Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

EPI Management Co., LLC

Phone: (708) 396-1800 View Additional Phone Numbers 14032 Kostner Ave Ste M, Crestwood, IL 60445 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on EPI Management Co., LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 2000 Business started: 12/30/2008 Business started locally: 12/30/2008 Business incorporated 12/30/2008 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Elmore, Director of Management Mr. Scott Adler, Area Manager Ms. Janis Wanland, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Elmore, Director of Management
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Services Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Alternate Business Names
EPI Realty & Management

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

EPI Management Co., LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    14032 Kostner Ave Ste M

    Crestwood, IL 60445


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a flood in my condo due to a clogged pipe outside my building. The association agreed to have my bathroom vanities replaced due to level three water damage. That happened over 5 months ago and still no response. I have made numerous attempts, talking to three different people. There was another issue. A patio was taken out in the unit next to me. The bricks were dumped behind, and on the side of my unit. That was also brought up in my complaint when I spoke to Maria. They are still there!

Desired Settlement: I want what the quote was for my vanities, and for the bricks to be removed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/09) */ Ms ********** is correct in that the Association agreed to replace two of the vanities due to water damage. In talking with the contractor scheduled to effect the replacement, Conerf Construction, EPI was advised that Ms. ********** has selected one of the vanities to be replaced but is reviewing what vanity type she wants for the second vanity. The Contractor has advised EPI that the first vanity selected by Ms. ********** has been received but installation has not been scheduled pending selection of the second vanity. Once Ms. ********** has selected the second vanity then the work will be scheduled for installation at her convenience. Stephen ******/EPI Management Co.

8/11/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: First, to date my assessments are current. As of May 2015 I notified EPI via email that my telephone no has changed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. Although they own and maintain remote equipment to access our comdex bell system, to date, EPI has not changed my telephone no. and it is a terrible inconvenience as I live on the 3rd floor. Also, a previous phone carrier has sold one of my old telephone nos. to a man named "****" who says he lives in Lansing, IL; but he is attached to my name on the XXXXX ********* **** building 1 comdex. It is EPI's responsibility to ensure all Unit owners have access to our bells via the comdex system. I request EPI add my new telephone number expeditiously.

Desired Settlement: Seeking the old, outdated comdex system be replaced to be in compliance with modern technology. This system is no longer secure.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/11) */ Ms ****** is correct in that the existing system is not current technology. Ms. ****** failed to state that the company that installed the entry system is no longer in business and thus no technical support is available. Ms. ****** also failed to explain that the Association does not have current funding to be able to replace the system which is the correct solution to the problem. Ms. ****** may want to explain this issue to the Building Board of Directors at the next open meeting as the Board is well aware of their financial position. In the interim EPI has contacted the manufacturer of the old equipment, who is no longer making replacement parts for the system, so that the modem necessary to re-program the system can be located. To-date the manufacturer has not been able to locate the replacement modem. Once this part is received EPI can then actually program the numbers to the entry system at the front keypad. Ms. ****** can contact "*****" in the Service Department ************** Ext. *** for any updates or can email her at ***** I understand the Owner's frustration with this matter but the issue is comparable to asking EPI to repair the elevator due to a failed part which is no longer available. Summary - EPI will endeavor to work with the manufacturer to locate the failed part and then program the system accordingly and also with the Board to replace the system, pending funds availability. ******* ****** Director of Management

6/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have owned the property at XXXXX s ******* ** for the past 7 years and pay monthly assessments. I had an autopay account set up to pay my account automatically, but experienced technical difficulties as some payments had failed and I was not notified by the bank (10 payments in 24 months). I never received any notification from EPI that payments had not been received in 24 months until I received a summons in the mail yesterday after a huge amount had accumulated in owed funds (1793.84 not including attorney and court fees). If I had been notified, it would have been paid immediately. I tried yesterday and today to contact epi and no one answers the phone or returns my calls. It is an ongoing issue that no one calls back when contacted for any reason. I believe EPI does not notify people of

Desired Settlement: I will pay the assessments owed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ Pursuant to the Owner's complaint I have attached a copy of her ledger sheet showing the charges and payments made by the Owner over the last two years. The statement clearly shows that the Owner has made intermittent remittances over the last two years. The issue of non-payments with the Owner's bank is an issue between the two of them and does not involve the Association nor EPI. With regards to notifications be advised as follows: 1. All Association Members have access to their accounts 24/7 by simply logging into the Member Portal on EPI's Website ( Note that this item has been included in the newsletters issued periodically over the last two years. 2. Notice - Notices were sent every month via first class mail. A final notice was sent certified mail # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX on 10/18/2013. If a response was made to this certified letter no legal action would have been undertaken. 3. ON December 23, 2013 a 30 day demand letter was also sent by the Association's attorney. As of this writing (March 3, 2014) no payment(s) have been received on this account. If payment had been made upon receipt of either of the two certified notices, the matter could have been resolved at that time. 4. Bank Reconciliation - If the Owner had also reconciled their bank statements they would have also seen that payments were not being made in a timely manner. Therefore, in a spirit of compromise the Association will reverse late fees on those payments made anytime during a month even though the payment was late per the Association's rules. This is offered with the understanding that the assessment balance must be paid immediately. Thank you. ******* ******/EPI Management Co. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for your prompt response. I contacted ***** from EPI as well as your attorney on the matter on 3/3/14 and have offered to make payment on the assessments that were not received by EPI. I was advised by ***** that payment had to be made to the attorney and the attorney advised they had to check with EPI to ensure that accepting the payment from me was an acceptable solution. I have not heard back from the attorney as of yet, but I contacted her today at 1130 hrs and left her a message. I contacted my bank to learn about what exactly went wrong with the online billing payment system. I spoke with an employee who advised that all payments that you have reported that were both paid and unpaid to you were sent from the bank prior to the due date and that there was sufficient money in the account to cover every payment. The payments that you reported that you did not receive were marked as "failed" in the system because the payments were returned to the bank, either by the biller or by the post office box the payment was sent to, as undeliverable/incorrect addressee. I can provide you proof that I sent these payments on time to the same exact address I have sent payments to since I purchased the property. I attempted to call the post office to see if the P.O Box that I have been sending the payment to was experiencing problems and was advised that your P.O Box was vacant and was unable to receive mail since it was unassigned. I called ***** at EPI to ask if the P.O. Box address was still valid, to which she advised that she did not know and provided me with another address to make payments to in the future. I am unaware of how random payments were accepted and rejected on a monthly variance by your P.O. Box at this time. I am unaware why I have not received any correspondence from EPI on this matter until now. I have called EPI on two separate occasions in the past to update them with my new address information, as well as forwarded my mail from my previous address through the post office. I have received two "Meeting Reminders" from EPI over the past two years, but I have not received anything advising my account was late, payments were not received, or any of the recent letters who stated that you sent to notify that this account was being turned over to an attorney. I have also never received an assessment book for this new year or received anything advising me that an online account even existed to check to status of my account. If I would have received notice that there was a problem, I would have corrected this matter immediately. I cannot believe that this problem has been going on since 2011 (when I still lived at that address) and that I am just learning about this now. I am a responsible person with a good credit score with zero missed payments to any of my other economic responsibilities. I would like to resolve this matter today and would appreciate a phone call from either you or the attorney to inform me where to send the payment. I can send the check out today for the missed assessments and appreciate you waiving all associated fees per your previous response. I am anxious to close this misunderstanding as soon as possible and appreciate you willingness to work things out. In my last response, I wanted to clarify that I agreed with the business waiving the fees as a resolution, but I was still unsatisfied since I did not know who to make payment to since they have not gotten back to me in reference to making a payment. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/03/24) */ EPI's response of March 18, 2014 to the BBB stated that the Association's attorney has forwarded the funds from the Owner and that the resultant fees have been reversed. The Owner can review her account on the Member Portal to confirm the balance. Therefore EPI has closed its file on this account. ******* ******/EPI Management Co. The Unit Owners account has now been adjusted as all of the assessment payments have been received and that as of 03/17/2014 there is a credit balance on the account of ($2.62) which the Owner should deduct from their next monthly assessment payment. EPI & the Association have now closed this file as all of the Owners demands have been met. ******* ******/EPI Management Co. Per the Owner's email there is nothing more that the Association nor EPI can do for her other than what was stated in my last email: "In any event the Association will reverse the late fees and attorney fees on the account IF the Owner remits full payment for the missed monthly assessment by March 21, 2014". Note that we will contact the Associations attorney to include any payments that may have been sent to them. If all assessments have been paid and the account is current the late fees/legal fees will be reversed. All future payments should be made payable to the Association, c/o EPI at XXXXX S. ******* ******* ***** ** Crestwood, Illinois XXXXX. Note that a new coupon booklet has also been ordered which will take about 15 days to produce. ******* ******/EPI Management Co. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I made payment of all assessments due, which your attorney advised she received on 3/10/14 via certified mail. I did not include late fees or attorneys fees at that time since we are still in discussion over them. I will be faxing and mailing my online bank documents proving that payments were made each and every month prior to the due date in the amount I was last advised to pay. As I have not received a payment coupon book from you for the past two years, I was not aware that the assessment went up. I attempted to call EPI in January 2013 to request a new assessment book and was advised by ***** that there weren't any books available and that the assessment fee did not go up. I also advised her of my new address at that time. I called and spoke to ***** earlier this month about receiving an assessment book for this year, to which she advised she would send one out. ***** would not advise me of the monthly assessment rate for this year, but I gave her my address again. She also advised me she would send me a statement of the payment status if my accounts, but I have not received that or the assessment book yet either. I do not understand why I didn't receive any of the mail you advise that you sent, as I have updated the info with EPI twice over the phone in the last 18 months AND had all of my mail forwarded through the US Postal Service. I assure you that I took every necessary step to ensure a clear path of communication between us. In regards to your P.O. Box not being used for over three years, I have documentation from my bank that shows that you received payments from me to that same P.O. Box on 1/25/13, 3/25/13, 5/31/13, 6/25/13, 7/25/13, 9/25/13, 11/06/13, and 11/21/13. The rest of the monthly payments on record were returned as failed/undeliverable to addressee. Per the US Post Office, this only occurs when the address doesn't exist or the Biller returns the mail themselves. I compared the paid transactions with a statement of payments made given to me by your attorney to verify that the other payments were recorded as received by EPI. I would like to resolve this matter as soon as possible to avoid going to court. I have made payment of all assessments that failed and would appreciate you waiving all late/attorney's fees so we can close out this matter. I am faxing and mailing bank statements to your attorney in the morning as proof of payment per your request. You may contact me at the phone number and address I provided ***** during our last phone conversation 3/4/14. I would appreciate not taking time off of work to sort out this matter in court, so your timeliness on closing this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

3/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have been calling automated phone system for over 10 days trying to get access to payment avenues. Only emergency staff answers and can't resolve anything. Accounting can't resolve. Only **** in Administration can help and she refuses to answer phone messages. Spoke with her today after a week of chasing her down. Asked for owner - she states she is final authority for web access and Owner unavailable. Rude and unhelpful. I said I wouldn't pay late fees, she stated that is accounting and I would have to go through the Automated (ignored) system again. I have never had so much trouble paying someone money. This company deals with Seniors and does not follow through, are rude, and belligerent. Only when I said I filed with BBB did anyone get on the phone. Still waiting for Access as **** is final authority and has to "GRANT" me Access. Carrillon Residents beware of dealings with this company - or get an advocate to help you resolve. no one at this company is accountable.

Desired Settlement: Online Access Granted, late fees waived. Hire helpful poolite staff. Provide Owner information

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/15) */ This issue has to do with the daughter apparently requesting access to her mother's assessment account. ONLY a unit owner has access to financial information unless this office receives written approval from the Owner that another person (daughter/son/brother, etc.) has been given permission to access the Owner's financial data. This office has never received any written permission from the Owner (the owner of the unit in this case is ***** - XXXXXJ). However, access to the Member Portal was granted to the Owner and tested by the undersigned. In additional this particular Owner is on ACH (automatic Direct Payment) and has no late fees charged against her account as monthly payments are automatically made. Therefore for this Complainant to have access to this account she will have to 1) obtain the password from the Owner, 2) have the Owner give us written permission to release this password or 3) to give this person any information regarding this assessment account. Thank you. ******* ******/EPI Management Co. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We still do not have web accesss, in addition I have the password and the access rights as given to me by my mother. In speaking to **** today, she said that there was a technical problem with the web and that I should shoudl try again tomorrow. Since I asked for ACH forms and asked bothe **** and *** to review the account, why wasn't I told that the account was already on ACH? We recieved no written confirmation and have been continuously been given inaccurate information. IF EPI reuires a form for them to speak to me, they should have given me that information. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/02/18) */ Per the Client's update I've attached a current copy of Ms. ********** ledger card which shows the following: 1. $10 has been reversed and is shown on the ledger. 2. The November/December, 2013 & February 2014 payments have been made in a timely manner. 3) It appears that the January 2014 payment was not made NOR the January & February special assessment of $100/month (The Board previously sent notices to all Members) ($100 a month for 12 months). 4) The Member was sent an "ACH" form on January 13, 2014 for direct payments which took effect on 02/01/2014. The February 2014 ACH payment was correctly made. Thus the balance of $350.00 is made up of the January payment ($150) plus the two special assessment of $100.00 each for January & February of 2014. NOTE that no late fees have been charged to the unit for the January assessment nor the missed special assessment charges for January/February 2014. ******* ******/EPI Management Co. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Here is a copy of the current statement from today - it still shows $160 due, $10 from NSF from prior owner. When I called EPI accounting I am told that only ******* can discuss this account. I have never had a return phone call. I actually pleaded with the girl to look at the account and jsut resolve but was told no, she can't. Attaching a copy of the statement I just ran this morning, still shows open charges. I am also attaching a Word Dcounment that shows the screen from the EPI system, hopefully that is more legible. I have removed her name for privacy, but it is on the PDF. please do not publish. I wrote to the "contact us" on the website and just asked that they remove the erroneous changes, but never heard a response. Future contracts are of no concern to me, I have no comment on that. I can only relay how my Mother and I have been treated. Statement for Chelsea at Carillon - Unit XXXXXJ - 11/01/2013 Date Ref Transaction Name Payee Comments Amount Balance View Opening Balance $0.00 $0.00 View 10/28/2013 2985 Member Payment Created via Imported Lockbox Bank file ($140.00) ($140.00) View 10/31/2013 Transfer to New Unit Transferred balance from old owners accounts, last pmt was nsf. $10.00 ($130.00) View 11/01/2013 Assessment $140.00 $10.00 View 12/01/2013 Assessment $140.00 $150.00 View 12/04/2013 3009 Member Payment Created via Imported Lockbox Bank file ($140.00) $10.00 View 01/01/2014 Assessment $150.00 $160.00

2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2012 I brought a BBB complaint (case#XXXXXXXX) against EPI-for sending to me to lawyer/collections over an amount due that I had in fact paid. Recently I had 2 pipes burst in my condo. 2 weeks later I receive a demand/collections letter sent certified mail to a home that I don't live in anymore as it is uninhabitable due to water damage. Once again they are threatening/harassing me saying I "consistently carry a negative balance". I immediately provided 2 cancelled checks totaling over $620 that were not credited to my account. Off the bat. Once again I am inconvenienced & have to go through all of my paperwork to provide cancelled checks for checks EPI cashed yet neglected to credit to my account. I am bullied into providing them payment information - so that they can then update my account accordingly.

Desired Settlement: As it looks like my account is being flagged - if I call for help (example: burst pipes flooding my home) it seems they automatically want to then threaten to send me to a lawyer. Does this happen for EVERYONE in the association - if they are deemed 2 months behind do they automatically get a demand for notice letter & then have to prove their innocence/paid dues? All I want is for them to do their job so I am not inconvenienced by having to repeatedly do it for them. I want them to go through my account and make sure it is accurate. this is the 4th time I have received threatening letters with incorrect statements.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/29) */ Attached to this response is a copy of the Unit Owner's account statement which denotes the debits and credits charged against the account along with a description of each entry (i.e. late fee, gas charge, payments, etc.). The ledger reflects what has been charged and paid by the Unit Owner. The Unit Owner can review the "PAYMENTS" column to review if she has any checks that have not been properly credited against her account. If there are any such checks all she had to do is send us a copy of any such check (EPI will pay her bank for any charges incurred for check copies if EPI made an error) and we will review the payment accordingly. With regards to her account being "flagged" EPI has never had such a policy now, in the past, nor will have in the future. Unfortunately its the management company's job to collect back charges which Owners have not remitted. A 30 day certified letter is sent as a final warning after which another 30 day letter is sent by the Association's attorney thus the Owner has 60 days in which to present any un-recorded payments. If an error is made then all fees are immediately reversed. With regards to the two months issue the Owner is correct in that the Board of Directors has issued a directive to EPI that any account over 60 days is to be sent for collection. Account - As EPI does not have access to the Owner's records there is no way EPI can determine what the Owner intended relative to a payment. We can only show what the credit/payment was. In looking at the statement it is clear as to what payments have been recorded with the corresponding check numbers also listed. The Owner can go through their check-book to be sure all payments were made and if a payment was not recorded check with their bank to be sure the check actually cleared. In most cases the matter can be cleared up as the actual check copies are retained by EPI and we just need the number/date of the check. NOTE that EPI cannot tell the Owner exactly which month(s) were missed as EPI does not know what the owner's intent was in making a payment. Example - this Owner made a payment of $620.06 but did not indicate which months it was for nor what the amount paid was for - we "presume" that it was for two months of assessments and two late fees. Again a review of the "Payments" column of the ledger will show what payments were recorded and EPI just needs the check number, amount, and date from the Owner's checkbook in order to determine the disposition of that payment(s). Thank you. ******* ******/EPI Management Co. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) All I ask is for EPI to apply payments correctly to accounts, prior to sending out certified letters. Every check I send in for dues is sent with the coupon from the provided coupon book that lists the month & check # that payment applies to. Also if you note on all of the information provided to EPI today (see attached PDF) every single check states in the description what it relates to & what month. The truth is that the payments on my account are current & up to date. I cannot say the same for their recordkeeping. I responded to the first email stating that July 2013 dues were missing as were legal fees. I provided all of that backup via email & UPS. Today I got another email stating that really the past due amount was for April 2013 & gas fees (see attached pdf)? They don't know what they are asking me to prove. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/07) */ Per the Owner's comment the assessment ledger card attached to my last response included all payments correctly recorded. Attached to that response was a copy of the checks that she had also recently sent which have also been credited to her account. Therefore, as of this writing all of her payments have been correctly posted to her account. Also as previously stated she can review her account 24/7 by accessing the Member Portal to review all activity on the account. At this juncture EPI has done what the Owner has requested. ******* ******/EPI Management Co.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: EPI Management LLC has seemingly taken on a bunch of properties that they cannot handle. The buildings are dated, yet they have been presented with numerous ideas to help them get ahead. The event that I would like to formally complain about took place in the recent deep freeze experienced throughout Chicago. My wife placed a phone call to EPI to inform them our water was not working at our kitchen sink, cold water specifically. The phone call was made January 6th at 1pm, as soon as we noticed the water was not working. We had been home, heat up, and using the sink all morning. We didn't have a response until much later, around 7pm, when a plumber was sent to our house to assess the problem. He attempted to unfreeze the line only to sit for upwards of 3 hours with no results. It came to his attention around 10 or 10:30pm that there was another service complaint, for the same thing, on the first floor of our building as well as the second. Both units are directly below ours, so he was never going to be able to fix our problem without fixing the pipes below ours first. My mind was totally boggled by the stupidity in executing the work orders in a fashion that would no doubt yield zero results for us, not to mention, put others at risk. If the first floor frozen pipe was given proper attention first, no one above would have had any problems. I believe this delay is directly what lead to a much bigger problem that the building experienced. That problem being burst pipes and an inch of water covering the whole first floor of the building causing an unknown amount of damage, but I can only believe to be catastrophic to those living on the first floor. The heart of my complain comes from EPI telling me right off the bat, that it was my fault my pipes froze, and I should have known to run my water with weather so cold, although I was doing that to begin with. To make matters worse, the plumber insisted on breaking through the dry-wall below my sink to expose the brick, as well as cracking through the cabinet base and destroying it as a byproduct of his having to work in the confined space, all in effort to get more contact with his de-freezer on the pipe. He said to me that the management company would fix it, no problem. I have a wife and we are expecting our first child any moment now, and when I initially spoke with EPI, they said to call my insurance company. The next time, *****, the lady in charge of service in my building, said she would contact the plumber and get right back to me. It has since been a week and I have not heard a word from her or EPI. I have called and left several messages indicating the importance of the matter, as I have no interest in bringing my baby home to a house with a destroyed sink cabinet, exposed brick, and a path for mice to find their way into my house. I am tempted to file a child-endangerment complaint with a lawyer. EPI tends to kick the can down the road when they are on the hook for things, and I have had enough of it. Their inability to deal with maintaining the properties they manage in a timely manor is maddening. This is all on top of many other issues we have had with them including; sending us several un-warrented fines due to their bookkeeping mistakes, which they have eventually acknowledged after lengthy reviews and wrecking havoc on our bank statements, failing to deal with crime in the area in a timely manor, and having to repeatedly re-visit our place to redo repairs in certain areas up to three and four times. They seem to be shady to me, and I am very upset with being ignored over something that is so vital to my newborn's health. I have cleaning supplies sitting out because there is now no place to safely store them.

Desired Settlement: I want EPI to fix the dry-wall their plumber tore up, as well as the cabinet base that was destroyed in his failed attempts to unfreeze our pipes. I think they should also have to replace my kitchen faucet that was damaged and broken due to the freezing on the first floor, if only because it could have been avoided if they had any clue how pipes freeze-from the ground up. I have resigned to replacing the faucet myself because it needs to be done this century. If I get a mold problem or a rodent problem, in my condo because of their inaction, I will be furious and will seek legal advice against them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/29) */ With regards to the Owner's complaint we concur that the Plumber should have contacted the owner's directly below this unit to determine whether or not they had water and could have isolated the issue much quicker as the water supply comes in on the first floor and goes up the tiers. However, priority was given to those unit owners on the floors (1st floors all of them, that had broken pipes which was causing flooding into the units/hallways, etc. We also concur that the Service Department could have responded in a better fashion and apologize for that to the Owner. It should be noted that that Service Operator has been removed from that property and replaced with another service person with more experience. With regards to the frozen pipes NO ONE, including the Board Members several who have lived on the property for over 10 years, knew which units were exposed to freezing as the temperature had never dropped to the recent temperatures for the last 10 years. Note also that there were 4 units, out of 325 that had frozen pipe issues and as of this date all of those repairs have been made to insure this does not happen again. IN contacting the plumber it was noted that water was returned to this unit within 24 hours, once the pipes were repaired. With regards to EPI stating that the Owner would be responsible for repairs our Service People were instructed that the Owner "MAY" be responsible for repairs to the frozen pipe depending on what the plumber found. Two Owners in that property had actually left for vacation and had shut their heat off which caused adjacent pipes to freeze. If the Owner did not contribute to the cause of the freeze then there would be no charge, if he did then there would be a charge. for the record the Board renewed the EPI contract simply on the basis of the numerous improvements installed in the last two years, the same reason Association's B & D also have. With regards to the repairs the Owner has been contacted and EPI will pledge to have the unit restored to the Owner's satisfaction In addition if the faucet was damaged due to freezing the Association will also replace the faucet at no expense to the Owner. The Owner should contact "*****" via email if he wishes this work to be done. IN summary we apologize for any inconvenience caused to the Owner, however, these were extraordinary circumstances. With regards to any other items the Owner should feel free to email the undersigned directly if they have any other issues with EPI and I will be glad to assist them (*** - addressed to S. ******. Thank you. ******* ******/EPI Management Co.

1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been paying association fees since June of 2012 when I moved into ******* at Carillon. I received a letter on December 26, 2013 stating that I have an outstanding balance of $840.00. I have never received a notice prior to this. The letter states that if I do not pay within seven days my account will be turned over to a collection agency and the Association may put a lien on my home. I am very upset because the letter is dated December 18, 2013 but I did not receive it until December 26, 2013.

Desired Settlement: I would like all late fees to be waived and I need to understand what payment was late so that I do not have this problem again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/03) */ Note that the Unit Owner was sending her monthly assessment payments to the Master Association instead of the Homeowners Association which resulted in the late fees. However, based on Ms. ***********'s prior payment history all late fees have been reversed. Note that all Homeowners can review their assessment account 24/7 by registering on the EPI website (*** ******* ****** - EPI Management Co., LLC Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have attempted to contact EPI in order to determine the amount I owe. I have received nothing in writing. My attempts to reach EPI by phone have been unsuccessful. I have left messages but have not received a response. I do not feel confident that late fees have been reversed since I have not been contacted by EPI with information regarding my balance due. Nor have I received any information in writing. I have attempted to access the new EPI website but I have been unsuccessful. I have been able to access the EPI website to find my balance due. None of the late fees have been reversed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/10) */ Per Ms. ***********'s response the late fees HAVE been reversed (copy of statement attached). Unfortunately I do not understand the comment that she has been unable to contract EPI as her request for the late fee reversal has been met ($120 reversal shows on attached ledger card). Also see prior response to the BBB question about her payments, which I again reiterate, were sent to the wrong Association. If the Owner had paid her assessments to the correct Association this matter would not have occurred. EPI has therefore closed this matter as all of the Owner's requests have been made. Thank you. ******* ******/EPI Management Co.

12/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per my last compliant I sent in incorrectly... They say I owe $2500 and I don't most was included in my BK 7 in Jan 2012 which they were very well informed of.. I have never missed a payment since and can prove it.. This is the short version. They are also and have for 8 years put false charges on my bill which I only receive every two years.. I have only received 3 gas bills in almost two year and then they add charges!! They are corrupt check all the other complaints. I have called a lawyer on this I do NOT owe $2500. It was included in my bk and they send me this letter 1 year and 7 months later? ***** and ****** please help they are causing me anxiety which I am talking to my lawyer about. Also, they are charging me for storage which I don't have. They will not return my calls and they are wrong. They have put so much angst and drama in my life the last 7 plus years I will contact state attorney as well, I've had enough lies and false charges and bullying. I have owned this condo for almost 10 years! Except for a few late charges on my part I don't even owe anywhere near $2500!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please help, Thanks. Product_Or_Service: Management company

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Zero balance on behalf of BK 7 except for the few late charges I incurred.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/18) */ Attached for the Owner's records is a spread-sheet that denotes the current balance that she owes the Association. Note that the debits and credits are detailed on the attached ledger. If the Owner shows that there have been payments made (and cleared her bank) that copies should be forwarded to my attention. Thank you. ******* ****** - EPI Management Co.

12/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: $1998 was supposed to be included in Jan of 2012 in a BK 7 not only that I have false charges added on like they have been doing for 8 yrs.. False charges for 8 years now!!!!!!!!!!! I haven't missed a payment since my bk per my lawyer. Also, there are storgage charges and I don't have storage!!! They were informed about my BK 7 and 1 year and 7 months later send me a letter that I owe them! I am also going to contact the state attorney these people are the legal mafia. Someone needs to **** in after all this time. I don't owe $2500 not even close, not even a little bit, I can prove it with all my bank statements and checks I sent them in the last 1 year and 9 months. They are crooks and keep adding on lawyers and other charges that are false and need not be there. Please read the other millions of complaints on these crooks. They need to leave me alone I've owned this condo for almost 10 years and they need to hire a new manager and competent accounts. Plus, they NEVER send me gas bills I've received 3 in the last 1 year and 7 months and then they just add on late charges but they do not send statements ever! Please Help! I have contacted a lawyer as well. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: My balance to be back to zero except for 3 late charges on my part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/16) */ Unfortunately I cannot locate 1) the Complainants name on the complaint,2)the address where the person lives, nor 3) the Association' name. Without this information I cannot locate the appropriate records. Stephen Elmore/EPI Management Co.

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We've been contacting the association for over a year regarding the animals/raccoons that continue to get in the attic directly above my condo. The association keeps putting a bandaid on the issue, but the raccoons continue to return. We've been more than patient dealing with this issue, but now are at a breaking point as it doesn't seem to be a big deal to the association. We've been getting woke up almost every night within the past year to scratching sounds, and the animals running around right above my bedroom. We now have a stain on our ceiling that was never there. I don't know if its caused by a dead animal or animal feci

Desired Settlement: I want the association to take responsibility and hire a professional to figure out how the animals are getting into the attic and fix the issue. They claim to have already done so, but obviously the professional they hired did not get the job done. They also have to hire a professional to properly clean the attic as raccoon fecies is very dangerous and unhealthy, I've researched raccoon infestations and it states raccoon fecies can cause dangerous respiratory problems in people. They also need to replace the insulation as it is torn to shreds by the animals.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** - Area Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *** Pursuant to the captioned the Owner appeared at the Board of Directors meeting on November 11, 2013. At that time the Owner advised the Board of Directors that she had a continuing problem of animals gaining access to the attic area and that the soffit area adjacent to the roof was loose. The Board then authorized management to expend the necessary funds (management is only allowed to expend $1000 without the express approval of the Board) and send out contractors to inspect the area and take whatever corrective action that was appropriate to repair the soffit. Management sent out Lang Roofing Company, an Illinois Licensed Roofer to repair the soffit and all work on this item was completed on November 20. Management then sent out Aurora Roofing Company, a licensed Illinois roofer, to inspect all areas of the roofing/soffit, etc. who found an area on the gable end where animals could possibly gain access and made appropriate repairs to secure the area. Management then also sent RCH Roofing Company, an Illinois Licensed Roofer and Suburban Maintenance Services, an Illinois Licensed Roofer to re-inspect the roof to insure all potential access areas had been sealed. Both firms reported that they could not locate any areas of access for animals. On November 27 the Owner reported that an animal had been caught in a trap and the animal was subsequently removed on November 28 (Thanksgiving morning). Subsequently Trap This, an Illinois Licensed trapper, inspected the attic area for additional animals and could find none. He also reported that the condition of the attic area was satisfactory and that he could not determine any health issues. The Association has continued to check on traps set in the attic area on a daily basis from November 29 through the date of this response. To-date no additional animals have been caught nor has the Owner of the Unit reported any noise. The Association will continue to monitor the traps for an additional 10 days after which the traps will be removed from the attic areas. After that date and presuming that no additional animals are caught in the traps the Association will close out this work order. ******* ******/EPI Management Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We have not heard any more animals in the attic. Hoping this was the final repair needed to keep them out. I've spoken with ***** ****** directly and I'm to keep them posted if I happen to hear any additional noises in the attic. I would like the stain on my ceiling inspected, but will contact my insurance company first. If advised differently, I will contact the association directly.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on EPI Management Co., LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart