Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

The United Educators, Inc

Phone: (847) 234-3700 Fax: (847) 234-8705 View Additional Phone Numbers 900 N Shore Dr STE 276, Lake Bluff, IL 60044

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The United Educators, Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The United Educators, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 17, 1947 Business started: 01/01/1931 Business started locally: 01/01/1931 Business incorporated 12/06/1993 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Diane Pracht, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Diane Pracht, Vice President
Business Category

Publishers - Book Educational Consultants Encyclopedia & Book Sales Books Printing (NAICS: 323117)

Alternate Business Names
Child Development Center Child Guidance Center
Products & Services

Publishers & distributors of child guidance programs.

Additional Locations


    900 N Shore Dr STE 276

    Lake Bluff, IL 60044


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is fraudulent and charges you without providing contractual agreements. Then they file negative impacts on a credit report and do not allow any way to resolve an issue. I want to get what they say I "owe" off my credit report, and make sure they don't do this to anyone ever again.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is to get the their negative impact on my credit report.

3/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company is never in the office to answer the phone. I been trying to call and pay off the $410 we still owe so we are done with this company but, I never get a call back or they are never in to answer the phone. They say they are only in the office one time a week for a few hours and it changes every week. I just want this paid off so we are done with them. I am tired of them taking 60 every 2 weeks. I need to talk to them to do this since we also have a different account we want the 410 taken out of. Also when we first got the books we never got the full order and no one ever answered to help us deal with that. I also have told them to stop sending me the "yearbooks" and we still get them.

Desired Settlement: I want this all paid off. I want the yearbooks to stop. I just want them out of our lifes!

Business Response: Our records indicate that we made contact with the customer yesterday and their account #*** *** *** is now paid in full.  We apologize that it is hard to reach us as we are going out of business within the next 6 months or so, however someone does check the messages remotely every day so if a customer leaves a message with a phone number, they will be called back.   Several years ago we turned the Year Book file over to World Book, so Mrs. ****** can either call them at 1-800-******** and ask to be taken off the mailing list, or just simply "refuse" anything delivered from them and it will go back to them at their expense.   Thank you.   ***** ******, The United Educators Inc.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* ******

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have paid my books in full about a year ago. Asked the customer service agent to please remove my name from their contact list, and to please not have any more mail coming from their company. Was told it would be done and not to worry. Every few months i keep recieving notifications via mail to re-enroll, or the recent one: to send a card in in order to not be billed for something they will be sending me, and i can view it for free for 15 days.Without being charged. I do not wish to receive anything from this company any longer or ever again. Being as i am in the military my work load is immense and having already asked to be taken off the contact list, i do not want to receive anything from them and not be present to send it back only to be billed some ridiculous fee.

Desired Settlement: Would like to not receive any notification regarding new books, or trial books or anything from this company. Want my name, address, and any other info on their do not contact list or removed if possible from all their databases.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/23) */ Please let us explain that yes, this customer's main purchase from us was paid in full on 2/27/15. Because the major item in the purchase was the World Book Encyclopedia, we agreed to supply a yearly update to keep the encyclopedia current. A few years ago, we turned the handling of the Year Books directly over to the World Book company. We apologize that they have upset this customer with their extra offers. We have contacted the World Book company and requested that this customer be completely removed from their files so no future shipments or offers will be sent, and they have confirmed to us that this has now been done. Diane ****** Vice President The United Educators Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They claim to have contacted world book and ensured I will not receive anything from them. That is exactly what I was requesting

9/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to change my billing information for the past 3 months. I have called and called, with no one ever answering. I have left 7 voicemails with my phone number and information. Please return my email or call me so I can get this straightened out.

Desired Settlement: I just want my billing information changed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/21) */ RE Account #*********** Our records indicate that we made contact with the customer on the same date as he filed this complaint, August 17. We have no record of 7 messages from the customer, only one on August 17 and we promptly returned that call. We apologize for any misunderstanding and we trust the matter is now settled. Thank you. Diane*******, Vice President, The United Educators Inc.

3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called and called and called left voicemails submitted email notifications. They say over voicemail they are closed on Fridays I have called Saturday to Thursday and yet can not get any response what so ever. I owe $1800 and trying to pay it off and completely get rid of this company out of my life. This company targets military and says its such a great deal as after signing the contract I end up paying more then what I was suppose to. This company is by far one of the worse companies I have come across I suggest any one to never deal with them. All I want is either pay my bill and move on or for them to refund my Money I don't care at this point anymore I could careless if this company goes out of business. Maybe they should think about actually being a company and willing to help the customers they end up screwing over . Especially military service members that don't get paid much as it is are getting screwed over.

Desired Settlement: Never do business with them anymore I just want the money back I deserve that was over paid or pay off what I owe and hopefully help other military families on informing them to never Do business with this company

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/23) */ RE: Account *** *** *** ***** & ***** ****** We apologize for the fact that this customer has not been able to reach us. We have very limited office hours, but our phone message allows for anyone to leave a message and we will call them back. We have no record of this customer ever attempting to leave a message. The remaining balance on their account is $1,648.14 - if they want us to take that amount from their bank account on file (from which we automatically take $60.00 bi-monthly) all we need is their approval to do that. ***** ******, Vice President, The United Educators Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No I have left voicemails maybe if this company actually had set hours I would know when to call. And no I do not want United ed taking my account balance from the account on file. I have a different account/ debit card to give them. But United ed would know this by now if they actually worked and have hours posted online like any other company Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/25) */ We will attempt to work this out with the customer over the phone.

2/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I do NOT want to receive any more products from The United Educators, Inc or any of their affiliates. I have completed the terms of my agreement with them, paid for their encyclopedias that their salesmen strongarmed me into buying and now want NOTHING to do with this company. I have tried calling several, SEVERAL times to cancel this service. As an active duty service member, I am taking steps to ensure this company is no longer able to scam other military personnel. All I want is them to remove any and all contact information for me, to no longer send me any more products and for them to have no contact with me. I do NOT give them permission to charge me for products.

Desired Settlement: 0

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/11) */ The account Mr. ****** had with The United Educators Inc. was paid in full on 10/31/13. We no longer handle the yearly supplements, that is handled by ***** ***** However, in order to assist Mr. ****** we have instructed World **** to completely remove his name from their files. ***** ******, Vice President, The United Educators Inc.

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They send a yearly desk calendar to us each year for approx. $30.00. We can return it in 30 days if we do not want to keep it however we have to go through the process of wrapping it and paying for postage. They say they will refund postage if requested. This just means we are out a few dollars for as long as it takes to get a refund. I started 3 years ago requesting in writing that they remove us from this annual mailing as well as all other lists they have us on. They continue to send to us year after year. All we want is to be removed from their mailing lists!

Desired Settlement: Just to be removed from their mailing lists.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ Mr. ***** purchased an encyclopedia from us many years ago. We turn over all names to World Book to handle the annual Year Book, which keeps the encyclopedia up to date. I checked with the manager of the file and he tells us Mr. ***** was removed from that list, and as a result of this complaint has now been removed from the desk calendar file also. World Book apologizes for any misunderstanding and assures us no future mailings will be sent to Mr. *****. Thank you. ***** ******, The United Educators Inc.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The United Educators, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)