Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Draper and Kramer, Incorporated

Phone: (312) 346-8600 Fax: (312) 346-6059 View Additional Phone Numbers 55 E. Monroe St. Floor 39, Chicago, IL 60603 http://www.draperandkramer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Draper and Kramer, Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Draper and Kramer, Incorporated include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Draper and Kramer, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Draper and Kramer, Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1956 Business started: 01/01/1893 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1893 Business incorporated 06/21/1927 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Forrest D. Bailey, President & CEO Ms. Linda Anders Ms. Gail Eubanks, Human Resources Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Forrest D. Bailey, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Gail Eubanks, Human Resources Director
Related Businesses
Draper and Kramer Mortgage Corp. DK Living
Business Category

Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Investors Apartments Real Estate - Commercial Real Estate - Industrial Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Alternate Business Names
Draper & Kramer Draper & Kramer, Incorporated Draper and Kramer

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Draper and Kramer, Incorporated has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 55 E. Monroe St. Floor 39

    Chicago, IL 60603

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 12th I & friend went to 2 Wheaton center to apply for an apartment upon entering the leasing office i spoke to the lady ( **** ) and she walked me over the property going over things needed and info of the property she let me know of the fees needed to apply for the which are as follows one-time fee of $75 pp app fee and a $150 admin fee which i was told was refunded if i fail to be approved for the apartment or if i choose not to move in within 3 days of being approved all my info was entered on an Ipad which kept crashing in the middle of me putting in my info after finishing she told me that my " friend would need to enter his info as well even thou i told her i was the only moving into the 1 bedroom she still said he needed to fill it out , at the end i was charged $235.15 which was more then i was which should have been $225 she said " oh i forgot to tell you there was a $10 processing fee as well " but i was like ok what ever , they called me 2 days later saying the apartment was mine to fax over my pay stub which i did from my office then later that day she called me leaving a message saying i needed to send my paystub by end of day that day , didnt have time to return her call by the end of day then she called me 3 times after that play phone tag her last message was very rude saying that if she didn't hear from ME THAT DAY BY 5 pm she would have to cancel my app , never saying that my $150 admin fee wouldn't be refunded then on Oct 2nd i find out they put a charge off on my credit report saying i owed $237.00 don't know where that amount came from but i have tired to call them 6 different times also tired call Draper and Kramer which own the property and have yet to hear back from them . i feel they should have tired to contact me before placing on my credit , never give me the chance to dispute the amount of find out what happen for that reason i am filing this complaint

Desired Settlement: i would like to see this removed from my credit report as inaccurate info on my report plus violating my rights under the Fair Credit Reporting Act

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* AVP
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****************************
After reviewing the applicants file, we found the charge was disputed unbeknownst to the applicant by his CC company, and the balance due was accurate. It was determined that the collection agency had inaccurate phone and mail contact information so he never received notification. Due to the confusion, he paid the balance due, and the collection will be removed from his credit report by the agency.

9/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The reason for my letter is to express our frustration about the apartment we have rented in your Building. We signed a contract and were promised to receive the apartment on May 25th. We provided the $495.oo to take the apartment out the market, paid for the application, got approved and everything is confirmed. A few days ago, after we already contracted a moving company, pay airlines tickets from my children to come and travel to Chicago to assist with the moving, take our cars, return our current house, transfer utilities, reserve elevators, cancel meetings, ask for days off at work, paid for warehouse, the leasing office informed us (yesterday) that the apartment will not be ready. We have a few discussions with a leasing office persona, at one point ********* contacted us trying to find a solution and she proposed to discuss with Business Manager and find a solution. She called us and told that there was a unit available on the same floor, smaller and cheaper; I mentioned to her that we really want the apartment we signed for, as we even purchased furniture according to the drawing in the measurement of the drawings (layout) we received when we signed for the apartment. She mentioned that we can probably live there until June 7th when the promised apartment now is going to be ready, I told her I will discuss this with my husband to discuss and get back to her today. Today I contacted her to confirm that my husband agreed on this even though there will be extra charges to move the things again. When I called today to confirm and explain ********* that since we transfer the utilities already, how we will manage that week, she put me on hold and discuss this with property manager and now she told that the property manager said that there is no way we can live in that apt for a week, and the transfer to the other one, that we will have to take either the smaller one or wait for the one we signed for is available. This is unbelievable, after we were promised they "will make it right for us". This is not acceptable, furthermore I feel the property manager, who never spoke to us, never took ownership, he should have contacted us directly to address this major issue. I cringe to the idea that this represents what we may expect after we move. Today after discussion with *********, and expressing my frustration I told her that I will wait until June when the apartment will be ready, she promised that this time it will be ready. Then I contacted my husband, who is traveling for business, and he is absolotely furious and frustrated for the situation and now at this point we are seriously thinking to find another place. We noticed there is not ownership or not a person to be accountable for this mistake that is causing tremendous stress and financial implications to our family. We want to understand what steps are you going to take to address this issue. This is in no way shape or form making it right for us.

Desired Settlement: a similar apartment for the date promised

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** ***** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX We have worked with the client to resolve the issue. They will be moving into the property next week.

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister was living at The OAKS at *** s. **** ******** ******* ** XXXXX sense about 10/1/ 1998 in the same apartment . She past away APRIL 7, 2014 Everything was turn in and i clean the apartment out by April 21. There was a walk through and it was noter that it was smoke damage because my sister smoke !!! **** the lady who said there may be an extra paint needed . I asked her when was the last time the apartment was painted could not give me an answer . Because the apartment never has been painted sense my sister move there 16 years ago , and that she has past away with cancer from smoking there trying not to refund any money !! Reguardless of that even if she didn't smoke they was going to haft to paint the apartment for the new tenants . This is a small one bedroom and living room which they claim was damage 5 gallons of kilz would have been enough to cover the two rooms for about $75.00 But the fact remains the same never been painted !!!

Desired Settlement: $200.00 is what i think is fair , but not to paint in 16 years and than expect a person to lose there refund because you can take it . If DRAPER AND KRAMER thinks that right then they should be sadly mistaken .It should have taken no more than 5 gallons of primer for that apartment the reason that i know that is i paint myself . So i guess that if there was not any smoke damage they were not going to paint or do anything else in the apartment . My sister has no one to speak for her but me and this is why i am filing this complaint it's a shame this has to come to this but i have no other choice .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ******** Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@DKLivingApts.com When we received the keys to the apartment we did a walk through with the family member. During the inspection we verbally informed the family member due to the heavy smoke stain throughout the apartment if there were additional charges beyond the regular paint cost due to the smoke those charges would be billed back to the apartment. We do not charge for a regular apartment painting. However if there are damages and we are invoiced above the regular paint work, those charges are charged back to the unit. The person who lived in the apartment did not want her apartment painted and refused painting during her residency. The lease terms state the resident is responsible for damages and the heavy smoke stain is considered damage. Per the lease agreement: 6. Condition of Dwelling Unit: By signing this Agreement, the Tenant acknowledges that the unit is safe, clean and in good condition. The Tenant agrees that all appliances and equipment in the unit are in good working order, except as described on the Unit Inspection Report which is Attachment No. 2 to this Agreement. The Tenant also agrees that the Landlord has made no promises to decorate, alter, repair or improve the unit, except as listed on the Unit Inspection. 8. Security Deposits The Landlord will hold this security deposit for the period the Tenant occupies the unit. After the Tenant has moved from the unit, the Landlord will determine whether the Tenant is eligible for a refund of any or all of the security deposit. The amount of the refund will be determined in accordance with the following conditions and procedures. b. After the Tenant has moved from the unit, the Landlord will inspect the unit and complete another Unit Inspection Report. The Landlord will permit the Tenant to participate in the inspection, if the Tenant so requests. 2. damages that are not due to normal wear and tear and are not listed on the Unit Inspection Report. d. The Landlord will also give the Tenant a written list of charges that were subtracted from the deposit. Maintenance: b. The Tenant agrees to: (1) keep the unit clean As agent for the owner, I have met all lease terms pertaining to the Security Deposit. The tenant agrees to keep the unit clean and the landlord may apply the security deposit to damages that are not due to normal wear and tear and are not listed on the Unit Inspection Report. The move in unit inspection does not show the walls as being heavily smoked stained. Upon move out the walls were heavily smoked stained. To apply the security deposit to the cost above and beyond the cost of a regular paint job is within lease terms. The complainant was informed of this during the move out inspection and did receive documentation to support the additional painting charge. The complaint was given proper accounting of funds and additional charges. If you would like to have copies of the lease, move out inspection and invoice of charges, please let me know.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company engaged us to refinance our home. After the initial conversation with their representative ***** ****** we agreed. Everything that was promised and discussed turned out to be untrue. 1- He said we would get a certain APR rate, that we did not end up getting. 2- He said there would be no closing fees, whatsoever, and we ended up paying closing fees (1800+) 3- He said that we would not have to pay the next two payments, and now that is not true either. 4- He said that you were positive that if I were to clear that one credit issue, that you would be able to help fix the credit score and get us a better deal, and he was not able to do that either. Yet, they kept pushing and coerced us into refinancing into an unfavorable circumstances and financial benefit. Furthermore, this broker had repeatedly and clearly stated that we would not have to pay the first two months of our mortgage payments, yet it turned out that this was untrue as well. We tried to communicate with the representative Kelly, others as well as the president **** ******* to no avail. We feel that this company's business practices are dishonest, disingenuous and illegal. We intend to escalate this matter if it is not resolved asap.

Desired Settlement: we are seeking a full payment of 2638.75

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Controller Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@1AMLLC.com Response to borrower's allegations: 1. Borrower's rate changed because he had credit issues that were not disclosed upfront. 2. As the rate changed due to borrower credit issues, the lender credit to cover closing costs was also impacted. Again, due to borrower credit issues. 3. Loan officer stated to borrower that if he closed in the first few days of the month, he would not have to make a payment for the month in which he refinanced as well as the following month. The closing did not take place until later in month; therefore borrower did not have to make the next months payment. 4. Loan officer told borrower that once credit issues were resolved that it may take time for credit scores to go up. Borrower was told that a refinance at a later date may be possible at a lower rate after scores improved. Borrower closed his mortgage refinance on 01/29/14. He paid for January interest at the closing on his HUD document. The interest for February is due with the 03/01/14 payment. Therefore, he does not make a 02/01/14 payment as he paid January interest at closing. This is the payment he misses. Mortgage interest is due in arrears. If he had closed in early January, he would have missed the 01/01/14 and 02/01/14 payment, but he still would have paid the same amount of interest. The payoff to the current investor would have covered the missed 01/01/14 payment (December interest) and he would have paid for January interest at the closing. The next payment would have been 03/01/14, which is for February interest. Borrower signed a note, a mortgage and a first payment letter stating his next payment would be due on 03/01/14. Therefore, he would not make a payment on 02/01/14 only. He understood at closing that he would not skip 2 months payments. Four different representatives with Draper and Kramer have explained to the borrower how the mortgage refinancing process and payments work, to no avail. We disagree that Draper and Kramer did anything dishonest, disingenuous or illegal. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The main issue is the verbal communications and promises given by the lender were all untrue. Irregardless of how they spin it, a business is as good as it's. Employee's word, especially a V. P.'s word. We still feel that this company was not honest and genuine. We could have easily gotten a much better deal with other companies. But we felt pressured and coerced into this deal. We were told that we would not have to pay two months mortgage even at the very last moments before the closing. We took the lender's VP. Word as a certainty, not realizing that it was a bait and switch deal. Very disappointed. Unhappy and unsatisfied. Will most likely seek remedy elsewhere if nit resolved here. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/19) */ Draper and Kramer stands by the loan officer who states he never guaranteed the borrower would miss two payments. We dispute that the borrower was coerced into this mortgage. The borrower signed the closing documents in agreement that his first payment would be on 03/01/14 and they would therefore only miss one payment, the 02/01/14 payment. Draper and Kramer explained to borrower that daily interest is due to either the current investor or Draper and Kramer regardless of the date of closing. If the loan closed early in the month, the payoff to the current investor would have been higher to include that interest. Therefore borrower would have received less cash back from this transaction. The net cash to the borrower would have been the same regardless of the time of the month the loan closed. Borrower was also given the standard 3 day rescission period after the closing in which they could have cancelled this transaction. Borrower did not execute that option. This option is available to borrower allowing them to cancel anytime with 3 business days after closing. Borrower does not contact Draper and Kramer to execute this option, they contact the title company directly. If borrower felt coerced during the process, they could have cancelled directly with title company and avoided any contact with loan officer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Simply put, this company is dishonest. They are the equivalent of a cheap used car salesman. They say a lot of things that end up being untrue. Then, they claim, well you signed the contract. I will never do business with this company. I will never recommend this company, because of its illegal bait and switch business practices.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Draper and Kramer, Incorporated
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart