Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kass Management Services Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 975-7234 Fax: (773) 935-4608 View Additional Phone Numbers 2000 N Racine Ave  Ste 4400, Chicago, IL 60614 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kassmanagement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kass Management Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Kass Management Services Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Kass Management Services Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 1994 Business started: 01/28/1985 Business started locally: 01/28/1985 Business incorporated 01/28/1985 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Grace Moore, Office Manager Mr. Mark Durakovic, Vice President Mr. Gary Kass, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Grace Moore, Office Manager
Business Category

Property Management Business Services - General Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Apartment Finding & Rental Service Apartments Condominiums Management Consultants Real Estate Agents Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Products & Services

This company offers: Property Management Services, Condo and Apartment Searching


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kass Management Services Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1740 E 55th St

    Chicago, IL 60615

  • 2000 N Racine Ave
    Ste 4400

    Chicago, IL 60614 (773) 975-7234 (773) 684-6300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent out a check for the account number ******** through my online banking on October 15, 2015. I know it usually takes 3-4 business days to clear so when I noticed that the amount was still in my account, I called ***** ******c, who is keeper of the books of my apartment building, **** W 79th St on October 20, 2015. I asked her if she received the check or even processed it & she stated no. I asked if I would be charged a $10.00 late fee even though I've sent out a check through my bank & she said yes. I called my bank & had them do a stop payment so I could resend the check. I resend the check on October 21, 2015 knowing that it should clear sometime on October 23, 2015. I called ***** again to see if she received the check & she stated that she did not. She tried to say that it's my banks fault even though I have sent a check through my bank before for $210 & it was instantly processed in 2 days. I have been in constant contact with *** Bank & the address that is on file, **** N Racine, Suite 4400, for me to send them a check is the same one that she has told me to use when mailing a rent payment. I have done nothing but follow *****'s instructions as far as paying rent yet this mishap keeps occurring. I feel that this is all due to human error on her part. This is truly an inconvenience to me because I can't keep asking my bank to make a stop payment each time she had overlooked my check. I also feel that it is unfair that I'm being charged a late fee for her oversight. I hope that this issue can be resolved.

Desired Settlement: I hope to not be charged $10 for ***** ******c over looking my check.

Business Response:
In response to your complaint, we understand your frustration in this matter and appreciate your diligence in making sure that the payment was received.  Please understand that we do not control the mail delivery system.  Additionally, the replacement check that was issued on 10/21 did not arrive in our office until Monday, October 26th.   The bookkeeper did not have the check in hand on Friday, 10/23 when you called, so she was truthful in her reply.   We appreciate your perseverance in making sure that your rent was paid and the late fee will be waived.

7/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kass has held my personal check for $50 for more than 30 calendar days instead of depositing and clearing the check in a timely manner. I mailed the check to **** to pay an administrative fee imposed by the company for certain leasing services. The check should have been deposited within a week of receipt and not left sitting around on someone's desk due to their lazy bookkeeping methods. These types of lazy practices could expose personal details or result in check fraud or embezzlement.

Desired Settlement: Deposit the check asap and complete the terms of service as requested.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/09) */ In our research your check was received in our office on June 30th. I can not speak to the timeliness of the postal service, however we do try to deposit funds received asap. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Wow, Kass is blatantly lying to the BBB about the date they received my check as it was dated and mailed on May 26. In fact, a second check I mailed the same day to the same general location cleared my bank account on June 5, and that was after that individual delayed depositing my check for several days! Instead of apologizing, Kass would rather lie to the BBB and not accept responsibility for their lazy bookkeeping methods and continues to put my personal information at risk as the check has not yet cleared my bank as of today July 9, six weeks after they received my check!

7/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We applied for an apartment with Kass, but they required that we sign an 18 month lease, due to the building being new, and we obliged. The lease we signed had a typo and instead of the lease running through 7/31/16, it expires on 7/31/15. I would have never agreed to a 6 month lease, and since Kass is no longer managing our building, we have to resign our lease at a higher rate. We should have more carefully read our lease, but Kass not only denies that we agreed to an 18 month lease, but they've been no help in providing copies of our lease or copies to the new management company. Now I feel like I'm being forced into a higher price for my apartment that I've already been living in for 6 months and put hundreds dollars of my own money into, and I have no choice but to accept the rent increase because of the typo.

Desired Settlement: We're not seeking any settlement, but we're hoping the new management company will see that Kass has put us in an unfair situation, and keep the rent at the same price. The increased rent will cost us $600. More importantly, I don't know how they just deny that we didn't agree to a 18 month lease, and I just want to make sure I have a place to live!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/09) */ In your complaint you stated that you were unaware you signed a six month lease term. We reviewed the signed lease and found that there was a modification made to the lease start date and was initialed by all parties. Considering a change to the lease start date had been made, we believe the lease start and end dates were known to you on the printed lease. There was no error on the lease, as it clearly states the start and end dates. It is not uncommon for tenants to sign six month leases and feel that we are unjustly accused of errors. Our lease signing process is extensive and requires your signature at numerous checkpoints. We certainly did not intend to cause you hardship and hope you see that you also have placed us in an unfair situation since we no longer manage the building. We are committed to providing quality property management services to our clients and residents.

5/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As above. I entered into a lease for an apartment with my daughter while she was in school. The lease term was one year. She moved out of the apartment and reloacated to Indianapolis after ten months, but the term of the lease was paid in full, as a friend moved into the empty apartment and stayed for the last two months of the lease. The rent was always paid in full and on time, and when the term of the lease expired Kass Management gave our friend that had occupied the apartment a new lease in her name for another eight months. After eight months she moved out, and shortly after Kass Management contacted me about paying some late fees and other alleged charges on the apartment totalling 1100 dollars. They stated that they had a signed lease in mine and my daughters name that made me responsible for the apartment, and in fact they didn't know anything about another lease and didn't even know who the person was that was living in the apartment. But, as it was my name on the lease the charges were my responsibility. My daughter had moved to Indianapolis two months before the lease expired, and I was certain that I did not renew the lease in our name. So I asked to see a copy of the lease, which they provided via email, which lead to a printed copy which I have in my possession. The lease is an obvious forgery. It contains both mine and my daughters in nine places. The signature looks nothing like ours, and in fact they look nothing like each other, and are actually little more than scribbles on a line. So there are 18 false signatures which I can easily verify as false as I have hundreds of old checks, prescriptions, and the original lease itself that contain my actual signature. In addition, both my daughter and I were not in town when the lease was allegedly signed. I have no intention of paying the bill and will be happy to settle this in small claims court if they choose to pursue the matter. However, management companies that are falsifying leases and forging signatures need to be, in my opinion, scrutinized on a closer level.

Desired Settlement: None

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/17) */ In response to Case# XXXXXXX Our records indicate that ******** ******** and **** ******** (Co-Signor) entered into a one year lease for an apartment at **** ** ************* Chicago, IL XXXXX. The beginning date of the lease was August 7, 2013 and the ending date July 31st, 2014. The signed lease clearly states under Use of Apartment that the apartment shall be occupied exclusively by Tenant and other persons listed in the application. ******** ******** was the only applicant on this lease. Due to her subsequent relocation she sublet the apartment to ****** ***** ****** **** was not on the application nor was she approved to reside at this apartment. This all transpired without the knowledge/approval of owner/agent. Once the lease expired they did not relinquish the unit. Instead there was a renewal lease document subsequently signed on behalf of ******** ******** and **** ******** for an added lease term. Based on the documents we received and also correspondence as recent as March, 2015 the illegal occupant was portraying themselves as ******** ********. We have call records requesting maintenance service listing the name ******** however the phone number is for ****** ***** In addition to requests for maintenance there is additional correspondence between the property manager and **** ******** regarding a past due balance as well as the procedure for relinquishing possession at the end of the second lease term. This clearly confirms that **** ******** was aware that ****** **** was still living in the unit. At no point did **** ******** proclaim that there was no further association between **** ********, ******** ******** and the apartment. In his discussions with the property manager he stated he tried to make a payment online and was unsuccessful. After seven months into the second term of the lease, Mr. ******** requested a copy of the lease documents and stated that the signature was not his. Unfortunately, we at Kass Management Services, Inc. cannot perform forensic signature analysis and rely on the integrity of the signors. Based on most recent communications with **** ******** we believe that he was well aware of the fact that the unit was inhabited by an unapproved tenant ******* ***** and should be held accountable for the amount owed. In an effort to remedy this situation, Kass Management Services, Inc. is willing to compromise and split the remaining balance owed between the Tenant and Owner. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The lease is an obvious forgery, and one need not be a forensic specialist to determine this to be the case. And there were no requests of any kind made by myself to Kass, and nor was there any contact between myself and Kass until they decided to try to collect an alleged balance due, and I would challenge them to provide proof of such conversations. The apartment was turned over to Kass Management and Ms. ****** and the lease was put in her name after the one year term of mine and ********* lease had expired. ******** had vacated the unit two months earlier, and I did not renew the lease. Apparently Kass Management misplaced, omitted, deleted or destroyed Ms. ****** lease, and they had no idea who she was when they first contacted me about the apartment. She left when the term of the lease expired. The lease to which Kass management is referring, and of which I have a copy, has a total of eighteen signatures of both mine and my daughters name. All of them are obvious forgeries and they not only do not look anything like out signatures, but the signatures themselves do not even look like one another. They are simply scribbled lines, again not having the remotest similarity to ours, as simply comparing them with the signature from the lease which expired in 2014 will easily prove. In addition, my daughter was living in Indianapolis, and I travel for a living and was also out of town, on the date that the lease was allegedly signed by us both. All of this can be easily proven. So this is eighteen counts of forgery and fraud on the part of **** management. I think that they would be wiser to drop this issue, however, if they wish to proceed, I will be more than happy to turn this into a criminal matter.

3/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a resident of one of Kass Management's properties, we have contacted them regarding the faulty elevator. This issue has been ongoing for over a month with the elevator working every other day. Several residents, including myself, have been trapped for hours at a time and yet the Management company continues to allow use of the elevator after they 're-set it.' After being trapped in the elevator this evening, this experience was extremely traumatic and I have now lost patience and optimism of Management ever fixing the elevator. In the last update I received from Management, they were trying to coordinate schedules with the businesses relating to the elevator and the water issue. It appears that their avenues, partnering companies, and attempts are not working and I believe we have allowed enough time where we expect this appointment should have taken place and the issue be resolved. I am concerned that the company is putting the residents of **** ** ******** Road at risk by temporarily fixing the elevator when they are aware that are residents are being trapped and are needing rescue from fire and police personnel each incident.

Desired Settlement: N/A

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@kassmanagement.com On the day in question, the elevator was serviced by the elevator company and deemed safe to be in operation. When an elevator goes down is unfortunately beyond my control. Moreover, the accusation that Management is negligent as being the reason in unfounded. The board of Directors makes the decisions for the association which management executes. We are aware of the issues at hand with this elevator and are exploring all options for repair to avoid a costly special assessment to replace, if at all possible. Email notices have been sent to unit owners throughout the month outlining the elevator issues, as well as notices posted throughout the building. To that end, service was out for repairs on 2/20, 2/15, 2/12, 2/9 & 2/3. Each time the DC overload switch needed to be reset. We believed this to be due to a water line break that was flooding the pit. The plumber has twice pumped out the pit. We now have brought in two different elevator companies who have identified other causes and are providing quotes to repair. This is in an effort to avoid replacing the elevator, which can be up to a $200k expense that would need to be a special assessment. The Board is also unhappy with the service of the current vendor and canceled their contract by giving a 90 day notice. The new vendor will start on May 1st.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon discovery that, unbeknownst to me, the laundry room gas dryer pulls gas from my account, I made a complaint to the management company. The management company offered me $10/month over the course of a year to give them time to correct the issue. The issue has never been corrected. I would like restitution.

Desired Settlement: I would like $10/month for the remaining 6 years of tenancy that were not reimbursed. This is more than fair, and unquestionably less gas than was consumed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/01) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@kassmanagement.com Below is an email we have sent to Mr. ********* regarding his complaint. From: **** ********* Sent: Wednesday, July 23, XXXX X:XX PM To: '***************@uchospitals.edu' Cc: *** ******* Subject: RE: **** ******* ** Justin, I apologize for how you feel you have been treated and will attempt to answer your questions and resolve your issues below, but I believe you are mistaken on some levels. The notice you received was due to the fact that your rent account is separate from your parking account. At the very beginning of your lease term my office notified you that if you chose to pay online that parking would have to be set up separately from the rent payment account. You were provided two separate log in's and were advised that if payment was made to one account in full it may not get applied to the other account as it requires manual adjustment of your account which may not happen automatically. I have attached a copy of both letters that are provided which detail your account log in info so that you could set up payments properly. With that said ****** the previous property manager monthly would attempt to have the payments you were making to the rent account adjusted manually so to apply the appropriate amount to the parking spot account. This and last month that did not happen and you received a late letter for the balance on the account for the parking. While I apologize for you receiving such notice I am sure you will understand how this could have been avoided by using both accounts to process your payments. When making monthly payments you should have noticed the amount being charged to the account you were paying for was not the full amount including parking but that is not important since it seems you feel my office should have monitored your account continuously. Please do note that we have over 10,000 units and monitoring each account is not possible and we hope that you can understand this. With that said your account has now been adjusted and you will have a credit on your account for $20.74. See attached ledger for proof and history. As for the issues with your neighbors during your tenancy I would hope that you filed police reports and or filed complaints against them with the police so to investigate the situation accordingly. If you did not, I can only advise you that as a landlord we would be limited to what we could do and by making such a claim against someone without evidence and or police interaction. As with you, those tenants were inherited by my company at takeover and we were not provided any information on them beside the names and monthly rent due. Nonetheless, we are in the process of evicting that tenant and hope they will not be a disturbance for anyone in the property moving forward once they are moved out. As for your claim of making you provide us proof of rent payment at management takeover; it was necessary as the previous management who rented you your apartment had records showing a balance on the account. It was necessary to receive the information as we did not want to presume the information provided was accurate. As for your request for a settlement for the gas bill; I want to be very clear that WE did not rent the apartment to you. We did not have any knowledge of this and did not offer you a lease or renewal under the pretense that you were paying for the laundry gas, nor were we aware of it until recently. When you signed your lease with Wrightwood Management (see attached) there is no reference to it and I can understand your frustration with it being connected to your unit but am at a loss how that frustration is aimed at my firm directly. I will be upfront in stating that we have been very accommodating to you during the lease term, in that we reserved the right to NOT charge you late fees to your account despite there being a handful of late payments during the lease term. The one late fee charged was actually reversed as a sign of good faith. Now you wish to attack me and my firm for being money hungry and only caring about the collection of rent? Where is the logic? Would it be possible to add those late fees to your account now? Yes it would, but I do not wish to do business that way and hope this example of how in some way we were accommodating will help both sides understand how things can be taken out of context. Justin, during your lease you moved people in without having them added to the lease. That is a clear violation of the lease. We did not make it a sticking point despite the concern that it brings. You were insulted that we were charging app fees and admin fees for the processing of the applications for the residents who were at the time illegally occupying the apt. We certainly don't want people in the unit that are going to cause a disturbance and properly screening them is mandatory. Those fees are to cover those costs as I do run a business and cannot waive late fees, app fees and admin fees all the time despite what we did for you during your lease term. With that said I am happy to offer a $75 credit to your account as a settlement to your claim which was raised after your tenancy was established with a previous landlord. If you choose to settle this and move forward with our lives I will expect the BBB complaint you have logged to be dismissed and for a termination agreement to be signed stating that neither party will revert to any negative commentary toward the other in an avenue available and that both sides will provide neutral references about the other party if needed. If you choose not to accept this offer by Friday July 25th at noon we will proceed with responding to the BBB accordingly regarding your complaint and your tenancy. Thanks. **** ********* Principal-Vice President Kass Management Services **** * ****** ***** ******** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ext *** Fax XXX-XXX-XXXX

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Originally my roommate and I were in line to sign a lease for **** ** ******** Gdn Ut. We submitted our application and $100 processing check on June 18, 2014. We were told by the lady at the desk collecting our check and application that we would know in 24 hours whether we would receive the place. As well - we would then be charged the fee and our check would be cashed. However, after a few days we heard back nothing. We tried calling and were each time directed to ****** ******** We left a total of two different messages at different times and made more calls, but heard nothing still. After about a week and half, we singed a lease for **** ** ****** Gdn Ut instead. Just this past Friday (July 18, 2014) I then discovered my check was cashed for the Wolcott address. The next business day, Monday June 21, 2014 I called and left a voice message again with ************ With no response, I also sent an email outlining the issue and requesting a refund for the charge - believing it to be a mistake as we are not renting that apartment. Today, July 19, 2014,I called once again and finally got a hold of ************ He was short with me, denying the statement that the lady at the desk has stated that we would know of our application status within 24 hours. He claimed that we had pulled out of the lease and that was why he cashed our check. He claimed it was our fault and not his problem. He refuses to refund our original $100 application processing fee for the Wolcott location even though we now are renting the Hoyne location.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a $100 refund for the Application Processing fee to the****************, Gdn, Chicago, IL 60625 apartment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/24) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email*********************** I received the application for ********************************* for a Re Let of the apartment at *************** #G on June 22nd to process from the property manager. An approval was determined and a lease with instructions for execution was email to the applicants on June 24th. I received notice on this day from the applicants that they had found something else in the interim and were not taking the unit at Wolcott anymore. Since they did not put money down to hold the apartment the only money that was deposited was the Non-Refundable application fee. I explained to the applicants that application fees are not refundable and I doubted the statement that the receptionist quoted a 24 hour turnaround time. Regardless, There may have been miscommunication at the time of application. Therefore, in an offer of good will we will refund the application fee.

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had utilities shut off twoce with no notice. We have complained about bugs in out apartment to no avail. Customer service response was poor. Our property manager seemed to just not care. Their attitude was basically, we already signed the lease so we don't matter. Not until i threatened not to pay the lease did we get a proper response. We have lived there a month with no mail service, and no laundry service, after we were promise working laundry.

Desired Settlement: Just want our laundry to work, and proper notice for shut off of services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email:************************** I spoke with the tenant about the complaint he made. The gas was shut off by People Gas because the tenant failed to correctly establish a service account upon the lease start date of June 1, 2014. As stated in their lease in the Addendum to Apartment Lease paragraph 23. When the tenant reported that his apartment did not have gas he was informed that if his gas was shut off it would have been done by People Gas and not us. At that point he stated a red Peoples Gas tag was placed on his meter. I told him that is a clear sign gas was shut off by Peoples Gas and that I would call the contractor to find if had any knowledge of meter shut off. The contractor called Peoples Gas for information and was told the meter for this tenant's apartment was shut off because service was not transferred. After I received this information from the contractor I called the tenant to inform him that the gas meter was shut off by Peoples Gas because according to them the service account had not been open as of July 1, 2014. Today the tenant acknowledged that the meter shut off was due to Peoples Gas not having processed his application for service properly. The public gas meter that services the building's dryer was faulty and replaced on July 1, 2014 with another faulty gas meter. The Peoples Gas technician assigned to install the gas meter refused to repair the leak in the meter and instructed the contractor to repair the leak in the gas meter. This lead to a disagreement between the contractor and Peoples Gas technician, the contractor is not able to make repairs to the gas meter. We are working with Peoples Gas to resolve the faulty gas meter as soon as possible. Management is was not made aware of an issue with mail delivery by this tenant. Mail boxes have been installed at the property. Postal lock installation for mailboxes and buzzer systems have been requested for a third time today July 3, 2014 after another tenant reported not receiving his mail. It is difficult to follow up on requests because no work order numbers are provided. We have contacted the Alderman and Congressman to request a Congressional Inquiry about this matter. Pest control was sent to the building for quarterly service on June 15, 2014 within a week of the tenant's pest issue report. When I spoke with the tenant on July 2, 2014 about his issues I offered to have pest control call him to schedule a treatment for his apartment. *************** ******************** ****************************** ************************** ***************** ***********************

6/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The landlord informed the tenants and myself the sub-lessor via email on May 22 that he would be doing work "mostly on the exterior" of the condominium apartment. On that day, he knocked down a wall inside the apartment. He also took my property without informing me as to where it was. What property of mine that was in the living room was covered in dust from the construction. I called the landlord multiple times, emailed him about my property and compensation without response. I emailed Kass Management and called daily to see how they could help me address this breach of the covenant of quiet enjoyment; at this point I had informed them via email on May 24 that I was terminating my sublease and I was withholding rent until this issue would be resolved. The representative in email stated May 29 "When I have a chance I will follow up with the property owners." He never informed me of the landlord's response. I happenstance ran into the landlord, who pointed out to me where my stuff was, which was in a basement that was inaccessible because the walkway is covered in wood planks and garbage. This morning May 30, the landlord entered the house again to do construction, which I was again not informed of. I complained to Kass again, citing the lease: "5-3-4-3 Access. It says in section A that the "tenant shall not reasonably withhold consent to the landlord to enter the dwelling unit in order to make...necessary or agreed repairs." Since I was not informed of these repairs, this is clearly in violation of the lease agreement. Beyond that, in sub-section B, which states that the "landlord may enter the dwelling without consent...in case of emergency." This was not an emergency. Kass Management's representative replied "I think it might be best if you find alternative housing. We are not obligated to notify each and every one of you individually whenever work is being done in the unit. It is my understanding that your roommates are aware of what is going on." Since I already informed him that I was doing just that in the previous email, it was clear to me that he did not read all of my email. My roommate previously inquired to the Senior Property Manager of Kass about a heater not working in my room, which was responded to March 4, but never addressed. It says in the lease section 5-3-7-4 Wrongful Failure to Supply Essential Services: "If...the landlord fails to supply heat...the tenant may: 1. Deliver written notice to the lanlord specifying the service to the restored, that the service must be restored within seven (7) days of the delivery of the notice, and that the rental agreement will be terminated automatically at the expiration of the seven (7) days if the specified service is not restored." It is to be noted that landlord is misspelled in reflection of what is written in the lease. I was unaware of this right then because I did not have access to the lease at this time. I also inquired March 19 because smoke and carbon monoxide detectors were not installed, which I again reminded them of on my email May 24. Some were put in place, but some of the bedrooms still don't have smoke detectors available. Neither the landlord nor Kass Management responded to this reminder. As far as I can find, there is nothing in the lease regarding the installation and maintenance of smoke detectors. I have emails, a scanned copy of the lease and photographic evidence of all of this and am willing to share.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to have rent waived while I vacate the condominium, the security deposit returned, and for none of this to effect the other tenants. It states in the lease that "If the landlord makes an unlawful entry or a lawful entry in an unreasonable manner...but which have the effect of harassing the tenant, the tenant may obtain injunctive relief to prevent the recurrence of the conduct, or terminate the rental agreement. In each case, the tenant may recover an amount equal to not more than two (2) month's rent or twice the damages sustained by him, whichever is greater, and reasonable attorney's fees." I think that waiving May's and June's rent while I move out would be a sufficient substitute. I have been as often as possible sleeping at other people's houses since my safety and health have been violated. It states in the lease as well, in 5-3-7-4 Wrongful Failure to Supply Essential Services, Section A 4 that the tenant may "procure substitute housing during the period of the landlord's noncompliance, in which case the tenant is excused from paying rent." The lease also states in Section 5-3-12-1 Unlawful Interruption "It is unlawful for any landlord or any person acting at his direction to knowingly... remove a tenant's property from said unit; or by the use of force or threat of violence, injury or force to a tenant's person or property; or by any other act rendering a dwelling unit or any part thereof or any personal property located therein inaccessible or uninhabitable." Conclusively, I hope that the security deposit would be returned to the original tenant, who would then return it to me since I paid that tenant the original security deposit because he moved out and that these two months of rent be excused. I also hope that the other two tenants, who wish to stay, will not have to pay for the third room that I am vacating. I am not sure if any of this is possible, since there is nothing in the lease concerning myself the sub-lessor. The Sub-lease does state in Section 2.02 that "upon the termination of this Sublease for any reason whatsoever, Sublessee shall return possession of the Leased Premises to Lessor or Lessor's authorized agent in a good, clean, and safe condition, reasonable wear and tear expected." I am also afraid that I will be evicted, since according the Sublease agreement, I am to pay for rent the first day of every month with a five day grace period, after which I will be subject to eviction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, Office Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@kassmanagement.com June 4, 2014 Re: ********, ***** **** ****** ****** **** ** Evanston, IL XXXXX We were concerned to receive Mr. ********'s letter regarding problems with the owner of the property that he is staying at. We were not involved with the notification process, scheduling, or commencement of work in the unit as this was handled by the property owner who resides at the same address where Mr. ******** has been staying. We have had an opportunity to discuss this matter with our client and it was determined that proper communication was carried out with the leaseholders of the unit, this was further verified by written responses to our office by the leaseholders. Apparently Mr. ******** is subleasing from one of the leaseholders who neglected to notify Mr. ******** of the work that was agreed upon well before Mr. ******** started staying in the unit. Neither **** Management Services Inc. nor the property owners, ***** Properties, have a lease or sublease agreement with Mr. ********. We regret that Mr. ******** was inconvenienced and are empathetic to his situation as he clearly does not have an open line of communication with his room-mates or sublessor. We imagine that this can be frustrating for him. We have emphasized that, in light of Mr. ********'s frustrations, that he may wish to seek housing elsewhere. As a gesture of good will we have arranged, to credit 1/3 of the rent for the months of May and June to the remaining unit tenants. This agreement is agreeable to the remaining tenants. KMS aims to consistently deliver a professional service to our customers and while we do not believe that there was a lack of communication on our part or that of the property owner we represent, we wish to be good neighbors and a reputable business. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that you will have no further cause for any complaint in relation to our service. KMS company is constantly working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. Yours sincerely, Kass Management Services Inc Thank You, ***** ********* ** Kass Management Services Inc Senior Property Manager / Project Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since 2012-2013, I have been bothered by high noise levels in my apartment, from a hot water heater and pump that services the rest of the condo units. Kass Management refuses to acknowledge that a main water pipe that runs through the ceiling of my unit is carrying noise from the common water heater, though my personal plumber advises me this is the case. In 2012, an old pump was making a racket into my unit, but Kass would not acknowledge that was the problem. They eventually replaced that pump only when the hot water unit gave out, which as a result silenced that noise. Then, I complained about an incident involving a new pump and sent them a warning letter from a lawyer October 2013. This noise abated in January 2014 but now there is another noise, coming from the water heater itself. This time, the heater is vibrating heavily and making a loud noise, which is carrying into my unit. Yesterday, I contacted the property manager, but received no response. Throughout this ordeal, they have been rude, dismissive and impolite, though I have tried to cooperate with them in every way possible. For example, the noises are heaviest in the evening hours, when more people are in their units, but when I explain it to the property manager, they refuse to send out people to hear it in the evening. They are definitely not fit to be a Better Business member.

Desired Settlement: Total abatement of noise from the hot water heater and its elements into the main water pipe that runs through my unit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@kassmanagement.com Resident ****** **** of 5410 N. Kenmore contacted us via e-mail on 3/5/14 @ 9:03 am. W responded the next business day. E-mail is attached hereto. Mr. **** has had a history of lodging complaints about noise, sounds, vibrations, etc. over the past two years or so. They have been unfounded with the exception of an issue last week as well as an occurrence in the Spring of 2013 when a pump was found to be failing. At that time numerous residents complained not only about sounds from the plumbing but lack of hot water as well. The pump was promptly replaced. See attached photo. This pump is the same pump that has been in place since the Spring of 2013 despite Mr. ****'s belief that we changed it again after he had his attorney send us a threatening letter. Shortly after the pump was replaced in the spring of 2013 we also replaced the two hot water heaters. We installed expansion tanks at the time of heater replacement at the recommendation of Mr. **** as well. Upon receipt of Mr. ****'s voicemail on 3/5 I immediately dispatched a plumber to the property to confirm or deny the problem. When we arrived in the afternoon we found that there was a legitimate problem with the South heater. The vent motor on the top of the unit was making a racket and we disabled the heater and D&B Plumbing promptly ordered a new motor. On 3/6, Mr. **** lodged his BBB complaint. The vent motor was replaced on Saturday 3/8, under warranty, as soon as it was received. To date, through e-mail correspondence, Mr. **** has not confirmed or denied whether the "high noise levels" in his unit have been resolved. However, in his e-mail he does admit that "The previous noise I had been hearing from the hot water pump has gone." We have visited Mr. ****'s unit on 3/11, 3/12, and 3/13 with no success in gaining entry. Throughout time we have done virtually anything that Mr. **** has asked with regard to the supposed noise and vibration that he hears. We engaged the Board of Directors of his Condominium Association and they too agreed that there was no noise being emitted from the heaters or mechanicals. In fact, they recommended that Mr. **** contact his neighbors to see if they were running a fan, humidifier, or dehumidifier in their unit that may be disturbing him as the units have hardwood floors. Additionally, Mr. **** would claim that the noise would be worse at night. This does not coincide with a correlation to the hot water heaters. The heaters barely run later at night when demand is down. In addition, Mr. **** said that the pump would speed up and slow down and he could hear that. This is not possible. The pump is a single speed pump that simply runs a hot water circulation circuit that ensures that units far away from the heaters are able to receive hot water promptly. **** Management, the Association's Engineer, the Association's HVAC Contractor, and the Association's Plumber have all been in Mr. ****'s unit at least one time or another and none of us have been able to verify any kind of "high noise levels" other than the two aforementioned instances that were promptly resolved. Attached are copies of invoices for services rendered in investigating past complaints from Mr. **** as well as for repairs to resolve legitimate problems with mechanicals at the property. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The problem has not been fixed. I have recordings of the previous instances of high noise levels that I sent to Kass Management at their request, and they are available for anyone to hear. For a long while, they even denied that noise could be coming from the heaters downstairs into my apartment. I have asked them to come over and listen to the noise later in the evening (8-9 pm), when the hot water heaters are most active, and they have balked at doing so. In only one instance was I not in my apartment when they contacted me: I made up for it by being there when they next called: I am always willing to accommodate them. Here is the current status: I have offered to have my plumber fix the noise problem according to his diagnosis and I would pay for it. Kass has no problem with that, so long as he provides proof of insurance and writes a proposal. I will ask him to do so. Once Kass agrees (hopefully, quickly) I will proceed accordingly. (My plumber says it would cost $400. I don't understand why Kass is spending money on documenting current conditions in the heater room, when simply spending the $400 would probably solve the issue.) In the meantime, I want to thank the BBB for providing this opportunity that has effectively resulted in Kass responding more quickly to my problem with more information. I hope I can work with Kass to resolve this issue quickly, but unfortunately, at present, my complaint must remain open. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/04/21) */ 3/25/2014 @ 3:59PM and 4:13PM E-mails were exchanged with Mr. ****. Mr. **** proposed that **** ***** of ***** Plumbing, who Mr. **** has engaged make some repairs that will resolve the alleged noise/sound/vibration problems. We agree to allow Mr. ***** to diagnose and propose a repair scope. We also advise Mr. **** that, in return for engaging his contractor, we would want him to sign a release with regard to further claims against Kass Management Services Inc. Mr. **** agrees to meet with the plumber at his place to work out the details. We then ask him what details he needs to work out with Mr. *****. Mr. **** responds back via e-mail saying, "To work out the proposal he's to send to you, the proof of insurance, and when to do the work. Once you agree to all of that, I'll sign off on the release." 3/29/2014 @ 10:30 PM - Mr. **** emailed the following: There is not only a loud pumping sound I have been noting since January 2013, but also what sounds like another motor problem, this time in the left tank. There is also a gassy smell around the heaters. 3/31/2014 @ 8:45 AM with a 9:34 AM e-mail response to Mr. **** - Kass Management was at the property this morning and no extraordinary sound from either heater was noted. In addition, we met one of our contractors on-site and we utilized a TIF 8800 Combustible Gas Leak Detector to check the entire basement where the water heaters are located and no gas leaks were detected anywhere. We asked Mr. **** to please let us know when we should expect a proposal, W9, and COI from Mr. ****'s plumber, ***** Plumbing, so that Mr. ***** can make the repair that Mr. **** and he prescribed. 3/31/2014 @ 10:22 AM Mr **** sent the following via e-mail which we did not respond to: I'm consulting with an attorney on my next steps. 4/3/2014 @ 11:28 AM Mr. **** forwarded an e-mail to us from his plumber apologizing for the delay and that a vibration isolator is $425 installed. Kass Management Services advised Mr. **** via e-mail that we needed the proposed fix prescribed by Mr. ***** in a bonafide proposal with a diagnosis of the problem, proposed repair(s), and warranty. In addition, we also requested ***** Plumbing's Certificate of Insurance and W9 form. 4/7/2014 @ 10:00 AM We received a W9 form and a Certificate of Insurance but the COI did not fulfill the requirements that we had requested listing Kass Management Services Inc as an additional insured and Certificate Holder. This was relayed to Mr. ****. 4/9/2014 @ 12:15PM Mr. **** e-mailed an updated satisfactory Certificate of Insurance to us. We replied back to him letting him know that everything looked to be in order and that we would simply await the return of the legal release that was provided to him via e-mail before moving forward with the work. 4/10/2014 @ 4:33 PM Mr. **** responded via e-mail that, "I'll run it by my lawyer and keep you posted."Despite agreeing to the work and a release on 3/25/2014, Mr. **** has now decided to engage his attorney and further delay the execution of the legal release as well as the proposed repair work. 4/14/2014 @ 3:42 PM Mr. **** asked that the release be amended to include language that Mr. **** would not bear any costs related the repairs prescribed by Mr. ****'s plumber. 4/15/2014 @ 12:21 PM An amended release was sent to Mr. **** and agreeable to him. He further responded at 3:25 PM that he would sign the release and send it back to us via United States Postal Service. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Kass is on the right track. I have signed the release and once the work is completed, I will fulfill the agreement.

4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON the afternoon of October 11th I had a maintenance employee from Four Seasons come to do a yearly tune-up of my unit furnace. After inspection of the roof and my unit it was found that the flu vent had been disconnected from my furnace. As a side note, Kass management company had hired a roofing company to do repair work to the roof above my unit and in several other areas. The maintenance employee from Four Seasons immediately disconnected my furnace after finding that the flu vent was not connected. A phone call was immediately made by myself to ***** ****** at Kass Management Services to notify her of the situation. It has been 48 hours and I have not received any resolution to potential emergency situation occurring at this condominium building. SHe was unwilling to send anyone out to inspect the situation immediately. Leakage of CO2 into a building's interior is life threatening. The inability to immediately address the emergency situation proves to be inferior services. I had notified all board members of the situation involving my flu vent on Saturday October 12th. Residents received no warning that their furnaces may be unusable due to roof work by Kass Management. It is now Sunday October 13th and no measures have been taken to address or resolve the emergency situation.

Desired Settlement: It seems our property manager is unfit for providing adequate services and does not have the safety of her building tenants and owners in mind. Kass Management should be held responsible for her delinquencies and **** ** ****** **** should be assigned a new representative that will quickly and effectively address building emergencies and issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@kassmanagement.com Ms. ****** contacted Kass Management on Friday, October 11th in regards to a disconnected flue pipe for her furnace that was result of ongoing roof replacement. She left a voice mail message for myself, the manager, at 11:58 am and 3:47 pm. I spoke directly with Ms. ****** at approximately 4:00 pm. Her statements in the complaint are not accurate. She requested that I contact ALL 6th floor units to advise them that there was disconnected flue pipes and the possibility of CO2 poisoning. I stated that until I could confirm with the roofing company that her furnace was indeed disconnected by them, I could not alarm the other residents. It was 75 degrees so heat was not necessary that afternoon. I never refused an inspection, in fact I arranged for one to occur within hours of speaking to her. The roofing company inspected the roof and HVAC units the same Friday, in the evening approximately 6 pm. They found only hers disconnected. They spoke to Ms. ******'s tenants on Friday and returned on Saturday to make the repairs. Ms. ******'s did not check with the tenants living in the unit to see if the matter was attended to prior to filing her BBB complaint. Attached please find confirmation from Ms. ****** that her tenants did confirm that the matter was cared for on the same day it was reported. Additionally, please find correspondence from the roofing company that they were notified and attended to the matter immediately.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Kass Management Services Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart