint. We continue to call and seek redress to our contract and leaking roof issues. As of 9/24/2013 A Affiliated Roofing has not returned our calls or honored the contract agreement regarding the guaranty/warranty. With every rain shower we sustain further damage to our property. If this is not resolved immediately we will be forced to contract with another roofer and sue Mr. ***** and A Affiliated Roofing for the expenses and damages based on his breach of contract. Our next step is to contact the States Attorney General and file a consumer complaint.

Desired Settlement: Our settlement terms Replacement or repair of the roof as stated in the contract terms and warranty clause. If unable or unwilling to replace or repair the roof; a refund of a portion of the contract fee equal to the amount necessary to repair the roof. Amount necessary to repair the roof and upper floor unit in light of the damages sustained as a result of A Affiliated Roofers breach of warranty and our reliance on the contract and warranty clause.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/25) */ To whom it may concern. This is to imform you that Mr. *** has been in and out of the hosiptal. In ICU I may add. He has suffered major health challenges. At this point he is unable to even think about roofing. All of his work has been shut down right now beacuse of his health. I don't know when someone can come or even if some one can come and inspect anything. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a copy of your warranty information for our review. That copy may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The warranty has not expired as provided in the documentation previously included with the complaint. On the roof, they applied a small amount of material to patch a few spots near the firewall along the front of the building. However, the damage area is estimated at 1/3 of the distance from the front of the building. I observed them pour small amounts of a liquid (presumably tar or patch material)over a few cracks. The roof is over 12 years old and probably requires more than a few ounces of roofing repair patch. As a homeowner, I continually do preventative and repair maintenance on my property, including tuck pointing and firewall masonry repair and gutter replacement within the previous three years. At this point I am unwilling to submit a response of satisfaction; due to the inability to test the effectiveness of their repair work based on a lack of rain; and the fact that the firewalls were repaired recently and after the roof was replaced. I will continue to reject their response until such time as I am satisfied that this company has lived up to its promises. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/10/16) */ There again the tuckpointing by the firewall is where the water is coming in. We are not responsilbe for that. NOTE FROM THE BBB: The business indicates that the leak is not coming from the roof. At this time we recommend that you have the roof inspected to determine the exact source of the leak. If the inspection reveals that it is in fact the roof, please provide a copy of the inspector's report and we will reopen your complaint. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

7/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A-Affiliated Roofing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)