Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Groot Industries

Phone: (800) 407-4733 Fax: (847) 734-6432 View Additional Phone Numbers 2500 Landmeier Rd, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.groot.com/



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Groot Industries is a waste management company that provides recycling, dumpster service, and office document shredding service. This company is located in Elk Grove Village, IL, and serves the north-western Chicago suburbs including Schaumburg, Hoffman Estates, Bartlett, Streamwood, Sutton, South Barrington, Barrington, Mt Prospect, Arlington Heights, Rolling Meadows, Palatine, Des Plaines, Prospect Heights, Park Ridge, Niles, Morton Grove, Golf, Glenview, Northfield, Bensenville, Franklin Park, Skokie, Carol Stream, and Elmhurst. This company offers waste management services including industrial waste management, commercial and residential dumpster service, commercial waste recycling, roll-off dumpsters, product and document destruction, and landscape waste.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Groot Industries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Groot Industries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Groot Industries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 02/16/1970 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Eaton, Sales Supervisor Mr. Larry Groot, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Eaton, Sales Supervisor
Business Category

Recycling Centers Rubbish & Garbage Removal Recycling Services Recycling - Computers & Other Electronics Paper & Document Shredding Shredding Services Office Records - Destruction Dumpster Services Materials Recovery Facilities (NAICS: 562920)

Alternate Business Names
Accurate Document Destruction, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2500 Landmeier Rd

    Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 (800) 407-4733 (773) 242-1977

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/28/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Groot was not performing their duties up to the contract standard for the 2nd time and I put in an order for them to pick up their scavenger dumpsters

Desired Settlement: On or around June 25th 2015 I called first ***** and requested they pick up their dumpsters and I would like to replace them with a different scavenger. I then emailed and contacted the whole week. I sent an email to ******* ******** July 6th and to their general online mailbox on July 6th. They tried to convince us to stay and then when I refused they said we have a 5 year contract. This was not true. I have all of the paperwork I signed and nothing had 5 years on it. When they emailed me a copy, there was a page that was CLEARLY added to the page I actually signed (without my signature of course) saying I am on the hook for 5 years. My sales rep gave me all the paperwork to sign and there was no page there that reflected the one they emailed me. They are refusing to come and get their dumpsters unless I sign a paper saying that I am in breach all while they continue to bill me for service I have been trying to get rid of for over a month now. They claim that if I do not pay them they will put us in collections, file a lien, etc. There is a cancellation of $805.35. They are doing this to try to make me stay with them. My sales rep is **** *** and my account number is XXXXXXXXX. We signed with them May 2nd 2014 to start service for 1 year. They sent the form to try to force me to sign that I am in breach on July 20th 2015. This only happened in response to the formal certified letter by my attorney and I did so on Friday July 17. They ignored calls and emails until they got that in the mail and responded with the breach of contract form they're trying to force me to sign.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/28) */ We will credit the balance owed of $115.05 and dismiss the breach of contract. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do at this time. I have tried contacting ****** at both numbers and the mailboxes are full so I could not leave a message. Can you please provide me with further action I need to take at this time. XXX-XXX-XXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Best Regards, Nick ***** Sales Manager Ph: (XXX) XXX-XXXX ******@*****.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2015/09/11) */ I submitted additional information after the resolution was assumed accepted by the BBB. The business I complained about never sent my money back and they also owe money that was accidentally sent to them by a bookkeeper. We are supposed to get that back and haven't received anything. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/09/15) */ Contact Name and Title: Nick Lewis - Sales Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@*****.com Spoke with ****** today and communicated all balances and credits. We are mailing back the $577.50 from an intended payment to the City of Chicago. The $115.05 has been credited leaving them with a current balance of $0.00.

3/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Groot Industries became the garbage collection company for the Naperville Township a while back and we have had nothing but problems since being forced to switch. The receptionist is rude and argumentative which makes trying to work things out with the company impossible. Skipping all the details of the past problems I will discuss only my current complaint. Our basement received many feet of water with the April floods in Illinois. Considering the amount of damage, we needed to order a dumpster. Groot refused to price match so we went with the cheaper company. Due to our own financial difficulties at the time we received a letter from Groot Industries stating that we were past due on a bill and that they would have to suspend our service. The cans were placed at the curb anyway and no garbage was ever collected. So we began to use the dumpster not only for our damaged home goods and repairs but also our everyday garbage. We understood that they could not continue with pickup without payment. We have yet to pay the past due bill from July and of course have not had any garbage service since then as well. We have finally finished all of our home repairs and called to reinstate our service by paying our past due amount as well as for future services. Groot Industries is saying that they continued to bill us this entire time and that we owe them $268.03. We asked how could you bill us for services that were never received. They said that service was never suspended and if we chose to not put garbage out it is our problem. This is not a true statement. Garbage was not picked up and I still have the letter stating that they are suspending our service. I feel as though I am being "blackmailed" into paying for something I did not receive in order to have my garbage picked up now. I have also written to the Naperville Township to see if their is anyway I can choose my own refuse collection.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would be willing to pay the initial past due of $62.82 from July 1, 2013 when the suspension letter was sent. Pending a response from the township I would also pay for new services if they will not allow me to use my own refuse collection. These charges are for pick-up from 1/1/2014-3/31/2014 of $71.34 and late fees. I am not willing to pay for July-December when no garbage was collected from our residence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/28) */ Contact Name and Title: *****************, Reside Contact Phone: ******************* Contact Email: *********@*****.com The account was originally opened on 10/1/11 from the files that Naperville Township sent since they contracted us for service. All Naperville Township residents were to have ***** as their service provider. Mr. ******* informed us that they took the account over on Feb 22, 2012. At that time they ordered 2 garbage toters which were delivered. There was a total credit given of $81.89 for no service 10/1/11 through 2/22/12. The service was suspended on March 29, 2012 for non-payment. The customer was given two courtesy pick ups during that time. Normal service and billing was resumed 4/11/12 after the customer paid the past due amounts. There is no record of the customer calling for a dumpster in April and if she did she would have been told ***** was picking up all flood damage from the April rains and the Township was paying for it. Our billing department tried unsuccessfully to contact the customer about the account but had no good number. We had absolutely no verbal contact with the customer since April 2012 when her husband called in a payment. We will credit the customer for July-Sept, Oct-Dec plus late fees for a total of $122.92 for the service portion and late fees only since they are still in possession of our garbage toters. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/02/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am surprised by the inaccuracies presented in Groots account of the situation. The reason for the initial credit was inaccurate and it continues on from there. What makes the whole situation the most upsetting is the way that ***** is handeling it. All that was expected was a credit to our account for services charged that were knowingly (based in a letter from them) not performed. It took going to the BBB just to maintain communication with someone. Now they are not only not apologizing for continuing to charge us, but they are trying to say that things happened that are not true, like courtesy pick up. Since I don't see any positive outcome to this situation I will chose just one example to illustrate the type of problems we have been having and why I don't see anything changing. In their response, they said they had no record of us calling for a dumpster. Of course not. Thats one of the big problems with *****, their customer service. When we called for a quote we told them we were customers and requested a quote for a dumpster for flood damage. She gave us a price. Never asked our names, how long we had been customers or anything. We then called a few more companies to get prices and all of them offered discounts for the flood victims. When we called ***** back and told them the other price quotes we had received, we were told that was the best they could do. So we went with another company. Then when we called most recently to discuss the bill she wanted to know where we had been putting our garbage since they had terminated our service, not that had anything to do with the problem. We then told her about the dumpster and she became upset and wanted to know where we got the dumpster and why we didn't call them. When we reminded her that we did, her response was "how would I remember you had a flood". We then reminded her of all the flooding in Illinos as reported by all major news and she then responded with "well I don't remember that". This is just one of our issues and obviously it has spanned months. It is a constant battle with this company every step if the way and I am concerened that if I just "accept the response of the business" there will continue to be problems in the future.  Therefore, what we want is to be released from our business relationship with ***** and be able to chose our own refuse collector. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/20) */ I reached out to ***** via email & the phone number listed above to step in to try and help resolve the issues. I did receive a voicemail back from her husband and have left him a couple of messages after that, but we have not been able to reach other yet to talk. I'm hoping we can talk soon. The customers original resolution request for the charges from Jul-Dec 2013 has already been issued and taken care of. The customers residence is part of a municipal contract that covers the refuse service for the entire township, ***** is the contracted hauler. I'm hoping to hear back soon from the customer to try and help this matter move forward into a positive direction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Groot Industries
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)