Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

M. Fishman & Co.

Phone: (773) 661-5500 Fax: (773) 661-0113 3215 W Fullerton Ave, Chicago, IL 60647 http://www.mfishmanco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that M. Fishman & Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for M. Fishman & Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on M. Fishman & Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 2001 Business started: 03/19/1991 Business started locally: 03/19/1991 Business incorporated 03/19/1991 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eric Hoberman, Vice President/Main Contact Mr. Mark Fishman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Hoberman, Vice President/Main Contact
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Condominiums Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)


Additional Locations

  • 3215 W Fullerton Ave

    Chicago, IL 60647

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Chicago and Evanston, the security deposit which the landlord is holding is actually the property of the tenant. Within 30 days of moving out, the landlord should notify you, in writing, whether he or she is going to make any deductions from your security deposit for repairs for damages you caused. If the landlord does not notify you of damages, then the landlord is obligated to return the security deposit within 45 days of your moving out. If the landlord notifies you of the estimated cost of repairs, he or she has an additional 30 days to furnish you with paid receipts. In Evanston, the landlord has 21 days to make deductions and must return the security deposit within 21 days. Penalties for violating security deposit provisionsIf there is a violation of any of the security deposit provisions, the landlord must pay the tenant two times the security deposit plus interest as a penalty as well as attorneys fees and court costs. The only exception to this rule is for the miscalculation (not non-payment) of interest. It is required the landlord make the tenant aware of any violations, in writing, currently pending. M.******** did not. So the lease was not valid to begin with. They were advised by me that my apt was infested with bed bugs and made one attempt to get rid of them, which failed.I therefore legally broke my list and have never heard from M.******** Yet. I even sent a certified letter to them of the problem and the expected remedy. I got a letter from USPS saying Undeliverable as Addressed. I am in contact with my atty as I was involved in an accident which he could connect it to him

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund If there is a violation of any of the security deposit provisions, the landlord must pay the tenant two times the security deposit plus interest as a penalty as well as attorneys fees and court costs. The only exception to this rule is for the miscalculation (not non-payment) of interest. It is required the landlord make the tenant aware of any violations, in writing, currently pending. I would like %1,200. I paid #650 but by law I am entitled to 2 times the security deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/07) */ As the consumer stated they are consulting with an attorney, we are not able to disclose specific information surrounding this matter at recommendation of our legal counsel. However, we contend that we have not committed any violations of any portion of the lease, and have fully complied with the Chicago RLTO as it pertains to security deposit interest. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Chicago Residential Landlord-Tenant Ordinance states that I shall hear from the Landlord within 30 days of vacating the apartment. Since I did not hear from them, I am owed two times the amount of the security deposit plus interest and any court and attorney's fees. I legally broke my lease due to the landlord's refusal to treat the bedbug infestation. The ordinance also states any outstanding violations in writing, which they failed to do. My security deposit was $650 so I demand $1,300 plus interest or they will incur court and my Attorney's fees. The ordinance the view: Not exterminating rodents, insects and other pests as a violation as well. It also states the landlord must timely return the security deposit within 45 days of move-out. I vacated apartment 206 at 5417 N. Kenmore Ave., Chicago, IL, on August 31, 2012. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/20) */ I will reiterate our last response in that we have no further information to add at this time, as the party with the complaint is consulting with an attorney. We contend that we have not violated the RLTO nor the lease agreement.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been contacting ** ******* for almost two months now about the repairs that they have been doing to our plumbing. Since then I have been collecting every paper they have been posting about pipe repairs and every time it has gotten worse. The water pressure in our bathroom and kitchen has been getting worse and worse. In the colder months that have now arrived it has been pure misery trying to shower because there is hardly any hot water and washing dishes has become a burden to the hands. The company has been told about the issue several times and ****, who is this specific building's property manager, has failed to act. Every time she has been contacted it seems like a failed attempt since this hasn't been resolved. She never returns my phone calls and never "looks into" the issue like she promises she will.

Desired Settlement: To fix the water pressure once and for all!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ We have spoken with the tenant and have attempted to work on the issue. We are consulting with a plumber, and will continue to work to rectify the issue. Further details about the status of this repair will be reported to the tenant in the coming days. We intend to provide the tenant with sufficient water pressure in her apartment.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on M. Fishman & Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)