Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Illinois Center For Broadcasting

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 916-1700 Fax: (630) 916-1764 View Additional Phone Numbers 455 Eisenhower Ln S STE 200, Lombard, IL 60148 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.beonair.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Illinois Center For Broadcasting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Illinois Center For Broadcasting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Illinois Center For Broadcasting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 09, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 09/23/1988 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois State Board of Education
100 W. Randolph Street, Ste 14-300, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.isbe.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2220

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Johnsen, Regional Director Mr. Robert Mills, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Johnsen, Regional Director
Business Category

Radio Stations & Broadcast Companies Television Stations & Broadcast Companies Schools - Business & Vocational Radio Stations (NAICS: 515112)

Alternate Business Names
Illinois Media School M & S Media Inc

Additional Locations

  • 455 Eisenhower Ln S STE 200

    Lombard, IL 60148

  • 530 S State St

    Chicago, IL 60605 (312) 884-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a 11 month program & had to with drawl from the program after 2 months because of an auto accident injury that kept me from riding the train was too painful to continue to go to the school.(I was charged for going to the school over $5,000. (They charged me for going 4 months when I only went 2 months. & I was supposed to receive a "Financial Aid" dispursement check that they kept (stolen) from me.

Desired Settlement: I should only have been charged for 2 months would be half of the over $5,000 amount they did incorrectly charge me double & I should receive a check from them of the financial aid help that I did not receive & they had stolen & dishonestly kept from me? I am not sure how much my financial aid check was supposed to be? The great lakes lender told me I was supposed to have received one & I told them they kept it? They should pay the great lakes lender at least half of what I owe & give me my financial aid check amount I deserved & desperately needed & need. Is a fair resolution & Thank You for your help & assistance!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/09) */ Ms. ***** ******* Dispute Resolution Specialist ********@chicago.bbb.org Better Business Bureau of Chicago and Northern Illinois, Inc. Re: Response to Complaint Illinois Center for Broadcasting - Chicago Campus 530 S. State St. Chicago, IL 60605 Case #: XXXXXXXX Case Opened: 12-03-2013 (Ref# XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) December 9th, 2013 Dear Ms. ***** ******** The Illinois Center for Broadcasting - Chicago Campus welcomes the opportunity to respond to the customer's complaint received on December 3rd, 2013. We take any complaint seriously and have an excellent record of resolving such issues. Upon review of the customer's complaint, we believe the claim filed by the customer is entirely without merit. In short, the customer attended a significant portion of the first term of the school's program, and according to the Enrollment Agreement which the customer signed, as well as State and Federal law, the school was entitled to collect the entire tuition cost for that term as detailed below, regardless of the reason for the customer's decision to discontinue the program. Financial aid received by the school was correctly applied to the student's account (documentation below), and no funds were payable to the customer. The program at the Illinois Center for Broadcasting (ICB) is divided into 3 defined payment periods (Term I, II, and III). The specific class in which the customer was enrolled had the following term breakdown: 03/27/2012 thru 07/24/2012 - Term I Tuition cost for Semester I = $5,451 + $125 enrollment fee (total $5,576) 07/26/2012 thru 11/09/2012 - Term II No charge to student 11/15/2012 thru 03/13/2013 - Term III No charge to student The student attended class from 03/27/2012 thru 06/12/2013 in Term I and then withdrew from the program. Attachment A includes the federal refund calculation (R2T4) required by the Department of Education and reflects these dates. According to that calculation, the student attended 65% of the payment period - therefore no refund of federal financial aid was required. All of the financial aid that the student received was applied directly to the student's tuition as acknowledged by the signed award letter in Attachment B. The student also agreed to out-of-pocket cash payments which were made to the school in a timely manner, and therefore he has no further obligation to the school. Attachment C includes a copy of the Master Promissory Note that he signed with the U.S. Department of Education agreeing to the Direct Subsidized and Unsubsidized Loans which were disbursed according to the award letter (Attachment B) accepted by the student on 02/09/2012. Finally, in accordance with the Illinois Board of Higher Education refund calculation included in Section I, (2) of the Enrollment Agreement (Attachment D), the school is permitted to charge the student 100% of tuition in cases of withdrawal after 50% of the term. As illustrated in the federal calculation, the student attended 65% of the term and therefore the school is entitled to charge the student full term tuition in the amount of $5,576. On the basis of the documentation attached, the customer's allegations that the school incorrectly charged tuition, improperly held financial aid funds due, or acted in dishonestly in any way are entirely without merit. Although we are not at liberty to discuss the specifics of the customer's current loan status without his written consent, we are available to assist him with any questions he has regarding his student loan status, or various repayment options. The customer is encouraged to contact our Financial Aid Department at his convenience at the Chicago Campus at XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. ***** If you have any further questions, feel free to contact me at the school at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Respectfully Yours, ******* ******* - Regional Director Illinois Center for Broadcasting - Chicago Campus P: XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. **** E: ********@beonair.com Final Consumer Response /* (450, 18, 2014/01/29) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: case resolved thank You Mrs. ***** ******* (Most Helpful.)& Thank You (ICB)Take Care. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/01/15) */ Dear Ms. ******** We are writing to confirm the outcome of our mediation session on Tuesday, January 14, 2014 regarding the complaint filed by Mr. ****** ***** ("consumer"), and very much appreciate you help in reaching the resolution of this matter. As a result of the mediation call today, we believe that Mr. ***** understands that due to the state and federal regulations under which our school operates, that we are unable to alter his current student loan status. We did, however, agree to take the following steps to resolve this matter: In the event that the consumer is able to return to the school for our broadcasting program (which would involve starting the program again from the beginning), we will give him full credit towards dollars paid to the school from his attendance in 2012; provided that he is able to re-enroll before the end of calendar year 2014; and We agreed to refund to the consumer the portion of the tuition paid to us by him in cash, in the amount of $540.00. We are agreeing to take the above actions based on the consumer's agreement that: He understands that the enrollment agreement, award letter, and other documents signed in connection with his time at the school are enforceable contracts and that the school applied funds to his account appropriately; and He agrees that the above actions on the school's part fully resolve this matter; and That the consumer will refrain from making derogatory comments about the school in connection with this matter. Upon receiving notification from you that the consumer is in agreement with the above, we will release a check directly to the consumer in the amount of $540.00 to be mailed directly to: Mr. ****** ***** XXXX XXth Court ******* ***** ** XXXXX We will provide you with a copy of the check and notification that it has been sent, and will ask that you notify the consumer as well so that he can watch for the check in the mail. Should we also post a copy of this response on the BBB website link you provided us regarding the complaint as we have done with our last 2 responses? Or will emailing you this letter serve as our official response? Again, we appreciate your assistance in resolving this matter! Best Regards, ******* ******* ******* Regional Director/National Accreditation Director Illinois Center for Broadcasting Lombard Campus *** ********** Lane South, Suite 200, ******** ** XXXXX P: ************ Ext. **** E: ********@beonair.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Illinois Center For Broadcasting
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)