Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Property Corporation of America

Phone: (847) 657-9977 Fax: (847) 657-9966 View Additional Phone Numbers 3703 W Lake Ave Ste 300, Glenview, IL 60026 http://www/thepropertycorp.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Property Corporation of America is a property management company that provides management and administrative services for condominium and homeowners associations and for residential rental properties.. This company serves properties in the City of Chicago and in the north and near-west suburbs of Chicago.  Services available from this company include property administration, rental leasing, enforcement of declarations and bylaws, managing of service and vendor contracts, collection of  rents and assessments, account administration, assistance with preparation of annual budgets, income tax preparation, securing and negotiating bids, inspecting structures and capital components, supervising building maintenance, and maintaining curb appeal.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Property Corporation of America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Property Corporation of America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Property Corporation of America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 2010 Business started: 02/01/1991 in IL Business started locally: 02/01/1991 Business incorporated 02/08/1991 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Howard Silver, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Howard Silver, President
Business Category

Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Tax Return Preparation Accountants - Certified Public Accounting & Bookkeeping General Services Accounting Services Association Management Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Alternate Business Names
Realty Advisors, Ltd.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Property Corporation of America has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3703 W Lake Ave Ste 300

    Glenview, IL 60026

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have damage to my kitchen ceiling and my bathroom ceiling due to old pipes from the upstairs unit leaking watee. The condo association is refusing to provide their insurance information so that I may file a claim and either have my repairs covered or if not covered, receive a denial letter.

Desired Settlement: Association to provide the associations information so that I may proceed with a claim for water damages to my kitchen and bathroom ceiling.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/02) */ On May 10, 2015, the lady that lives in the condominium unit upstairs had a leak from a bad pipe under her kitchen sink. It did damage to Ms. *******'s unit below. Upon learning of this, the upstairs owner immediately contacted us and then her insurance company. Unfortunately, she received a denial of her claim. Since she notified us of this we have been trying to help her. We received a quote for the repair of Ms. *******'s unit, which Ms. ******* is aware of, and the upstairs lady agreed to take responsibility for it. Ms. ******* has called here repeatedly and already knows that we were helping get it taken care of. First and foremost, this leak is not the responsibility of the condominium association. As the association's licensed property manager, it is our legal duty to follow statutes, not the emotions of an owner. We got involved to help expedite an amicable work-out of the problem, which we were not even required to do. However, for unknown reasons, it appears that Ms. ******* still isn't satisfied and thinks that a complaint to the BBB will help her. I don't understand her logic. Again, we have no obligation to help but were doing so as a courtesy. "No good deed goes unpunished." Second, the lady upstairs has already agreed to take care of the problem, so I don't know what the complainant's issue is in the first place! Accordingly, we ask that this complaint be dismissed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2015/06/23) */ It is a service provided by the association. They are supposed to provide the condo association insurance info or file a claim on my behalf and they are doing neither. Please reopen my case or explain how this doesn't qualify. Thanks, ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/07/02) */ Contact Email: *******@thepropertycorp.com To Whom It May Concern: The complainant, Ms. ***** ******* is completely incorrect regarding this insurance issue. First, she is paraphrasing sections of the association's declaration that don't even exist. As a licensed community association manager, I have the expertise and experience to read and understand such documents. I have this association's declarations and by-laws in front of me for reference now as I write this, and the insurance section in them states no such requirement of coverage or claims for her as she states it. Second, owners may not on their own file a claim with an insurance company. Any claim, if appropriate, must go through the association; in this case that would be the management company. Because this owner's damage is the responsibility of the upstairs neighbor, the association's insurance policy is not the appropriate vehicle of recourse, and that was explained to the complainant. Third, our coverage has a $1,000 deductible; it is our understanding that this owner's total repair is coming in at $800. Therefore, a claim against our insurance would be irrelevant anyway and would only serve to cause the premium to go up in future years without anything being paid out. Even a denied claim, once made, has a deleterious effect on premiums. I must remind Ms. ******* that those costs come right out of her pocket in increased monthly condo assessments. Fourth, the lady upstairs, whose pipes caused the leak, has agreed to be responsible from the day it happened, and the complainant knew this all along, even before she filed this case. That lady's insurance first denied the claim; however, our staff is working with her carrier and believes that the carrier will now accept it. These are things that we are not obligated to do but are doing so as a service to help this complainant. With that in mind, I must reiterate that the upstairs owner has always agreed to take care of the damage; it is now just a matter of having her insurance pay Ms. ******* for it or having it coming out of that lady's own pocket. Either way, Ms. ******* will be made whole. In addition, as I explained above, our staff has been working with the complainant even though we have no obligation to do so, so none of us is sure of her motives in these filings with the BBB. She claims that she is not being emotional about this, yet she seems to have a personal ax to grind against us. She has gone out of her way to blacken our name, including a false posting on Yelp that our attorney is looking into as a libel case against her if it is not removed. Our company has a proud claim-free record with the BBB. We ask you to consider the real facts in this case and again reject her false assertions against us. Thank you for your time. ****** ******, President Property Corporation of America, As Agent for Galewood North Condo. Assn.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Property Corporation of America
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart