Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

HSR Property Services, LLC

Phone: (815) 806-9990 Fax: (815) 806-9994 7601 191st St Ste 1E, Tinley Park, IL 60487 http://www.hsrpro.com/hsrpro/outside_home.asp


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for HSR Property Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on HSR Property Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 15, 2005 Business started: 06/01/2001 Business started locally: 06/01/2001 Business incorporated 05/24/2011 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Debra Hunter, President Wendy Narel, Manager Martin Stone, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debra Hunter, President
Business Category

Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7601 191st St Ste 1E

    Tinley Park, IL 60487

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HSR is the third property management company for the Subdivision Pointe @ Fieldstone. They (HSR) have been on for about a year. Now with the new Fiscal Quarter, they say there as been a miscalculation of the Home Owner Fees. HSR claims that about 49 including myself under paid of the 106. Mind you we have had 2 other management companies with no issues with respect to HOA Fees and the rate we started paying when we brought was the average for the area for as a home owner I factored that into my budget. After a year as management and with the new Fiscal year beginning there is a miscalculation. No proof is provided, But instead verbatim HSR uses the following example; ""If the total annual assessment is $229,368.00 and your percentage of ownership is 0.88544%, your share of the total annual assessment would be $2,031.00 or $169.00. Mind you none of the properties are worth over $150k in todays market with the number of foreclosures for this subdivision. So why would he use this value. They did not provide the basis as to why the previous 2 management companies were wrong in fact when I sent a email requesting a copy of the previous Management records for this Subdivision and their calculation which I am sure you agree they should have I received the following response, HSR Response- ****** ***** " I cannot provide you with a formula used by previous Management because we do not know what it is/ was (If this is the case then how do we as Home owners know whether they are right or wrong). He goes on to state "I can only confirm that whatever formula they used is incorrect because there is only one correct formula and they did not use it (I think he forgot that there were 2 other management companies prior), otherwise the current assessment would not be incorrect. He also stated that "Also condo values have nothing to do with the assessment fees (RED FLAG). If THIS IS THE CASE THEN WHY WOULD HE USE IN HIS EXAMPLE A CONDO ASSESSED AT $229,368.00 TOI GET TO THE FEE FOR THE MONTH(???). So as you can see from the response from HSR , they provided no answer or formula. Their response was basically trust us. It should also be noted that if you run a value check on my address you will see that the Will County Assessor has steadily reduced the tax for this area each year due to the value of the Condos. Another concern is the fact that there are a number of homes who are not paying their share and I hope that the reported MISCALCULATION is not a means of collecting from those who are current and pay timely. I am not sure even if HSR is taking the neccy. action to Collect (I.E., Liens, Collection) from delinquent accounts. There is no way that our HOA Fees should be approaching the values of Cook county (Chicago). Alos when we brought our place the HOA Fee was based on the size of the unit. Every Value he has listed is $229,368.00. Basically the value of a 3 Bedroom 2.5 bath with a basement is the same as a 1 level 2 bedroom no basement(???). My home was not assessed $229,368.00 when we brought it new and as of now it is values at $119,000.00. I have a copy of the document he provided that list this same value for every home listed, that includes single family homes and condos. I don't know if this is an attempt to justify some type of increase in their FEEs at the end of the Fiscal to say "hey look we increased the bottom line and your account is now sitting at x amount of dollars, so you should pay us more." As I stated before this was not an issue when they first came on and why can't he explain this value of $229,368.00 that he listed for every Unit, but he stated in his response to me condo value doe not make difference. Then why use such value and not what the current market is and what the Will County Assessor goes by for believe me if my home was worth that me and a lot of other home owners would have been gone/ sold.

Desired Settlement: I want him to explain to me/ the BBB and provide supporting documents as to why he used a value of $229,368.00 that does not apply in today's market and for half of the homes they never were assessed at that value including mine, when new. Provide proof of this miscalculation and he should have what the previous 2 management companies went by. Also the BBB needs to look at who is current and who is not to make sure that there is no pattern in terms of those who supposedly underpaid, for they could be used to make up for those who have not paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Vice Pres. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, 11 Contact Email: ******@hsrpro.com In response to Mr. ******'s statements, please be advised of the following: In both his BBB complaint, as well as his initial correspondence to our office, Mr. ****** appears to be confusing the total annual assessment income of his association (Pointe at Fieldstone Condominium Association) with the assessed value of his and/or a typical condo unit in his association, as determined by his county's tax assessor. The two are not the same and in are no way related, which HSR has repeatedly tried to explain to Mr. ******. Our office never made any statements to Mr. ****** or the other owners in his Association re: the Assessed Value of units. We believe this confusion is the cause of his concerns. To clarify: The term "Total Annual Assessment" used by our office refers to the total annual INCOME of his association from the monthly assessment fees paid by all Association members/owners. That total annual income (Total Annual Assessment) of the Association, per their current Budget, is $229,368.00. This is the number we used in our example to explain to Mr. ****** how his monthly assessment fee is supposed to be calculated and how we recently discovered that the previous Management for Pointe at Fieldstone Condo Association did not calculate them properly. To clarify further: Mr. ****** owns a condo unit and is therefore an Association member of the Pointe at Fieldstone Condominium Association in Romeoville, Illinois. He is one of 116 unit owners/association members. All 116 owners/members pay a monthly assessment fee as their share of the common expenses (lawn maintenance, roof repairs, building repairs, snow removal, fire & hazard insurance for the buildings, etc.). As is typical of a condominium association in the state of Illinois, the monthly assessment fee (or share of common expenses) is determined by: 1) Taking the percentage of ownership assigned to each unit by the Association's Declaration 2) Taking the total annual assessment income from the Association's budget 3) And multiplying the two and dividing into 12 monthly payments. For example: The percentage of ownership for Mr. ******'s unit, per his Declaration, is: 0.86146%. The total annual assessment (income) for 2013 for his condo association is: $229,368.00 His monthly fee is supposed to be calculated as follows: $229,368.00 x 0.86146% (0.08146 decimal) = $1,976.00 per year, or $164.66 per month. However, Mr. ****** has been paying $167.00 per month (a fee amount in place prior to HSR Property Services being retained as the property manager). Therefore, he has been OVERPAYING his association fee by $2.34 per month for several years. Our letter informed Mr. ****** (as well as all 116 owners at Pointe at Fieldstone Condominium Association) of the fact that their current monthly fee amounts were calculated incorrectly and providing the opportunity to those who overpaid to receive a refund for all overpayments. Again, we are not sure what Mr. ******'s complaint or concern is with this. His assessment is being corrected and he is entitled to be refunded his overpayments. We can only determine based on his BBB complaint as well as his previous correspondence to our office that, for some reason, he is assuming his association assessment fee is somehow tied to the resale value of his condominium unit or the Assessed Value assigned by the tax assessor, and this is simply NOT the case. One has absolutely nothing to do with the other. We feel if and when Mr. ****** makes this realization and distinction, he will better understand the situation. Further, if he still has questions or concerns afterwards, we would be happy to address them as well. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response. However the initial letter stated that I Underpaid and the explanation was merely "Miscalculation, sorry and one example (example- not fact) with nothing to indicate how the previous 2 corporations/ management companies did the original calculation. That is where I had the problem. Basically what was there basis that they saw an Error(???). It is the equivalent of me as a Revenue Officer going to a taxpayer and telling them you have been underpaying your taxes. The first thing that taxpayer will ask or his or her Attorney is based on what? As I am sure you at the BBB would agree. Also it is still disturbing to find that they did not find this "Miscalculation" until Fiscal Year 2014. They took over in 2012. There initial response was not the most professional considering that I am a paying (not in the rear) home owner and my concerns were legitimate. It had to take the BBB (I am thankful for your organization) to get a proper response because initially it was "I CANNOT PROVIDE YOU WITH A FORMULA USED BY THE PREVIOUS MANAGEMENT BECAUSE WE DO NOT KNOW WHAT IT IS/ WAS. I CAN ONLY CONFIRM THAT WHATEVER FORMULA THEY USED IS INCORRECT BECAUSE THERE IS ONLY ONE CORRECT FORMULA AND THEY DID NOT USE, OTHERWISE THE CURRENT ASSESSMENT WOULD NOT BE INCORRECT. ALSO, CONDO VALUE HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ASSESSMENT FEES" (Original response dated 10/31/2013 @ 9:59 PM) That was their original response which prompt me to get the BBB involved. How can you confirm something when you acknowledge in your own answer that you don't know what formula is used by 2 previous Management companies (they may have forgot there were 2). However thanks again BBB, they may not have provided the facts for the so called miscalculation basis, however the response is a lot different then the original and with this record we just have to be mindful going forward and interesting to see the HOA account/ numbers at the end of Fiscal 2014.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on HSR Property Services, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)