BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1973

Inland Real Estate Group, Inc.-The

Phone: (630) 218-8000Fax: (630) 954-5699

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On March 29, 2015 at appx 7 PM MST, the fire alarm in my apt complex was triggered as I was leaving to run errands. I returned at appx 10 PM and the fire alarm was still going off. At 10:16 I called the maintenance line and was informed that a pipe has burst, which cause the fire alarm to short out and they did not have an ETA. In the meantime, the alarm continued to ring. I called again at 10:25 to follow up as to when the situation would be resolved. I spoke with ***** who said she did not have an ETA. I advised her that I would be getting a hotel room and would like to receive reimbursement for the inconvenience. She said she would take a message and pass the message along. At 10:45 PM on Sunday, I left while the alarm was still screaming throught my apartment to find a hotel room. Throughout this time, there was no one updating us on the progress of the situation. On Tuesday, March 31 at 11:30 AM, I called and spoke with the building manager at Arbour Square apartements, *****. She informed me that there would be no reimbursements because the incident was not their fault. I asked to get the contact information from her superior to get successful resolution. She put me in touch with ****** ********* at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I called her at 11:39 AM on 3/31. She answered the phone and asked who was speaking. When I told her who I was she rudely told me to "hang on" before handing her cell phone to a man in operations by the name of *** ****** *** gave me his number and asked me to call him in 5 minutes. I called *** at 11:46 and told him my situation. I explained to him that I wanted a successful resolution to the situation by having Inland Real Estate Group reimbursement me montarily or by subracting the amount from my rent for the terrible experience I had gone through two nights ago. He explained to me that a tenant's truck hit a water line in the garage causing the water to trigger the alarm. I understood, but still feel entitled to be reimbursed for that terrible experience. While concluding the call, *** told me that someone would be contacting me within 24 hours on the issue. On April 1, at 1:17 PM MST, a lady from XXX-XXX-XXXX called me to inform me that they would not be reimbursing me, nor would they be subtracting the amount from my rent. While explaining my frustration about the poor customer service and lack of communication I received, along with the frustration I had with having no hot water for 6 days 2 months before, she proceeded to argue with me about my experience. She was the rudest individual I had spoken with thus far. Had they had communicated with their tenants and expressed concern for their families through this traumatic ordeal, this would not have happened. Extremely poor customer service and lack of care for their customer service. Beyond disappointed with how my pregnant wife and I have been treated.

Desired Settlement
Due to having to be inconvenience with getting a hotel room the night of March 29, I would like to be reimbursed in the amount of $129 or the amount subtracted from my rent. This isn't at all too much to ask for reimbursement.

Business Response
Upon reviewing the information provided by the consumer, the company has agreed to reimburse him the full amount of $129. The check was mailed on 4/6/15. We apologize for the inconvenience the situation created for the consumer.

09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inland owns and manages the property located at the **** **** retail space. On August 23,2014, I was shopping there and my car hit a large pot hole in their parking lot and caused approximately $2,500.00 of damage to the underneath of my car. I have emailed this company at ****@inlandgroup.com on 8/23/2014, On 8/25/2014,I have left a phone message for ****** ***** with Inland at XXX-XXX-XXXX and to date have received no response from Inland. I also contacted their real estate representative, **** ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX and he will not respond to me either. I have pictures of the pot holes. In addition, today, 8/30/2014, Inland now has the pot hole area roped off and it appears they are now going to resurface the pavement based on the equipment present.

Desired Settlement
I would like Inland to reimburse me for the damage caused to my car due to their pot holes and damaged parking lot.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********** COO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@inlandgroup.com
Since the date of this complaint, our property manager has informed me that in incident report was logged and the issue was referred to the insurance company. The claims adjuster, ******** ***** has contacted the claimant and details of the settlement are being handled between the two of them. The pothole that caused the damage to her vehicle has since been repaired.

04/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on October 2012 when the heat in my store go out . I called the landlord to fix. That time I contacted to manager at this time is ******* ****** ***** She did send heat company from the building to check it out and called me and let me know that my heat exchanger was broken and I had to response for fixing. After discussing the crisis that the building so empty and business is slow the landlord agree to help share half and half with me that mean I have to pay $1,325.61 on behalf of amount. But from the day they replace heat exchange my heat is never work. I have to call the landlord many time to call the heat man came back and check out his work. Every time he came down whatever he did I don't know my heat started to work but when he left the heat was followed him. He had to come back and forth at least 10 time to check it out but every time he came he always told me that he fix nothing. He showed me the way when the heat go off I should turn off and on the switch in my store to start over. over the winter 2012 we have to stand on this situation even though I did report to the landlord about the unappropriated fixing but I have no respond. on February 2013 , I have to go out the country because of family emergency. The heat was not working again so my co worker called the landlord to fix when I came back I received another bill for HVAC fix for $514.40. When I came back from vacation my kids were so sick and I had to repair to tax paper I forgot about calling to ask for .(this time the weather getting hot so we did not use the heat). Begging this winter when we turn on the heat it is not worked. I start call the manager again because the heat. This time I talk to the new manager, ******* ****, she is the worse manager I haven't seen from the day I occupied the space for more then 10 years.She got angry every time talk with me . I try to explain to her the whole story again but she is not patient to listen. She yell at me that I have to fix my heat by the lease agreement. I told her that not the issue who pay for now but the warranty from the replacement of heat exchanger. she is never listen but angry always because she said she didn't understand what I said. I did email for her and tell her that I'm not American, my English was not fluent like she expect but I try my best to explain to her she should get angry like that but I haven't received any respond. This time I have to call my heat company came to check what was going wrong and he told me that the landlord just replace heat exchanger so the heat should not happen like this. On other hand, he figure that "the burner support plate was mounted upside down" it can cause the air come in and the flame turn off(he just assume).I call ******* again and she did sent the heat man come out and fix and I did talk with him why that happen .He did told me that "I did NOT fix anything this time except correct the burner support. The unit was too old and I did recommend they replace the new one but they are not agree". I called ******* 1 more time and told her about what **** (heat man) said . this time she yelling at me and asked me have to replace the new unit I told that was not appropriate if I leave the building can I take the unit with me???she said "NO" angrily.I told her ******* told me that when the unit need replace the building will responsible but she ignore me.beside that she billed another bill for $637.03 for the day the heat man come down to fix the burner support(1/14/2014) with reason HVAC fix again.I did email for Kristen but received no response 1 more time. I have to call the landlord about my heat and this time she call me with rude voice again. I told her if she is not straight things out I will report to BBB and she told she will talk to heat company an call me back but I haven't received any call for almost 2 weeks. On March 28,2014 when I saw ****(heat man) around the building I stop and ask him "last time you told me you didn't fix my heat at all why

Desired Settlement
building bill me??he said he don't know. I wonder if this is the" set up " to get my money and satisfy the manager anger?????I need to straight this out please!!!!

Business Response
Upon my investigation of Ms. ***** complaint regarding a heater in her rented space that broke down several times during the past year, she is absolutely correct in her assessment that the heater was old and should have been replaced. In fact, on one of the invoices, the comment from the repairman said, "Unit is very old and should be replaced." This was one of the bills that Ms. ** was asked to pay because repairs to a tenant's heater is the responsibility of the tenant. However, more heater breakdowns occurred, and more repair bills ensued. The conclusion is that Ms. ***** heater will be replaced with a new one and all past repair bills are the landlord's responsibility. Ms. ** does not have to pay for any past heater repairs. However, Ms. ** is obligated per her lease to purchase a maintenance contract and renew the contract annually to make sure the new heater will be serviced regularly. I understand that Ms. ** and Ms. **** ***** ******** Regional Property Manager of Inland Commercial Property Management, Inc. are meeting the week of April 28, 2014 to make arrangements for the installation of the new heater and discuss the assessment of additional electric maintenance provided by the landlord so that Ms. ***** nail business can proceed without incident. Inland Commericial Property Management apologizes to Ms. ** for taking so long to correct her unfortunate situation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues
04/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/06/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Asset Evaluators, Real Estate Services, Property Management - Industrial & Commercial, Property Management, Real Estate Consultants, Real Estate - Industrial, Real Estate - Commercial, Real Estate-Commercial & Industrial, Management Consultants, Leasing Service, Industrial Consultants, Financing Consultants, Apartments, Real Estate Investors, Investment Management, Financial Services, Real Estate Loans, Financing

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.