Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lieberman Management Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 202-9300 Fax: (312) 553-1240 230 W Monroe St Ste 1550, Chicago, IL 60606

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lieberman Management Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lieberman Management Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 2006 Business started: 09/01/1971 in IL Business started locally: 09/01/1971 Business incorporated 03/17/1993 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Stan Lieberman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stan Lieberman, President
Business Category

Property Management Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Additional Locations

  • 230 W Monroe St Ste 1550

    Chicago, IL 60606

  • 25 Northwest Point Blvd Ste 330

    Elk Grove Vlg, IL 60007


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Through the condo I owe,this company handles the management services. They have a clubhouse that us,owners can rent at a lower fee. They have a 200.00 dollar deposit fee that is suppose to be refunded after the party. I rented the clubhouse for a party I held in October 2014,I have called this company over 10 times questioning when will I receive my deposit refund and all they say is: "We will forward this matter to management and they will give you a call back". Not once,have I ever gotten a call back from them. Someone please help me resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that this company refunds me my 200$ deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/13) */ We have reviewed the customer's concern and are currently looking into this matter. At the current time, there seems to be a lack of confirmation on whether or not the owner actually dropped off the $200.00, as she states. One of the requirements for renting the activity room is to sign a contract and provide a deposit. We went through our records and the owner's file and did not find a completed contract from the owner, which is usually included when the deposit is provided to us. We do not dispute the fact the owner actually used the room, as she was provided with a key for her event. Unfortunately, the person who previously handled the clubhouse rentals is no longer employed with us. As a result, we spoke with the owner about when, where, and who they may have provided payment to. The customer was not able to provide us with a check number for her payment. We are working with the customer to resolve this matter and confirm that the payment was actually made. If the payment was actually made, we are more than happy to process her refund. The customer has been made aware of this and is currently reviewing their records to provide additional details in an effort to resolve this matter. Our records indicate that the customer made four calls to our office regarding this matter and that we advised her each time that the matter was being reviewed by the property manager. We want to apologize to the customer if she feels that her calls were not responded to in a timely manner and resolved sooner.

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Property Manager, ************* consistently fails to follow through, answer calls, or work to resolving this problem. Contact with her immediate supervisor, ******* ******* is usually necessary. The problem was first reported April 24, 2014. The Property Manager, ****** ******* obtained 3 bids for repair. Ms. ****** also ordered and received a report from a roofing expert to have the attic and roof inspected. She received the report and took no action. Two and a half weeks ago she agreed at a HOA management meeting to pick a vendor and have the repairs completed. Repeated phone call have had no effect and consistently fails to respond to the customer. There is no viable reason why we should have to live with 2x4s supporting our ceiling for 3 months and a week. If her immediate supervisor is contacted we are likely to receive some response. We should not have to contact her supervisor. We have asked for the name of the approved vendor and a phone number so that we can establish a schedule for repair. Ms. has not responded to our request. She has at least two phone numbers and an email address by which she can respond.

Desired Settlement: The ceiling is being supported by 2x4s. The HOA and Lieberman Management have a report from their expert roofer that states the ceiling was not nailed up properly when the unit was built. We want the ceiling repaired as soon as possible. We feel we have been far more than patient with Lieberman Management's employees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ We have spoken with Mr. ****** several times regarding the ceiling damage in his unit. The initial call came in on 4/24/2014, a work order was dispatched to maintenance the same day. On 4/25/2014, we requested proposals for work to be performed in this unit. The Association's roofing contractor determined that the cause of damage was: condensation and improper installation along the studs. After this determination, we notified Mr. ****** that he would be responsible for making the repairs. Mr. ****** objected to performing the repairs; therefore, the association proceeded with making the repairs. Mr. ****** has been provided with a copy of the roofing contractors report. After the contractors determination, we requested three proposals to repair the ceiling. We continued to follow up with the contractors to help address Mr. ******'s repair. To date, the association is currently in the process of making the repairs to Mr. ******'s unit. We apologize if Mr. ****** feels that his calls were not answered promptly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Service is less than can be reasonably expected from *********'s representative to property owners. The attached Journal clearly shows the lack of concern demonstrated by the Property Manager as this problem progressed. The Property Manager was told she could communicate either by phone or email but consistently chose not communicate with the property owners. The expert roofer hired by ********* Management filed a report on the cause of the failed ceiling on June 16, 2014. Cause of failed ceiling result of improper original installation. If as stated in the businesses' response they had initially determined that the homeowner was responsible then they had only to communicate that fact. The consistent failure to work with and communicate with the homeowner is what generated this complaint. It is also the reason that the repairs were unnecessarily delayed for over three months. The responding entity seems to have a problem in providing accurate and detailed information. The problem began on April 24, 2014, and until we attend a scheduled board meeting on July 9, 2014, the homeowner had never been notified that the HOA expected us to bear the cost of the repair. The property manager may be a very busy person but that fact does not justify her inability or unwillingness to communicate either by phone, email, or any other means. 4/24/XXXX XX:XX Third call to get someone to come and assess and then repair, at least temporarily, the ceiling so that it does not fall to the floor. Talked to ******* ******* Supervisor for ****** who is out sick today. He is trying to call **** ********** 4/24/2014 18:00 ********* appeared and looked at the damage. Stated there was no water damage and the he would get someone to come back and look at the problem or bring a "T" brace to prop the ceiling up. 4/24/2014 18:18 ********* came back with **** ********** Plasterer and Painter who concurred with the recommendations so far. Fensterle is supposed to submit a work order to Lieberman and they are supposed to issue a work order to ********** 4/24/2014 19:30 Fensterle returned with two "T" braces to support the ceiling until repairs can be arranged. "T" braces were installed and Fensterle departed. 5/5/2014 16:00 **** from Reflections Painting came by to look at the job and get pictures and information to provide an estimate for the Association. 6/3/XXXX XX:XX Left voicemail on ********* phone requesting status update. Never received a response. 6/6/XXXX XX:XX Left voice mail message for ****** asking for an update by 16:00 today. 6/12/XXXX XX:XX Attempted to contact ****** again. She has not responded since my call on Friday. Got transferred to a Residential Service Rep after asking for ********* Supervisor. ******* ****** not in, left voicemail. 6/12/XXXX XX:XX Called **** *********** Home Owner's Association President, for assistance in attempting to resolve this issue. Received no answer at her phone. 7/1/XXXX XX:XX Sent email to ****** and left a voicemail message. Received no response. 7/1/XXXX XX:XX Contacted **** at home. She will send a note to ****** and ask the status of the ceiling repair. She heard that we were waiting for a report from ***** Roofing stating the cause of the water damage. She has heard nothing. I told her that ****** had told me the same thing two weeks ago before we went on vacation. 7/9/XXXX XX:XX Spoke with ****** at HOA meeting in Buffalo Grove about ceiling. We are supposed to have repair work started by August 1, 2014. 7/29/2014 Reported substandard service by Lieberman Management Services to the Better Business Bureau. 7/31/2014 Received call from ***** ********** Stated he had been awarded the repair contract and wanted to schedule the start of work. 8/1/2014 Repair work begun 8/15/2014 Ceiling work completed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/02) */ The work in homeowner's unit has been completed. Upon receiving the owners follow-up complaint, we contacted the homeowner to confirm that the work was performed to his satisfaction, which he acknowledged. We also apologized for any lack of responsiveness and communication in resolving this matter. We promised the homeowner that we would provide more timely communication going forward. We hope this resolves the matter and look forward to assisting the homeowner in the future.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lieberman Management Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)