BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2006

Lieberman Management Services, Inc.

Phone: (312) 202-9300Fax: (312) 553-1240

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The Property Manager, ************* consistently fails to follow through, answer calls, or work to resolving this problem.
Contact with her immediate supervisor, ******* ******* is usually necessary.

The problem was first reported April 24, 2014.
The Property Manager, ****** ******* obtained 3 bids for repair.
Ms. ****** also ordered and received a report from a roofing expert to have the attic and roof inspected. She received the report and took no action.

Two and a half weeks ago she agreed at a HOA management meeting to pick a vendor and have the repairs completed. Repeated phone call have had no effect and consistently fails to respond to the customer.

There is no viable reason why we should have to live with 2x4s supporting our ceiling for 3 months and a week.

If her immediate supervisor is contacted we are likely to receive some response. We should not have to contact her supervisor.

We have asked for the name of the approved vendor and a phone number so that we can establish a schedule for repair. Ms. has not responded to our request. She has at least two phone numbers and an email address by which she can respond.

Desired Settlement
The ceiling is being supported by 2x4s. The HOA and Lieberman Management have a report from their expert roofer that states the ceiling was not nailed up properly when the unit was built.

We want the ceiling repaired as soon as possible. We feel we have been far more than patient with Lieberman Management's employees.

Business Response
We have spoken with Mr. ****** several times regarding the ceiling damage in his unit. The initial call came in on 4/24/2014, a work order was dispatched to maintenance the same day. On 4/25/2014, we requested proposals for work to be performed in this unit. The Association's roofing contractor determined that the cause of damage was: condensation and improper installation along the studs.

After this determination, we notified Mr. ****** that he would be responsible for making the repairs. Mr. ****** objected to performing the repairs; therefore, the association proceeded with making the repairs. Mr. ****** has been provided with a copy of the roofing contractors report. After the contractors determination, we requested three proposals to repair the ceiling. We continued to follow up with the contractors to help address Mr. ******'s repair.

To date, the association is currently in the process of making the repairs to Mr. ******'s unit.

We apologize if Mr. ****** feels that his calls were not answered promptly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Service is less than can be reasonably expected from *********'s representative to property owners. The attached Journal clearly shows the lack of concern demonstrated by the Property Manager as this problem progressed. The Property Manager was told she could communicate either by phone or email but consistently chose not communicate with the property owners.

The expert roofer hired by ********* Management filed a report on the cause of the failed ceiling on June 16, 2014. Cause of failed ceiling result of improper original installation.

If as stated in the businesses' response they had initially determined that the homeowner was responsible then they had only to communicate that fact. The consistent failure to work with and communicate with the homeowner is what generated this complaint. It is also the reason that the repairs were unnecessarily delayed for over three months.

The responding entity seems to have a problem in providing accurate and detailed information. The problem began on April 24, 2014, and until we attend a scheduled board meeting on July 9, 2014, the homeowner had never been notified that the HOA expected us to bear the cost of the repair.

The property manager may be a very busy person but that fact does not justify her inability or unwillingness to communicate either by phone, email, or any other means.


Third call to get someone to come and assess and then repair, at least temporarily, the ceiling so that it does not fall to the floor.

Talked to ******* ******* Supervisor for ****** who is out sick today.
He is trying to call **** **********

4/24/2014 18:00

********* appeared and looked at the damage. Stated there was no water damage and the he would get someone to come back and look at the problem or bring a "T" brace to prop the ceiling up.

4/24/2014 18:18
********* came back with **** ********** Plasterer and Painter who concurred with the recommendations so far.
Fensterle is supposed to submit a work order to Lieberman and they are supposed to issue a work order to **********

4/24/2014 19:30
Fensterle returned with two "T" braces to support the ceiling until repairs can be arranged.
"T" braces were installed and Fensterle departed.

5/5/2014 16:00
**** from Reflections Painting came by to look at the job and get pictures and information to provide an estimate for the Association.

Left voicemail on ********* phone requesting status update. Never received a response.

Left voice mail message for ****** asking for an update by 16:00 today.

Attempted to contact ****** again. She has not responded since my call on Friday.
Got transferred to a Residential Service Rep after asking for ********* Supervisor.
******* ****** not in, left voicemail.

Called **** *********** Home Owner's Association President, for assistance in attempting to resolve this issue. Received no answer at her phone.

Sent email to ****** and left a voicemail message. Received no response.

Contacted **** at home. She will send a note to ****** and ask the status of the ceiling repair. She heard that we were waiting for a report from ***** Roofing stating the cause of the water damage. She has heard nothing. I told her that ****** had told me the same thing two weeks ago before we went on vacation.

Spoke with ****** at HOA meeting in Buffalo Grove about ceiling. We are supposed to have repair work started by August 1, 2014.

Reported substandard service by Lieberman Management Services to the Better Business Bureau.

Received call from ***** ********** Stated he had been awarded the repair contract and wanted to schedule the start of work.

Repair work begun

Ceiling work completed.

Final Business Response
The work in homeowner's unit has been completed. Upon receiving the owners follow-up complaint, we contacted the homeowner to confirm that the work was performed to his satisfaction, which he acknowledged. We also apologized for any lack of responsiveness and communication in resolving this matter. We promised the homeowner that we would provide more timely communication going forward.

We hope this resolves the matter and look forward to assisting the homeowner in the future.

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We reserved the elevator at the Catalpa Gardens Condo building on Saturday, July 13, 2013 to move out of Unit 1005, where we had lived since October 2011. To reserve the elevator from 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM, we were required to submit a $100 fee. We were told a staff member (******) would be on site that morning to give us the key to hold the elevator for our move. At 9:05AM, we attempted to contact ****** and the number went straight to an error message. We subsequently left a voicemail with the on-site property manager ********* ********** We also emailed ******** requesting his assistance (at 9:10 AM). We then contacted the weekend hours service and were told they would send someone over. We ended up leaving two additional voicemails with ********, sending one additional email to ******** (at 11:37AM) and speaking with LMS off-hours staff three additional times to no avail. Finally, at 1:00 PM -- four hours late -- a gentleman arrived, apologized and gave us the key to the elevator. Our move ended up taking significantly longer than anticipated -- requiring us to make many more trips up and down the un-reserved elevator. It also meant our rental van -- estimated to cost around $20 for what should have been a few hours of moving -- ended up costing us more than $70 for the additional time. On July 17, I left a voicemail and emailed ******** requesting a full refund of the $100 fee. Under the circumstances, this seems like a reasonable request. I left my name and phone number on the voicemail and also provided my address in the email. I left another voicemail the week of July 25 and sent an additional email on August 5 requesting a response. He never apologized for the inconvenience nor responded to my voicemails or emails. In the August 5 email (sent at 8:32 AM) I let ******** know I would attempt to contact him via the Better Business Bureau if I did not get a response that day.

Desired Settlement
My request is simple: a refund of the $100 fee.

Business Response
August 7, 2013

********* ********
Better Business Bureau
*** N ****** **** ***** ****
Via email *********

Re: Case# XXXXXXXX, *****, *********
Ms. *********
With regard to the complaint made by ********* *****, for the move-out elevator reservation, we agree that Ms. ***** deserves refund of the fee, as the staff was unable to deliver as promised. As such we have contacted Ms. *****, and are in the process of refunding the $100 move-out fee.
We regret it was necessary for Ms. ***** to escalate the complaint to this level, and it will be addressed with staff at the building.
Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We appreciate the company's follow through! Thanks again for addressing our situation.

Final Business Response
My apologies for the delay of this refund. There has been a change of staff at the building. The refund for $100, check # XXXXX was mailed to your Winona street address today.

02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service
08/27/2013Billing / Collection Issues
11/30/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.