Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ed's Rental & Sales, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 385-3232 Fax: (815) 385-9432 View Additional Phone Numbers 904 N. Front St., McHenry, IL 60050

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ed's Rental & Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ed's Rental & Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2005 Business started: 04/01/1956 Business started locally: 04/01/1956 Business incorporated 01/09/1959 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tom Thennes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Thennes, President
Business Category

Rental Service Stores & Yards Garden & Lawn Equip & Supls-Sales/Rental/Serv Party Supplies - Renting All Other Consumer Goods Rental (NAICS: 532299)

Additional Locations

  • 5407 E Terra Cotta Ave

    Crystal Lake, IL 60014 (815) 455-3232

  • 904 N. Front St.

    McHenry, IL 60050 (815) 385-3232

  • 914 W Algonquin Rd

    Algonquin, IL 60102 (847) 658-9000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer# ****** Contract# ********* Delivery Date 10/9/15 At delivery, we did not receive the 8 white 90" round linens we ordered. We called Ed's Rental to let them know, and the response we got was someone from their company forgot to order them from the linen company they use, and they would see what they could do. They called back and said they found some, and would deliver them later that afternoon. They were delivered at the event site while we were not present. What was delivered was not 8 white linens that were ready to use for our event. We received 4 packages of 2 tablecloths still in original packaging, ***** **** brand tablecloths from **** Club. We could've bought those ourselves straight from **** Club to keep and not rented them if that's what we were paying for. We expect that when we rent linens, that they are ready to go for the event. We received linens that were not ready to go, not laundered and not pressed. They were a wrinkled mess straight out of the package. We had to pay a friend to launder and press them for us, so we could use them because we didn't have time to get them anywhere else. We ordered 4 Powder Blue 90x156 skirtless linens. When we opened the linen package, we saw that we did not receive Powder Blue. Instead we were given 4 Naples Blue linens. We called and were told that the linen company they use no longer carries Powder Blue. No one from Ed's Rental bothered to contact us to tell us that this color was no longer carried and instead we were just sent a substitution. We should have been contacted to pick which blue we would like instead or cancel these linens altogether, so we could order the correct color from somewhere else. Naples Blue did not match our event colors correctly. We were forced to use a couple of them because we had no other option at that point, there was no time to go find and receive the correct color from somewhere else. We expect to receive what we ordered and paid for.

Desired Settlement: Ed's Rental should refund us $76.00 for the 8 white 90" round linens and $100.00 for the 4 powder blue 90x156 skirtless linens, for a total of $176.00. We did not receive what we ordered.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ed's Rental & Sales, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)