Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Westward Management, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 901-5431 Fax: (773) 360-2235 4311 N Ravenswood Ave Ste 201, Chicago, IL 60613

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Westward Management, Inc. is a property management company which provides homeowners association property management services for condominiums and other residential properties. Located in Chicago, IL, this company serves downtown Chicago, including the neighborhoods of Uptown, Lincoln Square, North Center, Wrigleyville, Horner Park, Edgewater, Little India, Albany Park, Avondale, Lake View, Lincoln Park, Bucktown, Ravenswood, Bronzeville, Wicker Park, Buena Park, Rogers Park, West Loop, Hyde Park, Logan Square, Irving Park, North Park, Hollywood Park, Brynford Park, Forest Glen, and West Ridge. This company also has a location in Denver. The company was founded in 2005 and focuses its attention on associations with 5-250 units that are transitioning from self-managed associations or that are transitioning from another property management company. The company has a group of dedicated property managers with a support staff of associated property managers, and their team attends homeowners meetings and special events, as this is included in their fee.

Services available from this company include regular property visits (which can be weekly or more depending on the needs of the association), assessments, general banking services, monthly statements for all unit owners, long-term capital planning and investment advice, enforcement of late fees and assessments, and facilitation of legal notices. The company provides online services, including bill pay for association owners, service requests and tracking of projects, access to all documents and homeowner information, financial statements, discussion forum for homeowners, and a directory of vendors available for homeowners. Other tasks include paying of association bills, mailing of notices for homeowners, updates of mailbox names and intercom names, digitizing of printed documents, and coordination of city inspections.

Visit the website for Westward Management, Inc. to learn more about the services available and contact the company to request services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Westward Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Westward Management, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 2008 Business started: 06/01/2005 in DE Business started locally: 06/01/2005 Business incorporated 12/26/2006 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David R. Westveer, President Ms. Gwen Kaminskas
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David R. Westveer, President
Business Category

Property Management Association Management Real Estate Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Alternate Business Names
Howes Property Management Westward Property Management

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Westward Management, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 129 E Calhoun St

    Woodstock, IL 60098

  • 4311 N Ravenswood Ave Ste 201

    Chicago, IL 60613 (800) 901-5431


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Westward Management took over handling of my townhome association and in doing so incorrectly send the notification of their change in location for payment sending the notification to the wrong address and inadequately failing to use my correct mailing address on the notice. WM then sent the account to an attorney for collections. When I learned from their attorney that they used the wrong email address and an incomplete mailiing address, I contested the amount and indicated a refusal to pay for the attorney fees. Subsequently, I issued a payment that clearly indicated it was in full satisfaction of the debt, which they cashed but have refused to zero out the balance. The account manager, Ryan *******l, was repeatedly rude in dealings and has been unreasonable with regard to issues involved.

Desired Settlement: There should be a zero balance on my account with the association and collection efforts should cease.

Business Response:

We took over the management of this association back in November of 2014.  We were able to get everyone in the complex set up with proper payments by the end of the calendar year 2014, with the exception of one account, Mr. ********.  At the time of the transition to our management company, Mr. ****** was finishing out a previous payment plan for assessment payments.  I personally was in communication with Mr. ****** and the attorney representing the association in early 2015 about payments.  He made 2 payments, directly to Westward Management, on March 9th, 2015.  Between March 9th, 2015 and April 20th of 2016, only one payment was made...but then reversed.  It is very clear that Mr. ****** knew about the new management company and where payments were to be sent beginning in March of 2015, and thus his excuse of not knowing where payments are to be sent is invalid.  The association also agreed that half of his late fees would be waived if he made a payment in full by June of 2016, but he was not able to keep his end of the agreement.

Throughout 2015, and even into 2016, we attempted to collect past due assessments from Mr. ****** to no avail.  According to the association's historical records, the non payment of assessments by Mr. ****** has become a pattern, and it was decided that the association would move forward with collection action against Mr. ******, as the association grew tired of the constant back and forth and excuses about non-payment.

During this time, I personally was treated in an unprofessional manner, being called "incompetent" and a "jackass" on multiple occasions.    At that point, I did not find it necessary to include pleasantries or provide any favorable treatment when dealing with Mr. ******.  As a management company, I am obviously simply an agent and mouthpiece for my client, and the decision to not put up with the non payments for over a year were handled in a manner congruent with industry standards, and not a decision made by myself or my company, but by my client.

Thank you

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


The response is entirely inaccurate and knowingly false as to the history of dealings with regard to payment of the account and my standing on the account. First of all, at the time Westward took over my account was fully in good standing.  I had a prior issue where I was behind in the assessments and  Westward pointedly has not denied that it sent the email to the wrong email address, and notedly, the response simillarly misspelled my name as it did with regard to the improperly addressed email attempting to notify of the change in mailing address.  Westward received two assessments from me after the notifications originally went out as they were forwarded by the former managmenet company.  Their attorney accused me of lying about the fact that I had not received notification, citing the payments they had received and I provided documentation showing that those payments had been addressed to the former company ** **** and forwarded by that company.  The payments made to ** **** had in fact been taken out of my account for additional months but were not applied to my account as they were not forwarded on to Westward.  Rather than contact me to determine the reason for nonpayment, they attempted to collect charging an additional $300 in attorneys fees.  Ultimately, after full explanation fo the situation to their attorney, she indicated that they would take the issue to the board for resolution.  The board never responded to that proposal either.  I fully paid off all of the back assessments and more than sufficient late fees for any that were delayed.  Ryan ******** was repeatedly rude with regard to responses, and it was only after he claimed that all of the other units received the notification, did I point out to him that he might have sent their emails to the proper addresses, and that he was a jackass.  A statement that I wouild continue to stand by.  Westward has repeatedly been unprofessional and incompetent, and is not a business that any townhome association should consider using unless its goal is to harass its unit owners unjustifiably.  



James ******

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own and live in a condo and Westward is the management company. On 5/16/15, at around 12:45pm, we had a new washer and dryer installed. Sears unplugged the old laundry center and as soon as they plugged in the new washer and dryer, the power in our unit went off. My fiancé went to the fusebox and everything appeared normal. He switched the fuses back and forth, but that didn't restore power. Immediately, while Sears was still there, my fiance said we should check the main circuit breaker in the shared hallway, next to the elevator, to see if the main switch to our unit had shut down. I asked the contact at Westward if we could access the main switch and the circuit box in the hall. He said, right away as if he was familiar with the circuit box, that our issue had nothing to do with the main circuit box in the hall. He said that box had nothing to do with our problem and that box controlled the whole floor as one, not each individual unit. So, we called an electrician, who then said EXACTLY what my fiance said all along. We needed access to the box in the hall by the elevator. I called Westward again, who then asked to talk to the electrician. After the electrician explained to him what needed to be done, which again, was exactly what my fiance said to do, Westward contacted our janitor. After the janitor opened the closet, sure enough, there was a main circuit breaker for our individual unit, and each unit on the floor. Bottom line- my fiance was correct, Westward refused to listen and we paid $95 for an electrician to come out- a visit that was 100% unnecessary. I called the Westward contact, who became very defensive. He said it was not his responsibility to know the ins and outs of the building- I told him that was understandable; he just should not pretend to know things that he doesn't. Again, this was totally preventable because my fiancé knew how to fix the problem and Westward said the individual circuit breakers didn't exist. I explained to the Westward contact that since HE is the one who told us gaining access to the closet would not fix the problem when in fact, it was the ONLY solution, Westward should reimburse us the $95. He refused. Westward has had SEVERAL complaints by several people. It's only fair that Westward reimburse me the $95 for the electrician visit that was unnecessary.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $95

Business Response:

On the afternoon of Saturday, May 16th, we received a call via our emergency line from this homeowner stating that, due to unauthorized work being performed in the unit, the power had gone out. The policy for this building - a policy created by its Board of Directors, consisting of elected members from the community, and not Westward Management - is that notification must be provided in advance when work of this type is to be performed. This rule exists so that the necessary personnel can be informed, coordinate with the contractor(s), and/or remain onsite when needed in order to avoid situations exactly like this one. Typically, the penalty for failure to provide adequate notification is a hefty fine and/or the homeowner may be asked to reschedule the service.

However, the manager on call had a good personal relationship with a member of the community's Board of Directors and was able to get ahold of this individual to ask for guidance. The Board Member informed him that the closet this homeowner was attempting to gain entry to did not contain what was needed to solve the problem. The manager relayed this information to the homeowner. The manager then contacted the building's engineer. Although it was a weekend and not during normal business hours, the engineer agreed to come to the building and arrived within 30 minutes. By this time, the homeowner's electrician had already arrived.

While we understand that the homeowner may be frustrated by this $95 charge for an electrician, we do not feel responsible for covering the cost as the homeowner did not provide us adequate notice to set up a safe and responsible situation where this incident would not have occurred. Our manager went above and beyond his contractual obligations to provide emergency assistance and was, in fact, able to save the homeowner potentially hundreds of dollars in fines to the Condo Association and having to reschedule the service, which is how this situation would have normally been handled. We will not be refunding the $95.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: An electrician was ONLY contact because of the misinformation provided by the manager on call. The person who gained access to the closet was here all day, so him being here had nothing to do with the rapport of the manager and the board.  Several falsehoods were told in the response and I am due $95.


******** ******

Business Response:

We're sorry but our decision is final. We have nothing further to add at this time.


Westward Management

1/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since I moved into my apartment in August 2013, I have had many issues with the exterior door to my building at **** **** ********. Either I am unable to unlock the door or the door hinges break and it separates from the frame. This has resulted in the tenants being unable to properly close the door and unwanted people have been able to enter. Last summer, a homeless women was found by another tenant sleeping in the hallway and refused to leave. On month later, the door broke off the frame again and my partner decided to fix it himself since the company seemed unable to do it properly. Westward has been contacted regarding all of these issues but have failed to resolve the issue properly. On January 6th, I returned from walking my dog around 7 AM and my key was unable to unlock the door. The keyhole was being pushed in preventing it from unlocking. I was locked outside in -2 degree weather for 10 minutes. I called the 24 hour line and the women who answered was very rude and would not tell me when the door would be fixed. Around 20 minutes later, someone did call me back to confirm I was not stuck outside. Again, I told him that this issue has occurred in the past and it was too cold to be stuck outside. He said someone would be out to fix it. Around 4:15 that afternoon, I returned home to the same issue. The keyhole was being pushed in when I tried to turn it. I called Westward again and the man who answered confirmed that a locksmith did look at it this afternoon. I asked if someone could be dispatched tonight and he said he wasn't sure. After the incident with the homeless person, Westward put a sticker on our exterior door stating there was a 24 hour locksmith and a CCTV system. This was never put in place.

Desired Settlement: I would like Westward to ensure the safety of the buildings tenants by properly fixing the exterior door of **** ** ********.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** / Pres Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************************** Regarding the incident on January 6, 2014, Westward Management was contacted by the resident in unit XXXX-X who stated that they were unable to enter the common door due to a malfunctioning lock. According to telephone records provided by our operations department, her call was received and routed at 9:32AM. A locksmith was dispatched at 9:48AM to inspect the door and make any necessary repairs. At 1:15PM, the locksmith contacted our office and informed our operations department that he had completed his inspection, checking all of the exterior doors and locks at the building, and found them all to be in good working order. He then checked all of the gates on the property and found that one was frozen and inoperable. He de-iced the gate and left the property, leaving all doors, gates, and locks operational. Exceedingly cold temperatures hinder the normal operation of common doors. At times, doors will freeze shut without notice. Although we apologize for the inconvenience, Westward Management did everything that they could to address the issue in a timely manner. The Board of Directors were put on notice regarding the work that was done and the task was closed. Please let me know if you have additional questions/concerns. Regards, Westward Management

5/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 14, 2014, Westward Management, Inc. engaged ***'s Handyman Services to go to the condo property and turn on garage heaters in anticipation of the cold weather. ***'s Handyman Services noticed a wiring issue with the heaters that needed to be fixed. Instead of alerting the Condo Association of the problem and advising of the cost of $2044.00 for labor and parts, as was required by the contract between Westward and the Association, Westward authorized the work/services. The terms of the Management Contract specifically contemplated Westward's duties when an expenditure exceeded $500.00 . To wit, "no single expenditure made for general maintenance or one-time contract service in excess of $500.00 shall be allowable without prior approval of Association." (See p. 3, Extraordinary Expenses.) What is more, any work in excess of $1,000.00 required that Westward procure a minimum of three (3) bids for Association consideration of such an expenditure. It is therefore irrefutable that Westward's acts to incur such an expense without prior Association approval or notification were a blatant breach of the terms of the Management Contract. Despite repeated requests for an answer explaining the process by which authorization was made, Westward denied any liability and refused to refun d the $1544.00 that was outside of what was allowed per the terms of the Contract. The money was spent without authorization and the Association seeks the rightful return of its money.

Desired Settlement: Condo Association seeks the return of $1544.00 that is owed to it because Westward authorized certain services without prior Board approval, as was specifically contemplated by the Management Contract. Westward is in direct breach of the terms and had no authorization to spend such money without prior Board approval.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/09) */ On Sunday, January 5, 2014, Westward Management was directed by the Associations Board of Directors to dispatch a vender to turn on the garage heaters based on the extreme cold temperatures and wind chill in order to prevent frozen pipes, burst pipes, and the potential resulting of flooding and leaving residents without water. This was after the failed attempts by the Board to turn on the heaters and with the recognition of non-functioning thermostats. In addition to the Board's request for service and the entire Chicago area being under a wind chill warning, the contractual agreement between Westward Management and the Association allows for the following: In the event of an emergency, Association authorizes Manager to authorize any reasonable expenditure which is necessary or required because of danger to life or property, or which is immediately necessary for the preservation and safety of the Building or the safety of the owners, members and occupants thereof, or if required to avoid the suspension of any necessary service to the Association. Westward Management respectfully disagrees with any breach of contract.

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A property they manage at *** ****** ****** XXXXX plows their snow onto my private property in front of my garage, prohibiting the use of my garage or the pick up of my garbage because my garbage cans are buried under 7 feet of snow. ******* the manager of 710 Oakton Street in Evanston said he would have the snow removed, but it has been 24 hours and the snow is still there. I couldn't use my garage or get my garbage removed.

Desired Settlement: I would like the snow removed and for the condo to never plow into my garage again. In addition, if there is any damage to my garbage cans from being plowed, I would like them replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********/President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** This complaint was filed against the wrong entity. The complaint should be retracted and filed against the *** ****** Condominium Association. Westward Management is not the owner of the property not do we have any responsibility for snow removal services at the building. Westward Management was hired by the *** ****** Condominium Association for administrative duties. The hiring and quality control of vendors servicing the building is the direct responsibility of the Board of Directors for the association. We would ask that the BBB immediately retract the complaint. If there are further questions, please contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ******** / Westward Management Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with someone at Westward Management several times about the snow removal and he said that HE hires a contractor to remove the snow. His first name was ******* I don't know his last name. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/05) */ *****, Westward Management does not hire or pay for snow removal services at *** ****** Condo Association. The Board of Directors for the condo association hires, dispatches, and pays for this service directly. We do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you however, you are filing a complaint against the wrong company. Regards, ***** ******** / Westward Management

2/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I couldn't be less pleased with this company. I never had any issues before they took over. First, the sump pump broke and it took them days to come out and fix it. All the while, there were inches of water standing in the storage area that I have to walk through daily to get to the parking lot and neither of my toilets would flush. Then a pipe burst in the common lobby which caused 5 inches of standing water. It took several hours for someone to arrive. They only turned off the water but never fixed the huge hole in the wall or replaced the pipe. I own a garden unit which the completely ignore. They remove snow for the stairs leading upstairs but never clear my stairs even after the 8 inches of snow we received January 5th. I called 3 times and no one ever came. I had to just wait on snow to melt. I called 3 weeks ago to tell about the snow, my twisted ankle from falling down the unshoveled stairs, and that they is clearly mold in the front common lobby as well as the storage where they let inches of water sit for days. No one has address any of these issues or ever called me to keep me abreast of progress, as I aksed. Now they plowed our lot and pushed all of the snow to the stairs I have to walk up to get to the lot and to take out my garbage. There is at least 8 inches of snow on the snow as well as 2 feet of snow in front of the stairs. It is ridiculous for me and my 3 year old step daughter to have to walk through 2 feet of snow to reach the car. Meanwhile, the gate to the lot freezes when it gets cold so it is just left open, providing no safety for the lot or the units. It is unbelievable how terrible this company is.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for Westward management to fix all of the many issues I have reported. Especially the mold issues that are literally causing me to be sick.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** / Pres Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** ********, This letter is in response to your various complaints regarding the property you reside at: * When our office received a telephone call regarding the sump pump failure we immediately tasked it out for service (technician arrived within several hours). Since your Board of Directors won't allow our office to approve work for amounts exceeding $300 estimates were requested. Two contractors provided estimates the same day with one of them being approved shortly thereafter after by the Board President. The repair was completed the day after approval. Task created on 9/3 and work done on 9/6. This is task #XXXXXX for reference. * The pipe that broke in the lobby was reported and work was done as quickly as possible with the leak being stopped by Palancar Plumbing and subsequently ServePro going out to the building to do the subsequent cleanup. All of this was completed the day of the leak. Servepro reported that there wasn't a lot of damage and our office did not receive notice regarding a need for drywall repairs. We will ask to have the drywall repaired shortly, pending board approval. * *** ****** your property manager talked to you about the snow complaint on 1/7 as mentioned in your BBB complaint as being on 1/5. He told you that we would reach out to the snow contractor about this and rectify the problem. Customer Service reached out to the snow provider and their email back to our office is as follows: We have serviced this address 3 times in the past 2 days. I know for certain this garden unit was shoveled and salted again after the storm just yesterday. Also they have a car stuck in the rear parking lot gate that has yet to be moved for us to service. We have serviced this property for the last 3 years, tentatively we only salt when there is a storm service +2 inches. * During your phone call with your property manager that occurred at the same time as the snow issue above you mentioned mold in the back by your unit that was caused by the sump failure and also about the front of the building where the pipe broke. Customer service set up a task for this which was performed that same day. Dispatch noted that you had put off the inspection multiple times without a call back from you. Our office did receive an estimate on 2/3 for repairs. It was subsequently forwarded to your board for approval with an estimated cost of $1055.00. As soon as we have approval this work will commence. * Regarding the back gate, we have quotes in progress for replacement of a cantilevered gate. Our office also approved work 2/5 to replace a photocell for one of the exterior lights. The current gate design allows snow to jam the interior working parts while closing and subsequently blowing a fuse. The gate company has been with the association for years and previously recommended the cantilevered design. We are in process of getting competitive quotes and subsequent approval from your board. This is task #XXXXXX. We hope that this helps to address your questions and concerns. As always, you can contact our office directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, Customer Service Westward Management

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Westward Management, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart