Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

GenRealty

Phone: (773) 466-4367 Fax: (480) 275-3421 112 S Sangamon St  Suite 102, Chicago, IL 60607 http://GenRealty.net View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Generation Rent LLC is a real estate rental service which provides leasing, management, and investment services for renters and owners. This company serves downtown Chicago and surrounding areas, including Evanston, Skokie, Niles, Lincolnwood, Prospect Heights, Des Plaines, Park Ridge, Norridge, Harwood Heights, Rosemont, Roselle, Palatine, Morton Grove, Schiller Park, Franklin Park, River Grove, Elmwood Park, Melrose Park, Oak Park, River Forest, Stone Park, Maywood, Forest Park, Berkeley, Cicero, Berwyn, Riverside, North Riverside, Brookfield, La Grange, La Grange Park, Hines, Westchester, Summit, Hodgkins, Countryside, Indian Head Park, and Burr Ridge. Services include residential and commercial leasing, multi-family property management, single-family and townhome or condominium property management, commercial and retail property management, association controlled unit management, distressed asset management, online apartment management services for tenants, and online property listings for potential tenants.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GenRealty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GenRealty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GenRealty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 2012 Business started: 09/20/2011 Business started locally: 09/20/2011 Business incorporated 08/02/2011 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Johnson, President Mr. Eric Renkens, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Johnson, President
Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Services Property Maintenance Real Estate Property Management Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 531210)

Alternate Business Names
Generation Realty Group Generation Rent LLC

Additional Locations

  • 112 S Sangamon St
    Suite 102

    Chicago, IL 60607 (773) 466-4367

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Generation Rent LLC took over as rental mgmt co. of the apt bldg we live in, at the end of Oct. 2013. I've communicated with GR LLC's co-owner ***** *******, on numerous occasions; also having had in-person conversations, as well... It is my companion Saul, 74 & myself, *****, 50, who are in the apt.. There are multiple, countless issues with our apt.. Our apt is not the only apt in the bldg, that has serious issues. B/C of previous mgmt, things were not properly managed & or taken care of. I really thought that things were going to be different, when Generation Rent took over but nothing has changed; not-a-thing. Since this is a bldg that is 40+yrs old & b/c of the fact that prior mgmt did not properly manage & or repair & b/c it was/is a bldg with prior "history", a lot of things are in disarray; including our apt. When we moved into our apt in 9/2012, we did not come to learn about some things with the apt, until after the fact; including not having been told about a continuous problem to even this day, with bed-bugs that has damaged our bed & bedding ... Bed-bug problem was due to the previous tenants from prior mgmt. We have gotten badly bitten by these bugs & has left horrible marks on our, my specifically legs & arms. When we 1st met Generation Rent's, ***** *******, we ourselves gave him a bit of history with the bldg, specifically issues with our apt & with former "super" who is still in the bldg. Too many issues at-hand to list & would take more than 4000 characters to explain, but will mention some here. We have since Aug./Sept. 2013, have had to deal with a toilet that does not flush properly & we are having to fill tank, each & everytime we use the bathroom. Bathroom sink has a leak as well & we have to put a bucket underneath sink. Lighting in the apt is bad & is not needed throughout the apt.. Takes up a lot of electricity that does not need to be wasted but is, b/c of set up. Kitchen sink knob area & handle that turns on/off water, is loose & has been ever since we moved in; drips wasted water that is out of our control. This we have all told about to Generation Rent. Windows in the apt do not have locks & are/have been broken. East-side of bldg, within our apt, there is on the East wall, a board that is nailed-in & painted blue, to match same color of walls, & is due to the fact that, there are birds in the chimney that just so happens to be on the East wall & b/c birds have chirped/pecks their beaks into the wall, I think is b/c why there is this board, nailed-in/plastered as it is. Right now as I type to you, I can see a piece of twig/branch sticking out of wall b/c of the birds. All of these issues & "then-some" we have all mentioned these things to Generation Rent, to no avail things still continue to not ever having been repaired & our correspondences continue to be ignored, with no follow-up back to us. Our BIGGEST issue we have is the heat; in that, there is a wall-unit along the botton base of the wall that we are unsure of, if it is electric & or gas. Our electric bill is astronomically high; higher than normal. Something is NOT right here!!! B/C of the 'history' of the bldg we are aware of & b/c of the shady, good-for-nothing, former super who lives in the basement, we strongly feel he is being deceitful & although speculating but based on prior activity of his, we think he is the one doing something wrong here & I feel rental mgmt may be aware of it, possibly. Generation Rent & I, last communicated on 12/25/13; I asked them to one way or another, to get back to me to let me know if this wall unit is gas or electric & they never, ever, EVER responded back to me, to let me know; which leads me to believe that they are being erroneous about the electric. We strongly believe & I can't emphasize this enough but, we believe they are fully aware of mis-dealings. If need be & we need to talk in greater detail about this, plz, plz make sure to get in touch with me. Thank-you, *****

Desired Settlement: Not sure but would like to talk in greater detail about this, b/c as I said in my previous detailed message, it'd take more than 4,000 characters to explain situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@genrent.net Dear Ms. Rosales, We've had conversations about the condition of the property and financial situation. As you know, we represent the financial institution that foreclosed on the property. We inherited the property and all it's issues this past November. As part one of our first discussion, we gave you the option to move out and cancel your lease. We also have informed you the property is not going to be overhauled and mostly will be up to the new owner to address any improvements. As for your heating issues, we have explained to you on multiple calls you have both an electric heater and a gas space heater. When you asked us to look into the heating situation, our contractor was denied access into your unit. In an email dated 12/25/2013 you state very clearly you did not want anyone to enter into your unit. We also informed you to contact ***** regarding your billing rate. We have asked you may times, please not involve yourself in your neighbor business. A review of all tenants in the building was done, although you may not like them personal, and have been reported "spying on them". We asked you again to please attend to your business. Per your request, we spoke with a few your neighbors and asked them not to bother you either. From our understanding, they have minded their own business. We have also spoken the village who informed us of your numerous calls, and the many call you have made to the police department regarding your neighbors. The building was rid of the crime element prior to our management. The current set of remaining tenants are working people that have done nothing more than mind their own business. Please contact our office if you wish to further discuss. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to your reply *****, I do not like, nor appreciate the underlying tone in which you are using with me. As far as you stating you represent the 'financial institution' that foreclosed on the bldg/property, you told me in a past phone conversation that it was a 'group of lenders', that were the owner of the apt bldg. So unless 'financial institution' implies a group of lenders, then why not just simply say 'group of lenders'? It otherwise does not sound correct. Secondly, we have only had two 'in-person' discussions together, that also included Saul. And with Saul as my witness; I discussed with him your reply to my complaint, & never, ever, did you give us the option to move out, or cancel our lease. As you well know no one in the bldg has ever had a lease; past or present. You never mentioned beforehand, that the property was not going to be overhauled. As a matter of fact, when GenerationRent (you, *****), first came to the bldg & put the notices up on the apt doors, & mind you, ours & several others were not on the door; we found our notice elsewhere, though I do not think by your fault; GenerationRent (you) state in the notice: "MAINTENANCE REQUESTS: We offer you the convenience of making maintenance requests online at the same place you pay rent"; why in the world offer "maintenance requests", though you allege no overhaul of the building, why even offer maintenance requests, if you all aren't going to do the right thing & do your job & do repairs? As for you alleging that on "multiple calls", you told us we have both an electric heater & gas space heater, HOGWASH!!!! To prove my point, I enclosed the very email you refer to (in PDF file to the BBB, about specified email) & I "clearly" stated on three different occasions within the email, that, "As far as whether or not we want someone to come out on the 26th to "repair" per say, YOU 1st have to find out if the unit along the base of the walls, is Gas or Electric."; then again, within that email, I mention, "But YOU 1st have to find out if it's Gas or Electric."; and again, at the very end of that email, I stated, "Plz do not send anyone out to the apt, until you find out one way or another if the unit along the base of the wall is Gas or Electric & you have contacted us."; so not sure where in all of these three comments of mine, you take them as not allowing your "contractor" into the apt.. I SAID, "until you find out one way or another if the unit along the base of the wall is Gas or Electric & you have contacted us." You never, ever, after that, replied back to my email to let us know one way or another, if the unit along the base of the wall, was Gas or Electric; your reply to our complaint, is the 1st time we are hearing of this (I would have otherwise included that email as well, in my PDF document. It is rather difficult to include something, when I don't have it 'to' include) And you never said to me, contact *****; common sense already told us to do that. SO, that we knew on our own & would not need you to tell me that. Please be careful ***** to not accuse me of things that are false; i.e. & I quote you in your reply to complaint, "involve yourself in your neighbor business. A review of all tenants in the building was done, although you may not like them personal, and have been reported "spying on them""; this is not good that you are accusing me of false things, when you aren't even on the premises to know this. It'd be nice for me to think that you realize there is two sides to every story. But it's very obvious to me, who you get your information from. I suppose these tenants you refer to, didn't bother telling you that 'they' came to us/me, & not that I went to them. Kinda hard to spy on people when I don't go out of the door to a neighbor; other than me going out to take care of my own things, elsewhere. As for saying & I quote you again, from your reply to complaint, "they have minded their own business", not exactly, *****. Also, we never, ever, EVER asked you to speak with our neighbors to tell them not to bother us. I would think that 'whoever' you are referencing to, would know not to. Most neighbors, who don't want anything to do with another, wouldn't. Do not go putting words in my mouth that I did not say. As for you alleging that you spoke with the Village of Westmont; fine, whatever; that's your privilege to; no different than it's mine too, when I have a concern. In all the time that I have communicated with the Police Dept. /Village, never did the Police or Sergeant indicate to me that it was a problem for me to have called, as you reference my calls as, "numerous". Does not matter if one, two, three to whatever; it's my right to, when there is a problem & or situation; police have to respond to every call, no matter what. I will call whenever I need to. And to elaborate on what I feel is your underlying tone with me, that I DO NOT like, I quote you, "The current set of remaining tenants are working people that have done nothing more than mind their own business."; not exactly, *****. It's as if you are implying that, b/c I don't work & mind you, *****, you do not know my circumstances to have the authority to speak on; how would not working, stipulate as my not minding my business?? Whether or not this was not how you meant it, does not matter; you made the comment & it's how I took it. Like I mentioned in the seventh paragraph above, it'd be nice for me to think that you realize there is two sides to every story; obviously not. And again I'll say it's obvious who you're getting your information from. This is all about you's not liking the fact that I filed a complaint with the BBB against GenerationRent. *****- per info, this reply is also included in my PDF file to the BBB. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/02/12) */ This will be the last communication. We once again offered for you to exit the lease. Again we ask you please be considerate to your neighbor. Upon the inspection your unit on 2/12/2014 we found the heat to be very comfortable. Per your request we will be shutting off the electrical heater. Please note also that the melted cable wire was due to the fact you place it on top of the heater. Anything placed on a heater will melt. Please be aware of your surrounding. Please be aware the tenant is c Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As for this being your last communication to us, good for you!! But I get the last word here. (FYI, you may want to make sure that all people are considerate; though he does not deserve any kind of kindness shown, considering..... We're getting tired of being taunted by your friend in the basement. I don't know what kind of info you're being fed; you obviously are taking sides & being vindictive) For your information ***** & to correct YOUR mistake in assuming so..... We, as YOU put it, were NOT the ones who put the cable as you saw it. Cable ppl put it that way, b/c it had been the only way they knew to put it. This had never been a problem beforehand, seeing as the first year in here, the unit along the lower base of the wall, had never been working before & had only coincidentally, started working when you all took over. Had we surmised this was going to be a problem, maybe there could have been a solution; maybe. But we could not have ever predicted this was going to be a problem. We just did not expect for you & your friend in the basement to get 'ugly' with us.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on GenRealty
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)