Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Comar Properties Inc.

Phone: (630) 889-9600 Fax: (630) 889-0300 View Additional Phone Numbers 1S660 Midwest Rd. #300  Suite 300, Oak Brook Terrace, IL 60181 http://www.comarproperties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Comar Properties Inc. is a property management company which maintains developments for tenancy by businesses and offices. Located in Oak Brook Terrace, this company maintains properties in the western suburbs, including Oak Brook, Lombard, Villa Park, Wheaton, Hinsdale, Westmont, La Grange, La Grange Park, Westchester, Bellwood, Maywood, Hillside, Berkeley, Elmhurst, Northlake, Stone Park, Downers Grove, Clarendon Hills, Bensenville, Addison, Lisle, Glendale Heights, Carol Stream, Schiller Park, Forest Park, Countryside, Willowbrook, Naperville, and Warrenville. Tenants in properties managed by Comar Properties include McDonald's, Dunkin' Donuts, State Farm Insurance, Jimmy John's, Avis, Fifth/Third Bank, Walgreens, Starbucks Coffee, Wendy's, Family Dollar, Oberweis Dairy, Subway, Interstate Batteries, Goodwill Charities, United States Postal Service, Aldi, Bank of America, Palm Beach Tan, ATI Physical Therapy, T Mobile, Gamestop, Yale Insurance, Outback Steakhouse, and American Mattress.

This company manages properties for commercial use, which includes a variety of buildings of differing square footage, configuration, and location. The company owns properties in downtown Chicago and surrounding areas: some are freestanding while some are attached to other buildings, within larger strip malls, or within other buildings. Some locations have large signs outside which can feature the name of the companies inside, while others do not. Each location has information about the location, the other companies nearby and the 'anchor stores' of the strip mall if applicable, and the prominent features of the nearby area, in order to provide potential tenants with the appropriate information to make their decision about occupying the space.

Visit the website for Comar Properties Inc. to learn more about the company, read their blog entries, and browse their listing of open properties.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Comar Properties Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Comar Properties Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Comar Properties Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 2010 Business started: 12/01/1996 in IL Business started locally: 12/01/1996 Business incorporated 12/18/1996 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George Kourafas, Vice President / Leasing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Kourafas, Vice President / Leasing
Business Category

Property Management Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)


Additional Locations

  • 1S660 Midwest Rd. #300
    Suite 300

    Oak Brook Terrace, IL 60181 (630) 590-6210

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 05/28/13- 06/30/13 FOUR WEEKS!!!!!! of AC malfunction, office so hot it became unbearable to work, patients complained, some left because it was too unbearable, ****** kept giving us the run around, getting bids, etc for new AC unit... brought several fans into the office until Comar finally replaced the unit. 05/30/13 Comar's construction crew came to fix the door that was supposed to be done within one month of space occupancy, it was not completed until month 10... when they put it in, it damaged our wall, shattered our floor tile and was not ADA compliant (opened into the sidewalk), took two weeks to fix, When they did fix it it was definitely substandard. (see below) 06/15/13 The door would not slide closed, if someone walked in, it would not fully close, informed ****** from Comar, but he never responded and eventually I got my construction company to fix it. 2/15/14 Office flooded from pipe that burst which SHOULD be left OFF during the winter months. Our office was out of business for three weeks, our insurance covered the damages and all related expenses even though this had nothing to do with our unit! 2/19/14 Gas leak smell in the office, had Gas company come in and say something is wrong with our furnace... no response from ****** or Comar 2/25/14 Heat not working (related to gas leak from before) (did not work for 2 weeks until Comar fixed the unit) We were operating with portable heaters in the office. Patients complained about the cold! 05/13/14 Sewage water travelling up our drains from backed up piping. FLOOD #2!!! Also the door that was made by Comar was leaking rain water into our space (it wasn't sealed properly) 06/27/14 We have a plumbing estimate to fix the sewage issue from the flooding on 05/13/14, Comar has not and does not appear intent on fixing this issue... in the meantime we are unable to use our restrooms in our space. We would like a responsive accommodating landlord, unfortunately that has not been what we have had.

Desired Settlement: We would like rent abatement for the time that we were unable to use our office due to problems inherent to the space. (We are closed and we cannot see patients) We would like responsive and attentive landlord, so we can conduct business in a working space!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/10) */ Skyline Smiles, LLC, as "Tenant", entered into a Lease dated September 28, 2012 with Madison Morgan, LLC, as "Landlord", for the premises consisting of approximately 2,350 square feet at **** **** ******* ******* Chicago, Illinois (the "Premises"). The Premises are located within a commercial condominium unit within a mixed use (commercial & residential) condominium building. The Lease provides that the Tenant accepted the Premises in an as-is, where-is condition, including the existing HVAC system (7 ton), demising wall and 200 amp electrical service. In addition, the Lease provides that the Tenant be responsible for the maintenance and repair of the Premises, at Tenant's sole cost and expense. The Lease provides that the Landlord install aluminum storefront modifications for the purpose of installing an ADA compliant door in coordination with the Tenant's build out of the Premises. The Lease provides that the Landlord maintain the common areas. The common areas are controlled by the condominium building condominium association, which such association is managed by Sudler Property Management Company ("Sudler"). The Landlord pays the monthly assessment for the condominium association. Issues concerning the common areas are communicated to Sudler. With respect to the allegation that the air conditioning ("HVAC") malfunctioned in May 2013, the Landlord's agent, COMAR Properties, received a phone call from the Tenant complaining about the HVAC. Although the repair and maintenance of the HVAC is a Tenant responsibility, the Landlord's agent, COMAR, immediately sent its HVAC contractor to review the HVAC unit. The Landlord replaced the HVAC system with a new system, at Landlord's cost and expense. The Landlord has not requested reimbursement nor has it requested contribution for the cost of the replacement. The size of the HVAC system required ordering of the system and installation (not a stock item). In connection with the allegation regarding delayed installation of the ADA door, the Lease required that the Landlord coordinate the installation of the door with Tenant's build out of the Premises. The Landlord's agent, COMAR, maintains numerous e-mails evidencing that COMAR was in constant communication with the Tenant's general contractor, regarding the status of Tenant's build out and timing for installation of the ADA door. The door was installed pursuant to specifications. Further, in connection with the allegation regarding the failure of the ADA door to slide open, the door was checked at installation and again at Tenant's request. The door swung open and closed properly at installation. Although the maintenance and repair of the Premises is a Tenant responsibility (including doors and door frames), the Landlord's agent, COMAR, had its maintenance personnel review and adjust the door, at Landlord's cost and expense. The Landlord has not requested reimbursement nor has it requested contribution for the cost of the adjustment. Regarding the allegation of the office flooding incident in February 2014, the burst pipe incident occurred in the common area. Tenant contacted Landlord's agent, COMAR, by telephone. COMAR immediately contacted Sudler, and Sudler arranged for immediate attention to the burst pipe. Regarding the allegation of the gas leak smell in February 2014, Tenant contacted Landlord's agent, COMAR, by telephone. COMAR immediately contacted Peoples Gas to investigate the gas odor. Peoples Gas reviewed the gas odor, and at Peoples Gas recommendation, COMAR hired an HVAC contractor to investigate and review the HVAC for the gas odor, on two (2) separate occasions. The HVAC contractor did not find any issue concerning the HVAC regarding the gas odor, including a finding of no leaks and no loose fittings. The Lease provides that the maintenance and repair of the Premises is a Tenant responsibility (including the HVAC system). The Landlord has not requested reimbursement nor has it requested contribution for the cost of the HVAC contractor investigation and review. Regarding the allegation that ADA door was leaking rain water into the Premises in May 2014, such leaking was due to the door sweeper being worn as a result of normal wear and tear. Although the maintenance and repair of the Premises is a Tenant responsibility (including the doors and door frames), the Landlord's agent, COMAR, had the contractor who installed the door review and replace the door sweepers located on the interior and exterior of the door, at Landlord's cost and expense. The Landlord has not requested reimbursement nor has it requested contribution for the cost of the adjustment. Regarding the allegation of the sewage back flow in May 2014, the Tenant called Landlord's agent, COMAR, by telephone. COMAR immediately contacted Sudler, and Sudler arranged for immediate attention to the back flow. COMAR has been in continuous contact with Tenant, Tenant's plumber, Tenant's general contractor, Landlord's plumber, Sudler, Sudler's plumber and Sudler's engineering company regarding the review of the back flow issue and remedy of the back flow issue. The consensus of the plumbing and engineering professionals is that due to severe rains on May 13; the City of Chicago sewer system was not able to handle the high rate of storm water. Notwithstanding, it has been determined by all of the plumbers that no blockage exists in the plumbing lines, and that the best course of action is the installation of a check valve. The Landlord's agent, COMAR, received consent from the condominium association, as communicated by Sudler, to install the check valve in the common area plumbing lines. The installation of the check valve was completed this morning, July 10th. The Landlord has timely responded to each of Tenant's concerns, and remains in constant communication with the Tenant regarding this back flow issue. In addition, Landlord has undertaken the above described maintenance obligations of the Tenant as set forth in the Lease. Moreover, Landlord has included Tenant's general contractor and plumber to be present and participate in meetings with Landlord's plumber and the condominium association plumber and engineer. Allegations regarding unresponsiveness are unfounded. Please note that the Tenant has hired counsel and sent to Landlord a demand dated June 20, 2014 for rent abatement. The Landlord's counsel timely responded to the demand. No further communication has been received from Tenant's counsel. We request that the Better Business Bureau contact us if additional information is required. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/07/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Even though we have had many issues in the past for the purposes of this complaint I will primarily focus on the flooding issues. Overall, the Landlord has been more responsive to our communications over the last month. I appreciate the increased communication, and hope it continues into the future. The Landlord, however, only became more responsive after I was forced to retain an attorney, who then sent a demand letter to the Landlord. Such an action would not have been necessary if Landlord had previously been responsive and met his obligations under the contents of the Lease. Moreover, despite the increased responsiveness, I feel that the flooding issues HAVE NOT BEEN sufficiently remedied. The Landlord has repeatedly mentioned that he needs to get approval from the Condo Association in order to make certain repairs. However, the Lease clearly states that it is the Landlord's sole responsibility to repair and maintain the common areas of the building. Nowhere does the Lease provide that the Landlord has to receive approval from the Condo Association in order to maintain or repair the common areas. In fact, there is no reference to the Condo Association contained anywhere in the Lease. Accordingly, any arrangement between the Landlord and the condominium association is unrelated to the Landlord's obligations under the Lease. Any further delay to the necessary repairs is unacceptable. History The first flood in February of 2014 occurred from a pipe that burst which is supposed to be turned off with each use, and therefore should not be on at all during the winter, when we had extremely cold weather, the pipe naturally burst as it was filled with water. Although it was behind a pillar that was determined to be a common area, the landlord did not respond to any of my complaints and I paid out of my pocket to have the plumber not only fix the pipe, but also further insulate it, as well as the dry wall to be fixed around it. The door sweeper being worn does not suffice as an appropriate response in my opinion, as our office has only been open for 1 year, With every rain this spring water has flooded through our front door (which the landlord built under agreement to our lease), this does not strike me as a door sweeper issue, but rather an issue with the door itself. Does the landlord insist we need to replace the sweeper every spring in order to avoid more flooding through that area? We have had four total floods: Fresh water flood- feb 14th, 2014 (pipe burst and through front door) sewage water flood - may 20th, 2014 (up the drains and from rains through the front door) sewage water flood - june 23rd, 2014 (up the drains) sewage water flood - july 12th, 2014 (up the drains) The Landlord and his counsel argue that the City of Chicago could not handle the storm waters and that was the reason for the backups, that could not be further from the truth. During all of these floods, only the businesses within our building were affected, no other building along the street or in the area was flooded at all. Therefore, The second sewage flood in may, the consensus was NOT that there was a high amount of storm water rather the actual consensus from a plumber I independently hired and FROM THE LANDLORD'S OWN PLUMBER is that the building's PLUMBING DOES NOT FOLLOW CITY CODE. The pitch (or angulation) of the entire plumbing underneath our space in the parking garage is backpitched or not enough pitched so that there is backflow and problems arising with our drains when there is even a little rain. The Code in Chicago is determined to have a 1/8" pitch, there are large sections of the pipe under our space that do not follow that code. Regarding the backflow valve: Even after the backflow valve was placed on July 10th, the rented space had flooding issues seeping from the common areas, which once again force our dental office to be rebuilt as we cannot have mold in our office! The backflow valve did not solve the issue! With four floods in the span of 5 months primarily from common areas not being up to code and from common area problems, and with our office having to be closed for two months during reconstruction on two separate occasions, requiring an additional reconstruct, this issue has been one that has not allowed me to practice business in a safe and usable area. I am paying rent for a virtually unusable space. The landlord maintains that his "hands are tied" and he "can't fix the problem as he needs approval from the condos" The landlord has also withheld information, as many employees of the businesses neighboring us have maintained that flooding has been a constant issue. In fact for the fourth flood (July 12th), Pockets (a neighboring business in our building) also flooded. The landlord also verbally confirmed that "the condo association have been having a flooding issue, but have ignored it thus far" Now they maintain the condo association is working on fixing the plumbing but with no date and no imperative in sight. We have had to rebuild our space twice, with one more rebuild necessary. With Sewage water, they have to cut out the walls 2 feet above where damage was done! Our business insurance coverage is threatening to drop us as they see this as a potentially uninsurable space. I will not retract this BBB claim until the plumbing is fixed to code, and I am ensured that no further flooding will occur due to inadequacies in the building's plumbing system.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Comar Properties Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)