Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

THE WILCOX COMPANY

Phone: (773) 583-0800 Fax: (773) 409-5170 2157 W Irving Park Rd, Chicago, IL 60618 http://www.thewilcoxcompany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for THE WILCOX COMPANY include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on THE WILCOX COMPANY
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1967 Business started locally: 01/01/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Business Management
Mr. Joseph J. Wilcox, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph J. Wilcox, President
Business Category

Real Estate Real Estate - Commercial Real Estate Agents Real Estate Appraisers Real Estate Consultants Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Services Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 531210)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2157 W Irving Park Rd

    Chicago, IL 60618 (773) 583-0800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/09/15, my wife Ling ***** and I, Owen ********, were in negotiations with Joe ****** of The ****** Company about us renting the apartment located at 2130 W Belle Plaine in Chicago, IL. Before we submitted the application online to rent this apartment and paid a $100 application fee with my credit card, my wife and I called Joe ****** on the phone with speakerphone and asked two questions: 1) Can our lease begin on December 15th, 2015? 2) Can we include in the lease that there will be no dogs and no cats allowed in the building because I have severe allergies? Joe ****** answered yes to both of these questions. Joe ****** assured us that our lease could begin December 15th, 2015, and that the lease would include a clause stating that no dogs and no cats would be allowed in the building. We only agreed to pay them the $100 fee based on Joe ******** answers to these questions. If Joe ****** had said "no" to either of these questions, we would not have applied for this apartment or paid the $100 application fee. After we had this phone conversation and paid $100, Joe ****** sent us an email on 11/12/15 indicating that 1) the start date of our lease would begin on December 1st and 2) the no dogs and cats policy would not be included in the lease. This directly contradicts what Joe ****** said before we applied for the apartment and paid his company, The ****** Company, the $100 application fee. Joe ****** misrepresented the offer for the apartment that led us to pay this application fee. We asked The ****** Company both by phone and email for a full refund of the $100 application fee that we paid based on the Joe ******** misrepresentation of what he was offering. They have yet to give us a full refund of the $100 application fee.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund of the $100.

Business Response:

It is unfortunate that you feel that you were treated unfairly.  The ****** Company takes customer satisfaction very seriously. 

The facts, as I explained to you prior to this complaint, is that you submitted your application with the clearly defined non-refundable application fee.  You acknowledged with your signature that this fee was non-refundable.  We processed your application, researching your credit, criminal, financial and previous landlord verifications.  You withdrew your application.  You then threatened us with legal actions and postings to sites like the BBB and Yelp to try and extort the non-refundable fee back from us. I would be happy to present this in court, but don't we all have better things to do with our time?

 

Joseph J. ******
Managing Broker/Owner
The ****** Company

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 11028079

I am rejecting this response because:

Dear Joe,

Here is a hypothetical to illustrate: If you are offering to sell me a car and tell me it is blue, and that I must give you a non-refundable fee for any reason as part of applying to buy the car, and then after I pay that fee you tell me the car is actually red, then you have misrepresented what you are offering and should return the fee to me.  

That hypothetical illustrates what happened here when you said yes to my two questions and then changed the lease terms you were offering after we paid the $100.  We only paid the $100 fee based on your answers to those two questions, and as soon as we paid you emailed us telling us your answers had changed and the terms we agreed to were not possible.

You and your company recognized that you are in the wrong about this when you offered to return $66 of the $100 fee to me.  I have yet to receive any refund.

Do the right thing and return the $100 or I will gladly testify in court against your misrepresentation.  You can mail the check for $100 to this address: Owen ********, **** * ****** *** *** *, Chicago IL 60625.

Sincerely,
Owen ********

Business Response:

What you asked me to do was try and change terms of another tenants lease to state that they could not have any pets.  I cannot legally do that.  I told you that.

I offered you the balance of the $100 that was not a direct expense to me.  I didn't have to, but I figured it would easier than dealing with this time wasting.  You refused it.  I can't help you any more.  You have gotten all the time you deserve.

Good luck.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 11028079

I am rejecting this response because:

I asked if the owner would agree that my lease state that no dogs or cats will be allowed in the building.  There is nothing illegal about that.  My current lease says basically that the owner agrees not to allow dogs or cats in the leases for the other apartments in the building.  What law does that break?

Regardless, you said that no dogs or cats allowed in the building would be included in our lease, and that the start date could be Dec 15th before we paid that $100 and then as soon as we paid you emailed us telling us it could not be included in the lease and the start date had to be on the 1st.  We would not have paid you the $100 if you had said no to either of those questions, and you said yes to both.  I explained why each of those two terms was important - my severe allergies and that we needed to give 30 days notice to our landlord.  It would appear that you lied about what you were offering to trick us into paying you the $100 and we demand that you refund the full $100.  

Your "direct costs" as a result of your dishonesty are your costs and not mine.  I should not have to pay for your lies.  Do the right thing and give us back our $100 that you took from us under false pretenses.  I will not give up until you give us our money back.


Sincerely,

Owen ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on THE WILCOX COMPANY
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)