Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Inland Real Estate Group, Inc.-The

Phone: (630) 218-8000 Fax: (630) 954-5699 View Additional Phone Numbers 2901 Butterfield Rd, Oak Brook, IL 60523 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.inlandgroup.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Inland Real Estate Group, Inc. is a real estate and investment broker that offers real estate management. This business is located in Oak Brook, IL, and serves the western Chicago suburbs including Lisle, Downers Grove, Hinsdale, Westmont, Lombard, Elmhurst, Westchester, La Grange, Darien, Burr Ridge, Woodridge, Glen Ellyn, Wheaton, Naperville, Berwyn, Cicero, Oak Park, Franklin Park, Rosemont, O'Hare, Itasca, Bloomingdale, Carol Stream, Winfield, Warrenville, and West Chicago. This real estate investment firm offers a variety of services including real estate services, apartments, asset evaluations, financial services, financing, financing consulting, industrial consulting, investment management, leasing service, property management, real estate for commercial and residential properties, real estate investing, and real estate loans.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Inland Real Estate Group, Inc.-The meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Inland Real Estate Group, Inc.-The include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Inland Real Estate Group, Inc.-The
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1967 Business started locally: 01/01/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Business Management
Mr. Tim Hutchison, President and Chief Operating Officer Ms. Dayle M. Gillett, V.P.-Public Relations Mr. Daniel L. Goodwin, Chairman/CEO Susan McCall, Prop Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Hutchison, President and Chief Operating Officer
Business Category

Real Estate Real Estate-Commercial & Industrial Real Estate - Commercial Real Estate - Industrial Real Estate Consultants Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Real Estate Services Asset Evaluators Financing Real Estate Loans Financial Services Investment Management Real Estate Investors Apartments Financing Consultants Industrial Consultants Leasing Service Management Consultants Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 531210)

Alternate Business Names
Inland Inland American Retail Management LLC Inland Commercial Property Management Inc. Inland Property Management Inland Real Estate Corp. The Inland Real Estate Group of Companies, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2901 Butterfield Rd

    Oak Brook, IL 60523 (972) 733-0500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rejected application without thorough reason why. When I asked ***** ****** to clarify, she was unaccomodating and responded with vague answers like 'it's Transunions decision' and 'it's in the rental criteria' but would fail to make it clear when I asked for clarification. When I asked for her superior's number, she stated she is the property manager. Never once did she try to clear up my misunderstanding. She was immediately defensive which only tells me that this company makes shady decisions like this often. The apartment complex was equally uneducated in their reason as to why I was denied, again blaming Transunio or not having a high enough credit score (which it does not state anywhere in their rental criteria).. I have never been denied an apartment and based on what ***** ****** said, every single tenant in her property is 100% debt free, which is unrealistic. In the rental criteria I was sent, it has no minimum credit score requirement which is the only factor that may have excluded me from qualifying. I was only trying to get clarification on exactly why I was rejected seeing as I spent $75 on the application fee and would never have applied if I was aware of such strict guidelines and seeing as I do not want to lose more money applying and getting rejected. I had just been accepted at another apartment complex in Orlando just last month but due to my job relocating me to Sarasota, I did not move forward with signing a lease. I do not wish to ever be in contact with ***** ****** as she has been unprofessional and rude. She sends her phone straight to voicemail which either means she is too busy and needs support with handling her responsibilities or just does not want to concern herself with anything unpleasant. I called her twice and left two voicemails to call me back and all she could do was send a cold email the next day. It has to be illegal to keep someone from having a home because they have unsettled debt from 6+ years ago. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Clear explanation along with clearly written guidelines to support decision. No contact from current contact of ***** ******. I want someone above her to contact me. Reimbursement of application fee as well as deposit to hold the apartment that I was denied for. A total of $225.00. Thank you.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

We have reviewed your BBB complaint and have addressed it with the appropriate parties. We do have criteria in place for our applicant screening process. It’s my understanding that you have a copy of this now but if you would like me to mail or email one to you, I would be happy to do so.

We use TransUnion/Credit Retriever for credit, criminal, and eviction screening. This company uses a screening model versus what used to be the “traditional” FICO credit score only. According to this screening model, your application was declined. The following is the phone number where you can contact TransUnion to dispute your credit history.

**********

Consumer Solutions

P.O. Box 2000

******** *** **********

(**** ********

I have confirmed with our Accounting Department that the full amount of $225.00 has been credited back to your card.

We apologize for any confusion or misunderstanding.

Sincerely,

******* ********

Assistant Vice President

Inland Residential Real Estate Services, LLC

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Turned in my keys yesterday to Steeplechase at ******** apartment (owned by Inland Property Management) and told them where to send my deposit to. I was then notified a large chunk or all of my deposit would go towards replacing the carpet b/c of a 'strong cat odor.' This came as a huge surprise as neither of our cats had ever relieved themselves outside of their box, and there was absolutely no odor upon our move out. The lady let me go check out the apartment to confirm, and again, absolutely no smell. The contractor working in the apartment at the time even said he smelled nothing upon entry or while working in there. I returned to the office and told the lady we had a problem b/c I still smelled nothing. She replied that they had already ordered the carpet and implied that there was nothing she could do regarding my complaint other than follow through with procedure replacing a carpet that need not replaced. Something does indeed smell, but it is not the carpet from my apartment.

Desired Settlement: I would like a fair and accurate deposit refund as the carpet did not contain the odor she described.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/30) */*July 29, 2015**To Whom It May Concern:**Re: Case # ******************************************************We have looked into the above referenced complaint from Mr.******** and have found that proper procedure was followed by Inland Residential for Mr. ********* move out inspection from Steeplechase Apartments.**The Community Manager and Service Manager inspected the apartment home after the resident moved out. Upon inspection, there was a strong pet odor in the apartment home emanating from the carpet. The Community Manager reached out to me to request approval for replacement.**Due to the strong odor, the carpeting will need to be replaced. The total cost for the carpet replacement is $994.24. In addition to the carpet replacement, we have also sealed the floors ($150.00) as a precaution that the odors do not arise again. Mr.******** will be charged a pro-rated carpet charge of $639.36 due to the pet damage caused by his cats.**In a final spirit of cooperation, we will not charge Mr.******** for sealing the floors ($150.00). Mr. ********* final utilities will post and he will be charged the pro-rated carpet replacement charge of $639.36. **Sincerely,**************Regional Manager*Inland Residential Real Estate Services LLC ************************************ XXXXX www.inlandgroup.com*Office Phone: ******************************************Email: ***********************************Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/08/28) */*As of today, 8/27, more than 30 days after move out, no information or remainder of deposit has been sent to me from Steeplechase at Parkview Apartments. I know that the billing for carpet couldn't have come to an even number equaling my damage deposit amount. I have submitted a formal written request to Steeplechase at Parkview for information regarding my deposit (detailed rundown of charges, remainder of deposit, carpet company order form, etc.) and will be looking for this information in the coming days.**Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/09/02) */*September 2, 2015***Re: BBB Case # ******************************************************To Whom It *** Concern:**On August 21, a notice was mailed to Mr.******** as shown in the attached file. Also enclosed with that notice was a move out inspection form which detailed the charges on his rental account. All of the documentation is attached to the file as requested. **We hope that this will help to clarify any confusion. However, if there are any further questions, feel free to reach out to me on my direct line: XXX-XXX-XXXX.**Sincerely,*************Regional Manager*

6/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 29, 2015 at appx 7 PM MST, the fire alarm in my apt complex was triggered as I was leaving to run errands. I returned at appx 10 PM and the fire alarm was still going off. At 10:16 I called the maintenance line and was informed that a pipe has burst, which cause the fire alarm to short out and they did not have an ETA. In the meantime, the alarm continued to ring. I called again at 10:25 to follow up as to when the situation would be resolved. I spoke with ***** who said she did not have an ETA. I advised her that I would be getting a hotel room and would like to receive reimbursement for the inconvenience. She said she would take a message and pass the message along. At 10:45 PM on Sunday, I left while the alarm was still screaming throught my apartment to find a hotel room. Throughout this time, there was no one updating us on the progress of the situation. On Tuesday, March 31 at 11:30 AM, I called and spoke with the building manager at Arbour Square apartements, *****. She informed me that there would be no reimbursements because the incident was not their fault. I asked to get the contact information from her superior to get successful resolution. She put me in touch with ****** ********* at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I called her at 11:39 AM on 3/31. She answered the phone and asked who was speaking. When I told her who I was she rudely told me to "hang on" before handing her cell phone to a man in operations by the name of *** ****** *** gave me his number and asked me to call him in 5 minutes. I called *** at 11:46 and told him my situation. I explained to him that I wanted a successful resolution to the situation by having Inland Real Estate Group reimbursement me montarily or by subracting the amount from my rent for the terrible experience I had gone through two nights ago. He explained to me that a tenant's truck hit a water line in the garage causing the water to trigger the alarm. I understood, but still feel entitled to be reimbursed for that terrible experience. While concluding the call, *** told me that someone would be contacting me within 24 hours on the issue. On April 1, at 1:17 PM MST, a lady from XXX-XXX-XXXX called me to inform me that they would not be reimbursing me, nor would they be subtracting the amount from my rent. While explaining my frustration about the poor customer service and lack of communication I received, along with the frustration I had with having no hot water for 6 days 2 months before, she proceeded to argue with me about my experience. She was the rudest individual I had spoken with thus far. Had they had communicated with their tenants and expressed concern for their families through this traumatic ordeal, this would not have happened. Extremely poor customer service and lack of care for their customer service. Beyond disappointed with how my pregnant wife and I have been treated.

Desired Settlement: Due to having to be inconvenience with getting a hotel room the night of March 29, I would like to be reimbursed in the amount of $129 or the amount subtracted from my rent. This isn't at all too much to ask for reimbursement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/04/08) */ Upon reviewing the information provided by the consumer, the company has agreed to reimburse him the full amount of $129. The check was mailed on 4/6/15. We apologize for the inconvenience the situation created for the consumer.

4/2/2015 Delivery Issues
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inland owns and manages the property located at the **** **** retail space. On August 23,2014, I was shopping there and my car hit a large pot hole in their parking lot and caused approximately $2,500.00 of damage to the underneath of my car. I have emailed this company at ****@inlandgroup.com on 8/23/2014, On 8/25/2014,I have left a phone message for ****** ***** with Inland at XXX-XXX-XXXX and to date have received no response from Inland. I also contacted their real estate representative, **** ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX and he will not respond to me either. I have pictures of the pot holes. In addition, today, 8/30/2014, Inland now has the pot hole area roped off and it appears they are now going to resurface the pavement based on the equipment present.

Desired Settlement: I would like Inland to reimburse me for the damage caused to my car due to their pot holes and damaged parking lot.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********** COO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@inlandgroup.com Since the date of this complaint, our property manager has informed me that in incident report was logged and the issue was referred to the insurance company. The claims adjuster, ******** ***** has contacted the claimant and details of the settlement are being handled between the two of them. The pothole that caused the damage to her vehicle has since been repaired.

4/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on October 2012 when the heat in my store go out . I called the landlord to fix. That time I contacted to manager at this time is ******* ****** ***** She did send heat company from the building to check it out and called me and let me know that my heat exchanger was broken and I had to response for fixing. After discussing the crisis that the building so empty and business is slow the landlord agree to help share half and half with me that mean I have to pay $1,325.61 on behalf of amount. But from the day they replace heat exchange my heat is never work. I have to call the landlord many time to call the heat man came back and check out his work. Every time he came down whatever he did I don't know my heat started to work but when he left the heat was followed him. He had to come back and forth at least 10 time to check it out but every time he came he always told me that he fix nothing. He showed me the way when the heat go off I should turn off and on the switch in my store to start over. over the winter 2012 we have to stand on this situation even though I did report to the landlord about the unappropriated fixing but I have no respond. on February 2013 , I have to go out the country because of family emergency. The heat was not working again so my co worker called the landlord to fix when I came back I received another bill for HVAC fix for $514.40. When I came back from vacation my kids were so sick and I had to repair to tax paper I forgot about calling to ask for .(this time the weather getting hot so we did not use the heat). Begging this winter when we turn on the heat it is not worked. I start call the manager again because the heat. This time I talk to the new manager, ******* ****, she is the worse manager I haven't seen from the day I occupied the space for more then 10 years.She got angry every time talk with me . I try to explain to her the whole story again but she is not patient to listen. She yell at me that I have to fix my heat by the lease agreement. I told her that not the issue who pay for now but the warranty from the replacement of heat exchanger. she is never listen but angry always because she said she didn't understand what I said. I did email for her and tell her that I'm not American, my English was not fluent like she expect but I try my best to explain to her she should get angry like that but I haven't received any respond. This time I have to call my heat company came to check what was going wrong and he told me that the landlord just replace heat exchanger so the heat should not happen like this. On other hand, he figure that "the burner support plate was mounted upside down" it can cause the air come in and the flame turn off(he just assume).I call ******* again and she did sent the heat man come out and fix and I did talk with him why that happen .He did told me that "I did NOT fix anything this time except correct the burner support. The unit was too old and I did recommend they replace the new one but they are not agree". I called ******* 1 more time and told her about what **** (heat man) said . this time she yelling at me and asked me have to replace the new unit I told that was not appropriate if I leave the building can I take the unit with me???she said "NO" angrily.I told her ******* told me that when the unit need replace the building will responsible but she ignore me.beside that she billed another bill for $637.03 for the day the heat man come down to fix the burner support(1/14/2014) with reason HVAC fix again.I did email for Kristen but received no response 1 more time. I have to call the landlord about my heat and this time she call me with rude voice again. I told her if she is not straight things out I will report to BBB and she told she will talk to heat company an call me back but I haven't received any call for almost 2 weeks. On March 28,2014 when I saw ****(heat man) around the building I stop and ask him "last time you told me you didn't fix my heat at all why

Desired Settlement: building bill me??he said he don't know. I wonder if this is the" set up " to get my money and satisfy the manager anger?????I need to straight this out please!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/22) */ Upon my investigation of Ms. ***** complaint regarding a heater in her rented space that broke down several times during the past year, she is absolutely correct in her assessment that the heater was old and should have been replaced. In fact, on one of the invoices, the comment from the repairman said, "Unit is very old and should be replaced." This was one of the bills that Ms. ** was asked to pay because repairs to a tenant's heater is the responsibility of the tenant. However, more heater breakdowns occurred, and more repair bills ensued. The conclusion is that Ms. ***** heater will be replaced with a new one and all past repair bills are the landlord's responsibility. Ms. ** does not have to pay for any past heater repairs. However, Ms. ** is obligated per her lease to purchase a maintenance contract and renew the contract annually to make sure the new heater will be serviced regularly. I understand that Ms. ** and Ms. **** ***** ******** Regional Property Manager of Inland Commercial Property Management, Inc. are meeting the week of April 28, 2014 to make arrangements for the installation of the new heater and discuss the assessment of additional electric maintenance provided by the landlord so that Ms. ***** nail business can proceed without incident. Inland Commericial Property Management apologizes to Ms. ** for taking so long to correct her unfortunate situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Inland Real Estate Group, Inc.-The
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)