Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Foster-Premier, Inc

Phone: (847) 459-1222 Fax: (847) 459-1240 750 West Lake Cook Rd.  Ste. 190, Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 http://www.fosterpremier.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Foster-Premier, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Foster-Premier, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Foster-Premier, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 2000 Business started: 09/01/1992 Business started locally: 09/01/1992 Business incorporated 09/08/1992 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jamie Falconer, Vice President Mr. Ronald Foster, President Ms. Danette Smuzs, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jamie Falconer, Vice President
Business Category

Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Property Maintenance Association Management Management Consultants Real Estate Consultants Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Foster-Premier, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 750 West Lake Cook Rd.
    Ste. 190

    Buffalo Grove, IL 60089

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Seeking to have $210.00 waived as a result of the negligence of Foster Premier and Oakwood Hills HOA. My unit sustained water damage and I had contacted the association by email 3 times with no response. I then contacted the board by email as well and received a response that "it was my problem". Per the bylaws, the ceiling and walls are "common elements" and owned by the association. They retained an attorney to tell me to "cease and desist". I am now being charged for attorney fees. The association did repair the damage to my home 30 days later.

Desired Settlement: Seeking to have $210.00 waived as a result of the negligence of Foster Premier and Oakwood Hills HOA. My unit sustained water damage and I had contacted the association by email 3 times with no response. I then contacted the board by email as well and received a response that "it was my problem". Per the bylaws, the ceiling and walls are "common elements" and owned by the association. They retained an attorney to tell me to "cease and desist". I am now being charged for attorney fees. The association did repair the damage to my home 30 days later.

Business Response:
November 2, 2015

BBB Case # ********

Foster Premier would like to respond to Ms. Milca *****, who lives in the Oakwood Hills Condominium Association, in Elgin, IL.  Foster Premier, Inc. is the Agent for the Board of Directors of Oakwood Hills Condominium Association.  The Board of Directors makes all decisions for the Association and the Agent carries out the directives of the Board.

Please understand that the incident that Ms. ***** referencing was an icemaker leak from the unit above her unit.  The owner of the unit above is responsible for the damage and for the cost of the repairs to all units affected by the leaking icemaker.  The owner of the unit did file a claim with her insurance.  The Association did assist in coordinating the repairs with vendors.  The Association did not file a claim with the Association’s insurance as the homeowner with the leaking icemaker was the person responsible for cost of the repairs.

Unfortunately, Ms. *****, as an unauthorized person took it upon herself to contact the Association’s insurance agent to try to file a claim on her own.  Fortunately, this was stopped, but unfortunately, Ms. ***** did not stop there, but continued on to contact the insurance company directly.  This action did result in the first step of opening of a claim and will result in a possible increase in the insurance rates for the entire Association.

Further, Ms. ***** contacted Ron Foster the owner of Foster Premier, Inc. concerning the issue, posted misinformation on the website, etc.  As a result, the Association directed its attorney to notify Mr. ***** in writing to “cease and desist”.  The legal costs incurred for this letter were applied to Ms. *****’s account upon the direction of the Board. 

So in closing, the Board of Directors of Oakwood Hills Condominium Association makes decisions and instructs the property manager, who is the Agent for the Association.  The Agent carries out the Boards instructions.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. *****’s complaint.  Thank you for understanding that Foster Premier has no authority or power to waive the $210.00 legal costs on Mr. *****’s account.

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/2013 Family/construction of 2317 broke starter in my furnance. 11/2014 Other neighboring family scammed my driver's license/credit record again. Unapproved rent-to-own damaged property values.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of my Prudential plan and or check for damages done by neighbors. Eviction proceedings against neighbor in back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/27) */ Foster/Premier, Inc. *** ** **** **** **** ***** *** ******* ****** ** XXXXX August 26, 2015 BBB Case # XXXXXXXX Foster Premier would like to respond to Ms. ******** ***** who lives on ***** **** at the ******** *************************** in Aurora, Illinois. Foster Premier, Inc. is the Agent for the Board of Directors of ************************************************. The Board of Directors makes all decisions and the Agent carries out the directives of the Board. This is the third time that Ms. ***** has filed a complaint in the last two months. Each time we have answered the complaint. Unfortunately the complaints and accusations Ms. ***** has made about her neighbors are matters for the police. Neither the Board of Directors nor the Property Manager has any access to or power to secure Ms. *****'s driving records or any other personal records or access to her Prudential plan. Further the Association and the Management Company have nothing to do with disagreements between neighbors. Ms. ***** must contact the police and file a report of identity thief and report the other accusations of thief and damage of property. The ************************************ in Aurora, Illinois has no amendments to their Declaration regarding renting of units other than the standard ones of the rental must be for a period of not less than 6 months and the owner must supply a copy of the signed lease and provide census and contact information. Therefore, neither the Association nor the Management Company has any authority to prevent "rent to own" arrangements. Eviction proceedings are regulated by Illinois State Laws and cannot be brought without just causesuch as nonpayment of assessments, failure to pay a mortgage, etc. Please know that the *********************************************** in Aurora is made up of individually owned condominium units. The Association does not have the right to do background checks on potential homeowners. If a homeowner decides to rent his/her unit, it is up to the homeowner to arrange for the appropriate background checks prior to renting the unit and provide the Property Manager with a copy of the signed lease. Unfortunately, the Board of Directors of the *********************************************** nor their Agent, Foster Premier, Inc. has anything to do with any of issues raised by Ms. *****. All of the issues should be referred to the police. In closing, please be reminded that in all matters related to the *********************************************** in Aurora, the Board of Directors makes decisions. Then the Agent for the Board, Management Company carries out the Board's directives. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. *****.

6/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Generally poor service and lack of upkeep for our rental unit. Timely on charging late on EVERYTHING else. We had a prior building management company who was never and issue and we were happy to pay for their services but now we have dirty carpets, unkempt molding on property, lack of machine (washer/dryer) maintenance etc. Despite repeated attempts to contact them, they never answer the phone and have proven impossible to reach. At this point, not sure of what else to do.

Desired Settlement: Generally poor service and lack of upkeep for our rental unit. Timely on charging late on EVERYTHING else. We had a prior building maangement company who was never and issue and we were happy to pay for thier services but now we have dirty carpets, unkept molding on property, lack of machine (washer/dryer) maintenance etc. Despite repeated attempts to contact them, they never answer the phone and have proven impossible to reach. At this point, not sure of what else to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/07) */ Foster/Premier, Inc. *** ** **** **** Rd., Suite *** ******* ****** IL XXXXX January 7, 2015 BBB Case # XXXXXXXX Foster Premier would like to respond to ***** ********* who lives at ******** ***** ***** *********** ************ Foster Premier, Inc. is the Agent for the ***** of ********* of ******** ***** ***** *********** ************ The Board of Directors makes all decisions and the Agent carries out the directives of the Board. Upon investigation of the situation with the property manager, it turns out that Mr. ********* has indeed called the property manager, **** *** ******** to complain about numerous issues. Ms. ******** has contacted the company which services the washers and dryers at ******** ***** ***** of ******** ***** ***** *********** *********** to request service of dryer vent cleaning. Additionally, service and cleaning of the carpets and grout around the entry door has been requested. At this time the requested service has been completed. While service was requested, it appears that it was not requested in a timely manner. Foster Premier regrets this slow response and considers it unacceptable. The property manager will undergo additional customer service training and a note will be placed in her permanent record. Thank you for bring this customer service issue to our attention. Foster Premier, Inc. prides itself on excellence in property management and customer service. When we fall short, we take immediate corrective actions and redouble our efforts.

11/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday July 18, 2014 I had a scheduled appointment at 2.30pm with *** **** the maintenance engineer. I scheduled an appointment because my A/C doesn't work well and the company I selected needed to get an access to the roof. Per Arbors Condominium Assn procedures I can work either with approved vendors who have a key to the roof or with any other company who can provide an insurance to ***. I decided to go with the company who I worked in the past. I provided this company's insurance. After *** reviewed it he scheduled an appointment. On the day of the appointment I called *** and left a message just to remind about the appt, then I called him 5 times when he didn't show up, left voice messages, stopped at association's office but no one was there, called management Jordan Schaefer. But no one was able to send the person to open the roof for my company. Management told me to reschedule. I called to reschedule but no one picked up the phone. I left messages and I'm still waiting for somebody to call back to reschedule!....

Desired Settlement: The company who I'm working with is ***** Heating ***. They will send me the bill for missing appointment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/24) */ Foster/Premier, Inc. *** ** **** **** **** ***** *** Buffalo Grove, IL XXXXX July 21, 2014 BBB Case # XXXXXXXX ****** Premier would like to respond to ****** ******* who lives at Arbors Condominium. Ms. ******* did indeed schedule an appointment for access to the roof for repair of her air conditioning with *** ***** the Maintenance Engineer at the Arbors Condominium. Unfortunately, Mr. **** was not on site as he was ill and at home and failed to notify ****** ******** that he had an appointment with Ms. ******* and her air conditioning technician. Obviously, the handling of this situation does not meet the ****** Premier standards. All personnel involved in the matter have met with their supervisor for re-training and re-education on the appropriate procedures for covering appointments when another employee is out for any reason. The staff will make themselves available to assist with access to the roof. Additionally, if there is a fee charged by the air conditioning technician for their failure, please send Mr. ******** the invoice noting this and it will be paid. ****** thank for the opportunity to respond, to correct the situation and to improve and strengthen ****** Premier's service.

7/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Foster Premier, they handle the Amber Fields HOA collections, I wanted to pay my bill over the phone and she told me we had been sent to collection. ******* at Foster Premier told me they sent a letter to my home in October stating any balances over 100.00 as of April 1st would be sent to collection and this has always been the case, not true we had a balance of over 100.00 with them up to last October for at least 7years. I never received the letter she was referring to then she tells me my last statement should have a late fee on it (it doesn't) and a note that my account is over due, again I did not receive that either, it is a simple statement that shows my 100.00 payment on 1-30-14. My complaint is aren't these companies required to notify us or at least try to before sending us over to collection?? I did receive the collection letter today, after I spoke to Kristen at Foster Premier there are still no late fees being charged but there is a 75.00 attorney fee and a 115.00 fee from Tressler LLP. Please help with this situation I truly think this is deceptive practice.

Desired Settlement: I am not seeking any settlement I would like the attorney fee removed of 75.00 and the 115.00 from Tressler LLP removed also. I would like Foster Premier to be required to notify there clients before sending them to collection. I never received a packet in October stating what ******* had told or ANY notification or attempt to notify of the situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ Foster/Premier, Inc. *** ** **** **** **** ***** *** ******* ****** ** XXXXX May 5, 2014 BBB Case # XXXXXXXX Foster Premier would like to respond to ****** **** who lives in Amber Fields Homeowners Association. In a Homeowners Association, the Board of Directors makes the decisions for the Association and then directs the Agent, Foster Premier, Inc. who then carries out the directive. Further in a Homeowner Association, each owner is responsible to pay their portion of all the expenses of the Association. Each homeowner receives information outlining his/her obligations to the Association before he/she purchases a home in the Association. According to the Association's records, ***** **** is the owner of record. As an explanation of the handling of the collection of the Annual Assessments for Amber Fields Homeowners Association, the Board has a very strict and detailed "Collection Policy". A reminder letter concerning the collection policy along with the proposed budget was sent to each homeowner on October 31, 2013. This letter also included the amount of the 2014 Annual Assessment. All homeowners, including Mr. ***** ****, were mailed a copy of the letter. Please find attached a copy of the letter. So in summary, each homeowner has an obligation to pay his/her Annual Assessment in a timely manner. The Board of Directors has an established policy for informing homeowners of the annual assessment amount. The Board of Directors has an established collection policy. Under the direction of the Board of Directors, Foster Premier, Inc. sends out a letter informing homeowners of the Annual Assessment amount and includes a reminder of the collection policy. If the Annual Assessment is not received in a timely manner, the collection policy is initiated. Ultimately, the account is turned over to an attorney for collection. The homeowner is responsible for all fees and costs associated with the collection process. Please be aware that the General Collection Policy was adopted November 27, 2012. No doubt, Mr. ***** **** and Ms. **** should have been acutely aware of the Policy, since they experienced a similar problem in 2013 as a result of not paying the Annual Assessment for 2012 and 2013. Thank you for the opportunity to clarify the situation with Ms. **** at Amber Fields Homeowners Association. So in closing, Foster Premier, Inc. is the Agent for the Board of Directors of Amber Fields Homeowners Association and acts under their direction. The Board of Directors makes decision in the best interest of the entire Association. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We never received any Due date on our statements just the date it was mailed, we also never received a copy their reminder policy or any notification that our account was being sent to collection. I have the March statement I received if you would like to see it. I also did not receive the letter that was supposedly mailed in October. I don't think it is justified because of Foster Premier's lack of communication I have to pay $185.00 more than our January and March statements. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/06/03) */ Foster/Premier, Inc. *** ** **** **** **** ***** *** Buffalo Grove, IL XXXXX June 2, 2014 BBB Case # XXXXXXXX ****** Premier, Inc. would like to continue to respond to Ms. ****** ****'s assertions and confusion concerning information which was sent to Ms. ****** **** from the Amber Fields Homeowners Association by ****** Premier, Inc. However, it must be understood that ****** Premier, Inc. is the Agent for Arber Fields Homeowners Association. That means that the Amber Fields Homeowners Association Board of Directors makes all decisions and instructs ****** Premier, Inc. to carry out their instructions. Therefore, it must be understood that ****** Premier, Inc. has no authority to act without direction from the Board of Directors. The following correspondence was mailed upon orders of the Board of Directors to Mr. and Mrs. ****'s residence, and was presumably received since none of the correspondence was returned, was as follows: 1. A budget cover letter dated October 31, 2013 informing each homeowner of the increase in Annual Assessments for 2014 and an extensive reminder of the Amber Fields Homeowners Association collection policy. The 2014 budget was included with the letter. 2. On December 12, 2013, a statement, not a letter was mailed to the **** residence stating the amount of their 2014 Annual Assessment and the due date of January 1, 2014. 3. On March 10, 2014 another statement was mailed to the **** residence stating the late, unpaid Annual Assessment. Obviously, no due date was given as the payment was past due! Please be reminded that the "General Collection Policy" was adopted November 27, 2012, so it was not a new policy. Further Ms. **** has been in collections under this "General Collection Policy" previously. Mr. and Mrs. **** must be reminded that since they continue to fail to pay the Annual Assessment, collection and legal fees continue to accumulate. So in conclusion, ****** Premier, Inc., as the Agent for Arber Fields Homeowners Association Board of Directors, cannot remove any charges from Mr. and Mrs. ****'s account without directions and instructions from the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors does not approve the removal of any fees. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) None of the statements I received in December or March have Due dates, late fees or any mention of our account being sent to collection that is why I am disputing the lawyer fee and the collection fee from Tressler. Also the letter I received in March is dated the 4th so I don't know if we are talking about the same letter or another one was mailed, I only received 1 statement in March.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rotted window trim and leak was reported to management company on 10/12/13 and has not been repaired. Promises to repair have been repeatedly broken.

Desired Settlement: Complete repair

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/30) */ ******************** ******************************* *********************** June 30, 2014 BBB Case ********* Foster Premier would like to respond to *************** who lives in Hidden Lakes Homeowners Association. Foster Premier, Inc. is the Agent for the Board of Directors of Hidden Lakes. The Board of Directors makes all decisions and the Agent carries out the directives of the Board. In ************ case, the decision to replace the trim was approved by the Board and Foster Premier, Inc. arranged for a vendor to carry out the replacement. Unfortunately, it was necessary to special order materials and then once the materials arrived the weather interfered with the installation and repair for an extended period of time. At this point, the trim replacement and the necessary work on the siding were completed on Friday, June 27, 2014. Foster Premier regrets this unavoidable delay in making the repairs. Fortunately at this point, it is our understanding that ********** is pleased with the repairs. In closing, thank you for the opportunity for Foster Premier, Inc. to respond to **********. Foster Premier is happy to report a successful resolution to the issue. Foster Premier, Inc. always strives to manage all Board approved projects as expeditiously as possible. Further, unavoidable delays due to ordering supplies and weather are always regrettable.

9/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 2010 judgement was entered by the court of Lake county, we issued a certified check -Briargate Townhomes OA v. *********, ***** & ****** I., 1466 Doolittle Lane (CBRXX-XXXXX)- Cashier's Check #XXXXX in the amount of $942.93 was issued case was dismissed, now a eviction record was put on my records in after Aug 2013 thru now and I am unable to rent an apartment for my Son (College). Why is this on my record when it was dismissed and why put in there in 2012 way after the fact? I need this resolved as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: Fix this error ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/27) */ Foster/Premier, Inc. *** ** **** Cook Rd., Suite *** ******* ****** IL XXXXX August 27, 2013 BBB Case # XXXXXXXX Foster Premier would like to respond to ***** *********'s concerns and difficulties. Please be aware that Foster Premier is the Agent for the Board of Directors of the Briargate Townhome Association. The Board of Directors makes the decisions and directs the Agent, ******* ***** as a representative of Foster Premier, Inc. While we sympathize with the difficulty ***** ********* is experiencing, it is the Board of Directors who makes the decisions on the appropriate steps and actions to be taken in addressing homeowners who have overdue and unpaid assessments. In the case of this Association, ***** *********'s overdo account was turned over to the Association's collection attorney per the guidelines of the Association. We have contacted the attorney who represented Briargate Townhome Association in this matter. According to him, the eviction action and the balance was satisfied by the payment which ***** ********* referenced. An eviction may remain on a person's record as a result of the court filings. However, the attorney, Briargate Townhome Association, and Foster Premier, Inc as Agent for Briargate, do not report to credit agencies. According to the attorney the best route for ***** ********* to take would be to write a letter to the credit bureau or source of the eviction record and ask that it be expunged. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the concern raised by ***** *********.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Foster-Premier, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart