Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sudler Property Management

Phone: (312) 751-0900 875 N Michigan Ave STE 3980, Chicago, IL 60611 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sudlerchicago.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sudler Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sudler Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sudler Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 18, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1927 Business started locally: 01/01/1927 Business incorporated 01/21/1997 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven P. Levy, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven P. Levy, President/CEO
Business Category

Property Management Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Additional Information

Sudler Property Management is not affiliated with any other Sudler named company.


Additional Locations

  • 875 N Michigan Ave STE 3980

    Chicago, IL 60611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sudler is the property manager of the loft I own, for which I pay monthly association fees. I have had problems with Sudler since my first payment. I have never gotten any statements, invoices or statements of account from Sudler. I only discovered they did not receive my first two payments when I received a demand for payment notice. I tried to contact Sudler to no avail. When I finally spoke to my representative, ****** Campion, she told me to send my checks to the Michigan address and not the Los Angeles address provided in the property documents. I was never notified nor offered of any direct deposit option. I continued receiving unpaid notices - now with late charges - despite having my checks cashed by Sudler. Although I sent my checks in prior to the due date, Sudler would cash them (and thus they were not recorded as paid) until past the deadline. In essence, I was penalized for when Sudler cashed its checks. I continued receiving demand notices. My calls and emails went unanswered. When I finally spoke with ****** she assured me that it was an accounting error and miscommunication with their accounting department and that I was paid up. I continued receiving notices and I emailed ****** (to no response) monthly asking for confirmation that this has been resolved. Last month I received a notice from their law firm asking for thousands in unpaid late fees and missing payments or else they would file suit. After speaking with their law firm (and sending copies of cashed checks), I was told that only Sudler could remove my late charges. My calls to Sudler were unanswered. My emails to corporate have been unanswered. This business purposefully racks up late fees. I only knew that my monthly payments for this year have changed (lowered) because I called in December to ask what my new amount was (if any). I never got any statements or confirmation to my email asking them to confirm their office quoted me the right amount.

Desired Settlement: I want the late charges removed. I want to be set up for direct deposit or some other method of payment. This business is run like a scam to obtain late penalties. I make timely payments and should not be penalized for their inefficiency. I should also not be threatened with suit, despite having tried to resolve this issue for a year without any response, except for the one reassurance that it was an accounting mistake.

Business Response:

First and foremost, it is imperative to understand that Sudler is NOT the recipient of any late fee. We collect late fees on behalf of our clients and have no financial interest in any late fee.  The client sets the late fee policy and we are agents for the client.  I am sure, based on the complaint, that this resident must be unaware of this.

There has been turnover of staff with regard to this property. I cannot verify or deny what the resident has stated with regard to unreturned telephone calls and wrong communication. However, the resident has blatantly contradicted herself by stating, in the complaint, that she did not receive assessment statements or invoices. In a follow-up statement in her complaint, she stated that she "continued receiving unpaid notices, now with late charges." Clearly, the resident is either not disclosing the facts or is not disclosing the obvious. The resident missed 2 payments in 2015 and she was correctly charged the late fees.

I have verified that the only late fees that were charged in the last 11 months (no late fees were charged prior to 11 months ago) amount to only $330 in total. There also is a $228 legal fee that has not been presented as of this writing. We have no way to justify the $1,323.20 that the resident claims is owed to her.  That amount makes no sense. She must be confusing the late fees with her monthly billing.

To put this to bed, especially because of the insignificant amount of money that the resident has been charged for late fees, we have waived/reversed the $330 late late fees. I will personally pay the $228 legal fee that the resident will be charged, and rightfully owed. 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sudler Property Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)