Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Sump Pump King

Phone: (847) 636-0209 5406 Timber Lane, Woodstock, IL 60098


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sump Pump King include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Sump Pump King
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2009 Business started: 12/01/2007 Business started locally: 12/01/2007 Business incorporated 09/22/2008 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Jacobson, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Jacobson, President/CEO
Business Category

Pumps - Service & Repair Plumbers Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sump Pump King has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5406 Timber Lane

    Woodstock, IL 60098 (847) 636-0209

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (1) Sump Pump King came to replace my basement sump pump in April (2016). (2) The sump pump broke completely in about a month. It was replaced with a new one, more than 10 full hours after reporting the problem. (3) Today (June 9, 2016), after less than another month, it broke again. This is the SECOND time the product broke after the initial installation in April. I made 4 calls to Sump Pump King, starting from the early afternoon, pleading urgently to please come to replace the defective sump pump. It has been more than 8 hours since my first call, but no response AT ALL, leading me to conclude I am totally ignored. My Request: Either (a) come to replace the sump pump ASAP, or, (b) Give me a full refund of the charge, which is $500.00

Desired Settlement: Refund, because it has broke TWICE in short intervals, flooding my basement. A new replacement will be accepted if it is guaranteed of the better quality product than the one currently installed.

Business Response: I called this on June 13th 2016 customer tonight explaining i was out of town and would like to upgrade his pump tomorrow between 11-1 on June 14th and he decided he didn't want any upgrade with a 3 year warranty like requested! I use these Sump pumps all the time and haven't had any problems and with in 2 months he has gone through 2 of these sump pumps and i find this hard to be***ve we have used them for 10 years and never had any problems. i feel he is altering how that pump works moving it around and messing with it!

Business Response: I offered to replace sump pump and upgrade the pump like he requested. I already warrantied first Sump Pump at no charge and it is an 1hour and 15 mins from my shop. If a sump pumps fails it is under a manufacture warranty. Customer was Very upset we didn't call him back when he called but i was out of town & called as soon as i returned and tried to schedule the next day. Customer was going back and forth about wanting us to put in new sump pump and upgrade it then he refused and just kept arguing. Best if we just part ways

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 11495603

I am rejecting this response because:

(1) He did not respond to my emergency call (first call at about noon June 9) until 4 days later (June 13 evening), during which time while watching my finished basement flooded, I could not hire another plumbers because he would void the warranty. I was completely hand-tied. That was very stressful.

(2) During those 4 days, I did not even know he would ever call me back, or he was still in business, because his answering device's message was that he was working in the field, busy, not mentioning he was "out of town". Those 4 days were a total blackout for me.

(3) I was so stressed out that I called him again on, probably, June 11, telling him that that would be the last I would be calling him, and pleading him to call back ASAP. But there was no response until two days later.

(4) When he finally did call back on the evening of June 13, he was loud and rude. He then handed the phone to his wife, who yelled at me and then hung up while I was talking.

In my original complaint, I stated that "refund" is the desired settlement. However, I also had left the door open for sump pump replacement then. But, after all the above, I do not want his service anymore. I want only the refund.

I never went "back and forth". From the time he called me back, I have always insisted for the refund. I never wavered from that decision or imp***d that I would like him to put in a new sump pump.

Sincerely,

Gwan ***

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Sump Pump King
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart