Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Community Specialists, LP

Phone: (312) 337-8691 Fax: (312) 337-8957 680 N Lake Shore Dr Ste 1326, Chicago, IL 60611 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.communityspecialists.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Community Specialists, LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Community Specialists, LP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Community Specialists, LP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 15, 2000 Business started: 08/01/1994 Business started locally: 08/01/1994 Business incorporated 06/30/1994 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ron L. Hickman, President/Managing Direct
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron L. Hickman, President/Managing Direct
Business Category

Property Management Association Management Condominiums Real Estate Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Alternate Business Names
Community Specialists

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Community Specialists, LP has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 680 N Lake Shore Dr Ste 1326

    Chicago, IL 60611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On may 10th an assessment check in the amount of $ 977.00 was submitted to Community Specialists for May assessments. On June 12th a complaint was filed, suing me for the month of May in addition to the month of may, even though Junes assessment wasn't even scheduled to incur a late fee until 6/10! I received nothing in the way of verbal, email, or any other communication that this payment had not yet arrived! A simple phone call, or email notifying me that they had not received payment could have circumvented this whole situation. Instead they run to the cook co. courthouse and file suit against me!? For one month's assessments!? Completely unprofessional, and unethical!

Desired Settlement: Remove the suit against me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/24) */ To Whom it may concern: Mr. ***** *****, of ***** ********, unit ***** has significant amounts due for his condominium association assessment payments. Requests for payment were sent by management and the delinquency has continued. As the result of this, the Board of Directors of the Association requires that the issue be turned over to their collection attorney. The following is the information I have on this matter: 1. On June 3, 2015 ******** & ***** the Association's attorney, filed a Breach of Contract suit for all amounts owed the Association on that date, $2,444.00. 2. As of this date, ***** ***** account is still delinquent for $2,444.00. 3. Additionally, ***** *****'s unit is in foreclosure and the foreclosure sale was scheduled for June 18th. I was told that Mr. ***** filed bankruptcy prior to the 18th and the sale did not take place on that date. Let me know if you need any additional information on this matter. Sincerely, *** ******* Community Specialists

5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in Cityview Condominiums in Chicago, IL at the *** N ******* ***** **** Chicago, IL, XXXXX. Unit is owned by my brother, he also owns another unit in the same building Unit ****** I am currently remodeling my unit's kitchen, adding a washer/dryer combination unit and my contractor provided all the necessary information, along with the drawings/plans to the Building Management(Community Specialists). A licensed plumber worked in the unit, he got the permit from the City of Chicago. However, my building manager told me that I need to wait for their Engineering Company(McGuire Engineers) to get their approval. I said fine and asked what the cost would be for that thinking it will be couple hundred dollars. The answered I got was shocking, the building manager said it would be $800 and she said it would be possibly cheaper if we took a pic and sent it to them. I told the building manager that we did the same renovation about 2 years ago and never paid for that kind of fee. She said you are wrong and she would provide a document. I haven't heard from her for two days, at the mean time I called ******* Engineers and talked to someone named *******, I gave her all the information, address, unit number and dates, she could not see any bill for that type of work and she told me that she is the accounting manager. ******* also told me their Engineers fee is usually $174 for the hour for inspection such as ours(she thought $800 was a little too much as well). My building manager, ****** **** searched for two days and came up with a bill that we had never seen or told for two years. No one told us that we would be billed, no one came to the unit #1001, my contractor is positive that no one has ever been to the unit #1001 from the McGuire Engineers (supposedly a person named *** ********* was there). My brother or my contractor never gave a permit to anyone to inspect it back that time two years ago. If they entered the unit with no permission it is not ok for many different reasons already, but I know for a fact that ********** Engineer has never been at the unit ****** cause my mother and aunt were visiting from Turkey during that time and they were both at the residence and they don't recall anyone coming in to inspect anything. However, on the bill that building manager ****** **** provided, it shows that *** *********** spent 3.5 hours in the unit and took a cab from his office and cab back to his office and expensed it. ****** ***** the building manager basically apologized for the overlook and said she would charge to my brother's unit #1001 for the previous renovation as she overlooked. Let's say that someone came to inspect a done plumbing job, how long will take for a professional engineer to look and know if it is done right or wrong? 3.5 hours??? Really??? I have asked at least dozen of Engineers and plumbers( I work at a hotel and I work with a lot of Engineers) they all said no more than 15 minutes. Last week on Friday I talked to ******* again from the ******* Engineers and told her that I would like to hire them directly and she said it is absolutely possible, but at the moment *** Petersons was out of the office, she said she would let him know on following Monday which was April 21, 2014 and possibly he would get back to me with in a day or two to schedule. I have not heard from *** Petersons for a week and Building Manager sent me an email today asking me if I want *** Petersons to come in to my unit or not, but I cannot get billed directly as they represent the building. Well, at this point I feel like I am surrounded with really bad practices and I want Better Business Bureau to show me a way to handle this before I ask my attorney's legal advise. Kind Regards, Your Desired Resolution: I am asking ******* to send me an Engineer for inspection while my contractor is present and do the inspection and charge me directly accordingly.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to talk to the Managing Director of my Building Manager for some other serious ongoing issues regarding the staff and the management we currently have. I prefer to discuss these in person or on the phone instead of via email.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ Dear Better Business Bureau; We responded on 4/30/14 to an email sent on 4/27/14 to us from the owner of units #604 and 1001. The owner's email of 4/27/14 outlined his issues in a very detailed manner. The gist of our response to the owner's 4/27/14 email was that his email, which outlined in detail his issues, was being forwarded to the Board of Directors of the Association, who are the governing body and key authority at the Association. Our firm as the Association's manager, and its on-site employees are directed by and report to the Association's Board of Directors. In essence, the Board is the decision making body and the unit owner's concerns needed to be directed to the Board since only the Board can give management direction on this matter. On 5/1/14, the unit owner sent an email which thanked us and asked some additional questions, to which we have responded. We want to make the Better Business Bureau aware of the basic business relationships in this matter. The owner of these units at the Association is not the individual who sent the complaint to the BBB on 4/25/14. (As stated above: the unit owner sent an email communication to management on 4/27/14 outlining his issues, to which email we have since responded). The Association's relationship is with the owner of the units. The person who sent the complaint to the BBB occupies unit #604 as a non-owner resident related to the actual unit owner. In essence, the person who complained about our firm and the Association has an occupancy relationship with the unit owner, not the Association or its management.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Community Specialists, LP
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart