Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rowell, Incorporated

Phone: (847) 991-6000 Fax: (847) 991-6122 2587 Millennium Dr STE H, Elgin, IL 60124 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rowellmanagement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Rowell specializes in the management of community associations - condominium, townhome, and homeowner's associations.  That's all we do - we own no maintenance companies and just handle the management of these communities for over 40 years.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rowell, Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rowell, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Rowell, Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 1988 Business started: 05/18/1973 in IL Business started locally: 05/18/1973 Business incorporated 05/18/1973 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kara Cermak, President Ms. Deborah Warda
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kara Cermak, President
Business Category

Property Management Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Alternate Business Names
Rowell Management

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rowell, Incorporated has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2587 Millennium Dr STE H

    Elgin, IL 60124 (847) 991-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a Notice of Violation that the e condo unit I have owned and occupied for the past 7 years. That it was leased out to a tenant. It never has been leased out.

Desired Settlement: Copy of the signed complaint letter and and an apology at the next board meeting

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/19) */ Contact Name and Title: Kara ******, President Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: kara@******************** ****** is charged with the responsibility to maintain copies of all current leases on file. Many times, owners will rent their homes without providing the necessary documentation. The only way that we can know, for certain, is to send a letter to anyone who has an address other than the property address. In this case, this letter was sent to you in error. We will most certainly send you an apology letter, and apologize at the next board meeting. It's simply a mistake

9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The association irregularly sends invoices of what is due to the house. We made regular payments consistently. Every bill there was a late charge associated with the bill. Never explained why. We assumed it was because the bank bill payment wasn't arriving on time for them, even though we sent with enough time. When I called the representative said that it was because of the way they do invoicing that in fact we owed much more than every statement was saying. They said to write a letter to the association and they would vote on. Mind you we never missed a payment, and were diligent in trying to fix the issue. When we got the letter, they stated they would only refund 7% of what they had taken from us. I am a public school teacher, a veteran, and a person that just wants there bill to be easy to understand. I reached out to an association that is suppose to take care of its residents, simply to be denied that said service. Completely astonished.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to acknowledge that while we had some responsibility, they are being completely unreasonable. They should go back to see we made payments on time every month for the years we've lived here. The increase in payments, that happened because they wanted to lower our taxes, ended up costing us more. Instead of helping us, the intent dragged us into confusing billing that triggered over 200 in fees. For an association that is put into place to take care of community and its people, they are simply just there to take advantage of individuals trying to make a living.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/30) */ First, and most importantly, ****** is an Agent for this community association and has NO decision making power. Rather, the Board of Directors makes decisions and we are the conduit by which the communication occurs. However, to fully answer the questions, here they are below: The association irregularly sends invoices of what is due to the house. **There are no "invoices" sent. - Since May 2011 the Association uses payment coupon books sent annually in December. Statements are sent when account has an outstanding prior balance (which is noted on the statement itself), and these have been sent monthly for this due to outstanding balance that entire time. **We made regular payments consistently - Partial payments have been made however until August 2013 none had been in the amount of any specific assessment balance. **Every bill there was a late charge associated with the bill. Never explained why. - The monthly statements reflected the outstanding balance that caused each late charge. **We assumed it was because the bank bill payment wasn't arriving on time for them, even though we sent with enough time. When I called the representative said that it was because of the way they do invoicing that in fact we owed much more than every statement was saying. - This is really not an accurate representation of the conversation, from our perspective. We are clear that statements are for past amounts and do not reflect future charges that have not come due. **They said to write a letter to the association and they would vote on. Mind you we never missed a payment, and were diligent in trying to fix the issue. When we got the letter, they stated they would only refund 7% of what they had taken from us. I am a public school teacher, a veteran, and a person that just wants there bill to be easy to understand. I reached out to an association that is suppose to take care of its residents, simply to be denied that said service. Completely astonished. - This account has carried an open balance since 2010, with the delinquency ongoing since September 2012, and addressing the issue only occurred now - in August of 2013. However, as an owner, you are welcome to reach out to that same Board of Directors and give them additional information to see if they wish to take your circumstances into account. **I would like them to acknowledge that while we had some responsibility, they are being completely unreasonable. They should go back to see we made payments on time every month for the years we've lived here. The increase in payments, that happened because they wanted to lower our taxes, ended up costing us more. Instead of helping us, the intent dragged us into confusing billing that triggered over 200 in fees. For an association that is put into place to take care of community and its people, they are simply just there to take advantage of individuals trying to make a living. - This is NOT accurate as the direct result of the Assessed Valuation Appeals is done by the Association is this owner's taxes have decreased each year since 2009 despite the tax rate going up each year. We pulled the actual dollar figures - Year Tax Rate Billed Amounts XXXX XX.858 $3,123.09 XXXX X.331 $3,243.64 XXXX X.390 $4,052.29 XXXX X.333 $4,263.99


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Rowell, Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart